Daihatsu wants you to have a nice warm cup of…

Daihatsu Mira Cocoa

Daihatsu has launched yet another body variation of the Mira in Japan, this time called the Mira Cocoa, joining the Mira and the Mira Custom in the K-car range.

In Daihatsu’s own words, the use of the name Cocoa was chosen because the car intends to give the driver and passengers that comfortable and relaxed feeling of drinking a hot cup of cocoa on a cold day.

The Mira Cocoa measures 1,530mm in height, 1,930mm long and 1,345mm wide. Only one engine option is available in Japan – the 660cc KF-VE with DVVT variable valve timing, producing 58 PS at 7,200rpm and 65Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. There are two different transmissions available – a 4-speed auto or a CVT transmission, with the latter being more fuel efficient.

For the 2WD car, the CVT can provide up to 23.5 km per litre on the Japan 10-15 test cycle while the 4-speeder can only do 19.4km per litre. 4WD versions can do 20km and 18.6km per litre respectively for the CVT and 4-speed cars.

Daihatsu is shouting about the funky new rear view mirror that they’re using in the Mira Cocoa, claiming its the first of its kind installed in a vehicle in Japan. It integrates a back view monitor into the rear view mirror, which is also equipped with an auto anti-glare function. Now I wonder why there’s no mention of aerodynamics values…

[zenphotopress number=99 album=445]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mathgrind on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:35 pm

pro2 mesti nak copy niehhh…

• ttttttttttttut on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:42 pm

kenari baru…

• Slayer on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:43 pm

In Malaysia we should call it Mira Janda…to give the driver relaxed feeling of driving a hot cup of kopi Janda on a lonely night.

• EchoTango23 on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:49 pm

I think this one is all-set to be the next Kenari Replacement Model!

• ericfoong81exe on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:52 pm

very good FC.

• AutoAlert on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Round, round, and more round edges. Good kancil replacement since it was based on the Mira in the first place. If perodua is keen on attracting the female drivers.

• Nakal on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:01 pm

kenari replacement?

• eldie on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:06 pm

NIce!!! Paul, is it going to be introduced in Malaysia soon or would it be under the badge of P2?

• like old style car… if proton buat ni … pasti kena hantam cukup2.

• ezmil on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Cute looking car… Share the same platform with Mira Avy @ Perodua Viva?

• Gajen on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:13 pm

this is a very interesting car…perodua should really consider this…they should also bring in the daihatsu materia…

• redyoyo on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Reminds me of mini cooper. Cute car, the doggie is even cuter. Agree that P2 may take this as Kenari replacement…Wof wof!!

• Elvis on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:27 pm

All i see is a HELLO KITTY written all over. Oh no! Enought is enought!

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:35 pm

Paul Tan said;

Now I wonder why there’s no mention of aerodynamics values…

———

Thats because its a city car. They are not designed to travel long distances at high speed where aerodynamics come to play.

WooHoo, bench seats are back!

• Paul Tan on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:38 pm

I was just poking fun at the car's boxy shape ;)

• NeoN 575 on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Don't think Pro2 will come out with this model..soooooo ugly!! Myvi & Viva already sellable what?

• Whole shit… got 4wd version!!!!

• newbie on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:59 pm

my 10 year old nephew can draw a car better than this.

• razee hussin on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:15 am

this definitely not a kenari replacement as there is another new model of move replacing the old p2 like kenari which is slightly curvy than boxy, which is slightly bigger than the previous.

• razee hussin on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:18 am

this design is like mitsuoka…the nissan cousins company selling boxy…i cant remember the name of the car but kickin up a high price as mush as 80k++

• akupunya on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:22 am

comel…damn cute..

perodua tak berani bawak masuk sini ka?

• mr_3m on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:39 am

Are you sure it is only 1930mm long?? that's slightly over 6 feet long… hmmm… i know there's a maximum length to fit into the kei-car category.. not sure what the size is in mm though…

• bmpower on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:52 am

57hp? kah kah kah!!!

• azrai on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:59 am

Juara niece. Mesin basuh beroda.

• ToyCar on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:13 am

front view looks like the old Volkswagen Transporter van…

• Auto_crat on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:19 am

Cute, funky, cool and so on…only if the Japs make them. If the same thing is done locally we call them uglyduckling lah, this and that. Sigh.

• mystvearn on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:21 am

This will fail if P2 brings it in. Remember the Kenari, that failed big time even though its actually quite a nice car to be in

• redfueler on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:22 am

bring lah daihatsu materia here!!!

• Nabil on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:50 am

Only looks good if the driver is a female and with a face like the cute Megumi Kurihara of the Japanese Volleyball team.

The car choices is too wide in Japan (and their buying power also helps), they even have a 'relax' kind of car like this, that is intended purely for city driving while in Malaysia we tend to modify every car we could get into a racecar wannabe!

This car is not suitable for Msian market..

• cmc80 on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:51 am

It looks like next gen of Perodua Kenari?

• kimi_ on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:48 am

This is next-gen KENARI which will be launched end 2010…

• Forget it Perodua! Just forget it!! Don't even try to think about it!

• Lightning McQueen on Aug 25, 2009 at 4:14 am

adeh u r rite, if p1 buat sure got fugly comment. Just wonder why they do not use center dash panel anymore?

• Hmmm….. so we can hv CVT too here…..??

• zafedz on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:03 am

Toyota BB daihatsu version…Mmmm…

• chyan on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:12 am

Not good for Malaysian. Sigh

But I'd like to see this here though.

Too bad Malaysia have a reputation to err..

no comment. :D

• mr_3m on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:17 am

Daihatsu website says the cabin space measures 1930mm long and 1345mm wide… then it makes sense… anyhow, cocoa looks a bit retro more on the nissan cube kind of style..

• WhiteFox on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:55 am

OK when P2 got to Copy and paste it ><

• kenarianz_rulez on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:05 am

Looks like the younger sibling of Daihatsu MOVE Latte. Design cues looks very similar. If perodua wants to have a Kenari replacement, I would prefer the L150 RS body styling. This one is too timid.

• mingyuyu on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:27 am

UGLY! SO BOXY AND THE FRONT LOOKS LIKE SPIDER

• p1basher on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:30 am

Wow mira cocoa, shud b myvi teh here.

• Gajen on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:51 am

zafedz said,

August 24, 2009 @ 10:03 pm

Toyota BB daihatsu version…Mmmm…

____________________________________________________________________________

Daihatsu's version of BB is materia…materia/bb is kinda big and luxurious for a small car….whereas this mira is a lower end model

• ALPINA_BMW on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:28 am

Stupid ugly car! Name cocoa cos it's look like shit, Perodua should add this to their ugly collection, Viva, MeeVai and MPV Papan

• Fridz (Member) on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:30 am

Ugly looking…outdated design.yucks..

660cc ka? you will get it without power steering,no radio,no anything.just like viva BX..

• MycarMylife on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:48 am

Just can't wait for Jeremy Clarkson to get his hands on it and then it will become infamous. In MY certain people will pack in 8 fellas inside and you get a coffin on wheels.

• initial R on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:01 am

hah… this will replace kenari model maybe after 2 or 3 year japan used it. P2 will get the mold & wallah… all new Kenari looks, just re-style the front & rear bumper to be a bit sporty…. after all it just do cut & paste.

• LOLcat on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:26 am

my god its ugly

surprised nobody condemn it

if this was Proton, there would be an outrage

• peroempat on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:30 am

So cute, boy and girl.

I should be Kelisa repacement.

http://mira-cocoa.jp/index.html?dk.cat.bnr

• SaGa_NGV on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:31 am

want daihatsu materia? tunggu la D54T taun dpn lounch by P2..

• peroempat on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:54 am

Whateverlah, P2 still got Toyota/Daihatsu DNA^^

Thats good what.

Kelisa repacement shoul be this,
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/lineup/move/index.htm

• azrai on Aug 25, 2009 at 10:57 am

To those T badge obssesesors, something to read about http://www.themalaysianinsider.net.my/index.php/b… Haha…Power window problem? Sound familiar.

• Jay Loo on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:03 am

I am a bad boy.

I do not need a Macho Car like the Evo to boost my ego.(Owing 1 would be nice though).

I would love to own this car.

It's cute, comfortable, and economical. (Assume it's something like my gf's kenari)

• Brian on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:19 pm

I will buy one if P2 bring it to our shore.

• temakol on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:25 pm

Raze Hussin, It is mitsuoka mpv. Never mention in paultan blog. But those mitsuoka is cubicle design….dont compare it with this Mira Cocoa. Even the price up to 100k. Mira Cocoa more like combination of Kelisa+Kenari…

mbox.kenyalang.net

• xshiro on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:52 pm

looks like nissan cube.

• Darkness_Rizal on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:31 pm

Both of exterior and interior look good… can't wait P2 to produce this car as Kenari Replacement.. :D

• i wish on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:42 pm

this is around the city family car… i like it… simple n practical…

• xshiro on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:27 pm

the dahsboard looks awesome. very minimalistic

• Looks like a longer version of the Kelisa/ Cuore.

• Paul,

Did you mean "DRINKING" a hot cup of cocoa on a cold day.

• chateau on Aug 26, 2009 at 12:58 am

Azrai .P1 will tell you

power window is normal problem and people

like you will accept their dumb explaination.

T shows they are responsible,recall and replace the defective parts.

P1 will say "vendor problem" not my problem-sounds familiar !!???

• tikus on Aug 26, 2009 at 1:51 am

Like cartoon car..so cute.

• hayato on Aug 26, 2009 at 2:26 am

this should replace the Viva in the first place. It is much funkier and way more polished than the boxy, unattractive Viva. FC is awesome as the values are somewhere near the Smart Fortwo consumption ratio. to top it off, you could comfortably lug 4 people around :)

• TukangBagiKomen on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:00 am

if proton design this car..sure kene hentam pnya..perabis duit rakyat la..itu la ini la..

if p2 badge this..hemmm..agak2 brp herga dia?

• TukangBagiKomen on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:03 am

azrai said,

August 25, 2009 @ 2:57 am

To those T badge obssesesors, something to read about http://www.themalaysianinsider.net.my/index.php/b… Haha…Power window problem? Sound familiar.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/24/daihatsu-mira-cocoa…
    ————————————————————–

i dnt know if you guys realized, last year mighty T has a lot of EPS problem. below certain km/h EPS failed to work..dengerous yeahh?

• Automotive Jury on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:24 am

Azrai .P1 will tell you

power window is normal problem and people

like you will accept their dumb explaination.

T shows they are responsible,recall and replace the defective parts.

P1 will say “vendor problem” not my problem-sounds familiar !!???

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/24/daihatsu-mira-cocoa…
    ———————————————————–

chateau..

even Toyota got power window problem too..640,000 units (25/08/09)..n they call back for repair..which good..every car maker should do this..not explanation..

n we..don't blame our car maker 100%..every single parts on our car made by various manufacture..sometimes they want "Untung Banyak La"..so they use cheap and bad quality material for low cost..they sell it and who get the bad name?..car maker jugak..so sad huh?..we want a cheap car..got cheap quality la..normal what..hehe

• Automotive Jury on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:26 am

standard la Malaysian..sume nak bash..ape nth nk..aku xtaw la..haha..

• Hadi1975 on Aug 26, 2009 at 8:08 am

The problem with p1 is that their aftersales services is crap… QC tak nak maintain… Same problem till now… Finish waranty kereta terus buat perangai… As for p2… Use a kenari once.. No problem even use it to move my things to my new house… Quite useful but had to sell it cos needed a bigger car ( business )…

• Prismo on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:03 pm

Wow!! damn nice beauty.. not the car i mean. hahaha :D

P2: Let's we introducing u.. the new Perodua Kerani!! taaadaaa…. :D

• ALPINA_BMW on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Perodua Keranda SE

• bmpower on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:51 pm

let name it..

Pelodua Telur ..

• kodok on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:04 pm

tgg thn dpn pero2 akan kuarkan model rebadge daihatsu materia

• fazron80 on Aug 27, 2009 at 1:46 am

I don't know who in their right mind will choose to buy this car. Even if I can get for free need to think many times. Need to wear mask driving this car so no one knows you.

• st power on Aug 27, 2009 at 6:03 am

ALL NEW PERODUA KECOCOA

• I wanna to hit this thing with a hummer, like Jeremy Clarkson do on the kelisa, how come got ppl buy this stupid car…urghhh~

• agree with redfueler, p2 should bring daihatsu materia to malaysia

materia is better looking than this car

i think p2 can make profit out of materia

• mira/perodua radix.. mai secawan…

• faten dasuki on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm

cool ! it looks very cute..like old car design.. but i still love it !

what is the price range? anyone could tell me?