Tokyo 2009 Live: Honda CR-Z Concept Hybrid

honda-crx-live

The Honda CR-Z Concept you see here is very, very near to production. In fact, the production car probably already exists somewhere in Honda R&D, since it’s supposed to go into production in February 2010. That’s just a few months away. Honda has been talking about this car for a few years now, and a design concept study was already shown at the motorshow back in 2007.

honda-crz-rear

Since then it has evolved and the result is this concept, with even a proper close-to-production interior. I don’t particularly like its gaping mouthed looks (another manufacturer to go Audi-ized?) but things start to get better towards the rear. I hope they don’t settle on this front end for its next generation of cars – that would ruin the next generation Civic.

honda-crx-live-2

Under the hood is a 1.5 litre version of Honda’s IMA system (currently available as a 1.3 litre in the Civic Hybrid and Insight), so we don’t really have any power output numbers yet. What’s interesting is that it will be paired to a 6-speed manual transmission. I can’t recall any other hybrid car with a manual. The motor assist will probably kick in according to road incline, etc as well as a data feed from the throttle position sensor.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jaybond on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Just wondering, why Honda does'nt offer a conventional NA engine version? Perhaps, the 2 liter 220bhp Type R engine? The world is just not ready yet for a hybrid sportscar…

• MyDear on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Ahaha .. that why their tagline is "the power of dreams"

• Paul Tan on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:25 pm

If they do that… it would be the Civic Type R hatchback with different styling, haha.

• w_lighter (Member) on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm

hmm.. im wondering, can u even see anything thru the rear window? it looks so high

• Day deSIANG on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:11 pm

err…. 1.5L with two assist motor like BMW? or 1.5L with only 1 motor and it's slower than the 1.8L Prius?! Please make it at least 0-100 in 8 sec… and hope i can run on the motor alone…

but still… 2 seats…arrrrrrrr…

• Chuan on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:13 pm

gorgeous!

• Day deSIANG on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:13 pm

and please bring it to malaysia and not sell it more expensive than Civic Type R… to encourage ppl go fast and green…

• R0NaLD0 on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:18 pm

i see autobots……..

• Peter on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:59 pm

this is cool,perhaps Honda is encouraging youngsters to have green sportscar.

i was hoping something like Tesla.

green,yet fast.

anyhow,this is really a good model.a predecessor of CRX.

• Ariff on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:18 pm

lolz,hope they can sell it abt 140k.but dream on!!this kind of car will be priced maybe like Golf GTi.and do u really think honda msia will bring ths in??something tells me it's not gna be here.then we cn only ask for help from the gray importers!!hahaha!!

• Zetuan on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:30 pm

The Toyota Prius is already selling for RM177k, I dun think this car is going to be cheap looking at it's market segment. I agree with Ariff that it would probably be priced like the Golf GTi, probably in the sub 200k region.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 27, 2009 at 12:05 am

Hope they bring in Malaysia in the first place. This car will go well with the gov tax structure for now.

• kl-ite on Oct 27, 2009 at 12:34 am

hope the final production version looks like the concept (with the sport rims and all!)

i would reckon priced somewhere near golf gti and scirocco…low 200s

• Another FWD car….

• The dashboard is nice..but the gear knob design is yucksss

• if priced same as golf gti most would choose the gti for many reasons. unless 2.0L hybrid

• xenonchrist on Oct 27, 2009 at 6:25 am

should hv 1.8 or 2.0 petrol engine .

who want to replace battery at RM80000.

and if doest hv petrol engine than the toyota ft86 will be better choice(for me).

• carcoon on Oct 27, 2009 at 5:06 pm

The front looks more like Peugeot than Audi.

• chyan on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:56 pm

A bit fat. But WHo cares. At least it got big 'em mouths.

• Georgie on Oct 28, 2009 at 12:13 am

I like the Gen2-esque rear of the design. In fact that's how they should design it when they facelifted the gen-2.

The drivers cockpit still a bit unrealistic, most likely they will redesign it again, and I still find the front 'mouth' a bit ugly. It looks like an unhappy catfish if you take another look.

• James on Oct 28, 2009 at 1:50 am

This car is so conservative looking and to think that the car is based on the Honda Insight with a slightly bigger engine, it just turns me into a cold turkey.

On the other hand, Toyota's FT-86 has a 2litre boxer engine from Subaru with a RWD package. Now that is something worthwhile. Even the price on the looks is more worth it.