Next generation 1-Series: more details emerge!

New details have emerged regarding Munich’s next generation BMW 1-Series. Apparently, the new 1-Series that is expected to hit the market in 2011 will be offered in a four-door sedan (for the US market) as well as a GT version, apart from the coupe, five-door, three-door and convertible variants.

Words are also being exchanged that the new 1-Series will have a 2-seater Roadster in its line up since the recently launched BMW Z4 has grown in size, but who knows? Powerplant wise, there will be a few as expected, but these engines will be treated to BMW’s EfficientDynamics program, meaning turbocharging smaller engines.

Sizes include, a 110HP – 160HP 1.6 litre turbo, a 150 – 200HP 2.0 turbo as well as a top of the line 300HP variant, that is said to be the closest there is for an ‘M’ version, although the auto maker did reveal that there will not be a 1-Series M. The image you see above is a rendering of the new 1-Series made by Giom Mouton.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Cutester on Jun 25, 2009 at 8:57 pm

Aggressive looking car….

• greencar on Jun 25, 2009 at 9:08 pm

this is little baby is really out of it's previous funny shapes…very nice front look!

• nabill on Jun 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm

very sharp..curent generation looks so weird

• TreeHouse on Jun 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm

2 words

UGLY and FAT

• Black Dog on Jun 25, 2009 at 9:19 pm

If this is the real upgraded design, then 2 THUMBS UP!

A great improvement from the already good current design.

• peroduasaupei0 on Jun 25, 2009 at 9:33 pm

bmw 's satria neo .

for rm200,000 .

thumbs up. nah

• It sure looks aggressive, and it could be my entry into BMW ownership. but then someone spoil it for me by saying it looks like Satria Neo, why!!

• Cross Polo on Jun 26, 2009 at 2:41 am

ken said,

June 25, 2009 @ 6:24 pm

It sure looks aggressive, and it could be my entry into BMW ownership. but then someone spoil it for me by saying it looks like Satria Neo, why!!

Relax le bro, I also seen this baby look a bit "Neois" like the side mirror, front bumper, even if u put neo pic & this Baby can see a bit identical on appearence. Ok apa, yang tau bawah hood tu yg penting bagi kebanyakkan orang. 1 a big mitos i have hear before "Big engine came with big power".

• Wak Rempit on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:35 am

Yikes… a damn hot car!

Can't help but to notice combination of 5 and 3 series signature at the front end. Especially the slanted eyes and squashed kidney grille.

But I wanna see some ass! Looking at something as hot won't be satisfying if you can't see the ass…

• 1 series 4 door sedan? enough space?

i always though 1 series were hatchbacks or coupes.

• BMW copy PROTON SATR on Jun 26, 2009 at 6:18 am

why do I feel like this BMW design look abit like PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000??

• BMW and PROTON is ad on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:42 am

so PROTON transfer technology with BMW senyap2 ar..??

PROTON quality control man is from BMW right?… German engineering coming into PROTON future model car?

this BMW car really remind me of PROTON SATRIA NEO S2000!

• keeekeee on Jun 26, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Lexus 250 alike~ :P

• james on Jun 26, 2009 at 10:11 pm

It looks like a Subaru Impreza

• claxxion on Jun 27, 2009 at 8:21 am

It looks so out of proportion.. So ugly. What's happening to BMW??

• to me it doesnt look good at all esp those headlights.the curve up next to the grille doesnt serve any purpose.should've just straighten it out

• master of designer on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:11 am

i like the tire