Rulers check out the new Proton Turbo engine

Campro Turbo
A turbocharged Campro engine in an Exora Prestige we saw back in July…

Proton unveiled a turbocharged 1.6 litre engine to selected press in Norwich, UK earlier today while our King and Queen His Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda The Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Wathiqu Billah Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin Ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Mahmud Al-Muktafi Billah Shah and Her Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda The Raja Permaisuri Agong Tuanku Nur Zahirah were visiting the Lotus headquarters in UK.

The new turbocharged engine is said to have the power capacity of a 2.0 litre engine. No precise figures were given but we can make an educates guess – 2.0 normally aspirated would mean around 140 to 150 horsepower. Usually with a turbocharged engine, a 150 horses figure would probably be accompanied by 220Nm to 240Nm of torque. This should put performance at a similiar level with the turbocharged 1.6 litre in the Peugeot 308 Turbo, which is very nice since the peak torque kicks in at low RPMs.

VIDEO: Bulletin Utama segment on the Proton Turbo engine

70 engineers worked on the engine project. According to Proton, the engine was developed in collaboration between Proton and Lotus Engineering, with active involvement of Malaysian engineers and vendors. I actually so happened to meet a few young Proton engineers at a UK visa application center in KL and they were applying for a UK work visa for a certain project, so this must have been it ;)

Producing the engine took 18 months from approval of engineering proof of concept. The proof of concept could have been that turbocharged engine we saw in the Exora. The engine was designed for high torque applications, which will provide good driveability in larger Proton cars such as the Proton Exora. Proton Director of Engineering Tajul Zahari said the engine is RON95 compatible. Apparently the engine will be ready by 2011, so we should see it in Protons by then.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ganas tuee…best…best… tak sabar nak upgrade enjin exora aku nie…hehehe

• 2011 ….will proton survive tat long ?

• rally_fan on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:14 am

"mct said,

October 3, 2009 @ 12:12 am

2011 ….will proton survive tat long ?"

and why not? dont you read the news? proton's making a profit again, and they're no.1 in sales in malaysia again.

• y r u so pessimistic?? hw many [gd] n [bad] yrs has the proton gone thru… proton will survive for sure…

• Littlefire on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:19 am

Yup, rumours already spreading that Khazanah is letting go the share in Proton for Naza & VW… Can they last that long? Besides that, why need 2 years in UK and not develop in Malaysia?1? Izzit here the cost is cheaper and we already got a lot of turbo kit to test on?!?

• rally_fan on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:40 am

"Littlefire said,

October 3, 2009 @ 12:19 am

Yup, rumours already spreading that Khazanah is letting go the share in Proton for Naza & VW… Can they last that long?"

err.. this is where i'm confused again.. why would khazanah selling their shares to naza & vw (if it happens) cause the company to close down?

• bobdbilder on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:56 am

They choose Lotus to do engineering coz they are good? Lotus is doing it coz marketing wise, it also makes sense? Why you need to have 2 different R+D dept that does the same thing? The guys over here do a little cleaning up of the design but I doubt they touch the engine.

No, doing it here is not cheap when all testing equipment is imported and you still need people who can read data and make sense out of it. They don't come cheap.

• bobdbilder on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:59 am

Good thing somebody mentioned Pugs. Have you ever compare the Power and Torque output of the engine in the 308VTi? Its a bit shy compared with the Campro. 125bhp out of 1.6litres for the Campro. Compare that also to the Satria GTi's output of 120bhp out of 1.8 litres.

I'd say its pretty neat.

• rally_fan on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:07 am

i believe the 1.8 in the gti makes about 140hp, and 164nm of torque..

if proton are turbocharging a 1.6, i would be thinking their target is around 150hp, and 200nm of torque.

• ali38hak on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:10 am

what about diesel engine ? ? ? ? ? ?

why not diesel ? ? ?

Whats the problem of proton, why they dont use DIESEL engine ? ? ?

selamaleykum from turkey

http://protonturkiye.forum.st

• ReactiX on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:22 am

Its getting closer to get better engine from proton. nice one. p2 apa ada?? tarak.. ilek… everything rebadge, rebadge rebadge.. well some say why have 2 RnD facilities.. its better than dont have any (p2 case)

• fliedlice on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:38 am

“mct said,

2011 ….will proton survive tat long ?”

If you have nothing intelligent to say just shut up. Maybe you shouldn't survive that long.

• farhan on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:47 am

GUYS listen carefully on the news background reader.1600 KUASA KUDA which is should be 1600cc..OMG..

• Calvin on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:11 am

mct said: 2011 ….will proton survive tat long ?”

In response to fliedlice and rally_fan's comment

– Yeah, proton will survive for a long long time due to protection, and soon we will be the dumping ground for petrol and diesel cars coz everyone will be driving an electric or hybrid car. How to export to other country when the minimum RON is 95? most foreign cars can accept RON90 which is cheaper.

• Littlefire said,

October 3, 2009 @ 12:19 am

Yup, rumours already spreading that Khazanah is letting go the share in Proton for Naza & VW… Can they last that long? Besides that, why need 2 years in UK and not develop in Malaysia?1? Izzit here the cost is cheaper and we already got a lot of turbo kit to test on?!?

go ahead , believe your rumours ………..

that not facts .

so dun bring here

• trinity on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:32 am

took them so long to make a turbocharged engine when ppl are moving to other concepts….proton is around the same age as hyundai/kia if im not mistaken…..look at their recent models…..kinda "tercicir" with the rest of the world imo…..should have happened waaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyy back….my 2 cents =/

• wuttaheck on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:51 am

"….1600 kuasa kuda"

LOL!

• Kerelbort on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:53 am

Proton have lots of technology in their stable or should I say in their Lotus folder. None of which economically viable enough for them to mass manufacturer for the skeptical market such as Malaysia. Most of them got sold off to other car manufacturer as it help to turning the company to black.

rumors of Khazanah letting go to Naza and VW should be not true as VW is looking for manufacturing partner onli. and VW might either go the DRB to expand their S-class assembly factory in Pekan or get Naza to upgrade their facilities and start to use them. VW are not keen in sharing technology they just want to enter a market at a very high pace with low cost thus forcing them to engage Proton.

I believe the best partner for Proton should be Renault. As Renault could source Proton with a Diesel engine and Renault has a very good dealer network across Europe. For a win-win partnering, Proton could take over the function of Logan in Renault and this could help Renault save alots by outsourcing the design and testing of low cost car to Proton and trade it with higher model i.e Laguna(as Perdana) or Megane(as Waja) to Proton. Bigger pre-caution to Proton start exporting more than selling to Malaysian if the partnering really kick in. Malaysian are skeptical with Renault technology but drooling for Nissan's.

Proton's Vendor should also take the oportunity to make the a global part manufacturer for Renault and VW so that they could thrive, improve and stop depending on Proton contract alone to survive.

All is well for Malaysia Car Manufacturer. May it be Proton, Perodua, Naza or DRB. All is well! God willing.

• @ trinity…

that where you were WRONG. Hyundai was founded in 1964… and guess what, KIA is the oldest car maker from Corea… founded in 1944.

Proton was established in 1983… and produced it 1st car, the SAGA in 1985.

I honestly don't care if people want to criticized Proton, as long it in a constructive manner. Don't you want your fellow countrymen to succeed?

So if you need to criticize, please by all mean.., but if you want people to ambil kisah your comment… please give constructive criticism.

Proton is not a perfect car maker and by far free from any problem… but we as a fellow countrymen should pin point any lacking and highlight any plus point so that they can address the said point and improve further from that.

/rant over.

• Wha…? 2011? no wonder it takes 6 month to just install the rear seat belts.

• Commenter on Oct 03, 2009 at 1:36 pm

Wait till they put it in S.Neo, then people boost it to 250whp with internal and turbo upgrade plus it able to last for more than a year, sure I'll buy one. Hope the block material not the same as current campro, piston and other things can change but the block still remain.

• painsama on Oct 03, 2009 at 3:10 pm

"mct said,

2011 ….will proton survive tat long ?"

Then go and worship Japanese. Just relegate your Malaysian citizenship if you have nothing to say other than blindly bashing Proton.

• Elvis on Oct 03, 2009 at 3:32 pm

Everything i see Proton Exora pass by, i wonder if the engine able to take such a huge load. No 2nd hand value….destine to be case of Juara or Tiara…..

• mizan on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:01 pm

pembetulan….1600cc bukan 1600bhp…bugatti veyron pun baru 1000bhp

• Littlefire on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:10 pm

painsama said,

October 3, 2009 @ 7:10 am

“mct said,

Then go and worship Japanese. Just relegate your Malaysian citizenship if you have nothing to say other than blindly bashing Proton.

I tot Tun Dr. M is the one who say we need to follow what the Japs and not the west right? So Who worship Japanese first? Even the first Proton Saga is from Mitsu Lancer Fiore.

Besides that, from ur comment is another racist UXXO wannabe or already?

• "..dengan berkapasiti 1600 kuasa kuda.."

LMAO !

• Kuasa Kuda on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:13 pm

1600 kuasa kuda ?! LOL Bugatti Veyron also lose….. wow Satu Boleh!

• I tot it (turbo system) was taken from subaru impreza…

• solen on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:26 pm

we should be proud of proton.

some of you that questioning about why build the engine at Uk and not Malaysia? this is because of the facilities and expertise they have in Lotus Engineering.

and Lotus owned by proton. and if proton want to build the engine in Malaysia, then they need to first build the facilities and bring all those mat saleh. that would cost a lot more.

• meteoranaic on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:55 pm

1600 bhp !!! bugatti can go fly kite

• akupunya on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:00 pm

aiyoo..why proton jst turbo charged the 1.6cc engine?

why proton not build the very powerful engine like 2.0cc or 2.5cc?

it seems that proton only produced 1.6cc engine car only la..

for perdana or bigger car engine..rebadge and rebagde..haha!!

finally when we reach at year 2020, proton can produce medium car engine…emm..nampaknya perdana menteri or agong kena la pakai kereta import cam brabus or RR or paling bodoh merc or bimmer. ada alasan kukuh PM dan agong pakai keta import sebab proton produced low class cars..hehehe…

• animous on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:00 pm

everyday i open Paultan just to check Proton news while ignoring others. To me Proton is really an Interesing company and I always waiting for another RnD by proton.

-Proud Proton savvy owner

• @ painsama… @ mct… @ all malaysian…

Im sure many in here are very young, very eager youth who want their opinion to be heard in the inter-web. All i’m asking is, as a fellow countryman, people like you, others and even me myself educate OUR SELF better… so that our opinion is heard to the level of constructive acceptance.

I dont rugi anything if anybody make stupid or tin kosong comments… but those commenters are on the losing end because nobody gonna take the comments seriously. And if nobody going to take that comments seriously, why bother commenting in the 1st place… betul?

Even at my age im still learning a lot from the internet. All i want is my fellow countrymen, regardless or their background to do the same…

/

• Mat Rally Felda on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:13 pm

forced induction 1.6 campro? UK tested in cold weather,but in Malaysia?? wonder how long can the engine last..what a joke.

• @ntiPerOdua on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:13 pm

GO GO GO PROTON !!!

• tikus (Member) on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:26 pm

Really ah? Or just show only cause Campro Engine took around 10yrs to in market.Now Turbo some more.All Talk and Talk lar…

• MycarMylife on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Good news at last , P1 pls roll it out for MY buyers and not for the rich only,

Thing is the next car out of the ass line should be with more refinement apart from the engine : remember the donut principle .

• David on Oct 03, 2009 at 5:46 pm

The KING name is longer than most of our house address….

• armandd on Oct 03, 2009 at 6:01 pm

I hope they will improve campro's engine response this time.. it's too sluggish..

• kimi_ on Oct 03, 2009 at 6:20 pm

mct said,

2011 ….will proton survive tat long ?

—————————————–

HAHAHAHAH…..LOL :)

PROTON should seriously involve in hybrid or full electric car NOW which

will be the future in 10 years time in order to survive ….

• ezudine on Oct 03, 2009 at 6:40 pm

is it this turbo kit can be install to campro iafm on persona se?? i thought my car less pick up laa.. if this turbo kit can be install to present campro engines it can be awesome one

• theanswer on Oct 03, 2009 at 6:42 pm

hehehe pastuh nak repair kne hantar pegi coe mcm blm kawan aku semlm..kt coe pun parts xde. 3jam tunggu x jadi ape.

• joe jambul on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:19 pm

the guy that said 1600 kuasa kuda i believe is not from the proton engineering section, or else his from the aerodynamic side… but he's really got a gut to said 1600 kuasa kuda in the press conference, but looking at the engine size, i've doubt it, please comment paul for the statement…

• bongok on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:23 pm

padan muka untuk hang dan kawan hang.

• mig29 on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:23 pm

Customer loyal to quality not company.

1st car proton, 2nd Proton, 3nd Produa, 4rd Produa, 5th Kia, 6th Honda, 7th Proton.

I am sorry friend I will not become Proton fan any more for the next replacement. !@#$%^&. $$$$$$

• mig29 on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:25 pm

My mistake decision for car no.7

• fadzly on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:28 pm

farking stupid MCT

• fadzly on Oct 03, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Stupid Tv3. 1600 kuasa kuda…

they are getting dumber and dumber

• they've mistaken 1600cc for Cuasa Cuda…

• @ Littlefire…

There's no part in his or her comment indicated a racist remark, are there?

This is the problem. @Painsama he/she is right… but the comment is too harsh.

We shouldn't belittle our fellow countrymen product/business… hence i keep stressing people to making constructive criticism to that people will take your view in constructive acceptance.

But you going around labeling people as racist is only making it worse. Your comment just could stop at the dasar pandang ke timur. Full stop. Plus it's a policy of technologies transferring… not so call worship the Japanese forever.

This is an automotive blog with a massive followers… not everybody have the same view or opinion… but i do believe everybody can communicate in a civilized & educated manners

/rant over.

• indigo (Member) on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Need so long to release meh? I bet Korean hybrids are quite near. Look at Kia Cerato and Hyundai i30, they have much improved over time. The Koreans have the GEMA engine at least while our fellow Proton engineers still struggling to re-engineer and modify the same old Campro engine which was launched in 2003( Despite the truth that Campro is close to10 years old I guess). I don't know what is the rationale of wasting money and it will take forever to be realised. Even the CPS functions were only available after few years of the production model of Campro came out. I think Chinese makers and Indian makers will be the next best thing.

• zaff1984 on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:16 pm

bobdbilder said,

October 3, 2009 @ 12:56 am

They choose Lotus to do engineering coz they are good? Lotus is doing it coz marketing wise, it also makes sense? Why you need to have 2 different R+D dept that does the same thing? The guys over here do a little cleaning up of the design but I doubt they touch the engine.

I feel Lotus good, especially in lightweight, handling and turbo technology. All Lotus cars using Toyota engine, and they add turbo for many years already. Marketing purpose I agree too… lol why you doubt our own engineer?

• iPro (Member) on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Paul~ issit true is a turbocharge engine? but the news said is NEW engine only

• riswan rahman on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:33 pm

just think this morning about where to get Campro CPS engine to fix in to my 3 year old Neo. Some ppl say what a waste change between campro to campro CPS. Why not just change to mivec engine is more reliable and powerful engine. For me the basis Campro engine is already a good engine just not yet complete. CPS is much better. Now turbo CPS is muchh muchh better.

Proton can i trade in my Campro engine with Campro CPS?

• _Zephyre_ on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:33 pm

Great, now they should plonk it in the Satria Neo.

• kimi_ on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:35 pm

WTH TV3…..1600 Kuasa Kuda !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is double the 800bhp engine of the current F1 car…..LOLOLOL

This means PROTON can use it on LOTUS F1 team :)

Funnylah Buletin Utama…….

• kimi_ on Oct 03, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Littlefire said,

I tot Tun Dr. M is the one who say we need to follow what the Japs and not the west right? So Who worship Japanese first? Even the first Proton Saga is from Mitsu Lancer Fiore.

——————————————–

I AGREE with you, both hands and legs up…….

• Dear all 'countrymen',

Proton doing R&D in within their own cos is good, it's all rite, be it anywhere.

Proton develop & build new models by sub-contracting foreign cos (now most Korean) is bad.

Proton left behind local cos & experts for KEY jobs is the worst.

My opinion is that, no nation is successful in the hands of others.

• Mydaus on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:02 pm

wait and see… 1batch always got problems… maybe will installed it to my neo..

• fxxtheProton on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:11 pm

agree. will proton survive that long???

and pls… i am ashame that malaysia roads are flood with lousy car.. pls.. no more protection… it makes us look dumb..

• should put in NEO…… and cal it Neo turbo…. put againts VW 1.4 TSI….

• Buatan di malaysia, mana boleh??I lost confidence with the proton.

• Maserati on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:41 pm

OMG,more Proton rubbish!

They cant even make a decent interior with good simple plastic materials and now they have this brilliant idea of coming out with a turbo engine which will have breakdowns every now and then!

These ppl still dont get it.Its like a baby,at first you have to crawl,then only u can walk.

Ppl start from ground up,Proton start from top down.

FOr Proton,their footing is not even strong yet,and they want to try jumping up .Typical idiotic mindset!

And for all those Proton "LOVERS" out there,pls dont bother replying to this,cause ur just wasting ur time.

• superookie on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:49 pm

If proton has VW dna in it. I bet i gonna get em.

• Proton BOLEH!!???????hhaha

• fxxtheProton said,

October 3, 2009 @ 1:11 pm

agree. will proton survive that long???

and pls… i am ashame that malaysia roads are flood with lousy car.. pls.. no more protection… it makes us look dumb..

——————————————————–

japan and korea hav gov protection too….korea is most protected auto industry in the world the US complain about it…..don believe ka search for the info la. i know coz i hav the info. don want to post the info search ur own. u want to know the fact search la more.then can tell who dumb either me, u, korea , malaysia, proton, or hyundai k..no info no comment k.peace

• HyundaiSmoke on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:11 pm

I live in the US and I love Hyundai, but those Protons make me curious. If they came to the US id get one as a rental to see what its made of.

• trinity on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:14 pm

@ Kim

Thanks for your info regarding hyundai/kia…my bad…that was out of something i heard not read…so yea should have did my homework before posting something next time, sorry for being abit ignorant =P

"I honestly don’t care if people want to criticized Proton, as long it in a constructive manner. Don’t you want your fellow countrymen to succeed?"

Of course i do….but in proton's case…..i sure dont give a damn anymore…proton to me is a national pride "yang tak kena tempat"….we are denied good cars and forced to stick to this national policy….if u'r against it, u'r a bad malaysian, not patriotic, bla2….there are many ways to show your patriotism…its not fair for you to say that we don't support proton's cause….we've been doing that for 20 over years now…and still…they manage to turbocharged a 1.6 engine….and that's big news….lol….

to be honest…im just one of the people who are already sick of buying proton cars….ive stopped buying protons…the last one was waja back in 2003….3 months my car was in their workshop…why? the freaking power window was stuck….took them 3 months….superb….

Under normal circumstance, proton wont even last this long if you look at how they perform, the pace of their development (10 years product cycle..lol wth?), their products and quality, without gov's help…..how can i take pride in that? they should have done better than this given that the whole nation was forced to support this national project….

lol i can go on and on but i have other stuff to do….i have no time policing other ppl's comments and tell them if your right or your wrong…his comments is tin kosong mine is tin penuh…get my drift? lol everyone is entitled to their own opinion so let them say what they want…its already hard enough being denied good quality cars…now restricting opinions? pfffttt….

im done being a patriotic malaysian in proton's case, im a consumer 1st in buying cars….work my ass off atleast i get to ride something nice to go to work…lol…. XD

• silv3rblood on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Wtf is proton thinking? ahaks…… other manufacturer around the world is going for hybrid & testing is on going…..!!!! but our proton only now start to develop a turbo engine? ahahahaha such a sore looser id wud say :P btw overheard dat in year 2010 will be no AP as our msian government edi sign the freetrade sumthing…. cant remember….. so dats mean dat all car will be crazyly cheaper than proton… so who wanna buy an overpriced proton car when u can get cheaper at a better quality ahahaha cheers!!!

• kasanova on Oct 03, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Bugger. So many hmmm…hmmmm..hmm… is that u shud be when press conference sumtin bIG?

LMAO, the reporter said, 1600 KUASE KUDE.

Bugger. THose reporter never think about what they report, whether it is wrong or right.

• riswanrahman on Oct 03, 2009 at 11:13 pm

the problem with proton car is cause by the Govt it self.

The 1st rules from Govt to Proton went proton want to come out with every new model is …. Cars must good quality, full effective, good design, and most importance must cheap… for malaysian to buy. That the reason.

""you give peanut you get monkey""

• who cares…

most of your engineers are now applying for other jobs..in terms of "kebajikan pekerja"…proton sucks!!!

• fretsurfer on Oct 03, 2009 at 11:15 pm

@Silverblood

You utter fish.

"That means" is grammatically correct, not "Dats mean".

Read the Paul Tan archives. Proton is in plans to develop hybrid engines.

EVERYBODY is using turbocharged engine these days because of it has lower displacement yet higher output. Audi, VW, Peugeot. It saves fuel.

I USED to hate Proton – during the 2 TM (Tun M and T M'leel) days. Directionless and really bad quality products. But they've improved a lot in the last 5 years.

Developing engines, car parts is not easy. That's why even big large car corporations like GM, Renault, Ford, Mazda, Audi, VW share engines and platforms. And those are big-a$$ car companies.

To develop the engine in UK with Lotus is a win-win situation. Lotus pays a lot to Toyota for the use of their engines in their cars. Lotus needs Engines. Proton needs the expertise and the technology transfer from the Lotus lads. Lotus will get their engines and Proton can get their technology transfer – unlike when Mitsu frakked Proton and left them high and dry a couple of years ago.

@Maserati,

Show me these days, a B or C class car that has decent interiors. Except for the new City, others are not worth the money, even the Civic. All plasticky and hard. Only continental cars are decent, but those are overpriced, except for the Naza Peugeots.

"And for all those Proton “LOVERS” out there,pls dont bother replying to this,cause ur just wasting ur time."

WTF? You post, you take responsibility on your opinions. Otherwise, keep your ramblings to yourself.

Utter Crocs…

• Elvis on Oct 03, 2009 at 11:31 pm

A lot of after market turbo kits for those want to upgrade their engine or better still get a mivec engine. Perhaps this is another attempt to divert Malaysians. No news about China market (complete failure to market to chinese in China) or asian market especially Indonesia after Proton start selling there. Or maybe our friends outside of Malaysia also experience so many trouble with Proton cars that they also know about Proton reputation.

• raixa on Oct 03, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Paul, is that a fully functional project that they called it phoenix project a little while ago. Then there are no wonder why the reporter said that it was new engine co-developed with lotus. Then, now I can get one soon and do some polish with it and increase the power over weight ratio to over 100 hp – tonne.

• kingkong on Oct 03, 2009 at 11:51 pm

King…………..

ganas tuee…best…best… tak sabar nak upgrade enjin exora aku nie…hehehe

Alo King wat u talking about??

U got played out by Proton by buying your Exora CPS etc etc

Upgrade is not as simple as u think , its not like u can buy it over the counter

and a plug&play unit. Better sell off your exora next year cos wen the new

engine exora is out your CPS will lose its value by easily 15-20k..nobody

wants the CPS version!

I bet lots of current Exora buyers are upset

and some would-be owners would hv cancelled their orders.

• vezeroth on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:00 am

the only problem is…… why so long???

2011 is light years away in terms of automotive engineering.

That kind of engine is needed now, better yet yesterday!

Proton RnD is too slow… maybe they're engineers all "malaypak" in the UK… sigh…

"menepati peraturan asap malaysia" er.. lol… i may be ignorant but honestly dint know we had a emissions standard.. anyone knows what the standard is? and how do all those smokey lorries fit in?

Frustrated but loyal proton customer~

• Commenter on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:22 am

vezeroth. sabar je la. bukan nak tukar kereta sekarang pun. tahun depan keluar elok la. its the right time for you, sekarang go save some money to change new car next year. huhu

And to other dumb kids who talk about hybrid. Have you heard about EVE Campro before?

• anyuser on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:25 am

Dear Kim,

The frustration, and even anger, that many feel towards Proton is not entirely unfounded.

We have been subsidising Proton's existence since its founding. Whether it is through the high taxes that non-Proton buyers have to pay in order to make Proton cars seem affordable by comparison or the "research" grants that have been provided by the Government funded by taxes we Malaysians have seen comparatively little significant return on our investments. The argument that other countries protect their car industries also is of course true. However what is also true is that the results these protected manufacturers have managed to produce dwarf the results that have come out of Proton. As such it may be said that Proton has underperformed in spite of the protection and funding that has gone into it.

What makes Proton seem even worse to some Malaysians, and probably also to other players in the auto industry, is that our "national" cars are mere exercises in the re-badging of cars from other producers and the subsequently selling off of these "national" cars to our citizens at higher prices than would have been available from the original manufacturers themselves if tax was ignored. The oft proclaimed reason of "national service" is, as stated above, arguably dated since Malaysians have had to do this national service for a relatively long time.

I must say that the most surprising thing I have learnt of this project comes from the New Straits Times where it is mentioned that

"National carmaker Proton Holdings Bhd is developing its second engine, which will power new vehicles meant for markets outside Malaysia…it is also smaller and lighter. It also has better fuel economy."

It appears our citizens will continue to subsidise Proton but will have to wait for export markets to be supplied first before we enjoy the success that we have bought. How interesting…

• old timers on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:29 am

potong sudah buat enjin turbo pun mau marah ker…bukankah enjin tersebut mampu mengeluarkan tujahan dengan 1600 kuasa kuda…where to got 1.6l engine producing 1600bhp…

tak sabar nak letak dlm kete juara..baru mengancam hahaha

• mystvearn on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:34 am

What happened if Cosworth was in trouble and Proton bought that instead of Lotus….

Own engines long time ago, but crappy handling cars. Lotus is the better buy.

• solen on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:39 am

Proton dapat untung,

toyota rugi,

honda lagi rugi,

GM dah nak bankrup (nasib baik US Gov tolong gune duit rakyat US),

Hummer dah kena jual.

So, should be proud of Proton.

• BeRrY on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:07 am

biasalaa malaysian~~~ always bashing based on their P.O.V not info

no wonder the stats done by government said that the average malaysian read only 2 books (wonder if the book was comic book???)

• fretsurfer on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:18 am

@Vezeroth

"Proton RnD is too slow… maybe they’re engineers all “malaypak” in the UK… sigh…"

You're trying to flame some race wars here, buddy? I suggest you take that racist 'tude out of here because it's typically hypocritical of us to say others racists but exempt ourselves.

"Frustrated but loyal proton customer~". WTF?? You're frustrated but you're still loyal? What kinda S&M game are you into?

If a certain soap makes my skin itchy and bloody, I'll switch to another soap, especially when there's lots of soaps which are about the same price these days.

• Fanatic 1Proton on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:20 am

SIFU…. please explain this PHEONIX PROJECT =D

you can make the proton basher die spontaneously when they read your article.. because THEY WILL BE AMAZED ..

go go PROTON !

• Fanatic 1Proton on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:23 am

animous said,

October 3, 2009 @ 9:00 am

everyday i open Paultan just to check Proton news while ignoring others. To me Proton is really an Interesing company and I always waiting for another RnD by proton.

—————

same with me =) I spend my time to read article about proton on PT blog.. others brand, i just go through less than a minute..

Perodua? i dont care … i just want to read the improvement of Proton =)

• huh@huh on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:28 am

WTF? 70 engineers 2 installed a turbo onto a campro engine?!?! Summo only available in 2011?

• This is a sad day… whatever Vezeroth race may be… that's really uncalled for.

What make our race better than other? Race or religion or whatever is formed by people… people come from collective of person… does EVERY person in that group good… or bad..? NO.

And talking about A PERSON… YOU as individually HAVE FAILED. Not your race… whatever that maybe.

• overflow (Member) on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:37 am

@Vezeroth ur r b*t*h, don't start flame around here.

inside proton R@D also include other races in there, maybe ur r some kind of stupid nerd..

i'm hope proton can discuss back with petronas for E01 engine, please don't waste our engineer resources…

• carsut on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:46 am

hope tis engine will be put in the neo – satria neo turbo.. huhu lazat

• carsut on Oct 04, 2009 at 2:51 am

huh@huh said,

October 3, 2009 @ 6:28 pm

WTF? 70 engineers 2 installed a turbo onto a campro engine?!?! Summo only available in 2011?

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/10/03/rulers-check-out-th…

——————————

bro R&D is not line ah beng workshop, they did alot of research, not jz install turbo into the campro engine.. we talk abt stability and maintainability.. can ah beng's engine last for 5 years without any rosak2?? thay hv to study all the thing inside the engine, do the math, fizik, and all those engineering thing..

• apixz on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:02 am

1600hp meh?…ahahha

• Nieto on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:18 am

hmm good improvement for proton, but doesnt it too slow? even korean manufacture already produce turbocharge engine long time ago. and proton now then r&d turbocharge. 2011, should be hi tech green world such as hybrid, not turbocharge anymore.

70 engineers???? goshh, ONE kampung mechanic also can bolt on turbo without problem on snail response engine. no diploma or degree needed, only got kampung workshop qualification can do better then the 70 engineers.

• makan makan on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:18 am

Littlefire said,

——————————————–

I AGREE with you, both hands and legs up…….

—————————

Wrong again..

the comment is another racist DA PEEE lah..

• droll on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:20 am

tuneable to 200bhp and 280nm torque?! delicious if so! i can imagine lotsa satria turbos running around with this.

• Jungle on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:32 am

Jungle clearing company found turbo in the jungle. good luck with the safety and FC.

• vezeroth on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:47 am

@fret and whoever else

i'm a malay and yes i dont think very highly of my race.. how can i when we cant compete on even playing fields with others… however there are some of us who have improved but still there are alot of lazy ones… and i dont know if you've notice but other races dont really think very highly of us and its sad…

regarding your s&m comment, each time i buy a new model proton hoping it to be decent car.. however i am proven wrong over n over again… i'd like to support the industry, u got a problem with that?

I think proton R&D is slow, its obvious they're not doing enough…. and we ought to be critical so that they can improve…

• fastcx on Oct 04, 2009 at 3:52 am

@vezeroth,

the emission standard is about international market, those r their clients/customers as well, not just malaysia

• redfueler on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:18 am

no need to go to norwich lah…

just grab petronas e01 engine..

i`m so wondering why prton cant make bigger engine than 1.6l..???

they should fcus in mking bigger engine..

maybe new prton waja will get dis engne EBTP..>>>

• LOYAL on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:19 am

HAHAHA mct KENA MARAH RAMAI2=p….apelah kw nih mct,x tw nk tlis x yh tlis r….ddk senyap2 dalam kreta kw sudaaa….

• mr_h8 on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:20 am

it's good p1 do it in Lotus..Lotus is 100% own by p1 and part of p1 group..to be exact, p1 spent small money in developing this in term of technical manpower..then when lotus untung the money goes inside p1 account also..

many just cakap kosong when says it easy to turbocharged an engine or why take long time to build turbo engine..do u know the difference what engineer do and technician/mechanic do?engineers built things, technician/mechanics fit/assemble things..it hard work and take long time to design and build thing but short time to fit it..many aspect need to think of, strength, durability n reliability, material..engineer think of these things not your mechanics!!

• loliPOP on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:31 am

true2,sokong mr_h8…

• Flannel on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:33 am

its good, but i love to see like 1.6 or 1.8 dohc N/A with variable valve timing in coming short period

• akupunya on Oct 04, 2009 at 5:23 am

proton..bila la nak rasa kereta proton yg sedap bila duduk, sedap bila pandu, …

mungkin thn 2050 kot..

• if you look at the plastic cam belt cover, its a round bulge protruding. for me its a house for vvt mechanism.

so its a turbo with vvt.

paul what do you think?

• A turbo that is sold with a factory assembled car is not something Ah Bengs can put in a car in any workshop. It has to be carefully developed to avoid reliability issues and make factory warranties not cost the company too much. People will trash their cars to the limit – and the turbo must be able to handle that over and over.

• Good for Proton. Kereta Proton saya sedap dipandu. Bagus Proton

• 70 engineers to develop a turbo engine ? only in 2011 ?

I am sure there are many mechanical / automotive / material engineer in this blog , say something that is useful !

Why go to the UK ? cause they have the facilities there and lower cost ?

BULL SHIT !!!!!

This is what happen . Proton management never wanted to invest heavily in RD department because they want to see their money come back faster . They should have see further . Berpandangan JAUH !!

Yes , it may be costly a lot if we move / transfer their facilities here , and we might only reach break even point in , lets say for instance , 15 years . Then let that be , because only then , we have our own " playground " and instead of when we need to develop something , all go to UK , bawak bini and anak sekali , boleh makan angin . Angin kat sana damn sejuk ~~~~

When we have our base ourself , we can not only benefit the company , but also local engineer . My professor always tell me , Proton has the whole goverment , they have the money , they can have the best engineer the money can buy but Proton is short sighted . The money currently invested in RD ( i dunno how much ) , but that obviously not enough . SUntik banyak sikit duit kat proton . Bring more engineers from outside .

And we might look like using other country's engineer mind and tech but please look in long term . Their existance can teach the next generation of Malaysian engineer to be independant , and truly mastering their skill . Japanese and Lotus engineers in Proton arent enough , bring more in .

YOU PAY WHAT YOU GET !!

• Tiadaid on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:27 am

Littlefire said,

October 3, 2009 @ 8:10 am

painsama said,

October 3, 2009 @ 7:10 am

“mct said,

————————-

Dr.M meant emulate Japanese work ethics. That's not worship. Instead of following Japanese work ethics, we can only worship Japanese brands. That's why Malaysia is in the state it's in. It's people like you who bash without even giving constructive criticism that's bringing malaysia down.

• lambov12 on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:28 am

will it have turbo lag ??

• WhiteFox on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:30 am

Hope this engine launch as soon as possible.

And also Hope bigger CC engine coming out for perdana replacement.

• merrick on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:34 am

Proton can forget about making engines or building a car if they can't differentiate between 1600 kuasa kuda and 1600cc engine..*buries face in shame*

• Knoxx on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:38 am

I know that now a days, other car manufactures start developing hybrid.. but at least our national people, national car, national expertise were success doing its own engine, compare like other just get 100% from outsider…

Example "ask you self.. if you get son (your pride & hope) age 10 years old but still weak in math (+ and -) compare to other 10 years old.. are you will basher you son or give more encouragement & supporting??? same also

if you get national products(our pride & hope) but still trying to achieve in latest technology, are you will basher or give support..??

• Grazer29 on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:40 am

To those hardcore P1 supporters – have you seen the 'same' protectionism policies in the 90s of Germany and even Japan? Yes, it's worse then, you'll say. But look where they are today! Look at Korean makes ! ! Doubt they EVER slack even when these are in place.

Another forumer – "anyuser" brought up an interesting (and VALID) point ! Let's look at the macro level, and not just the quality of door handles and knobs.

Back to P1. Anything before 2005 was @%#^!@%. AGAIN – not the build quality. My qualm is that we had NOTHING to call our own after so much taxpayers & carowners funding . Then a new CEO came in (less promises given this time round. Good job!). Improvement after 05 with Campro and Gen2 – still lacking behind, but at least R&D is working and reduce dependency of rebadging.

I love this country. I jsut don't love some people put in place to manage our money. Let's hope this doesn't continue forever .

p/s. And YES, racism has no place in this country! :)

• solen on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:47 am

OMG~~

y u all complaining about the the proton making the 1.6 engine instead of bigger engine.

RX8 only 1.3 what.

• seat-belt on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:48 am

Littlefire said,

u try to think, why proton end their 25 years contract with mitsu rather than just continue it back? i think u does not know bout the first 25 years history mitsu with proton…poor u…doesn't your know how dictator mitsu to proton until they cannot done their RnD fully in the first 25 years?

what a racist basher…..this is a blog about the car industry, not a stupid politic blog or forum! mr. paul, even tough littlefire is a good commenter about the cars(not for P1), i think you should aware bout his racist comment(s)…or just delete his useless racist comment(s)..if Dr. M read your comment, sure he will be damn disappointed…

btw, proton, what about the hybrid EVE project?…

• linear_system on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:50 am

hemm…i think a lot of commenter here know nothing about engine developement.some even say "need 70 engineers to build 2 engines?", "if turbo even plug in can do" and many more..

for u stupid commenter..pls la read more about engine R&D and things..is not as easy as u think..go back to your school and learn more…

i support proton if they are developing something.at least there is something i can be proud of like our neo rally car..proud to be a neo owner :)

• boleh! on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:52 am

no need to talk.

if got satria neo Turbo i sure buy.

Eat fuel kar, low quality ka, if i can afford it, i'll for sure damn buy it.

satria neo turbo~!!!! ( if they dare to give warranty la)

malaysia boleh~!!!

• boleh! on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:53 am

all basher, wei, turbokit very simple only la, go sunway a lot la. the only problem is, how to give warranty? so,the production car must be reliable lo.

they must damn test it kao kao before push out to market. wei, ppl can die in this satria neo turbo wei.

• @Solen

Yes , mazda rx8 is only 1.3 litres . But did you know what type of engine is that ? Its rotary engine and not normal reciprocating engine we are using .

Their 1.3 litre is just like 1.8 litre piston engine WITHOUT Turbo or whatsoever .

• zafedz on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:25 am

When they should start developed their own drivetrain?..new engine without proper drivetrain also can't produce better output…

• pelik melihat semua bertelagah pasal benda nie…rasanya yg komen dan kritik nie…90% langsung tak tau apa2 pun pasal dunia perniagaan dan automotif…ada sebab kenapa dan mengapa ianya dicipta dan direka dan mengapa dengan Lotus dan sebagainya…kalau setakat mengkritik ibarat tong kosong..tanpa ilmu di dada..baik tak yah kritik dan komen…kritik dan komen biarlah ada isi dan ilmu…aku mmg tak tau pasal kereta..tapi aku nak belajar pasal kereta…namun pelik aku melihat kebanyakkan kat sini, mcm budak2 tak sekolah…bodoh dan sombong…kalau tak tau..buat cara tak tau aje…jgn nak tunjuk lagak mcm diri tue handal sgt pasal kereta…kalau rasa banyak duit..beli kereta yang mahal dan bagus…kalau takde banyak duit beli yang sederhana aje…janji tiap2 bulan anak bini dapat makan…yang penting…kritik kasikk betul2 laa…jgn jadikk bangan dan tolol…BONGOKKKKK Betulll!!!!!!!!!

• benzema on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:42 am

seriously.. aku rasa nak tepuk2 je mulut basher sorg2 ni. komen tak constructive langsung. xde point dan xde fact. hanya tahu condem org je.

oh i forgot. we malaysian can't see our own people to be successful. hasad dengki senang cerita.

• penangboy on Oct 04, 2009 at 9:59 am

Perkara yang paling BODOH bagi master planner kat Proton. Apsal jual Exora tanpa 1 engine yang bagus?

Proton hanya nak untung ajer, kesian semua orang Malaysian yang beli Exora baru2 ini tanpa engine yang bagus.

• penangboy on Oct 04, 2009 at 10:01 am

Aku rasa Proton sudah nak BANKRUPT klu masih x der orang luar bagi duit. Bab tu lah kesian semua rakyat Malaysia kena derma 2 tahun dulu baru dapat engine yang sebenar.

• Export?? on Oct 04, 2009 at 10:34 am

Did i hear it wrong or what? Engine ini untuk pegeluaran Export?? wat the hell is this statements suppose to mean? Not for malaysian??

• Jie (Member) on Oct 04, 2009 at 10:46 am

Paul, I think it is ok to just say Yang DiPertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan. No need to type the whole lot.

• kujik on Oct 04, 2009 at 10:56 am

beli lotus utk chassis, handling, tuning, bisnes

beli agusta tuk engine

semua ni utk anak tempatan mnimba ilmu

blajar dari org pandai..

btulkan klau silap

• olowokandi (Member) on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:05 am

We should be patriotic, BUT, not BLINDED patriotic. Do not get brain washed by those shameless Politicians.

Why a lot of Malaysian abandon Proton? There are reasons, not simply because they worship Japanese brand. If buying Toyota ahead of Proton is unacceptable, we all should throw away our Sony LCD, Nokia HP, Panasonic Aircon, Ikea furniture, McDonald and embrace only Pensonic, CSL, FujiAir, Cavenzi, Ramly Burger and so on. Better also stop supporting ManUtd or Liverpool and start become a die-hard Selangor or MyTeam fans. Is this logic? Use your brain.

Proton making progress, Proton come out own turbo engine, these are good news, but nothing to be excited anyway. We all know why proton survive until today. NO, their profit are not really from UK or AUS or what so ever country out there, but exploited from we fellow Malaysians. I don't feel proud of this.

When one day, Proton rank top 5 in J.D.Power dependability study, or when Proton conquered American, European market, then yes, i will be damn farking proud of Proton, and for sure will go grab one of the hottest car manufactured by them. Until then, sorry, i still think Japanese/Korean cars are much better, and thus we should adopt to the kind of automotive policy that Thailand has now.

• olowokandi (Member) on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:23 am

You don't need to have Proton to show your love to the country, a lot of developed countries are doing damn good and their country man live in good life without their local brand cars.

Let Proton competes directly with other brands without any special protection. Only fierce competition can push them to the top. If they survive, we will have another Airasia and Top Glove. If they failed, we still have our better life to live.

• olowokandi (Member) on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:38 am

So, please do not bundle your Patriotism with Proton. It is like telling people eating Ramly burger is so proud and eat BigMac is a sin. If one day, the Gov put protection on all burgers, and you have to pay RM20 for BigMac and forced to eat Ramly burger everyday, you will realized what kind of bullshit policy it is. Same as to our current National Automotive Policy Framework. What kind of bullshit it is.

By the way, no offense to Ramly burger…it is just an example. In fact, they keep expanding their business without a National Burger Policy Framework to protect them…so kudos to them!

• hye everybody,

I really hope this engine will used TIMING CHAIN rather than TIMING BELT in term of maintenance & capability, hope the price is resonable

• peYno on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:21 pm

TIMING CHAIN??

even old KE toyota engine Unser use Timing Chain.. and most of comp switch back to timing belt for their latest model

why??? yeah there is a reason why they do so

• Pembaca Berita on Oct 04, 2009 at 1:29 pm

Sorry guys.. I tersalah sebut.. Actually bukan 1600 Kuasa kuda.. but 1600 kuasa kuda padi or kuda kepang. bye lov u all..

• old timers on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:27 pm

yg design this turbo only few senior engineers in lotus, yg lagi 70 engineer potong gi norwich cuti2 lah bro…free vacation on taxpayer money…sape yg taknak…

• To gamble proton business just to see whether they can survive or not is just a very stupid idea by an idiot i think.

• Littlefire on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:26 pm

peYno said,

October 4, 2009 @ 5:21 am

TIMING CHAIN??

even old KE toyota engine Unser use Timing Chain.. and most of comp switch back to timing belt for their latest model

why??? yeah there is a reason why they do so

——————————————

Go check newest engine from Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi, merc, bmw and even VW new 888 GTi engine… Now they have used back Timing Chain as this have been proven to last longer, reduce maintenance and workmanship.

In the past they dont use timing chain due to higher engine noise. But now with better material and technology, timing chain already a normal application.

I can say is that both have their good and bad. But for normal road users, timing chain is better as they no need to worry the mileage so much.

http://www.crxsi.com/articles/read/what-s-best-ti…

http://www.aa1car.com/library/ar594.htm

"Timing chains in Toyotas will generally last

the life of the engine. Even in the 20 R engines, it was the timing chain

tensioner, not the chain itself, that failed first."

If can last long, sure it is cheaper to maintain…

http://newsgroups.derkeiler.com/Archive/Alt/alt.a…

Besides that, New Isuzu diesel engine is also using timing gear & chain like old Vw beetle engine using. Just google it and read about it…

http://www.isuzu.net.my/model_dc3000.php

Some technology may be old, but with newer inovation they and in their best just like CVT technology. Da Vinci already invented long time ago…

I am really happy that Proton can do a turbo engine, but the problem now is they a necessary of sending 70 engineer to R&D 2 years for a turbo engine in UK, which in Malaysia they cannot with all the facility?!? Is it in our country the cost is cheap contra working in UK?!? I tot with this time, all ppl should be cutting cost, work faster. In 2 years, other manufacturer already invent even better technology…

Is this what we call white elephant project?!? Or wasting people money? If they really design a whole new engine, i would say go ahead. But from the details upwards, i can just assume a bolt-on turbocharge engine… Gen.2 already a lot of bolt-on turbo running around Malaysia and even Australia..

If they want to invent for 2 years, i would like to set some condition about it.

1st they need is to have Direct Injection technology, which is almost a must in most new engine application..

2nd for turbo, low pressure type should be very good already. As for Exora, torque is more better compare to high hp.

And finally, Is it really for Export market only?!? WTF?!?

And for the racist comment i am sorry, but in our country which ppl always shouted other ppl to leave Malaysia when they cannot answer question throw to them?!? Brainless..

• peYno on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:39 pm

so good work in automotive industry meh?

70 proton engineers can go jalan2 to UK

100 over perodua engineers also jalan2 to Japan to develope new Bumper of Boon prrrtthhh

• Elvis on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:01 pm

Very very true bro olowokandi….

• boleh! on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:01 pm

the cat from japan again.

any observation that can help malaysian open their mind? any constructive stuff to share?

or just the usual cat puff again?

• boleh! on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:03 pm

last time japan also copy bulat bulat. in 1960-1970, they are big copy car.

now china also ppl said, big copy cat, but when i saw the handphone can watch NTV7, and nokia ,SE,motorola also cannot make this kind of phone, i start to impress.

hopefully, they can copycat fast enough, before they are wipe out in the competitive world.

you guys think the EPF can tahan for so long? car industry is money burning.

• lanuncyber on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:46 pm

If this new engine is a turbo-charged CamPro CPS, the engine itself is no longer as same as currently running CPS. because there are at least 42 parts of the CPS engine will be replaced in order to bolt in the turbo charger. so, unfortunately, we can't simply install the Proton's turbo charger inside our CamPro or CamPro CPS. the solution? install after market turbo charger.

I wonder why people still condemning Proton in every single thing they did? so, what's the big deal if Proton uses 70 engineers to install the turbo. should Proton uses 5-10 engineers on the turbo charger project, you'll say, "10 engineers? the turbo must be sucks!" don't be such an iD!0t. the more, the better. 2 brains usually better than 1.

• ruler = pembaris

LOL

should continue to develop that hybrid EVE engine for future use

even kia start to do hybrid engine oredi

• seat-belt on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:52 pm

i'm feels kinda weird about the malaysians.. when malaysia gov did the National Automotive Policy Framework, many malaysians ppl kutuk2 but when korea did the same thing, nobody in korea kutuk2 bout it…

in addition to the ppl who only know to kutuk malaysians engine, did u know how hard it is to build an engine? did u hv the experience to produce it? furthermore, they produce the engine outside malaysia bcoz malaysia doesn't have the facility in building the engine..n maybe this is one of the way to reduce the cost..if not, for what proton bought the lotus?..haiz….and furthermore, from what i saw in my life, if there is a thing or work that are done or lead by the name such as lee ter hong, lim min chern, nobody will kutuk…but when the name are like ahmad sazali, muhammad tajul zahari abu bakar, many ppl will kutuk eventough they are more pro than the other one..i dunno why….(sorry~~)

• Timing Chain is old technology….. remember the old Volvo 240, yes my dad says it use timing chain. but it seems like some manufacturers use timing chain for their new models. It has pros and cons. Pros it will last longer, cons noisy and have to tighten now and then, just like motorcycle chain.

• amirzaim on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Awatlah banyak sangat komen bodoh ni!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kalau tak tau, duduk diamlah. Sebelum nak komen, baca artikel tu sampai habis!!!!

Ok, proton memang bagus sebab nak buat enjin turbo ganti enjin NA yang campro pakai tu. Bunyi enjin tu mesti power punya!!!

Walaupun proton makin berkembang dengan teknologi barunya, kenapa syarikat proton dan syarikat automotif tempatan yang lain agak lembab dlm pengeluaran model terbarunya dan juga kualitinya tidak setanding dengan kualiti piawaian eropah?

Jikalau mereka tu dilindungi dengan cukai 300% ke atas kereta import, mereka saja nak lambatkan proses pembangunan kenderaan nasional. Jika cukai itu diturunkan, maka ia akan kejutkan para syarikat automotif tempatan supaya bersaing dengan lebih gigih dan seterusnya memesatkan lagi industri kenderaan nasional.

• lol..buat keta cam pa tah..guna kejap dan krek..krok..krek..klu nak buat tu,buat la betul2..biar rakyat puas hati..klu nak bagi kat org luar negara,bleh plak bagi yg elok2..yg dlm negara bagi hampas je..apa punya hampes laa…pirahhh

• LeBronJames on Oct 04, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Good to hear that Proton is coming out the turbo specs. Make sure your "safety features" and "the price is reasonable". Congrats!!!

• The way I see it Malaysia is pretty much taking the exact same path as the koreans, who heavily protected their local markets for the 60 odd years Kia has been in existance. Even three decades after Kia was founded, it was almost impossible to buy an imported car in Korea.

Proton is only 23 years old.

A factory installed turbo kit is a wise and suitable move for the type of cars that Proton makes. Having a proper RnD team worng on is is a good move. As mentioned by lots of other people, developing a reliable engine is no small thing.

The local malaysian market is opening up slowly. As far as I know, a Swift is actually cheaper in Malaysia than in Australia, while other imported sub-2.0L cars are only about 20-30% cheaper overseas once OTR costs have been included (website prices are not OTR!). The 300% tax scenario is a myth, and only used to apply to very high powered cars imported prior to the tax revision early this decade.

• old timers on Oct 04, 2009 at 10:24 pm

seat-belt,

when korea introduced any policy to protect its national carmakers, why you bother? If u korean, then, its up to you to complain…i'm not complaining for other country's policy…hey, i dont vote for them…if u're korean, syoh…syoh… this thread for Malaysian carmaker only…gi main jauh-jauh..

• Pembaca Berita on Oct 04, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Hi guys.. 70 engineer going to UK mean 70 engineers gain new experience and precious knowledge and bring it back to Malaysia . Technology transfer is the main reason why proton bought lotus.

• Not all imported cars are free from defects too.. I know cos some of neighbours have problems with their foreign cars too. It follows the normal curve in statistics.

• WhiteFox on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:45 pm

Well some of them nvr know when proton bolt on the turbo

There need

-New exhaust piping

-ECU setting

-Brake, Suspension and Stability

-Reliable Test

-Spec Drawing for supplier

and more (hope there got nice gear system)

All these no work by 2 5 engineer only, there need few team to handle different task. That why u saw it need quite a lot of engineer and also if our engineer involve so there know the process and knowledge than we no need a bit a bit need call UK engineer come MY just for finding solution == when the engine is on production.

Correct me if i am wrong.

• first ,I never thought malaysian's to be really stupid.The cost of ownership of a car in malaysia is cheap,road tax is subsidized and the price of petrol is sold cheap.compare the price of ron 95 in singapore which is sing$1.80 or in thailand which is nearly twice the price in malaysia.If we want really cheap cars then we must accept majority of the ownership of owning a car to be dictated by market forces and not susidized, like singapore,thailand, japan,america,uk and australia.now for the engine ,i believe the new engine is the final evolution of the campro engine:campro-campro iafm-campro cps twin phase timing.i belive that this engine will be finally a variable valve timing incorparating a tubocharger and direct fuel injection.the biggest question is the displacement of the engine,will it be 1.6-1.8-2.0 or 1.6 and 2.0 only.remember the campro engine was design to be dieselised and this the first step to making a proton diesel engine.on the concept of an electric car i agree with carlos ghosn that the market is not ready for electric cars.first of all there is no dedicated recharging stations available like in tokyo or paris.second , the prize of an electric or hybrid is more expensive the a gasoline or diesel cars, would the consumer pay double for a car of the same size of existing technology?.as we have seen the last speculative trade, the price of oil went to us$143,what if the price of energy flactuate after the recession ends since majority of economy still depend on coal,gas,diesel rather than nuclear technology to generate electricity?will the cost of ownership be higher or the same.

• mouse on Oct 05, 2009 at 1:19 am

they should improve on the quality first instead.. Also hopefully the chasis can cope with the engine…

• well in my opinion…proton is doing the right thing..we all know that "Rome was not built in a day"..

they need to do things step by step coz their only 20 plus…others have been in the industry for a longtime already…we can never run unless we learn to walk first…so be patient…maybe not now but the future generations will enjoy the success of proton..:D

• http://media.photobucket.com/image/vvt%20with%20t…

this is a sample picture picture of how vvt incorprated at cam pulley with timing belt at intake side. therefore the cam belt cover protrudes.

so this new proton engine is affirmative a vvti type looking at its cam belt cover. and if it turbo ,then its comination of two, and if its cps for lift application, thats more.

this is hype.

• haiyohhhh kutuk lagi…. ape nak jadi rakyat malaysia nih… sepatut nye sape yang kutuk tu bagi lah cadangan tok menaik taraf .. kutuk mcm mangkuk jerk .. aku bukan nak sakit hati ape.. be proud of malaysian.. … kalau kete jepung kemain lagi sokong memang ler kene ingat umur proton baru berapa .. lagi satu all other car maker pun pernah jugak mengalami masalah begitu.. so jgn lah nak hentam jerk.. ecah tau kat luar tu banyak yang berbakat tok uppgraded engine proton kan.. so nanti keluar jerk engine 1.6cc tu ader terbo ape kate korang beli n buat modifikasi yang lebih sempurna.. ape macam aku cabar lah… bukan ape tok yang mengutuk ler .. pasang terbo salah tak pasang salah… bodoh betul kalau u rakyat malaysia yang benar benar prihatin bagi pandangan selain dari kutukan.. kalau tak suka proton jgn beli.. nih kete tok org sederhana mcm kami org yang reti bersyukur… korang tu kutuk jerk lebih… banggalah jadi pemilik kete malaysia.. why nak kondem our own industry… sorry we are malaysian proud of it thanks to god we are one of the nation produce our own product..

• ofcoz proton need lots of engineers sent to UK to learn and developed the engine, etc. coz malaysia road fatality is very high, every day got ppl die accident, so need lots of back-up to ensure continuity. if only sent 2 ppl and 1 die langgar tiang lampu and another die langgar lembu, then how?

• Commenter on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:28 am

awak,

Maybe Proton keep it secret, and wait to unveil when then time is ready to make the basher Shut the hell up. Maybe they a making the most advance 1.6litre turbo engine in the market. I hope the new engine will replace 2zz-ge in lotus elise and exige models.

• durex on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:29 am

commentator…dream on lah.. In terms of engine technology

its still the Japanese and the Europeans which is the market leaders.

So don't "dream" – maybe that shd be P1's tagline.

1.6 CPS has maxed its 10 year lifespan and now they wanna come up with another 1.6!!…Pls lah taking 2 years to come up with one engine

by then its "old"tech already!!! How abt 1.8 or 2.0 ???

• Latex on Oct 05, 2009 at 3:34 pm

durex said,

October 5, 2009 @ 2:29 am

commentator…dream on lah.. In terms of engine technology

its still the Japanese and the Europeans which is the market leaders.

So don’t “dream” – maybe that shd be P1’s tagline.

1.6 CPS has maxed its 10 year lifespan and now they wanna come up with another 1.6!!…Pls lah taking 2 years to come up with one engine

by then its “old”tech already!!! How abt 1.8 or 2.0 ???

1.6cc but the performance like 2.0cc, means u pay less for roadtax ..etc etc.. stupid la u…

• Proton quality is now on par with other international brand, now they are going to improve their technology and features, so why need to stop them.

• azrai on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:00 pm

From what I read and from what I watch in Bulletin Utama, this is a new engine. A 1.6l new engine which produce 30%-40% more power than the CamPRO and have a greater fuel efficient. It is ready by 2 years time to come into production. There's no mentinoning about turbo or light turbo. The turbo kit on Exora concept is just an experiment using aftermarket products. By the way the code name of this engine is also mentioned.

• TheDuck on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:01 pm

17_S said "Proton quality is not on par with other international brand." You must be joking! Proton NEVER on par EVEN through protectionism, is a more accurate statement.

• old timers on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:24 pm

ahbeng workshop 1 week install turbo can run, no prob -but no warranty, of course lah, ex-spm only…

potong r&d, 70 engineers pasang turbo siap 2011, still not convince whether can run or not…need some test run… all 70 engineers got degree first class..haha, look like overkill to me… or are they pure 'lembap'

• Whoeva on Oct 05, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Typical malaysian…kutuk and bashing our own product tak habis2.Bajet diorg tu power sangat.Padahal bende2 ni sume yg buat income utk ekonomi negara. Lepas tu worship tak beragak negara2 yang lain. It is true,certain things we have to follow other countries/people to improve ours,but be ralistic be logistic. Bile ekonomi negara down nnt mule la bising. Bile dah jobless baru tau. I am strongly agree with you Dan. Dh dapat subsidi sume tapi tak appreciate. You guys should be grateful to enjoy all these gift by living in this country.

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:27 pm

overflow said,

October 3, 2009 @ 6:37 pm

i’m hope proton can discuss back with petronas for E01 engine, please don’t waste our engineer resources

Read in CBT yesterday. TM said Petronas engine P98 (E01?) cost RM18000 w/o gearbox. Campro only cost RM4600. Maybe wait until achieve ROI after mass produced in China so can lower down the asking price.

• Commenter on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Campro 2nd hand engine is about RM4600, new one far more expensive than that. Where u got info? If E01 engine cost RM18000 there are a lot of us converting to this engine. Btw you price statement is used unit or new part?

• Jimmy Dean on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:32 pm

I am really amazed by the negativity of the comments here. The new trend in engine development is going for smaller displacement engines with turbocharging or supercharging. The reason for this is to address 2 conflicting requirements: powerful engine (to maintain/achieve performance of larger engine) yet resonable fuel consumption (running cost, emissions and other regulations).

There are many things that can be done with the old faithful internal combustion engine. I believe this will not be the last evolution of the Campro engine. At least two more things can be included: 1. Direct fuel injection and 2. Two stage turbocharging (with one of the stage being an electric turbocharger which can increase the transient response, power output and improve performance of turbocharger taking into account cyclic nature of the conventional turbocharger). Even the turbocharger itself perhaps can be designed with variable geometries to improve performance and having a motor/generator sandwiched in between the turbine and compressor.

In my opinion, given the resources available, Proton R&D is going in the right direction with their technological roadmaps (I haven't seen the actual technological roadmaps of Proton since I am not their employee).

• LeBronJames on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Epol wrote,

ofcoz proton need lots of engineers sent to UK to learn and developed the engine, etc. coz malaysia road fatality is very high, every day got ppl die accident, so need lots of back-up to ensure continuity. if only sent 2 ppl and 1 die langgar tiang lampu and another die langgar lembu, then how?

Hi Epol,

I have u agree that our road accident is very high. The stats shows that our Hari Raya fatal accident death is worst then H1N1 death. :o

To be fair again, Proton is not the "main" factor to be blamed. We should blame ourself! I am a Malaysian too, I feel that we have driving atittude problem. The worst thing is that most of us don't admitted! (coward)

If Proton do their part and same goes to us, I believe we can reduce to damage the lamp post and also cows. :p

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:57 pm

TheDuck said,

October 5, 2009 @ 8:01 am

17_S said “Proton quality is not on par with other international brand.” You must be joking! Proton NEVER on par EVEN through protectionism, is a more accurate statement.

————–

NEVER? it is inaccurate statement. IN FACT P1 is improving.

• farghmee on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:41 pm

1. good news. phoenix bangkit!

2. hantar ramai lg engineers. boleh blaja pandai2.

3. factory spec turbo mesti lg bes drp turbo trial&error bengkel.

kalu korg nk tau, dulu ada org nk potong jari kalu exora laku.

dia jeles sgt kalu exora laku.

skrg ni aku xdgr dh berita drp mamat yg nk potong jari tu.

mgkn dia dh tukar nick lain kot? ;)

atau pn mmg dia dh potong jari dia abes, smpi xble menaip? lol

• initial R on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Sorry i want to celah sikit……. 70 P1 engineers not only for this Campro turbo project, but also for new type of P1 engine that they newly develope with lotus tech. I have read from some of article that now they on progress for new engine that meet the market (maybe for 1.8, 2.0, diesel, hybrid, or all of them). So the progress is there. It not like other send 100 engineers for just only for rebadging & stylist the car. Korean also get protect from G but they ppl support the car even that time they get lousy car with no safety insure, now we see where they are. Now in our market we have China car product, The built quality par below than P2 but still Malaysian ppl buy coz they said cute ????? (maybe wrongly hear). Macam mana pun bagus gak antar reramai, hantar 70 balik pun 70. kalau tak mungkin balik 50, lagi 20 teruskan kerja kat lotus UK.

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:44 pm

Wahai rakyat malaysia,yg suka mengutuk2…

tu je korang pandai….kalau lah anda semua bijak pandai apsal x jd menteri??? semua benda korang kutuk….proton buat ape pun korang kutuk….gov salah….korang dapat pakai keta pun dh bagus lah….dapat isi minyak pun dh bagus….apa korang nak lagi?????? duk negara org lain baru ko bersyukur duk malaysia….

Lain kali jgn kutuk….bagi idea utk improve bukan kutuk….ko kutuk dapat duit? sape rugi ko? pastu semua kutuk2 malaysia gak rugi….

Gov not idiot,proton not idiot n malaysia not idiot…..but the comfirm idiot is u….

• hotwheeler on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:45 pm

1600 kuasa kuda hotak kau!

• juz blame jpj..too many lesen agong..blame malaysian attitude..malaysian driver don't have patient..

• hans_emaze on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:00 pm

it's interesting that people normally talks about engine.we tend to forget that with the most powerful engine in the world without excellent powertrain the power can't be translated to the wheels to drive the machine.

Proton has….. i;m not to shy to say a very good and reliable engine such as the CAMPRO.

i would like to see Proton vehicles be fitted with their own engine and drivetrain on their cars someday.

• kereta nasional on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Littlefire said,

very pitty…is not about worship, it's about try to figure out how japanase built up thier country…thier technology..from zero to hero…

yes..the first proton is based on mitsu model..but that statment is "lapok" already…now proton is doing RND for its own engine..that show proton is improving

engineers from proton have the cabaility to produce such powerful car, but they need to think about the ROI…not all people will buy proton cars..because some of you already put in mind.."proton car=lame car".Better to buy honda..toyota..and even worst..by MYVI..

• nemo66 on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:38 pm

our prob is malaysian not patriot to buy n support local product like Japanese & Korean!!

Perodua n naza national proud????

• Our Money on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:40 pm

this horde of Malaysian's product basher will never end… in fact, they even go to other country's automotive blog or website to bash proton. so u want Malaysia to become a develop country? how? look at their citizen…

• Andy Lee on Oct 05, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Cars in UK are very affordable compared to Malaysia, no thanks to the car tariffs that we have back in Malaysia. Hence, we can indulge in cars that we like easily over here, as compared to Malaysia where we have to shrimp and save to get the models that we want. However, I must add that the insurance are on the higher side- which is why I keep my cars stock over here, but my cars in Malaysia are frequently modified.

Proton in UK is treated like a poor man's car, although I was surprised to see that it is actually pretty well-equiped compared to the other cars in the same segment, and the prices are also very affordable (even when compared to our Mlaysian same model but with lesser fittings). The only Proton that has been well-received and enthused upon over the last few years had been the Satria GTI and the resale value holds well with Y2x models selling at GBP500-1k on an average. Even then, the badge is commonly replaced with the Mits by owners.

The Satria Neo has also been well-received, although there were wide complaints about use of its dashboard cheap plastics and thirsty Campro. Indeed, English are well-pampered in the choices for cars compared to Malaysians in Malaysia. There are VERY FEW Proton cars seen OTR in UK; and I am mainly based in London and even then, I have only seen less than 5 Protons in the last 2 years. Perhaps in the countryside, there could be more as the people are less concerned about image and more about value-for-money.

Although I like the look of the Exora, I don't see it becoming very much of a common commodity here in UK. With much better specs from other European makes at good pricing, plus the badge snob, Proton would remain a low-volume in UK. And the general English knows that a Lotus is a Lotus and a Proton is NOT a Lotus, despite the use of the badge and all that.

One point that I like to inquire is, if Proton slaps on the turbocharger and increases the power capacity from the Campro 1.6 to compete with a NA 2.0, why not just make use of the current 2.0 engine that it have at its disposal in the first place? Everyone knows that the Exora has poor weight-to-power ratio given the small engine, so a larger engine selection would have made the MPV more competitive with the other selections in the market.

Cheers, Andy

• arch808 on Oct 05, 2009 at 8:20 pm

"ReactiX said,

October 3, 2009 @ 1:22 am

Its getting closer to get better engine from proton. nice one. p2 apa ada?? tarak.. ilek… everything rebadge, rebadge rebadge.. well some say why have 2 RnD facilities.. its better than dont have any (p2 case)"

sapa cakap P2 takde RnD? tu yg design skirting & spoiler tu, I think they have a dedicated RnD Dept to design such thing..!! wakakakaka

• Proton Gila on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:25 pm

Dun really care what Proton have to offer as they dun know at all and know nuts about car manufacturing.I only know they are getting profits from all malaysian and rakyat just to satisfy their so called "Malaysia Boleh" pride!!!

Can you imagine our Proton BLM worth rm38k??? Farking so expensive!!! If Proton want Malaysian support it should further reduce the price… Proton must realise that their cars can't at all compete with others in automotive industry! Not a chance in term of engine,layout/design,quality and so on and so forth…Please honest to your own self and make a true malaysian car that worth malaysian/rakyat hard earn money…We Malaysian are not rich overall,please be considerate…

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:28 pm

Motto "Balik Kampung";

Biar lambat asal selamat.

Motto Proton;

Biar lambat sebab kerajaan akan jaga kita, tak perlu risau la.

Motto tersorok Proton;

Sejarah dunia permotoran ada di sini (jika anda nak lihat keadaan syarikat pengeluar kereta 40 tahun dulu, lawatilah Proton).

Visi Proton;

Bangkrap tepat pada 1 Januari 2020 (Selepas penutupan akaun 2019)

Misi Proton;

Menghabiskan sebanyak mungkin duit yang ada.

Go Proton! Go to hell.

• Nakal on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:28 pm

70 engineers in not accurate..they probably come from powertrain dept only..

Others :

Project Enginners

Production Enginners

Quality Engineers

Testing Engineers

Prototype Engineers

Logistic Executive

Local Vendors Engineers..

and many more… benefited from the turbo project

• pulge on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Proton and Perodua do have their own RnD dept. While Proton RnD is more on developing new technology and design for their new models to cater international market, Perodua is more on redesign and improving the existing model (rebadged Toyotas) for it to suit and fit with Malaysian market and needs.

Research and development can mean many things. Use your brain.. ^^

• hi…xsangka, byk betul automotif engineer dalam malaysia ni, team lotus f1 ada byk kerja kosong,bleh lah apply tunjuk kepakaran. nak turbo charge engine, memang nampak senang, tapi nak tepati standard emission antarabangsa, fuel economy, reliability, gear box yg sesuai n tahan, dan macam2 lg memakan masa dan duit.

to develop a new engine is cost a lot. it cost more than develop a platform of a car. thats why even for vw, many cars from their company including others in their group such as skoda,audi and many more share the same engine. not only that, hyundai,kia,mitsu and pug pun kongsi engine walupun company lain2 coz nak buat engine bukan senang dan cost a lot. bygkan berapa org dari powerterrain department dari 4 company besar tu nak buat gema engine.

tolongla kalu ckp guna akal dan fakta, bukan stakat google kat internet je bleh jadi engineer. keje dulu dalam rnd automotif ni baru tau macammane. sebiji skru pun kena ukur,timbang dan test dengan alat yg betul.

anyway, pheonix has hatch, only time will tell when it ready to spread its wing and fly. adios……………

• Great Proton on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Great Proton!!

Btw, GOV backup Proton, nothing wrong, good policy! The super power nation like USA also need to rescue they own national car, why not us!

If you rich, just buy non national car! If you not afford, you either face the fact or think about how to earn more $ so that you can buy non national car; do not complain other as you should complain yourself at first why you are not affordable!

Proton great! Proton great! Proton great!

• Great Proton on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Great Proton!!!

Btw, GOV backup Proton, nothing wrong, good policy! The super power nation like USA also need to rescue they own national car, why not us!

If you rich, just buy non national car! If you not afford, you either face the fact or think about how to earn more $ so that you can buy non national car; do not complain other as you should complain yourself at first why you are not affordable!

• Great Proton on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Great Proton!!!!

• arch808 on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:27 pm

True, RnD can mean many things. thats why the skirtings and spoilers for Special Edition rebadged-japanese-car-converted-to-become-best-selling-Msian-national-car needed to be designed by a dedicated RnD team of local Msian people.

And the design is so outstanding even the orginal japanese engineers that design the original cars, applaud these local RnD team for designing the spoilers/skirtings so canggih, and theye even it in the rebadged-to-Daihatsu-cars in Indonesia.

next Project, rebadging Toyota Passo Sette (also known as the Daihatsu Boon Luminas). Ooooh… I'm so look forward,,,, Hopefully this time, the local RnD team can surpass the previous achievement by designing much better skirtings/spoliers and getting even more credit from the Japanese RnD team.

Bravo Msia. wink wink.

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:33 pm

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

October 5, 2009 @ 1:28 pm

Stupid. Esok kalau ko nyer anak grad technical takde keje jangan salahkan kerajaan. Tak buat industri lah itulah. Just follow your mind.

• chicane on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:35 pm

360……..

Have you heard of the phrase if you can't beat them join them!

That's what we want to hear from P1. No use spending so much

on R&D and after 2 years come up with another CrApMPRO.

Phoenix has hatched ??? Don't count the chix b4 its hatched.

It could be a snake instead!!!!:)

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:37 pm

True2 GREAT PROTON…..

others that to many complain go piss else where….

i think 1malaysia F1 team will be R&D for proton to improve..hopefully…

• old timers on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:43 pm

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

October 5, 2009 @ 1:28 pm

Motto “Balik Kampung”;

Biar lambat asal selamat.

Motto Proton;

Biar lambat sebab kerajaan akan jaga kita, tak perlu risau la.

Motto tersorok Proton;

Sejarah dunia permotoran ada di sini (jika anda nak lihat keadaan syarikat pengeluar kereta 40 tahun dulu, lawatilah Proton).

Visi Proton;

Bangkrap tepat pada 1 Januari 2020 (Selepas penutupan akaun 2019)

Misi Proton;

Menghabiskan sebanyak mungkin duit yang ada.

Go Proton! Go to hell.

————————————————————-

U missed the latest slogan:

Motto Potong dlm f1:

Biar kalah asal berbelanja besar…bukan duit mak bapak aku..duit gomen

Motto potong hantar 70 engineer:

Biar org lain kutuk, duit gomen gak yg aku guna…hehe. 2 thn lagi aku dpt duduk uk, pegi mampus mesia…

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:51 pm

P1_P2_Are_Shit : So?? ko pandai ker? pandai kutuk jer? Agak2 ko x suke duk malaysia g berambus…

old timers: ko pun skai g berambus….old timer konon,perangai mcm budak2…kutuk jer bagus….kalau ko pandai lawan jd menteri?? leh ko gune duit gomen utk ko sendiri g uk…sbb ko sakit ati ko x layak jd engineer… ko jd tukang karut kat internet jer lah…IDIOTS!!!

• initial R on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:54 pm

Crap…. No wonder le malaysia masih dalam ketegory negara membangun. Ramai rakyat ngah tidur lagi mamai risau duit G pakai. Mimpi bleh pakai kereta besar bila tax dikurangkan. Kesian, Selera nak besar, Keje malas, Tau nak komplen, harap nak makan suap, tidur orang buaikan.

• It clearly said "tiga puluh jurutera"….not 70 guys…

• autojohndoe on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:27 pm

wow… so many Automotive engineers in malaysia…

I never knew that…. also, very easy to be automotive engineer in malaysia eh?

by, going to ahbeng shop, buy turbo kits… voila… you invent a new engine!!!

then to get a degree in automotive… simple, just using Google and Wiki… Malaysian can be a all-knowing-about-automotive graduate…

Haha…

Pity Malaysia to have current Malaysians… They dont know importance of R&D.

They see that AHBeng Shop and R&D Dept is just same… Haha… Pity… Can Ahbeng Shop design a totally new engine, new turbo? Do AHbengShop know the function of each design of the engine?

That's why la Malaysia hard to move forward, Its own people is the one who slow it down…

Everything develop in the country, is 2nd, third class… while the imported stuff always no.1…

• old timers on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Malaysian citizen said,

October 5, 2009 @ 2:51 pm

……………………..

old timers: ko pun skai g berambus….old timer konon,perangai mcm budak2…kutuk jer bagus….kalau ko pandai lawan jd menteri?? leh ko gune duit gomen utk ko sendiri g uk…sbb ko sakit ati ko x layak jd engineer… ko jd tukang karut kat internet jer lah…IDIOTS!!!

——————————————–

"kalo ko pandai lawan jd menteri…" ape bende lu cakap ni mamat, baru abis tadika ker… struktur organisasi negara pun taktau…syoh, syoh, gi balik negara ko, berambus dr mesia ni… org2 tua nak bercakap ni..

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:46 pm

old timers: alo…ni negara aku lah…i think ko patut blah kot…dh ko banyak pandai kutuk…kutuk mcm bukan negara ko lak….serabut la ko org tua….

orang tua bodo mcm nih ko ek…

ko dh tua skit dh nak mampus….ade lebih baik ko meramal lagi baru dr mengutuk….

• hitman on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:47 pm

1.6 litre to perform like a 2 litre…anyone who is into turbocharging knows a turbocharger gives the engine a multiplier effect resulting in greater horsepower.

the way the statement is phrased is as if we are all stupid and are expected to go wow.

at what boost and what maximum boost before the engine goes kaboom is what is more relevant. it is common for turbocharged engines to be set at 0.5 bar of boost and pushed up to a max of 1 bar of boost safely without any of the engine internals being modified.

is it a completely new engine or just a campro bolted on to a turbo kit?

• old timers on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:49 pm

autojohndoe said;

"…Everything develop in the country, is 2nd, third class… while the imported stuff always no.1…"

————————————————————–

develop in mesia, mmg 2nd class pun..see MRR2, after few months, crack sana-sini, one building in tasik banding, still under construction, collapsed with no warning, stadium in kt just used for sukma, lost its roof, etc

even one action was not taken to punish the contractor..so how to develop 1st class material

• old timers on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:53 pm

malaysian citizen,

tau pun mesia ni negara ko, jadi ko nak halau org yg tak sebodoh ko keluar mesia apehal…ko king ker…ker king kong.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Apa la….u guys dont read my earlier post. As an insider, i know P1 all round….it is destined to doom due to: i repeat…..

– The mgmt has no aspiration, 1 top guy works in coach building n bus mgmt company, the other one previoulsy works in automotive assembly company…

– The designers have NO taste……some of them are still wearing the "kasut kuda" and thought its hip to do so…..

– P1 pay thier staff based on Toyota (M) salary, but expect the result above than Toyota Motor Corps. Japan………(if u dont trust me, ask P1 HR dept)

Worlddddd………pooodaaahhhhhh chitttt…………….

• yeahjamal on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:54 pm

1600bhp?? sure ah?? haha.. some powerful engine we got here…

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 06, 2009 at 12:00 am

old timers: woi mamat bace commet kasi betul2 lah..ker lu nak gua kasi eja utk lu? kecik2 x nak mampos tua2 menyusah kan negara….

ko pandai kutuk tp bodo dalam benda lain….dh la x bersyukur lansung duduk malaysia…kutuk lak tu….

• young timer on Oct 06, 2009 at 12:02 am

Malaysian citizen: bravo……

old timers: ass whole!!!!!

• Eyesore on Oct 06, 2009 at 12:28 am

Seriously its an eyesore and annoying to read what my fellow countrymen esp PT readers has become…. blind and factless bashing and defending… PT since when did you allow you blogs to degrade to this kind of level…. sad….

nevertheless I would like to praised my countrymen for their special ability as always… TO PREDICT THE FUTURE… bravo…

remember don't stay in ur dreams too long… it will be disasterous when reality hit you hard…

• 1malaysian on Oct 06, 2009 at 12:43 am

oldtimer>>> Woi duit gomen bukan duit bapak ko sorang….yang ko nak kecoh lebih apahal??? Diorg nak g blaja pun ko sibuk…apsal ko apply x dapt ker??? org2 mcm ko lah yang nak menjahanam kan negara…

Malysian citizen: dh ko x yh layan org nih nih…buang masa…

________

pembela bangsa

• raies on Oct 06, 2009 at 12:56 am

releks Malaysian citizen,

ti lah masalahnye kalo org bodoh tak sedar diri tu bodoh, lebih teruk lg bile die ingat die tu pandai…..

org camni perlu hidayat dari tuhan jer baru boleh sedar diri…….hehhe

• $ = anything make by on Oct 06, 2009 at 12:58 am

I do not know why in here I can only repeat this again & again… ‘$ = anything make by humanity’;

For those that complain, you need to complain to yourself because you are the only reason make yourself no $ to buy or afford anything make by humanity that you wish for!

You are just waste your time here, shame on you!;

Use your time widely and make more $, then you can get anything make by humanity as you wish without any more complain.

• Leonardo on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:00 am

Neito –

from your comments – you ARE really from a kampung! One kampung mechanic = 70 engineers?

• shumi on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:02 am

Malaysian citizen bersabar bro…

Kite paham apa ko nak maksudkan…org kalau rase diri die pandai susah kite nak ajak…so biasr kan die bodo sombong….

oldtimer: aku rase nenek ko mesti bukan org malaysia kan? org bangla kot kan????? dh aku tgk ko memanjang kutuk malaysia

• Grazer29 on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:05 am

Looking through some of the comments above, it's hilarious. Guys – you DO know that the internet can be viewed from anyone, anywhere in the world, do you?

Talk rationally, objectively and without prejudice. That's what sites like this are for. Not mindless, idiotic, childish jabs at someone your don't know, while hiding behind the veil of annonymity of your computer !

So funny yet so sad and revoltingly the reason why we're STILL in the doldrums ! Mindset, nothing more. Go figure ! End of story !

• majavaz on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:12 am

aku rasa enjin ni untuk upcoming Waja(lancer)… ahhh.. banyaklah wajaVO pasnih.. hihii..

• Leonardo on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:15 am

Hameed Koyakuti –

Your so called "facts" are UTTER RUBBISH! I got friends in P1 too. Can you name the Design that wears the 'kasut kuda'? Do you mean 'cowboy boots'? I pity you – you want to criticize their Designers and you don't even use the right term to describe their shoes??

• nigel hisham on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:24 am

alamak…2 years kira ok la tu…nak buat engine turbo 'top up' ala ah beng senang…but if you want to produce an engine to the masses u need to homoligate it…homoligation itself takes at least 12 months lah…buat keta guna platform bru 18 bulan inclusive of homoligation is a very risky step unless you use a carry over platform…

• durex on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:33 am

Latex said,

October 5, 2009 @ 7:34 am

1.6cc but the performance like 2.0cc, means u pay less for roadtax ..etc etc.. stupid la

………………………………………………………………………………

If u ever get the chance to be behind the wheels of a BMW

(highly undoubtly for your std cos u too concern abt cheap road tax)

then you'll know the difference btw a 320/323+325 or 520d/523+525.

Like 2.0 feeling is an understatement cos a 1.6 engine has its limitations.

Calling people "stupid" only reflects your low scum IQ + EQ.

• if not proton. most of us will driving T or H cars. hope proton will die soon.

stupid technology…copy cat….wat car oso SE…SE….rubbish…

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 1:43 am

Wow, negara yang kononnya demokrasi tapi kena kutuk sikit dah suruh orang pindah negara lainlah, itulah inilah. Kalau orang macam ni jadi Menteri confirm penuh sesak Kem Kamunting tu sebab tak boleh dengar orang cakap buruk sikit pun.

Tapi banyak manapun orang kena tahan ISA, yang pastinya Proton tetap kan berkubur… Hakikat yang takkan berubah.

Mungkin projek enjin 1.6L turbo ni adalah "Salam akhir, salam yang teristimewa" dari Proton.

• batin on Oct 06, 2009 at 2:02 am

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

October 5, 2009 @ 5:43 pm

Mungkin projek enjin 1.6L turbo ni adalah “Salam akhir, salam yang teristimewa” dari Proton.

Macam lagu Alleycats aje!! …sampaikan salam!

• GoodJob on Oct 06, 2009 at 2:14 am

small achievement yet still another one step forward, i think proton is doing a good job. i dont love proton but i hope proton will become successful. insyaAllah.

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 06, 2009 at 2:24 am

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

October 5, 2009 @ 5:43 pm

Tapi banyak manapun orang kena tahan ISA, yang pastinya Proton tetap kan berkubur… Hakikat yang takkan berubah

—————————–

You're act like God. Can say what future will be already. A car company could destined to graveyard not only cause lacking of technology. For instant, Nissan huge debt was due to lacking of fresh model and near destined to graveyard before Renault take over. Sudden change saved them.

That's why i'm so curious for your over confidence about Proton fate. Please be careful not to repeat Pharaoh history or otherwise you'll be destined like them.

• Jimmy Dean on Oct 06, 2009 at 2:33 am

There are actually many honest people in Malaysia working really hard and even with their best efforts, their hands are tied and they can't do more due to the incompetency of the current leadership in Malaysia. More money can go into the technological development and S&T research, and we can retain or bring back the best Malaysian minds to work in the country.

If you're bashing Proton for spending alot in R&D, you're barking at the wrong tree… There are 3 things needed by Malaysia to become a strong, developed country: Economy, Technology and Military. If we have oil fields under our butt, we can be rich, but only rich (but stupid) just like the middle east countries. If we don't have the technologies and at the same time having emerging economies with lower labour cost competing with us for FDI, do you think people will want to invest in our country? By then most of us can forget about buying Mercedezs, BMWs and other expensive non-national cars even if the tax rate is reduced. More Malaysian companies need to follow the foot steps of Proton and invest more on R&D. Innovation is the key to wealth creation and is very important in transforming Malaysia from an upper middle income country into a high income country.

• Si|v3rB|ooD on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:13 am

Wow…. Flamming here & there. Dahsyat btul, huhu biarlah p1 nak hantar 70 ke 100 engineer gie bekerja sambil makan angin, stress gak kerja trus tanpa henti, lagipun korang taxpayer gak yg bayar huhu. But wut i hope is in future p1 car quality going to be better, equip with a reliable engine in future & sell cheaper not overpriced compared to imported cars without the 300% tax price tag. Anyway is it a completely new engine design or just a campro bolted on to a turbo kit?

• teamsleepnine on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:27 am

jimmy dean you are one smarty pant!!!!!!

• hitman on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:37 am

lotus isn't known for developing engines…remember the campro.

they are world class in driving dynamics and chassis design.

even the elise/exige i believe uses a toyota engine.

surely the people at lotus know something the guys at proton don't. if they could build a small performance lotus engine they would have done so.

then again, what's the use of bitching. we'll all just have to wait until the engine is fitted into a production model. at the moment there's just too little information as is always the case.

proof of power will come from the dyno…mind you even the 1st generation campro was said to have fallen well short of the 110bhp claim.

frankly, rather than investing in an entirely new turbocharged engine (if indeed it is not a campro rehatched) it may have been better to invest in a full 2 litre that can be stroked to 2.3 or 2.5 at a later stage. proton after all, doesn't have anything to offer in the 2 litre category (forget about the ageing perdana). developing this turbocharged engine may signal proton will remain in the 1.6 category for a few more years to come so you can forget about any executive class models from the company. main keta kecik je lah. if there are any 2 litre class cars offered by proton it will unlikely feature a malaysian made engine. makes you wonder why the government recently announced it was considering mercedes-benz doesn't it. patriotism dictates that you support the national brand but when the national car company has nothing to offer what choice is the government left with. the perdana has done well and served its purpose but to what proton car does someone upgrade from here?

having said this, any engine programme is a costly investment for all car manufacturers. which is why some companies resort to licensing arrangements for the use of engines. it's fine to build our own engine if we have the means, expertise and a strong enough business case. bottomline is to build for the right reasons . god forbid it is for the sake of drumming up the malaysia boleh spirit. we malaysians have been there done this, we have proven that we can build our own engine therefore time to move on.

what i'd like to know is was there really no way for proton to have offered a turbo charged engine option for the campro? a lot of tuners also offer turbocharging and supercharging for various car manufacturers without causing void to the warranty. there are ways to address this.

could certain engine components not have been strengthened to support turbocharging? is this indeed what they have done here or is it, as claimed, an entirely new engine?

again, we'll all just have to wait and see won't we.

• mofaz on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:57 am

Factory fitted turbo… that should be a good progress. Currently we can only get it from 'almost luxury' models which cost beyond 100k. And if proton is doing it for mass market, then they might get huge profit…

Well, maybe it need 2 years to develop and test so that they can guarantee it for 5 years.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:25 am

batin said,

October 5, 2009 @ 6:02 pm

Macam lagu Alleycats aje!! …sampaikan salam!

Bukan lagu Alleycats, lagu Sudirman la. Lagu last beliau sebelum meninggal dunia. Juga sangat sesuai dengan Proton sekarang nih.

Dulu semasa krisis politik parti XXXX, seorang penulis politik tanah air menerbitkan buku "Talqin untuk XXXX". Tak lama lagi ada la penerbit buku yang akan mengeluarkan "Talqin untuk Proton". Tak sabar den nunggu eh.

• solen on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:31 am

bodoh~~ you stupid people complaining on proton.

just build you car yourself la,

buy the do it yourself car. stupid

• 17_S said “Proton quality is not on par with other international brand.” You must be joking! Proton NEVER on par EVEN through protectionism, is a more accurate statement

————————————————-

Why? You don't believe and afraid to admit this fact?

You don't know who their quality director is? Where he came from?

You don't know that P have the combination of L, T & B know-how?

And you will be surprised if you know who will be their stylister for their next new model.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:19 am

Why when someone complains about Proton there'll be hundreds of loyalist telling the complainers are "stupid, build your own car, get out of Malaysia" etc.

How can these comments come from the people of a country that champions the freedom of speech (the 5th PM is the "Bapa Demokrasi")?

Only Proton loyalist can have opinions?

What about the people that actually owns a Proton and had since suffered for a long time, can't they have opinions?

If they had given up on Proton and are now loyalist to foreign automakers, can't they voice what's been hidden deep inside for years?

I wonder if in the UK when any Brits doesn't buy an Aston Martin or a Mini or a Bentley and instead bought a Proton, did their fellow countrymen say they're stupid and force them out of the country…?

You have your opinions and the haters have theirs, just voice out whatever yours is and stop whining about why others can't see it the way you do.

• rofel on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:35 am

proton has a 3 litre engine in their powertrai department. I bet most of u dont know bout it. But then, whos gonna buy it? most of u cant even afford a 2.0 proton perdana and only knows how to talk cock everytime news bout proton come up. If proton can make a 3 series equivalent car and price it at rm200k, ppl still would go for the bmw. Would u pay rm1 million for a lexus sportscar or would u pay 1.1 million for a ferrari? Assume both cars are equally spec-ed

• makan makan on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:57 am

Jimmy Dean. bravo bro..

Thats what i categorized as 'comment grade A'

Old timers, P1-P2 shit..i really pity you..you just cry for attention..

Frankly speaking, i just skip thru your response..just waste my time..

Feel sorry for you…

• i think if can, proton should come up with this engine as soon as possible.

mechanism like vvt, cps and turbo is the recepie that proton can pick and mix for various stages of engine.

1 vvti

2 vvti+cps

3 vvti+cps+turbo

these feature is considered currently used, regardless valvetronic, 2vvt, twin-charger direct injection which i would say only just on selected model for now.

with this new engine. proton would at par with other makes when talking about economy and responsiveness of peoples car, to the higher end sport enthusiast, or as a power plant mpv or suv which at higher output.

so i would take proton as top list, because of its responsiveness and it handles well. and without messy design.

• old guy on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:02 am

Can proton get a supplier or build a quality power windows that last more than 3 years first? My WAJA changed 3 power windows in 6 years spend.

• Mufasa on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:19 am

alaa…proton buat apa pun ,mesti ada yang tak puas hati…

go stay at india country for a month,then balik malaysia ,,,baru korang tau maksud bersyukur :P

• no food to makan on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:23 am

Jimmy Dean. Bravo man! you got the right THEORY man! …but after 20+ years, what is the result of the R&D fund by the G comes out that EARNS money for the country?

What TECHNOLOGY in your terms did Proton Research and Developed to the outside market and earn money?

Innovative is surely transform SOME malaysian to high income. Look at the AP innovation? That is the most brilliant innovation for the riches. AP kings, etc. Just buy a copy of autotrader and u know who is AP king's company. They paying any tax? benefit any to the country?

Also I only see innovative way of creating policies to punish the hard working blue workers. 7 years loan for a Viva, 9 years loan for a Myvi is a joke. Jack up the price of car for the citizen is not earning money from Proton, it is call punishing the public, and getting the hard earn money of the public to buy lousy proton due to lousy supplies.

If Proton can generate lots of income by exporting, than I say this R&D and TECHNOLOGY is success. btw, people is moving to hybrid and ev, so what Technology from proton about? Saga vesion 3?

• Han Jebat on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:31 am

Kenapa kita buat comparison dengan masyuarakat yang kurang baik? country yang kurang kaya? Dulu kita sentiasa buat compare dengan singapore, selepas itu, dengan Indonesia, Thailand. Sekarang India? Itu hari bacar surat kabar politicians buat comparison dengan African lagi! Apa itu?

Kenapa kita tak boleh challenge negara ya kuat, tapi compare dengar negara yang belakang kita? Indonesia and thailand sudah lompat kita di antarabangsa stauts.

Asalkan kita tak menuju to depan….kita akan dilompat kan…kashihan anak anak kita in the future….

• byk laa lu olang punya comment.. tax laa, gov laa, technology laa.. bla bla.. berapi rapi…

lepas habis tgk paultan, buka poron, gosok pakai tangan sendiri sendiri jugak..

esok buat mende same balik…. yeah rakyat malaysia rocks!

• One3rd on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:38 am

Pls lah PROTON…..Stop giving all this crap excuses…With all the money & R&D they cant even get all the PROTON power windows rite, wats stopping from a PROTON tubo engine blowing-up in our face while driving…?

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 9:10 am

makan makan said,

October 5, 2009 @ 9:57 pm

Jimmy Dean. bravo bro..

Thats what i categorized as ‘comment grade A’

Old timers, P1-P2 shit..i really pity you..you just cry for attention..

Frankly speaking, i just skip thru your response..just waste my time..

Feel sorry for you…

As i said, everyone should be able to say what's in their mind, so does the proton haters. I've never read any policy in Paul Tan website claiming that only Proton loyalist-to-the-bitter-end supporters can post comments.

And I never see my comments as a cry for attention. It's better if none of the Proton loyalist-to-the-bitter-end supporters care to read my statement. I'm just showing my support to foreign automakers that provide superb quality cars and hardcore Proton bashers, that's all.

I've never known Malaysia as a communist country where everyone should think alike, more of to the G's favour i.e. supporting Proton to it's bitter end.

• nyan46 on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:12 am

ala setakat nk naik taraf campro standart tu budak2 R3 tu pun bleh buat,tapi boss diaorang ja tk nk percaya ngan kepakaran yg team tu bleh buat..so terpaksa la diaorang design bodykit aja sepanjang hayat hu..hu

• tokmoh on Oct 06, 2009 at 2:46 pm

To those that make fun of Proton's effort of turbocharging its 1.6 engine, read this:

http://www.autoblog.com/2009/08/05/report-the-fut…

That's BMW wanting to turbocharge 1.5L engine to put inside future 3-series. What're u going to say? I predict u guys will praise "German engineering", "BMW mar", blablabla, all praise.

P1_P2_are_shit: This double-standardness is what ticks the proton supporters.

The thing is, we ask for constructive criticism, what have you to offer? Your comments as I see it, are pure mindless bashing without anything intelligent AT ALL.

Do you even know what is constructive criticism in the first place? I don't think so. You may think you are giving a constructive criticism, but it's just an excuse for you to bash like an arse.

Fine, you don't have to get out of Malaysia. I want to you to become our next Prime Minister. How's that sound, got balls? Let's see you cutting down all car taxes immediately, subsidise petrol price to RM0.10/litre, force proton to close shop, quintuple everyone's salary in all sector et cetera.

Go ahead, u have my vote. Become Malaysia's 7th prime minister!! I challenge you, you son of a biatch!!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Leonardo,

U friends drove which forklift in Proton……??? Hahaha……

Sorry la bro, my connections all high level, so i know they are wearing those kasut kuda……….

• moha3774 on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Say what you want… the truth is, the new engine (Phoenix) got nothing to do with current CAMPRO engine… its a new engine family altogether… there will be turbocharged CAMPRO in the near future..

• Eyesore on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:55 pm

Hameed Koyakuti…. ur the cleaner of MD office is it? hehe… yup high level connection… poorah…

• LeBronJames on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Mufasa said,

October 5, 2009 @ 11:19 pm

alaa…proton buat apa pun ,mesti ada yang tak puas hati…

go stay at india country for a month,then balik malaysia ,,,baru korang tau maksud bersyukur

Do not agree with you. As for me I would like to compare myself with a better country, a country which is more advance.

Proton have made unnecessary mistake at the beginning and now there are some of the responses from the unsatisfied buyer aka victim. I have to agree some comments are too much but atleast they speak their minds.

I believe the main reason we complain again and again, is because we hope Proton will grow up one day to make us proud! and we are still waiting… go Proton!

• farghmee on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:00 pm

guys..aku dh boleh agak nape makin kurang komen2 drp 360, SiFu, TheKing dlm paultan ni.

xpe la korg nk bergaduh2..aku dh malas nk layan.

baik aku dgr komen TheKing dlm forum lain.

Tokmoh, TJCC apa macam? :)

• Socrates899 on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:39 pm

farghmee said,

October 6, 2009 @ 10:00 am

guys..aku dh boleh agak nape makin kurang komen2 drp 360, SiFu, TheKing dlm paultan ni.

xpe la korg nk bergaduh2..aku dh malas nk layan.

baik aku dgr komen TheKing dlm forum lain.

Tokmoh, TJCC apa macam?

—-

Yalor bro, Semua dah jadi 'engineer, economist, politician' dengan pandai google… hahaha.. semua rasa dirinya bijak pandai 'kununnya' tapi hakikatnya BODOH SOMBONG..

– Malaysia Boleh

• #

chicane said,

October 5, 2009 @ 2:35 pm

360……..

Have you heard of the phrase if you can’t beat them join them!

That’s what we want to hear from P1. No use spending so much

on R&D and after 2 years come up with another CrApMPRO.

Phoenix has hatched ??? Don’t count the chix b4 its hatched.

It could be a snake instead!!!!:)

#

ha..ha.. mr chicane, if u have a phrase, i have two phrase for u, rome was not build in one day and dont judge the book by its cover. if u dont know what is pheonix, dant talk cock and bull story.

if the chix can become a snake, its a killer, so it is better ;-).

haih, malaih nak komen byk2, byk automotive engineer yg genius dalam malaysia, 70 engineer tu termasuk engineer lotus. korang ingat pergi sana makan angin ke, hari2 kena submit report of progress with evidence. stupid….

campro fe has two types first n/a, second force induction and it is under pheonix and there are another engines and gb under pheonix, just be patient. for the force induction version, is not bolt on, i called it intergrated type. of course p1 has bigger engines but it is not viable at the moment because of cost and economic of scales. as 1 mention before, campro itself cost nearly 1 billion, how many units u think it need to sell to break even? by having a variation of the same engine can reduce its cost.

when u talk about hybrid and eve, of course prtn and lotus have it but the limitation is cost. would u mind to pay RM150,000 for a hybrid gen2??? even when exora launch with h-line cost of 75 k, people already complaint about the price….

when u really think active safety is important, why majority malaysian do not buy h-line p1, but they prefer b-line and m-line. simply because they want h-line equip with b-line price. but when toyota come with vios j, u said good…so typical malaysian…

dont belittle lotus, a lot of car in the world where its technology comes from lotus and lotus did make engines. so dont just bash blindly.

oklah, talk to much, nanti kena ban plak. has to keep silent now …adios…

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:41 pm

farghmee said,

October 6, 2009 @ 10:00 am

guys..aku dh boleh agak nape makin kurang komen2 drp 360, SiFu, TheKing dlm paultan ni

——————-

No doubt they are talented P1 insider but for so long I'm following PT blog none of them had answering on P1 infamous power window or cracking sound or fallen part that had make P1 basher (owners?) angry in this forum.

I don't think it so hi-tech to answer but new generation also keep falling and repeating the problem continuously. Can they response this? 360, Si-Fu so called P1 only projecting P1 development which still uncertain of it's success but nobody response to actual inflesh thorn? Frightened and start barking in breakaway or other forum? Like Briatore dismissed from F1 and barking to start breakway series.

• Nakal on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Power window…power window…power window…

Even after 100 years, everybody will keep asking about the power window problem heh?

Agak-agak time kau sekolah rendah dulu, kalau kau dapat markah yang rendah atau mungkin failed at certain subjects, ada ke sampai kau besar dan kau berusaha untuk berjaya, family kau akan terus ungkit markah rendah/failed yang kau dapat time primary school dulu?

The past is the past…proton has showed their improvement. Just support them.

– myvi akak aku pun ada masalah power window, accord ayah aku pun ada problem yang sama ( motor power window terbakar), that is HONDA ACCORD!!! tak kecoh pun!!

• BigBone on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:32 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

October 6, 2009 @ 11:41 am

No doubt they are talented P1 insider but for so long I’m following PT blog none of them had answering on P1 infamous power window or cracking sound or fallen part that had make P1 basher (owners?) angry in this forum.

———-

Honda, Toyota, Daihatsu anda Produa also have power window problem mahh… its due to our equatorial climate. panas sejuk panas sejuk…

Bridge, building structures, road also crack due to this matter.. TEMPERATURE… aiya.. lu skolah tadika mana dulu???

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:59 pm

Nakal said, October 6, 2009 @ 12:19 pm

myvi akak aku pun ada masalah power window, accord ayah aku pun ada problem yang sama ( motor power window terbakar), that is HONDA ACCORD!!! tak kecoh pun!!

————————-

I’m not so educated like you but the figure does tell everything. If more than 50% of Proton owners change their power windows due to faulty, its no more isolated case but it’s a nation problem already!

It does improved maybe but still many persona having same problem.

In Honda Accord case, of course not big story or kecoh because it is isolated case. Pity to your father.

Btw, Is your father Honda accord is made by HM? If so I’m not surprise if it’s exploded.

• old guy on Oct 06, 2009 at 9:42 pm

Nakal,

power windows failure is not a past. I changed mine last yearin EON glenmarie, which I was promised this time, it is sure better quality. My drivers seat windows cannot scroll down now. So the improvement is at least 3/4 windows button still can operate right? Then you are totally right. That is improvement, from failing 4/4 button to 1/4 buttons and most of the time, the driver seat's. But…the 2/4 button is starting to fail again…here goes another RM300+ i guess.

The logic is, some people belive you can fly or run without learning to walk…that is most of the Proton supporters thinking I guess and calling others pity la, sad for them la, but they are the one does not face the reality. Maybe all those bashers riding a BM, Merc, Toyo, Honda now, so not actually as pitty as others seen.

• pulge on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Something to shout about. Anything. Debating here is pointless, bashers and supporters alike.

• initial R on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:41 pm

sorry for celah…. but if i not mistaken, DSZ have mention when lunching Exora that will have no major problem with power window any more in future for next coming production. My old previous Iswara aeroback 1.3M not facing any problem with power window since i purchase until i sell it to new owner. Anyway i have to admit that some of proton owner facing this problem due sometime we play frequence with power window like open & close for no reason, at tol booth, smoking in car, & many thing we do. So some time we have to see back why the mechanical failure… peace :)

• riswan rahman on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:03 pm

this topic become hot day by day.

what ever i trust all car maker with their technology for human life.

But even you put 20 airbag inside inside Malaysia made or German Made car for Malaysia driver still some of them get inside "black plastic bag" at last.

• pulge on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:48 pm

There is too much that can be improved. We just need to support for the improvement. Negativity is everywhere and everything. See it on the positive side. Cheer up everyone.

• cepul on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:54 pm

even bimmers now change to smaller engine with forced induction…hybrid or electric car is very highly in cost with limited battery manufacturer that suitable for mass production…n the batteries are disasterous to environment if not disposed properly…

to my friends…this is automotive blog,so plz dont drag political issues…agree with kim…give some usable knowledges to people who read this blog. we should disscuss only about technical things n not mixing other stupid thing that make our head full of negative thinking.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:07 am

tokmoh said,

October 6, 2009 @ 6:46 am

P1_P2_are_shit: This double-standardness is what ticks the proton supporters.

The thing is, we ask for constructive criticism, what have you to offer? Your comments as I see it, are pure mindless bashing without anything intelligent AT ALL.

Do you even know what is constructive criticism in the first place? I don’t think so. You may think you are giving a constructive criticism, but it’s just an excuse for you to bash like an arse.

Fine, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia. I want to you to become our next Prime Minister. How’s that sound, got balls? Let’s see you cutting down all car taxes immediately, subsidise petrol price to RM0.10/litre, force proton to close shop, quintuple everyone’s salary in all sector et cetera.

Go ahead, u have my vote. Become Malaysia’s 7th prime minister!! I challenge you, you son of a biatch!!

See, I like reading the comments from the Proton"s loyalist-to-the-bitter-end suppoters. They said that they didn't even care to read the basher's "cry for attention" but still they are the one that's been rude to everyone that haven't had the same opinions as theirs.

Proton will survive thanks to it's loyalist-to-the-bitter-end supporters who will call other people "idiots, SOB's etc." just because they didn't like Proton, perhaps one day even when there's no tax for imported cars nobody'll buy them as these loyalist will bring "buluh runcing" in front of foreign automakers' dealers saying "SWEEPING FOREIGN CARS".

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:40 am

initial R said,

October 6, 2009 @ 2:41 pm

sorry for celah…. but if i not mistaken, DSZ have mention when lunching Exora that will have no major problem with power window any more in future for next coming production. My old previous Iswara aeroback 1.3M not facing any problem with power window since i purchase until i sell it to new owner. Anyway i have to admit that some of proton owner facing this problem due sometime we play frequence with power window like open & close for no reason, at tol booth, smoking in car, & many thing we do. So some time we have to see back why the mechanical failure… peace

——————-

Proton should not put power window if not for "frequent open". Just make the glass fix all the time. Iswara 1.3 power window didn't broke? It is biggest liar ever. I believe it broke in first day and glass never down until you sold it.

• eyesore2 on Oct 07, 2009 at 1:14 am

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

October 6, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

See, I like reading the comments from the Proton”s loyalist-to-the-bitter-end suppoters. They said that they didn’t even care to read the basher’s “cry for attention” but still they are the one that’s been rude to everyone that haven’t had the same opinions as theirs.

Proton will survive thanks to it’s loyalist-to-the-bitter-end supporters who will call other people “idiots, SOB’s etc.” just because they didn’t like Proton, perhaps one day even when there’s no tax for imported cars nobody’ll buy them as these loyalist will bring “buluh runcing” in front of foreign automakers’ dealers saying “SWEEPING FOREIGN CARS”.

The shittiest comment of all which reflect to his nickname. Should put his his name in the hall of fame cause able to create a nonsensical relation between buluh runcing and proton in this automotive blog. This kind of people must be very good in doing everything in their life (sarcasm tone).

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:28 am

70 Proton engineers are working hard at creating a 1.6L turbocharged engine in the UK for the last 2 years whe not even one of them in Malaysia was able to say, "Why the f*ck didn't we do anything on the aging Perdana V6? Is it really only me that notice the Perdana is too f*cking old to actually be a f*cking flagship car? Even the politicians f*cking hate the f*cking sh*t."

That engineer was fired for highlighting one of the 1,000's of the real problems with Proton. Thier bosses said, "we're sweeping Malaysians like you who cannot stay silent about our dark secrets." He narrowly escapes from being stabbed in the behind with buluh runcing.

-Hall of Fame Proton hater.

• Jimmy Dean on Oct 07, 2009 at 4:26 am

no food to makan,

If you read between the lines of my posting (1st paragraph), you'd understand. Yes, for majority of the past 20+ years and during TM's time, there's not much R&D in Proton bcoz he's more interested in making $$$ from us, poor Malaysians. They're moving in the right direction now and it's better late than never.

Under TM, you've got 3 wrong models launched for the Malaysian market – Gen2, Savvy and Satria Neo, plus the quality problems. Under the new management, 3 models which most Malaysians want were launched – Saga (cheap, basic sedan), Persona (better quality family sedan), Exora (spacious, affordable MPV), and the quality is improving.

I believe Proton is looking at several options in terms of powertrain and platforms. There were 2 types of hybrid vehicles developed by Lotus and Proton; parallel and series. But they won't produce it yet because the additional costs can't be justified to be passed on to the consumers. And they're also some consultancy work done for other car manufacturers. Think why would they hire Lotus (and Proton) for the consultancy work?

• Jimmy Dean on Oct 07, 2009 at 4:44 am

You don't have to read between the lines lah… What I was trying to say is that we need to be 'innovative' and persistence in our effort to to throw out the monkeys who're running the country now! Then the smart Malaysians can do more and we Malaysians will get better return-on-investment from our tax money. It's quite frustrating dealing with the current system and leadership, but most of us will try to do our best for the country with small amount of funds given. You give peanuts, you get monkeys.

• limsk (Member) on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:46 am

Good news you have a new engine to be used for existing models. Of course earlier new engine release date would be preferred (ahead of schedule) it would good marketing news if you can achieved it.

Bad news R&D cost of this project will be transfer to M'sian consumers will be pound to ringgit. Not sure about it figures, it should be millions of pounds..

• tokmoh on Oct 07, 2009 at 2:12 pm

P1_P2_Are_Shit: Who's the one that's being rude in the first place? You simply come in here saying proton is destined to fail, and that their mission all along is to steal as many as possible from malaysians, now tell me if that is POLITE and CONSTRUCTIVE in any way?

Again, you're too blind to answer my query. What CONSTRUCTIVE point have you to offer for Proton?

What point in any of your comments that you reckon can be used for Proton to improve themselves?

Do you think you're that perfect of a human that you can do a much better job than those in power right now?

If you think so, then why not use your talents for the betterment of the country?

Or you're not interested and have absolutely no faith in this country at all?

If that is the case, why are you still here?

Why do you still call yourself a Malaysian?

Where does your loyalty lies?

Have you any faith in anything?

Are you a nihilist?

Why?

Why haven't you killed yourself if living is too painful for you?

• SmallEve on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:21 pm

They should use the engine for the new WAJALUTION..

sure laris macam pisang goreng panas..

• pinchboyz on Oct 07, 2009 at 4:47 pm

look at the video at 0:21… 1600kuasa kuda according to tv3, oh my gosh

• subhero on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:05 pm

ENGINE TURBO SUSAH CARI MINYAK..

TURBO = RON97 (MIN)

NOW MOSTLY PTEROL STATION RON95. KAMPUNG JALAN SUSAH JUMPA RON97.

BETTER BIASA ENGINE. LAJU2 KE PLAHAN2 KE SAMA JE. JALAN CAMTU GAK.

• initial R on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:26 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

October 6, 2009 @ 4:40 pm

————————————————–

Big liar, ok fine to you. Said what ever u want to said, as long i know that my old iswara not facing power window is good enough. Power Window install just make the driver convinance in driving coz no need to wind up by hand (now days ppl became more lazy). I used my car as same as other driver used even i do sport tuning. No need to tell u how i used my old car.

• riswan rahman on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:29 pm

Jimmy Dean said,

October 6, 2009 @ 8:26 pm

no food to makan,

""Under TM, you’ve got 3 wrong models launched for the Malaysian market – Gen2, Savvy and Satria Neo, plus the quality problems. Under the new""

Jimmy

FYI … Satria Neo maybe wrong model to you due to 2 door car and the size too small. But that small car has improve in term of quality, interior, engine and the handling is impressive. With new upgrade Neo CPS is more powerful.

• haih, em, now its back about pwindow. from the early model until waja, the power window mechanism is still using the same system, but in gen2, it using a new mechanism for proton that is scissors type, but there is still problems surface and p1 did improve and redesign the power windows system since neo. and now, based on p1 info system, there is still some of the owners have the pw problem, but it is a lot lot less compare to the previous one and it is under acceptable ppm defect rate but for every product, p1 try it best to make it zero defect (eventhough it is almost impossible to achieve)

i don't know where u come out with 50% figure becoz thats mean, 100,000 of persona sales means that 50,000 have pw windows problems. dont talk blindly.

if u are owner of p1 from waja and downward, p1 has improve its pwr windows for its old product but it will be costly to change the system mechanism. if u have opportunity to see the mechanism, u can see the different the mechanism in waja and mechanism in persona. i cannot explain detailing on pw becoz i'm not heavily involve in that area. if u think p1 hobby to produce faulty power windows, u must no that now prtn cars have 5 years warranty, so p1 do not want to incur loss due to keep replacing the powerwindows for each p 1 cars.

and i believe the person who wrote about his car just replacing pwrwindows, he is driving the old p1 because he has to pay for the pwrwindows, if not, it is still under warranty.

and one more things, when toyota recals hundreds of thousands of its cars due to power windows problems, how many percent of the defect product???

i'm not afraid or anything synonyms but quite busy with workloads and only reply when i have time and mood…adios amigos…

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 07, 2009 at 9:51 pm

u must no that now prtn cars have 5 years warranty, so p1 do not want to incur loss due to keep replacing the powerwindows for each p 1 cars.

—> 5 years warranty doesn't come free. It comes with higher interest rate which translate like "insurance" for additional 3 years. So where "do not want to incur lost" here as you explained?

and i believe the person who wrote about his car just replacing pwrwindows, he is driving the old p1 because he has to pay for the pwrwindows, if not, it is still under warranty.

—>You're right. Btw, why there why no immediate improvements after receiving so many complaints even for on going model? Is it so hi-tech like design an engine?? Some replaced Waja PWR window assy for all doors!

and one more things, when toyota recals hundreds of thousands of its cars due to power windows problems, how many percent of the defect product???

—>Then why Proton don't recall? Toyota recall after received maybe worrying complaint make recall and save others but why Proton even untill all customer got broken no recall? no apology?

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 07, 2009 at 10:57 pm

As a proud Malaysian that hates Proton so much, I must admit that I was wrong. I just found out after the torture of so many Proton loyalist that Proton REALLY DO have superb achievements…

Proton Waja – It's been acknowledged as the true worthy opponent of BMW M5 or Mercedes E63 AMG.

Proton Perdana – Build using time proven technology to challenge the BMW 760Li and Mercedes S65 AMG Supersaloons.

Proton Chancellor – A testament that Proton engineers can construct a Malaysian car that will rival a Rolls Royce Phantom LWB or a Maybach 62 S.

Proton Satria Neo CPS – A sure VW Scirocco R, Renaultsport Megane 260 and Alfa Romeo Brera S beater.

Proton Arena – Trusted by many to withstand more punishment than any Toyota Hilux ever be able to take.

Proton Juara – Many times more comforting and luxurious than Nissan Elgrand or Toyota Alphard.

Proton Savvy – Believed by their buyers as the better choice than a Fiat 500 Abarth or even a Mini JCW.

Word on the street is that the new car under the codename "Pheonix Project" will smoke a Pagani Zonda F and even a Ferrari FXX at any track.

• riswan rahman on Oct 07, 2009 at 11:31 pm

>>> P1_P2_Are_Shit

Why r u comparing Proton with BMW Mercedes Rolls Royce Renault Fiat …

proton is not on that category to be compare. Craz*

you r out of our mind ….

• P1_P2_Are_Good on Oct 08, 2009 at 12:53 am

Tokmoh's reply is a bit over i guess. He sounds like current mgmt that totally dont accept criticism and the reason why people critisized.

Sometimes the most critisized, shows the most love, since we want it to be improved to make us proud.

It is no fun you listen to the outer world to laugh at Proton as a laugh stock. That is the true, just check out those UK/Aussie car review where Proton is present there, we dont want to hide our head inside the sand, we want to ADDRESS the problem. Let's acknowledge the weekness and face it, and change it!

Only the people benefits from supplying the defective pwindows/others shout at the people who wants proton to improve. Its 20+years they supplied lousy pwindows.

The biggest mistake of the G is making Proton=Government. It should be just a car manufacturing company to able to stand by itself.

Let Proton stand by itself, only then it will sure stand up to compete.

The children who always given the fishes to eat will not learn how to fish.

• Considering Proton as a young truly car manufacturer, it is an achievement to come up with 7 models (Waja, Gen 2, Savvy, Satria Neo, Persona, Saga and Exora) in 9 years and coming out with its own engine only after 19 years. Bravo Proton bravo Malaysia.

• Msia Saga 1.5 owner on Oct 08, 2009 at 1:14 am

Constructive suggestion:

1) G stop all funding to Proton, let them survive and compete the world, only then, Proton will only change.

2) If cannot make money, means Management dont have good direction, change management to give good and competitive strategy. This is to give new direction which can compete in the world

3) Quality – terminate all suppliers that provide parts that keeps failing, a japanese car CEO said in news paper, only 10% of current supplier able to face the real world market due to this protectionism. That is why foreign car company DONT come to invest in msia as factory due to this group of suppliers or protectionism policies.

4) Cost cutting – open the part suppliers globally, it will sure looks good. With cost cutting, Proton will make more margin, and also then no need any policies to protect and compete with import cars with price.

5) Design – work with some experience designer to FINE TUNE some of the model, and have a road map of the new car (like jap car giving face lift) The current WAJA facelift is making it uglier, it should be done better.

6) Innovative – I heard that electric car is being tested in proton many years ago, even a prototype been made. Cant stick to Petronas anymore if the trend is moving away from petrol car.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 08, 2009 at 6:09 am

P1_P2_Are_Good

You're my hero!

As someone here said before, people are loyal to quality, not brand. I'll buy a Proton if it's good and proven to be good. Buying one "because I'm a Malaysian" is only an excuse, which will never be enough. Proton MUST build quality cars FIRST, then EARN respect and support.

• waimak on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:46 am

The comments on this post are getting longer. Well, I think P1 is not as blind as before. They now know that it's not about making cars and just sell them. Yes, it was pretty much easy then but not now (count the no. of car brands now in M'sia then 5 years ago). While I know the objtives behind P1 establishment I also don't discount the weaknesses in business direction and planning of P1 then. Of course balancing engineering development in the country and trying to make business out of making cars were not an easy task, which without focus, a company can lose its direction, which I guess what P1 faced before. Having said that P1 is not as bad as you all might think. It has almost everything that any car maker should have except for one thing, volume. Volume is important and can almost turn P1 100%. No doubt there are other related issues other than volume.

I think going to Lotus is nothing to shout about here. It's a common think that any company would do with it's related company. The only thing I can see here is that P1 did it and it was reported nationwide whereas other makers are doing the same but no one knows about it or they keep it secret. P1 shouldnt have made this public. Car development is always kept in secret until the launch of the model..

Exora need a more powerful engine. Current CPS is just enough to carry its massive body. To upgrade this P1 must have more efficient and powerful engine..

I hope the turbo charged engine from P1 would shift P1 place further up..

• tokmoh on Oct 08, 2009 at 12:01 pm

P1_P2_Are_Good aka P1_P2_Are_Shit: Your comment on proton is not the only comment I read on the internet. But by comparison, your comment is probably the worst of all. Other people can comment with valid points which can be taken seriously to be addressed. But you tell Proton to bankrupt itself in 2020, and that its mission is to rob as many as possible from the people. You go figure whether that is helping at all or not.

• tokmoh on Oct 08, 2009 at 12:09 pm

farghmee,

TJCC has been quiet hehehe. Why, want me to organise another round of teh tarik session? I'll need to contact si-fu first lor, and the latest I can do is around next week…

• old timers on Oct 08, 2009 at 4:18 pm

360 said

"………………….i don’t know where u come out with 50% figure becoz thats mean, 100,000 of persona sales means that 50,000 have pw windows problems. dont talk blindly….."

so what's the figure my dear 360?

• people will go for quality, fabric, smell so and so, chrome door handle, so and so,,, well,,,,

let say given a toyota 1.5vvti

or nissan 1.6cvvt,

and proton 1.6vvt cps turbo

which car would you choose?

• Proud to be Malaysia on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:35 pm

P1_P2_Are_Good said,

"""""Sometimes the most critisized, shows the most love, since we want it to be improved to make us proud""""""

>>> how to improve if every single plan proton want to do u all critisized? Such as to if proton want to improve more or want to be leading in manufacture industry proton must enter motorsport such as F1…to me in car manufacturing F1 is the way of development and improvement…But when malaysia announce to enter F1 still all of u critisize….So please define wat kind of critisized u mean? bcoz it can be either way….

It is no fun you listen to the outer world to laugh at Proton as a laugh stock. That is the true, just check out those UK/Aussie car review where Proton is present there, we dont want to hide our head inside the sand, we want to ADDRESS the problem. Let’s acknowledge the weekness and face it, and change it"""""

>>>>Thats true…but to me u r not addresing the problem on proper manner…u all must ADDRESS it on real ground…not blindy say anything u like without any reseach…

• Proud to be Malaysia on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:41 pm

P1_P2_Are_Shit said,

As a proud Malaysian that hates Proton so much, I must admit that I was wrong. I just found out after the torture of so many Proton loyalist that Proton REALLY DO have superb achievements…

Proton Waja – It’s been acknowledged as the true worthy opponent of BMW M5 or Mercedes E63 AMG.

Proton Perdana – Build using time proven technology to challenge the BMW 760Li and Mercedes S65 AMG Supersaloons.

Proton Chancellor – A testament that Proton engineers can construct a Malaysian car that will rival a Rolls Royce Phantom LWB or a Maybach 62 S.

Proton Satria Neo CPS – A sure VW Scirocco R, Renaultsport Megane 260 and Alfa Romeo Brera S beater.

Proton Arena – Trusted by many to withstand more punishment than any Toyota Hilux ever be able to take.

Proton Juara – Many times more comforting and luxurious than Nissan Elgrand or Toyota Alphard.

Proton Savvy – Believed by their buyers as the better choice than a Fiat 500 Abarth or even a Mini JCW.

Word on the street is that the new car under the codename “Pheonix Project” will smoke a Pagani Zonda F and even a Ferrari FXX at any track.

>>>>>FOR EXAMPLE of this wat r u taking about critisized can improve make us proud? i dont think so….Not constructive at all…

Btw u r idiot….

• farghmee on Oct 08, 2009 at 6:31 pm

offtopic>>

old-timers,

nowadays (not yesterdecades), when somebody (u) claimed that 50% malfunction in power window, that somebody (it's u) that must give the statistics.

else that somebody (yeah it's u again) must be plucking the value out of imaginative tree (without valid basis).

p1_p1_are_shit,

u have very imaginative mind.

make sure u aligned it with reality :)

tokmoh,

last time i couldn't make it. this time if God permit, i'll go :)

u know tokmoh, there is other forum that discuss even rational on proton.

• Kazuhito on Oct 08, 2009 at 7:15 pm

watch d video..d newscaster said 1600 kuasa kuda (horsepower) O.O!

i loled hard!

• farghmee, agree with your last comment. We have to be level headed and not emotional.

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Farghmee,

u know tokmoh, there is other forum that discuss even rational on proton.

–>What you mean by "rational". Always puja and dodoi-dodoi even in reality very bitter to swallow? Please explain.

Awak,

let say given a toyota 1.5vvti

or nissan 1.6cvvt,

and proton 1.6vvt cps turbo

which car would you choose?

–>I choose either toyota or nissan. If power window problem they can recall so i get free replacement for "improved" unit. If choose Proton need to change with my own expense. True story, my wife Gen2 already change rear RH power window twice and LH once. One with warranty and another two with my own expense! now aircond hvac start making noise oh no. again?

• automotive critics, what do u mean by different interest rate when u r getting 5 years warranty???

yes, a normal warranty is 2 years and for extended warranty is 5 years, its the insurance that u need to may a little bit more, but is it justify with the cost that p1 need to cover to replace everything that under warranty? even if u go to courts mamoth, u need to pay a little to get extended warranty. and i know u will ask another question and googling around for ur answers.

i'll already mentioned that p1 already made improvement for the old type mechanism for the old cars. to change to a new mechanism cost a lot more than improving the old mechanism. waja is already a slow volume car. for waja cps, problem arise when owners tinting their cars because waja cps already used uv protection glass that is heavier and a little bit thicker than a normal glass. and i know u will ask question and give your engineer answer.

prtn do make recall previously with waja, perdana and savvy, but malaysian said buat malu je recall, kereta rosak and macam2 lg, tapi when toyota buat recall, org ckp toyota bagus,bertanggung jawab dan macam2 lg pujian, like u lah…and why prtn didn't recall for the pwr windows, it is the mgt decision but from what i know, u will recall if all the products defect ar at least around 50% of the products defect. r u sure that pwrwindows defect rate is 50% EVEN FROM PREVIOUS MODEL?

toyota recall because of of its products(product that been recall) has that defects.

and one more thing, why when toyota or honda people never complain. my kawan puny avanza manual, pecah klac dia selepas 1 tahun pakai, x komplen pun, dia cakap ala biasalah rosak. tapi bila pwr window wira lama dia rosak lepas 4 tahun pkai, dia ckp tak guna kete malaysia. so, siapa yg blind? another kawan, pkai grandlivina, br seminggu,alarm xbleh pakai, rileks aje,xda plak nk marah2 kat nissan. kete waja dia, dah 4 tahun, rosak alarm, komplen gile babi..

so, it is up to u kwn, i believe it is more on subjective matter according to individual. please use ur brain to think. tp xpe, mmg susah nk happykan sume orangkan, asalkan dapat happykan sebahagian orgpun xpe, p1 will move forward to improve it self. when u ckp 25 tahun p1 wat kereta, check smula, prtn kluar waja tahun bile??? p1 baru 9 tahun blaja wat kete sendiri,tapi kalau u tengok perkenbangan dalam 9 tahun ini, dah kira cukup pesat yg mana ada manufacturers lain amik masa lebih dari 20 tahun untuk mendapat kemajuan apa yg p1 capai.

oklah, apa2,nak mintak maaf kalu ada tersilap kata dan ada yg terasa. apa2pun, kita sama rakyat malaysia, marilah sama2 membangunkan negara. so adios amigos,

• u have the power to choose and buy, so if u r not satisfied, u always welcome to buy another brand. but as i said, now we are talking about new products of p1, it is not the old one.

em, about pwindow gen2 u, u said one with waranty, another two with ur own expense. kalu you beli&tukar kat p1, dia bagi warranty power window yg u purchase, if i not mistaken 1 year. gen2 u tiap2 tahun rosak power window ke? maksudnya, lepas tukar baru,lepas setahun, rosak smula? saja tanya, kalu beli pwr window kt p1 xda warranty, sila report kat i-care ok, ini amat penting. bagi nama pusat servis dan bagi no resit belian.

sebab agak teruk masalah u. gen2 coz gen2 kuar 2004 first batch, so warranty abis 2006. so bile u dah kena byr dua kali, maksudnya macam tiap2 tahun rosak. baik repot i-care. k, adios amigos

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:13 pm

farghmee said,

October 8, 2009 @ 10:31 am

offtopic>>

old-timers,

nowadays (not yesterdecades), when somebody (u) claimed that 50% malfunction in power window, that somebody (it’s u) that must give the statistics.

else that somebody (yeah it’s u again) must be plucking the value out of imaginative tree (without valid basis).

–>50% doesn't mean from total sales. It could be from others source. 3 of my friends which own persona have pwr window problem. 3 out of 3 is 100%. so it's more than 50%. Do the math. Btw, why Proton don't recall?

• farghmee on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:46 pm

oh my dear auto_critic..

others, let's think together.

how valid is ur argument?

see 3persons, 3problems. yes 3/3 = 100%.

maths wise is correct.

if u count me in, that would be 3/4 = 75%.

if u add more respondents, the calculation will vary.

yet, the way u said was as if 1/2 (50%) from the sales figure will experience PW failure.

why should i tell that smthg is "rational" when most of the thing that are true for proton here, u thought otherwise? waste of time indeed.

fyi, i don't "puja2" or "agung2" proton.

proton is merely a "makhluq". only "khaliq" that is my attention.

i give credit when it is due.

if u labelled me that way, that's ur perception. up to u, my dear 8-)

• old timers on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:48 pm

360 said;

"…….rtn do make recall previously with waja, perdana and savvy, but malaysian said buat malu je recall, kereta rosak and macam2 lg, tapi when toyota buat recall, org ckp toyota bagus,bertanggung jawab dan macam2 lg pujian, like u lah…and why prtn didn’t recall for the pwr windows, it is the mgt decision but from what i know, u will recall if all the products defect ar at least around 50% of the products defect. r u sure that pwrwindows defect rate is 50% EVEN FROM PREVIOUS MODEL?………."

My Q again, what is the figure? I thought u work in potong, if not, i'm sorry then…..

• old timers on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:55 pm

360 said;

"…………u have the power to choose and buy, so if u r not satisfied, u always welcome to buy another brand. but as i said, now we are talking about new products of p1, it is not the old one……….."

purgh…after controlling market via NATIONAL policy and causing overinflated of car prices in mesia and using taxpayer money by sending 70 engineer to put turbo engine for 2 years…u asked other people to look to other models…

we will, but it does not stop us from giving CONSTRUCTIVE criticism for betterment of potong….hehe

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 08, 2009 at 11:58 pm

360 said,

October 8, 2009 @ 2:40 pm

and one more thing, why when toyota or honda people never complain. my kawan puny avanza manual, pecah klac dia selepas 1 tahun pakai, x komplen pun, dia cakap ala biasalah rosak. tapi bila pwr window wira lama dia rosak lepas 4 tahun pkai, dia ckp tak guna kete malaysia. so, siapa yg blind?

–>No comment but difficult to trust for this.You're friend maybe mad as he didn't know to recognized which problem is more serious or just makestory from you?

another kawan, pkai grandlivina, br seminggu,alarm xbleh pakai, rileks aje,xda plak nk marah2 kat nissan. kete waja dia, dah 4 tahun, rosak alarm, komplen gile babi..

–> This can consider isolated case. But for Proton Gen2, alarm problem account most of the owner and heard the captor(Proton subsidiaries) bought cheapest transmitte (Rm0.10cents) from south africa. That's why push-push can't open need bring to 10cm distance barulah boleh. SO MANA TAK MARAH!!

So oklah aku pun rakyat Malaysia. harap-harap proton bolehlah improve macam volkswagen. Makna volkswagen pun kereta rakyat sama cam Proton. Memang betul-betul TDM ceduk idea hitler. Aku tetap dengan toyota LE. asap putih pun dah kuar nak kena duit dah tu. dan wish you gud luck!adios.

• Celicazz on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:54 am

peringkat akhir ujian? is it? so, it's already about to finish it's 18 months? or what?

• initial R on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:36 pm

old timers said,

October 8, 2009 @ 3:48 pm

————————————————————–

Kereta Potong hanya buat spare part. Proton, bukan potong. Ulang sekali lagi Proton, P.R.O.T.O.N. Proton. Nak marah dah tua, tapi masih degil. Nie le masalah orng tua skarang. tak nak terima hakikat. Cakap macam degree, otak cam sekolah atap. Proton recall balik semua model Savvy (termasuk export) buat checking barring sebab technician SC jumpa faulty kat bearing belakang yang bolah membahayakan pemanduan kalau jam (bahaya tu). Free replace untuk semua yang datang check. Antara bearing & power window mana penting ?.

• Eyesore on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:07 pm

lol… so if proton problem… it's malaysia wide… ouh no world wide….

if other brand be it T, H or N… it's isolated cases…

yes yes that must be it… 100% true… now i kno… bravo the so call Automotive Critics…

1. Some say govt. funding PROTON… but that only through R&D grant… which PERODUA also received (tho they dun really have R&D, just small one for the sake of the grant)… still PERODUA built quality is declining and prices are way over the head… still not going to complain???

2. National Automotive Policy protect PROTON hence inflating foreign car prices? you do realise the same policy also protect PERODUA n NAZA…. right? Or you just close one of your eye and choose only to look at proton??

• R0NaLD0 on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:20 pm

animous said,

Im proud to be malaysian but i can NEVER be proud with POTONG !!

Here is my encounter with savvy

– The power window switch always malfunction – already change several times.

– My car is less than 2yrs old, but the noise is worst than a junk lorry.

– rear wheel bearing masuk air – change already still same problem occurs.

– starter have problem – sometimes take u 30 minute to start the engine. or worst u need to push start the car.

Proud of proton? Pls think again…

When the engine is build in UK i do believe the quality is good but the problem come when they mass produce the engine locally in Malaysia…

• Raixa on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:54 pm

No matter how all of you guys blame the proton still you all have to remember that all car manufacture are just nothing than the very big assembly plant. So the malfunction product are due to the product manufacture and not the car manufacture.

So Proton please find new vendor for you car!!!!!!!!!

• raja hakim on Oct 09, 2009 at 8:13 pm

i think this engine is good for proton…

i think all the engine for proton nowdays is underpower…1.6 for MPV???? what!!

the turbo engine will be a good replacement for the exora engine today….

i hope proton will do a great car using this engine… perhaps an evo competitors….. maybe

• old timer, when i said u can u can choose another brand because buying power is in the hand of the consumers, u r free to choose what brand do u want to buy because i just give some info to correct some incorrect info about p1, not to persuade people to buy p 1 cars. are we clear?

and about the real statistic on the percentage of pw problems, i cannot give u the exact figure because i'm not the one who is in that area, because there are many dpt in p1, even the technician didnt know what is p1 new project in the future because it is under rnd dpt and under rnd dpt, there are many units even under hnt dpt, there are several units. but what i can assure u that it is not 50%.

may be u can do a survey, take a sample, for example, 1000 people, if can get 500 people have pw problem, than it can be 50%. since many of u like to googling around, why dont u stop by at persona, saga blm, exora, neo, savvy forum and check whether 50% of them has pwr windows problem. maybe that can help u.

and when i give comments on other makes, u said cannot trusts the story, so how about other people and ur story, is it valid? so it is up to u to believe or not, i did not force u to believe it. so it is up to u.

eventhough we have some disagreement, did u already done what i told u to do to report to i-care about what happened? it is very important for p1 since really need feedback from the customers or u just change the pw window at ah beng shop? please send ur report asap to icare, ur cooperation is really appreciated.

always said about tax payers money, do you use any facilities in malaysia or not? everything using taxpayers money even p1 pay tax, so u also use p1 tax money. every government servant also get their salary from tax payers money, so why just blame p1, why not blame all malaysian people, even some did not pay the tax but still using tax payer money.

and since when captor involve in the key transmitter? captor is vehicle tracking system through gps(satelite), it is not the alarm system. haiya.

oklah, nak cite pun, mesti tetap x puas atikan, xpelah, yg penting automative critics, please send ur report to icare. adios amigos.

• and one more think, savvy powerterrain is from renault, france, not uk, and p1 did not produce that engine, its renault properties, one of the renown car manufacturer in europe. so why dont blame them. clio previously used that engine, and it has been tested by renault engeneering and of course p1 also done theirs.

i'm not blamming 100% to the users, but from what i gathered, some of p1 owners (not all) really neglected on service routine and maintenance of the car. for example, campro,campro iafm, campro cps and of course savvy engine use 100% coolant, and it not the same coolant as been sell on the shelves of petrol stations, but specific coolant. but some of owners mix up the coolant with water and even use water only for their radiator. some used wrong type of coolant. many of the users also buy p1 parts from outside for example oil filter. eventhough u think it is an original parts, but actually to many imitation parts in the market. if u dont trust p1 sc, i suggest that u buy all the parts from p1 parts centre and service outside and please remember to follow the service manual given to u on what part need to be check and replace according to the milage.

i hope this info will help some p1 owners who want to service outside p1 sc, but for those who still under warranty, please remember not no service outside except p1 sc or the warranty will be void. adios amigos

• old timers on Oct 10, 2009 at 12:26 am

360 said,

October 9, 2009 @ 3:18 pm

"…………………

and about the real statistic on the percentage of pw problems, i cannot give u the exact figure because i’m not the one who is in that area, because there are many dpt in p1, even the technician didnt know what is p1 new project in the future because it is under rnd dpt and under rnd dpt, there are many units even under hnt dpt, there are several units. but what i can assure u that it is not 50%…………."

–> Eventhough u did not know the exact figure, i tend to agree on your statement that 'it is not 50%'….it could be more than 50%…

360 said,

"…………………………………………………………………………………….

…………………………………………………………………………………….

always said about tax payers money, do you use any facilities in malaysia or not? everything using taxpayers money even p1 pay tax, so u also use p1 tax money. every government servant also get their salary from tax payers money, so why just blame p1, why not blame all malaysian people, even some did not pay the tax but still using tax payer money.

–>Bro, in mesia, everybody pay taxes, directly or indirectly. That's a present from Barisan Najis to all….haha

360 said,

"……………………

oklah, nak cite pun, mesti tetap x puas atikan, xpelah, yg penting automative critics, please send ur report to icare. adios amigos."

–>I enjoy our discussion…hopefully not hard feelings maa…we both adult lah…

• Eyesore on Oct 10, 2009 at 1:37 am

old timers… if that is ur argument… then.. every body… I repeat EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN THIS WORLD pay tax to their govt even the poorest of the poorest… once you go to a shop and buy an item even one candy, u already pay tax… becoz everything are taxed… the sellers are taxed by the govt and they transmit some of the tax to customer through the product they sold… So by ur logic all govt in this world are NAJIS… stupid…

i can assure you that the power window failure are NOT even 50%. Though I can reveal to you the actual figure since I'm binded by company contract not to disclose ANY CONFIDENTIAL INFO TO PPL OUTSIDE THE COMPANY. I believe you can understand that…

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 10, 2009 at 1:43 am

All those smarty pants! please hold your horses! If this turbo is gonna be as simple as a bolt on system, obviously we wouldn't need that much of time….please dont be ignorant when u comment….please use ur 'top floor' when u comment…malaysian's are very good is 'ass'uming…..then they come to a conclusion. First of all, u guys are not aware of the complexity of this project, what work is being done to the engine, wat needs to be done, designed, tested, etc etc…so please dont comment blindly….do some research…there are many types of turbo, maybe the engine wont be the same, maybe something is added…maybe something is removed….so based on the timeframe…all i can say that, there is substantial work being done in UK….and we dont simply send 70 engineers to 'makan angin'….there's work need to be done in M'sia as well…so we r really sending staffs only on a need basis only…and if the turbo is as simple as just bolting on, we wont need 70 personnels, and almost a year time….please think rationally…

Cheers!

• alxand on Oct 10, 2009 at 4:33 am

listen to part 20-sec, 1600 kuasa kuda? she meant 1600 cc right?

anyway, bravo to proton

• Lotus ? Lotus is already bankruped and Proton gobbles it up. Remember that Lotus sportcar is using Toyota engines. How in the world proton says this engine is joint venture RnD with Lotus ?

• Raixa on Oct 10, 2009 at 5:53 am

Thankfully someone realize how hard it is actually to make a very durable turbo.

With after market part you can't get a warranty because actually you are giving your engine a extra steroid and if you are not careful with the setting the engine would end up blow up!!

• GeramHati on Oct 10, 2009 at 8:21 am

hope they hidup dan jangan seduk wang. belajar sungguh buat satu enjin elok. Still don;t agree to put a turbo in MPV. mau laju ke mau naik genting?

• GeramHati on Oct 10, 2009 at 8:28 am

Baru tau lagi send 70 org buat engin turbo in UK? another joke lagi selepas spaceman and F1…………

• old timers on Oct 10, 2009 at 4:47 pm

GeramHati,

jgn risau, duit taxpayer kan banyak nak bayar potong ni…kete kebanggaan 1mesia…..

If sending 70 engineers using taxpayer money also happened to fail designing powerful engine, dont worry, management will give them a pat at the back, while saying "good try guys, let's send another 700 engineers to uk for 5 years. I'm sure it'll be a success…."

• old timers on Oct 10, 2009 at 4:55 pm

Eyesore said,

October 9, 2009 @ 5:37 pm

"old timers… if that is ur argument… then.. every body… I repeat EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN THIS WORLD pay tax to their govt even the poorest of the poorest… once you go to a shop and buy an item even one candy, u already pay tax… becoz everything are taxed… the sellers are taxed by the govt and they transmit some of the tax to customer through the product they sold… So by ur logic all govt in this world are NAJIS… stupid…"

–> I agree with u…that wud be stupid…only fed gov in mesia led by Barisan Najis…others ok kot…

"…i can assure you that the power window failure are NOT even 50%. Though I can reveal to you the actual figure since I’m binded by company contract not to disclose ANY CONFIDENTIAL INFO TO PPL OUTSIDE THE COMPANY. I believe you can understand that…

—-> U dont have to break company's contract maa… i agree with u again… the figures 'are NOT even 50%'… it might reach possibly 70-80%

• Tax payer money should not be used by proton, it should be fund out to oversea car maker by buying their cars.

• Sifu,

any development on the gear box since vvt , turbo, the car is to promise a good low end torque and the gearbox might have a top gear at considerably lower ratrio combination for economical drive,

and for higher performance is there any intention to employ 6 speed manual, while enjoying close ratio and to get the advantage highway low stress engine speed at 6th.

thanks,

• Micheal on Oct 11, 2009 at 2:12 am

17_S said,

October 10, 2009 @ 10:06 am

Tax payer money should not be used by proton, it should be fund out to oversea car maker by buying their cars.

aiyooo… u r just so illiterate bout economy.. if its used for proton rnd our money.. runs in the country.. if we buy T, H, N and wut so ever… the money goes to them.. .at last we're the one who has to struggle to get our cash back from foreign countries….

stupid la u…

can some people out here think of the bright side of the discovery… yes they do use the Campro name…

so do Honda uses VTEC, T with the vvti…

its just a type of engine… but its differ in components… like campro it self IAFM, CPS… the vtec also have like 130+ vtec engine… does this mean.. for 130 times… they revised the same old engine? think lah wey…

We're malaysian…support our brand. yes you people wont buy Proton cars… let that be… But for low income citizens… they are the proton targetted customers. not u ppl tht can afford bimmer, merc, toyota or wutsoever u call "perfect" car. dont just bash. If u dont like it. keep it quite, Dont be "so hai" and talk somethg nonsense. and please no politic and racism here.

and those 70 engineers wasnt only meant to develop the engine. they were sent to learn also. its an advantage for them to learn from lotus. indeed. lotus is not an engine developer, but it develops one of the best suspension system in car industries. the engineers may learn in from them.

and si-fu,

thanx for backing up malaysia's icon.

I'm a chinese, I'm a malay, I'm an indian.

I was born with chinese features, i live like my malay frens, and i eat most of the indian foods most of the day.

Because,

I'm Malaysian,

1malaysia for all

Cheers

• Micheal on Oct 11, 2009 at 2:24 am

R0NaLD0 said,

October 9, 2009 @ 11:20 am

animous said,

– starter have problem – sometimes take u 30 minute to start the engine. or worst u need to push start the car.

When the engine is build in UK i do believe the quality is good but the problem come when they mass produce the engine locally in Malaysia…

u drive that car like a rally car, u go thru potholes like u driving a hummer,

u barely service ur car, if u do so, it will be like after major breakdown, u broke ur own starter, after u switched on the engine, u turn it on again, or u just too lazy to go to see ur mechanics and clean up the spark plugs, or u ruined ur compressor, or u press the accelerator before u start the engine, so the spark plug is wet, then u cannot start ur engine, and the bearing thingy, u involved in an accident, and u just change the bumper and repair the dent and not checking ur moving parts damage. how the heck it was suppose to be protons fault? hey, i drove a "RENTED" un maintaned savvy…

i can cruise 165 with no fuss… everythg was fine… u r the one who drive ur car as u assume its a hummer or a jeep…

• Don't let proton used our tax money, If proton use our tax money, our target to see malaysia bankrupt in year 2020 will not be realised.

• acid_burn on Oct 11, 2009 at 8:19 am

proton car is too slow on RD..d first campro was suck n lot of problem..

then they solve it with CPS n IAFM..that took loooong time..

beside proton sales only high in M'sia…oversea proton sales so low..

it only depend on sales in M'sia to make profit..

without protection from gov proton would be perish already…

• acid_burn on Oct 11, 2009 at 8:31 am

M'sia gov put high tax on import cars…that y it cost so much to buy toyota honda n others..vios price compare to gen2 is the same with no tax..but the quality is def…vios is superior…gen2 is like scrap metal..many xcndt on road involve M'sian car only few import cars..

• LIghtning McQUeen on Oct 11, 2009 at 1:49 pm

17_S said,

October 10, 2009 @ 8:43 pm

Don’t let proton used our tax money, If proton use our tax money, our target to see malaysia bankrupt in year 2020 will not be realised.

============================================

Alo brader… u narrow minded…

Proton do not use our tax money lor… the gov did.

That's why proton has to stay making profit, 2020 is not about proton itself

its about us, MAlaysia cannot achieve vision 2020 bcoz of people like u… bashers and cannot produce intelligent ideas for us to move forward…

what we have to change is our attitude towards 1st world mindset…

• Lahmi on Oct 11, 2009 at 3:49 pm

"our tax money"boringgggggggggg…..nak tanya berapa yg banyak yg ko org dah bayar…..setakat budak sekolah jgn lah ckp la psl tax ni or I'm know you guys just found this word and you felt it is BIG WORD that you already discover……

• Micheal on Oct 11, 2009 at 10:58 pm

hahaha… yah true… u go to US yah…

they dont have road tax…

but the G aquire the money from the fuel… u knw how much the G harvest from them? bigger than us per head.

• vico tin on Oct 12, 2009 at 1:22 am

at last..(sweaty)

• all the engineers look like they belong in the mosque instead of building cars….XDD…PROTON can go to HELL!

• old timers on Oct 12, 2009 at 2:58 am

Lightning McQUeen said

"Alo brader… u narrow minded…

Proton do not use our tax money lor… the gov did.

That’s why proton has to stay making profit, 2020 is not about proton itself

its about us, MAlaysia cannot achieve vision 2020 bcoz of people like u… bashers and cannot produce intelligent ideas for us to move forward…what we have to change is our attitude towards 1st world mindset…"

—> No wonder gov could cheat us…potong do not use tax payer money… hahahaha…

hey, where do u live this long? In cave?…..

• old timers on Oct 12, 2009 at 3:06 am

Lahmi said,

"our tax money”boringgggggggggg…..nak tanya berapa yg banyak yg ko org dah bayar…..setakat budak sekolah jgn lah ckp la psl tax ni or I’m know you guys just found this word and you felt it is BIG WORD that you already discover……"

why u asked? u want to reimburse?

People don't mind pay tax, if not how to get development…it's the way the money was spent tickle us the most. Gov spent like their father money…… remember non-beneficial aerospace tourist program, wrong timing f1 team, useless ron95 price, now this 70 engineers makan2 angin program.. fuuhhh

• RunnerUp on Oct 12, 2009 at 4:00 am

Sorry mencelah.

We don't know for a fact whether those 70 engineers really went to the UK to 'makan angin' lah. It is definitely not nice to comment based on assumption only.

What IF they actually went there to really work their hands to the bone? Baseless accusation is not insignificant. I'm sure you knew the meaning of the word 'fitnah.' How are you gonna apologize to them?

And I used the word IF, because I also don't know what they have been doing.

• shooter on Oct 12, 2009 at 6:49 am

Guys, i see no need to wrestle with ppl here like Old Timers- it's like wrestling with a hog, evryone gets dirty, nasty and smelly, not very pleasent- but the hog just loves it!!!!

• Abraham Tawi on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:31 am

akupunya said,

October 3, 2009 @ 9:00 am

aiyoo..why proton jst turbo charged the 1.6cc engine?

why proton not build the very powerful engine like 2.0cc or 2.5cc?

it seems that proton only produced 1.6cc engine car only la..

——————————————————————

Since when Proton produce 1.6cc engine ?? Even the old Honda Cup motorbike is 49cc

Its 1.6litres

I've seen many of this mistakes around this website.

My correction is not for 'akupunya' only but for all !!!!

• 1000cubic centimeter=1 litre

1000cc =1 litre

1500cc =1.5

just to elaborate more

• hi eyesore, long time no see :-). of course we are bind to the p & c clause, but do u think the bashers will care? they will always try to fault with us …he…he… may we fly together.

em,mr abc, do u think lotus use toyota engine because lotus dont make engine, since we are in the internet era, why dont u googling for the answer, if u have time,please drop by to lotus hq to find out…

old timer,

u already answer ur own question, so what the fuss? no heart feeling though.

and for automotive critics, do you email or call icare to report or not.

you can email to [email protected]

adios amigos…

• farghmee on Oct 12, 2009 at 6:03 pm

offtopic>>

awak, TQ for ur xplanation :)

i was going to post about that "confusion" but luckily u've corrected it.

1000cc = 1000cubic centimeter = 1000 cm^3.

1000cm^3 = 1 liter

e.g.:

saga is 1.3, or saga is 1.3liter, or saga is 1300cc, or saga is 1300cm^3

@mrk

"all the engineers look like they belong in the mosque instead of building cars"

haha..a very "wise" comment by mrk?

if they look like they belong to the discotheque, then proton is really doomed.

• Abraham Tawi on Oct 13, 2009 at 2:10 am

Thanks to 'awak' and 'farghmee' for supporting my statement :D

• naming?naming?

how about CAMPRO iVC-T

itelligent variable cam+turbo

how about using ‘cam’ as the term, instead of we are bored with vvti,cvvt, vv.vv.

because cam is actually the valve actuator, so intelligent actually comes from the cams.

intelligent could mean timing and lift management togather.

or the name CAMPRO INTELICAM -T

or CAMPRO i-CAM-turbo intelligent cam, turbo

or CAMPRO V-CAM-T variable cam, turbo

or CAMPRO T-iCAM turbo with intelligent cam

or CAMPRO T-Vi turbo with variable intake

or CAMPRO T-iV turbo with intelligent valves

or CAMPRO Ti-TURBO tuned intake, turbo.

or CAMPRO VCT variable cam, turbo

• farghmee on Oct 14, 2009 at 6:24 pm

offtopic>>

[engine name here] TuFI (turbocharged forced induction)

[engine name here] SuFI (supercharged forced induction)

hahaha..

• animous on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:27 pm

[quote]

R0NaLD0 said,

October 9, 2009 @ 11:20 am

animous said,

u drive that car like a rally car, u go thru potholes like u driving a hummer,

u barely service ur car, if u do so, it will be like after major breakdown, u broke ur own starter, after u switched on the engine, u turn it on again, or u just too lazy to go to see ur mechanics and clean up the spark plugs, or u ruined ur compressor, or u press the accelerator before u start the engine, so the spark plug is wet, then u cannot start ur engine, and the bearing thingy, u involved in an accident, and u just change the bumper and repair the dent and not checking ur moving parts damage. how the heck it was suppose to be protons fault? hey, i drove a “RENTED” un maintaned savvy…

i can cruise 165 with no fuss… everythg was fine… u r the one who drive ur car as u assume its a hummer or a jeep…

[/quote]

Well, I do have some problem with starter but that is because of the TDC thingy which I DIY clean myself. Power window no problem, rear wheel senget but thats because of accident with motorcycle.

The engine is so powerful compare to iswara 1.3 manual and wira 1.5 auto. Can reach 120 with no hassle. Cornering also superb.

I dont blame u Ronaldo becoz it depend on luck wheter u got a good car or either. My father wira however has the worst quality ever. Spring for rear bonet patah, lampu signal depan terkeluar, minyak itam bocor, power window problem, meter km rosak etc2.. 5 year old car but problem occur much for since last 2 years

• astarjo on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:33 pm

gua pki proton tp enjin mitsubishi…bulan depan dpt pki honda type r, huhuhuhu

• irwan on Oct 17, 2009 at 2:54 pm

akum ,,,aku rasa proton still the best,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,gud luck proton,,,,,,,,,,,,,i proud use proton,,,,,,,eleh,,,,,talk talk talk,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,apa kelas ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,asyik use honda je ,,,support la buatan malaysia,,,ekonomi pun maju,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

apa 22 ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,keep moving proton…………..hard work…………………even my waja…………campro Se,,,,,,,,,,,,better than vios,,,honda city,,,,,,,,nak fight jom la

• gaman on Oct 24, 2009 at 12:39 am

will it be used on neo???..neo cps turbo???..hehe..

• P1_P2_Are_Shit on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:49 pm

Proton should die, save the money for education of better engineers that'll work in VW or Merc factories in Malaysia.

• farghmee on Oct 27, 2009 at 6:29 pm

hoho..

ada ke VW or Merc guna org tempatan utk buat R&D di malaysia

spt yg proton buat?

fikir2kanlah wahai org yg mempunyai otak utk berfikir :)

• P1_P2_Are_Shit on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:19 am

Proton should die, save the money for education of better engineers that’ll work in BMW or Audi or any other Great German manufacturers' factories in Malaysia.

• 1st off all…. I'm a freakin Malaysian..

I born here.. I grow up here and i shall die for her..

But things change.. the more i grow older i got more question and question…

Why want us to buy ur car with 5K trade in option?

U have been dominated inbound market for how many? 20 years?. No money to R&D? Or u simply dun open ur door for those professional skill rakyat… Many of our pro Malaysian have migrate.. else work for others top notch company…

Why force us to do inspection for 15yrs above car? They nvr think… people that own those exotic and dangerous car ( as they said) are mostly bangsa M.. Some part of bangsa M that left behind, blindfolded…

Why raise the insurance so high? Insurance company shouldn't be protected for.. It's the rakyat who come first !!!!!!!!!! U wanna earn, there's lotsa way of doing… 50 years plus.. U may have change ur style of leaving but your thinking is still da same…

Why, economy recession… they never recess anyone to cut cost… y? cause most of their worker are Bangsa M, they afraid to loose their fate on da big Brotha G o v. Afraid of loosing (electon) but NVR NVR EVER work on improvement.. Recess those unperform, unproductive.. scared others to death so they pick up and wake up~! Take this chances to hire more talent~!

NO more, NO MORE Makan Pisang Minum Kopi attitude..

U want Ur Bangsa M to get away frm KeMiskinan? So brilliant and rule them to trade something usefull for Debts… So pandai, just to save u and we shall die?. F***… U exist because of us.. not we exist because of u..

Like Dr. M said.. if u can't be competitive, close it.. JUST FREAKIN CLOSE IT~!

After all.. WE'RE NO MORE FEEL PROUD OF YOU !!! IF U'RE REALLY A MALAYSIAN PROUD, GET LOOSE OF YOUR SHARE.. LET ALL OF US OWN UR SHARE.. LETS ALL OF US DECIDE UR FATE. and so we can TIAO u for ur mistake AND so U'll KNOW that U HAVE THE NATION BURDEN ON YOUR SHOULDER~! and so every rakyat can share ur profit and we all will feel u're part of us..

Change Ur Education system.. RAKYAT COME FIRST.. MAKE THEM PANDAI, NOT U WHO PANDAI AND CAN HAVE US FOR DINNER.

We work damn hard every seconds in our life.. We should be sarcastic in choosing good things to rewards ourselves. It ain't fair as we been forcing to buy home made product but worst quality. Fight for our own benefits is not a wrong thing.

I LOVE MY COUNTRY MORE THEN ANYTHING.. BUT U GUYS MAKE ME REAL SAD.. MAKE ALL OF US SAD.. Those whu support… u have your 2 cents but sometimes.. thing have to be done in other way round.. THEY SHOULD BE SMACK AWAKE~!

U TOTALLY FORGET the true meaning of car and driving. We buy them not rm3 nor rm10, it's da freakin 30K and 100K. Damn u Ba****d. Most of the people own vehicle to search for a living. u forgot the passion of drive where driving is an enjoyment. U slay us death.. U kill those youngster Dream. U dun give hope to da next generation but hate and desperate. U make us think… ya, we're like that.. TIM ( THIS IS MALAYSIA)

DEMOCRACY IS DEAD.. SO ARE MY COUNTRY.. SO ARE MY LOVE..

• najay on Nov 10, 2009 at 11:44 am

damn u abby.making racist remarks without a sense of sensivity and respect. who the hell are you. who do you think u are. if u wanna blame proton just lay down ur comments with concrete arguments in a specific and objective manner. do u think that we cant read or see what u are trying to proof. thnking that u r better than another.

• kata keter malaysia xberkualiti..klau xder keter malay korang semua xles install enjin turbo…….say yes to proton