090909: It’s MUFORS Road Safety Day!

MUFORS LogoIt’s 09/09/09 today – a number that means different things for different people but in the context of the Malaysian motorist its MUFORS Road Safety day, part of the Malaysians United For Road Safety (MUFORS) project.

So when you’re rushing home to buka puasa from your office later please remember to drive safely. It’s going to be jammed for sure, but please stay patient. Have something light and refreshing to buka puasa in your car. Don’t jump queues and red lights.

Some of you have made your pledge earlier. Those who have made pledges are supposed to carry out their pledges today as a symbolic thing but in reality you should be practicing good road habits all the time and not only just today. My car is in the workshop so I won’t be doing any driving today – easiest way of carrying out my pledge I guess!

Of course other than a way to submit your pledges there is a also an online poll on the MUFORS site where Malaysian motorists can vote for their most annoying Malaysian road habits. Here are the top 5 results so far as of time of publishing:

• Drivers who don’t use their indicators – 11.7%
  • Aggressive tail gating – 11.4%
  • Mat Rempits – 9.1%
  • Road hoggers – 8.6%
  • Driving on emergency lanes – 6.9%

The MUFORS project is definitely timely as it’s Balik Kampung season soon and the volume of traffic on the highways will be high. Long journeys will take a toll on the driver (no reference to the actual tolls) so be sure to take breaks if you’re tired.

For those who are eagerly waiting to see if you’ve managed to win a fresh new set of Duraplus tyres from Goodyear, all entries have been sent to Goodyear Malaysia and they’re picking the winner now :) Good luck guys!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nemo66 on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:58 pm

those yang slalu potong "Q" ?%

yg slalu use emergency lane of coz la luxury car

• ttttttttttttut on Sep 10, 2009 at 12:20 am

the most annoying on the road is stupid arrogant Myvi!!

• gangully on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:04 am

i find it really surpising that "cutting queues" is not one of the categories. If anything, Malaysian are guilty of that, and then making it as though it is their right of way because they were on the "fast lane".

i believe the dude who came out with the list is one of those people.

and memo… i thinki ts equal… not only luxury car users use the emergency lane. don't generalise, please.

• common sensor on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:05 am

I pledge to "shoot to kill" all the adamant traffic offenders …

• nabill on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:16 am

cant believe only 11% vote for ppl NOT signalling…should hav been more like 50%….

• rexis on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:46 am

Tail gaters are more annoying then fresh horse poo on your dining table.

• I hope wont see cars tailgating ambulance during rush hours, those are the lowest life form on earth!!! By taking advantage of an ill person in the ambulance.

• ~zhu~ on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:31 am

My car just got hit from the back… damn

• painsama on Sep 10, 2009 at 5:43 am

>>ttttttttttttut said,

September 9, 2009 @ 4:20 pm

the most annoying on the road is stupid arrogant Myvi!!

===================================

I'd agree with him. For some reason all these years ever since the born of Perodua Myvi, I've seen many road hoggers, and suprisingly most of the time they were Myvis. Probably because women/girls like it, so it is expectable that there are higher percentage of women drivers among Myvi owners, thus hogging Malaysian roads with their "girly" attitudes. No offense to Myvi owners, as I've seen a number of well driven Myvis; courteous and driven in appropriate lane. But somehow, most of the time when I see Myvi, I got irritated as I'm expecting a stupid driver ahead.

• Agree with both ttttttttttttut and painsama,

Just wanna add. There's also a large number of owners of P2 Myvi who are students/teenagers. Drive so lansee, lcly. Drive one Myvi like one kind like that (not all, some but majority) Come on, parents buy for them one werd, not as if they bought it with their own hard work money. Neway, hope this MUFORS Road Safety will come out more programmes.

• roti naan1 on Sep 10, 2009 at 11:47 am

Does road hogging include politician ridings on motorcade/police escort?. They not only hog the entire road, but they oso close several section of the roads so they can "sail" through easily while others road users had to stay at the road shoulders and make way for them…

1Malaysia?? Unlikely la, until these politicians change their attitudes. Sick la!

• nemo66 on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:29 pm

roti naan1..

politician riding only for official event..do u dare to see they stuck in traffic instead of deliver what they should do..

• gangully on Sep 10, 2009 at 6:50 pm

roti naan1 – do you even know what the 1Malaysia concept is about?

• KL Stray Cat on Sep 11, 2009 at 1:46 am

With the police escort, have you ever been to a function where these people are on time?

Oh ya…1Malaysia Time of course!!

• pokteh on Sep 11, 2009 at 6:57 pm

I do agree with Nemo66, luxury car always use emergency lane and parking merata-rata

• in oversea, ministers, congress member and etc are just like commoner, only country delegates and leaders are having such privilege. but, here, there are non stop of out riders to clear road in KL City centre itself. Ever wonder, why they need to spoil the 'green flow' at Jalan Tun Perak stretch? Where your government had spent million of ringgit to study and acquire the system that is efficient in the city.

• Leong Ko on Sep 12, 2009 at 6:39 pm

There should be as many tail gaters as there are road hoggers. You can't tail gate without a road hog! And if you hog the road you will notice a convoy of vehicles tailgating each other. These 2 things come hand in hand.