Honda Malaysia ships 2,000,000th CV joint

CV Joint

Honda’s Malacca plant shipped off its 2 millionth Constant Velocity Joint this month. The plant is also the largest CV joint exporter in the region. A CV joint is also known as a driveshaft and it is what transfers the power from the gearbox to the wheels of a car. The Malacca plant started making CV joints for the City and the CR-V back in 2002. Subsequently this was expanded to include the Jazz, the Accord, the Civic and even the new Honda Freed MPV, which is currently being assembled in Indonesia. Other than Indonesia, our CV joints are also exported to the UK, Turkey, Pakistan, India, Vietnam and Philippines.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jul 28, 2009 at 1:04 am

wahh, cv joint made in malacca

• roti naan1 on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:06 am

They should venture into something else. Perhaps something hi-tech?

• Tee CS on Jul 28, 2009 at 3:17 am

Congrats CVJ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• gOnDoLa on Jul 28, 2009 at 4:07 am

aaaaahh.. bored when rotinaan gave comment

• 2 million CV joints in 8 years (2002-2009) ?

That's only 250.000 per year or approx. 1000 a day.

Sounds not too impressing, but depends on the workforce.

How many people are working at the Honda Malacca plant ?

• wahh.. didnt know our own melaka plant can export mechanical car parts to so many countries including UK. think from now on better not think too poorly of melaka assembled products.

• civicchua on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:14 am

with the bad quality and service policies/procedure that sucks the owners blood.. condolences to Honda for this CV joint.

hope honda malaysia understand consumer look at you as one entity "Honda". not Honda Service Center, Honda Japan, Honda Singapore, Kah Motor and Honda Malaysia.

You got too much shits for the consumer to overcome including spending the whole yrs annual leave in your sucky service center and ended up warranty expired without the problem being fixed. no commitment, no guarantee.

thumb down for honda malaysia. i will nv be Honda Malaysia return customer. I rather import from parallel importer.

• reuben how on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:35 am

I'm just wondering whats the big deal out of this? Its not even our technology, and sounds like something turn – key

• muryadi on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:46 am

Congrats…

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 28, 2009 at 6:04 am

RM13 million was spent to close mouth customer whose had broken CV joint from Malacca plant in UK which nearly claim their lives. Again this people still able to smile and continue producing risk laden safety parts??

Mr. Fukui, you as president of Honda Motor, please close this Malacca plant to regain your brand image. They are nothing other than layman barking on the street. Let the real soul of Power of Dream keep alive without them.

• newbie on Jul 28, 2009 at 7:16 am

Where do u get your info automotive critics, you should include a url for me to see.

And I cant see how a location of factory can affect the productions certain certain product quality. Its honda who built the factory, not local engineers, if something happens to the product, honda should be blame for it. If you say workmanship is the issues, then you are just plain stupid. Most modern factory use automated assembly line that requires little human interference.

• Proud of yr achievements HM.

May u be the benchmark of all parts vendors in M'sia.

RotiNan if u hv nothing to say just shut yr gap.!

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 28, 2009 at 2:49 pm

newbie,

All the info never release to cover up their image which has been turned to time killer in UK (CV can broken at just matter of time). I got this information from insider who had past working experiences in the hell of fire factory. The safety related item for every car rolled out from this factory is highly doubtful. Fact of this Malacca plant.

1. No engineers

2. No investment for safety

3. Under duress and stress workers

4. Barking all the time management

The above factors put into consideration so you can imagine what is inside their product would be. A 2008 flagship debut with wheel nut loose which also nearly kill so called valued customers.

I urge Mr. Fukui to close the factory and bring all the culprit insider to court of justice for being ignorant for customer safety.

• Anonymous on Jul 28, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Automotive_Critics,

What a load of bollocks.

All you have is hear-say.

Your insider was probably a disgrunted employee.

• big doesnt mean strong. i am impressed the CV plant in melaka is export oriented which truely make "made in Malaysia" valuable. since gov's protectionizm policy block all foreign set up assy plant here, our part suppliers got to market their prducts out of the boleh land!

• initial R on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Some ppl are ignore the truth… I can say what ever the product part that do assambling in Malaysia, most of it lack of QC. This is problem, for me this been all time problem that have effect the Malaysia manifacturing industry. Don't get me wrong, assambly & manufacturing are diffrance thing but those culprit in assambling industry have make whole manifacturing in Malaysia in danger. Ini adalah kebenaran sebab mana industri penyambungan jarang mengutamakan ciri keselamatan walaupun barangan yang dikeluarkan sama dari pengeluar asal & mendapat lesen. Yang dapat kesan menerus adalah industri pengeluar yang terpaksa menangung tekanan dari pengguna yang mengatakan yang produk Malaysia tidak berkualiti. Sesetengah produk Malaysia terpaksa mendapat pengiktirafan di luar negara dulu sebelum dapat pasaran di malaysia salah satu contoh produk jenama Tanamerah. Pengeluaran di Malaysia, org malaysia tak tahu tapi kat UK, US, & beberapa lagi negara dapat sambutan menggalakkan & sama taraf dengan Body & Shop.

• R0NaLD0 on Jul 28, 2009 at 7:10 pm

congratz…. i wonder out of the 2million CV joint produced how many % is faulty? mm…

• MycarMylife on Jul 28, 2009 at 7:53 pm

Wonder did they supply that 'part ' that came off Barrichelo's Brawn GP car that hit Massa?? ( joking only)

• wallstreet on Jul 28, 2009 at 8:12 pm

I wonder whats the big deal…and why bother giving them this cheap publicity?? Even their homeland dare not import it…

• HM was my customer when I was working for a trading company sometime ago.

I use to travel to this factory 2 times a month and meet with people from CVJ, R&D and Purchasing Depts.

Ive met some some really friendly and helpful engineers in there though its not all rosy always.CVJ at that time was the only dept to have manufacturing capabilities thus they have the required tools and machine to do so.

This is nothing new as it has been planned before and I cant comment about the quality although Im aware of the entire machining process.At the end of the day, its about Honda Malaysia profit and CVJ represents a big percentage of contributing revenue for them to cover other running expenses to maintain a Honda factory in Malaysia.

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 28, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Anonymous

You could say what you want. When the CV broke and killed your family members or relatives than please regret not to hear my "hearsay".

Thanks to my friend who worked in that factory before for saving thousands of lives.

• bimmer_man (Member) on Jul 28, 2009 at 11:13 pm

"A CV joint is also known as a driveshaft and it is what transfers the power from the gearbox to the wheels of a car."

That's not entirely accurate, is it? A CV joint is only a part of the driveshaft. It is put on the relevant end so that the driveshaft can flex with changes to the camber angle/suspension position, without interrupting the flow of power from the transmission to the wheels (or putting it under stress).

• Helpurself on Jul 29, 2009 at 12:04 am

QUote:

"Other than Indonesia, our CV joints are also exported to the UK, Turkey, Pakistan, India, Vietnam and Philippines."

UnQuote.

"Our" CV joints? So if the Japanese decided to build a Spaceship in Malacca, we called it "OUR" spaceShip? LOL….oh i forgot, i have "OUR" astronaut not long ago… ok la, "our" lah our lah good…

• What the big deal about 2 millions CV joints?

Like that the bolts and nuts manufacturers will have a 200 millions bolts and nuts press conference called.

• mystvearn on Jul 29, 2009 at 1:56 am

Hopefully more honda investment here. After blunder with VW

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 29, 2009 at 2:20 am

mystvearn said

Hopefully more honda investment here. After blunder with VW

They won't invest more but to squeeze their workers is for sure. This so called modern plant by newbie is having highest rate of backpain sufferers and had made doubt to SOCSO insurer. Additional to that, TV3 so interested to investigate the backpain mania and published it in Buletion Utama! years back.

So while the culprits are enjoying comfortable position in plant, the rest of the workers deteriote and threatening their lives!

So question here may these under duress workes impose sabotage to the product? Forget made in Malacca and ask grey dealer for a "genuine power of dream".

• the truth is CVJ does not even make up 1% of the parts in a car… imagine if some other carmakers decide that some other car parts are made here as well, we will be much better with the investments/job opportunities…

QC is a problem for the mgmt itself… thats why mgmt are paid higher than a factory worker… coz they are paid to do their job and ensure all the criterias are met… and usually the mgmt are the foreigners…

nowadays a lot of CBU cars only come from thai, indon, philipines… are them any better than local CKD?

• takeo1070 on Jul 29, 2009 at 5:23 am

there are times that am impressed with the comments here,but today it seems this forums is full of idiotic…sigh

• handa sucks on Jul 29, 2009 at 9:38 am

Honda's quality very degrading recently, I hope more Malaysian will realizes this soon…

• leonardo on Jul 30, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Omedato En Azhar! I see this as a risk managment strategy to protect their P&L bottom line, or at least cushion the impact on market uncertainties.

• Automotive_Critics on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:55 pm

leonardo said,

July 30, 2009 @ 2:08 pm

Very sad, still there are people unconsious out there and blindly praise anybody without fact.

The truth is the reverse of this story. This thread should be "HM mark 2000000 mth of life endanger customers".

let the real power of dream alive.

• enlighten me..

how can a driveshaft failure cause accident?..

RT.

• mazarali on Apr 14, 2010 at 3:36 am

felicitation