Tokyo 2009: Compact Nissan Roox to debut

nissan-roox

Nissan will officially launch the Nissan Roox compact car at the upcoming Tokyo Motor Show. The Roox will join other vehicles like the Nissan Land Glider Concept and the Nissan NV200 Vanette Taxi at the show. It measures 3,395mm long, 1,475mm wide, 1,735 m high and has a wheelbase of 2,400mm long which is only about 1cm longer than a Viva’s wheelbase so you have an idea of the size of this car. Interior length is rated at 2,085mm while width is figured at 1,365mm.

Unfortunately the Japanese auto maker did not disclose information pertaining to the drivetrain but did say that the Roox “ranks as the most spacious in its class”. It’s quite clear what the focus is here – a sufficiently big box to move around in. It’s probably going to get a 660cc engine since it looks like a Japanese K-car.

Apart from a drink cooler fitted inside the upper glove box, a storage box under the passenger seat for items like children’s toys and dirty shoes, dual airbags and front SRS side airbags and foldable rear seats, the Roox also has double sliding rear doors that can also be opened remotely with a ‘keyfob’. Nissan will present a “Highway Edition” version at the event. More information to be revealed soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• common sensor on Oct 13, 2009 at 9:19 pm

JUARA Re-Born !!!

• humaizi on Oct 13, 2009 at 9:24 pm

I don't think Malasyian will regard this box car is 'a good looking car'..might be different perception for Japanese gals and guys..

• i want another car.. on Oct 13, 2009 at 9:35 pm

good lord it looks like a toaster!

• OMG, Give me free i also no face to park it at my house.

• limbo on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:05 pm

i dont think to buy it. very ugly and not my taste, sorry.

• osh_kosh on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:08 pm

common sensor said,

October 13, 2009 @ 1:19 pm

JUARA Re-Born !!!

——————

maybe but i think it's more like Kenari…

• On my other comment I stated that I like boxy cars, BUT this is too much!

• it looks like a creature from CARS animation .

• azrai on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:22 pm

Juara inspired Viva Elite on steroid.

• bmpower on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:26 pm

better than viva

• more_MiLEAGE_pls on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:32 pm

on steroid,period

• mcpadey on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:58 pm

WAHHHHH!!!!! ice-box with wheels

• nighttrain on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:11 pm

look like a character from 'Cars'.. angry headlights

• kimi_ on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Only the front looks good minus the whole boxy body…

This is too tall and boxy…suitable as coffin car…

• amirzaim on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Loks like the Nissan Cube Replacement Models…

• mariappan on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Dammmm Ugly

• LP560-4 on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:03 am

Come on NIssan… I know You can do better than Perodua!

• JULIAN_LEE on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:14 am

Looks nicer than the Toyota and Honda crap on our roads!

But BMW X6 still better

• Squawk on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:25 am

When you need to fit into the Kei category to escape high tax and insurance and parking regulations, yet maximize passenger room, this is what you get. So can't complain much as this is to fulfill local market demand.

• initial R on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:44 am

Rasanya praktikal gak idea nie utk Kcar sebab pintu belakang pakai sliding. So rasa kalau nak masukkan barang pun senang. Nampak cam kotak tapi rasa lagi praktikal dari viva walau luaran tak cantik. Sesuai untuk mommy taxi…. hehehe….

• jolly_idiot on Oct 14, 2009 at 2:58 am

just like hitting corner on an office chair.

• mahdi on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:38 am

this is just too insulting for low-end consumer … a little design wouldn't kill anybody

• Littlefire on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:49 am

Juara is a Mitsubishi Town-box in Japan…

Those boxy car are actually quite famous in Japan, as boxy car have proven to have more space in it and look more spacious. Try went in a Alphad and go into Estima, i can gurantee u will felt Alphad have more space… The most space i have seen is Elgrand.. Damn it huge…

• A mini mini bus?

• this car wont sell here in malaysia, we are too exterior conscious.

but for the japanese, they care more for practicality and purpose rather than looks. so they get more variety and nicer cars.

• claxxion on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:43 am

I dont know why Malaysians think these boxy cars are ugly, but i think the most ugliest k-car we can find in malaysia is the Viva.

• mystvearn on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Looks more like Kenari ver 2 reborn…

• sr20det on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:24 pm

orang jepun memang suka kereta kotak macam nie…

• ugly?

so does alphard

• subconhero on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:08 am

ROOX.

how to speach?.. speach clearly. RO OX. pe ke nama JAWA dia bagi.

• FReedome on Oct 16, 2009 at 4:56 am

I think this car great k

maybe it time 2 have a car like this in Malaysia

to those that always tau nak komplent saja

build your own car lah and show to the public bagus sagat ka your car 2

it better than have a Evo kena sumpah car lah

• moving toaster,..,,,.,.,.,.,.,.