BMW Z4 sDrive23i and sDrive35i launched in M’sia

Z4 Launch

The E89 BMW Z4 is now here in Malaysia, offered in two variants – the sDrive23i and the sDrive35i. The sDrive brand is basically BMW’s new method of naming their rear wheel drive cars that do not fall under the regular numbered series range. It’s meant to follow up on the xDrive suffix that was introduced on the X6, which means all-wheel drive.

The BMW Z4 sDrive23i is powered by a 2.5 litre N52 engine, producing 204 horsepower at 6,200rpm and 250Nm at 2,950rpm. That’s actually quite an impressive torque curve, as you don’t see many normally aspirated engine hitting peak torque below 3,000rpm, and the engine has Valvetronic and Double VANOS to thank for that. 0 to 100km/h takes a decent 7.3 seconds, far from blistering but within sporty ranges. The sDrive23i’s engine is mated to a 6-speed ZF automatic.

The most powerful one offered internationally for the moment (no E89 Z4 M for now or forever) is also the most powerful one brought in here, the BMW Z4 sDrive35i. This one is powered by a twin-turbocharged direct injection N54B30 engine, producing 306 horsepower at 5,800rpm and an M3-equalling 400Nm of torque between 1,300 to 5,000rpm.

Z4 Launch

0 to 100km/h takes just 5.1 seconds and the turbocharged roadster also features a 7-speed dual clutch transmission. There are only a few models that feature this – the 335i Coupe and Convertible as well as this new Z4 sDrive35i. The 135i does not get it for now. The E90/E92/E93 M3 gets a M version of the twin clutch.

Like all the new BMWs, the new hard drive-based iDrive system is used and also features BMW TeleServices. The Z4 comes with BMW Service Inclusive 3 years/60,000km + Repair), and here are the prices:

BMW Z4 sDrive23i – RM411,800.00
BMW Z4 sDrive35i – RM558,800.00

For more information on the E89 Z4, read our extensive coverage in the past.

2010 BMW Z4 roadster: launch details and photos
New photos of the new E89 BMW Z4
New footage of the 2010 BMW Z4 released!
Adrian van Hooydonk on the new E89 BMW Z4 Roadster at the 2009 Geneva Motor Show
Free BMW Z4 game for the iPhone/iPod Touch
BMW Z4 wins a Red Dot award for 2009

[zenphotopress sort=title number=99 album=333]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=32]

[zenphotopress number=99 album=306]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 1 black sDrive35i for me!

• prolever on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:26 am

half a bilion 4 two seat car… 4 me, i rather buy a merc sl or an audi …..

• billion?! not tat expensive larr

• A piece of art

• Jeasus Christ….

• Maserati on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:52 am

Prolever,half a BILLION could get you many Buggati Veyrons already

Its half a MILLION!

For that kinda price,better get a 6 series or the New 370Z or 2nd hand GTR

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 19, 2009 at 9:48 am

Half a million?

VW Scirocco R + double storey house, for me,

TQvm.

• jiho21 on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:09 am

half a million,buy a house .

• Gajen on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:35 am

the shape is stunning…everythings awesome except the price is in boxster territory…not good

• chaku on Jun 19, 2009 at 12:20 pm

i dont like the shape of the head lights…

• lchan on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm

i have it as my wallpaper jsut to remind me the good things in life……..that i cannot afford!

• Michly on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:34 pm

wait after 2 -3 years.. 2nd hand price drop at half of current price.. then only buy.l

• The shape so so only……… but engine is great……

• keanu on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:10 pm

3 years/60,000km + Repair), and here are the prices:

BMW Z4 sDrive23i – RM411,800.00

BMW Z4 sDrive35i – RM558,800.00

4 the price u pay, bmw expect u 2 drive it as a weekend car.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Yes:

Impressive specification especially the 2.5 liter one, the horsepower is not too much to talk about but the torque 250Nm at 2,950rpm… woohoo that is rocket for such a small displacement.

No:

But seriously and ridiculously overpriced. It is a nice car but not a great car… can buy a condo and a Mazda 3 with that money…

• CBRian on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:29 pm

The design was fantastic, but the price.. you all decide worth or not.. kekekek.. 8)

• gigi mee on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Just called BMW, the sales manager told me that in malaya this is a car for the ppl who already owned a doublestorey house, bungalow, island, 6series, gtr, porsche911, 370z, mercSL, F430, 4 wives, 6 girlfrens, 10 kids, strong heart and kidneys. and either a valid driving license or a good lawyer.

• Zaff1984 on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:55 pm

Nice car… but i think i will go for cayman S

• pensel tumpul on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:13 pm

..and this Z4 was designed by women. interior and exterior. and that makes this one hotter!

impressive!

• redwings on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:46 am

Looks stunning…. but also good time to yet the previous Z4…

• prolever on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:40 am

sorry…… typing error.i want to say bilion..

• arcryliss on Jun 20, 2009 at 2:02 am

we can buy this car for sure….for those who r super duper rich!!

BUT~~

the maintainence is super duper high also la~

also the roadtax as well~

x pulak mahal kan~

huahuahua~

*ops, terlebey sudaaaa~ :p

• wow, can buy E class at that price!

• u guys can see it at pavilion…..check the blue one with the carbonfiber splitter at the bumper…nice touch

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 20, 2009 at 6:29 pm

just when i thought the previous Z4 was great.. they've managed to better it with the new model. the design is just stunning, and i dare say one of the most original looking production cars in a long time.

• impressive! woww

cheers!

• btw, any manual trans option?

• im going to buy this car : ) .