Renaultsport range coming to Malaysia this year!

Renaultsport may not be as well known or revered as BMW’s M division, AMG or Honda’s Type R range, but the boys and girls from Dieppe has been in great form of late, turning humdrum standard Renaults into fantastic driver’s cars that makes the keen driver go Whoa! Both the Clio RS and Megane R26 sold in Malaysia are good examples of these; but the latter in particular impressed so much that I voted for it in my previous magazine’s Car of the Year awards, which it won.

Looks like the motoring media in UK, which gets to enjoy Renaultsport’s latest crop of cars, are similarly bowled over too. Renaultsport has been chosen as Top Gear magazine’s Manufacturer of the Year. Conor McNicholas, Editor of Top Gear UK said: “Renaultsport has been impressing us for years but 2009 was the year where the whole project hit a new sweet spot – Twingo, Clio and Mégane all out in hot form and all of them at their best ever. For services to hot hatches, we salute you”.

In addition, the practical folks at What Car? magazine, in their 2009 COTY awards, had the entire Renaultsport range in their shortlist for the hot hatch category, which saw the Mégane Renaultsport 250 Cup triumph over siblings Clio Renaultsport 200 Cup and Twingo Renaultsport 133 Cup.

Realising that it has struck a chord among enthusiasts, TC Euro Cars plans to build the Renaultsport brand in Malaysia, starting with the introduction of the Mégane RS in the third quarter this year followed by the hot Clio and Twingo at the end of 2010, according to a source close to the project. We can’t wait!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Joseph on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:21 pm

I am first !

WOW ! Wonder how much these will cost here?

• nabill on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm

thats the sh*t thing…ite pretty affordable in UK…bt when it comes here…its gonna cost god knows how much….with the trizlion % tax and all that…

• Arse90 on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:30 pm

love that cute little twingo 133 cup. hope the pricing is attractive eventhough i do get a hunch that it is gonna be expensive.

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:38 pm

time to teach those Proton Posers some lessons…..on what is a really fast hot hatch =)

• Tiadaid on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:40 pm

nabill said,

January 25, 2010 @ 11:25 am

thats the sh*t thing…ite pretty affordable in UK…bt when it comes here…its gonna cost god knows how much….with the trizlion % tax and all that…

———————–

Well, seeing how Malaysians drive on the road, I'm rather glad cars like this cost so much. Perhaps we should revamp our driving school curriculum first?

• khaix19a on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:40 pm

agree….when it come to msia the price will double…….

• mitlanevo on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:44 pm

BRAVO~

• Colin Chapman on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:46 pm

taxation is pretty steep. On top of the cost of the car, an import tax of 30% is applied and top of that is an excise duty of 80% and on top of all of that is a sales tax of 10% then its cost of clearance, internal freight etc and then its dealer margin. On a 200K car more than half of that is tax and the rest is car cost, margin and other bits

RM70,000 (car cost) + RM110,000 (taxes) + RM20,000(margin etc) = RM200,000

Welcome to Malaysia!

• nice!

• seen this car on top gear..is such a great car..

• oliver chantk on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

I am a big fan of that R26 Megane, sad to see that car go.

• funny on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:57 pm

no point la, so expensive. a normal car become premium car in malaysia. lets buy the cheapest car la.

• blackbox on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:11 pm

My guess will be RM150K to RM250K for these cars.

• Gajen on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm

omg….the director of italian job probably went 'i think ill make a sequel,these 3 cars are just perfect' lol

i wonder how much is the price

• droll on Jan 25, 2010 at 8:46 pm

is white the new in-colour thesedays?

• theanswer on Jan 25, 2010 at 9:02 pm

they still use torsion beam for this sports renault?

• The Loner on Jan 25, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Agree with Colin Chapman. Those pesky duty are killing us. However, the import duty can be reduced less than 10% due to the AFTA ruling BUT the excise duty can't be reduced. Haiz

• moha3774 on Jan 25, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Savvy owners would welcome them with open arms…way to go Renault…

• kimmy on Jan 25, 2010 at 9:07 pm

If Proxxx not exist here… our car price wil be much cheaper… pity us…

Tax, petrol, toll… hope our G can think of us! But they never…

• Alpha on Jan 25, 2010 at 9:37 pm

perhaps Twingo RS will be sold for about 140k.like a Polo GTi.

• Merc JB on Jan 25, 2010 at 9:54 pm

>>RM70,000 (car cost) + RM110,000 (taxes) + RM20,000(margin etc) = RM200,000

—————————————

Should be import by Abang-Adik………..(free Ap)

Declared price Euro 2K, + RM1K shipping cost (K13K+ taxes 120% i.e.15.6K = RM28.6 +MARGIN RM100K = RM128.6K.

RM128.6K selling price, mau profit lebih just tambah maaa………

• Colin Chapman on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Yep, these duties are a killer and I dont think it matters whether ProXXX is here or not. The government will still need tax revenue to fund its projects – sending more people to space and build new palaces etc. Of course that is much more important then spending on upgrading our education system cause our system is just plain perfect right?

The funny thing about the car business is that for honest people who want to play a fair game and contribute to the tax coffers they are penalized cause many others dont play the fair game and skirt the law. So can't blame them if the prices of the cars that they have are high. No choice. Nobody wants to voluntarily price their cars out of the market and sell one or two units a month.

• trav_da_man on Jan 25, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Nice to see some niche european FWD hot hatches in Mysia to cater for those who thinks the civic type R is for ah bengs. Its a daring move by TC eurocars to bring some niche models here.

• They can sell but how many ppl can afford to pay for such toys ! Bolehland car prices are crazy, we are paying the price of a house to buy cars like that.

• mr_3m on Jan 25, 2010 at 11:36 pm

woohoo… love the Renaultsport cars… got to drive the R26 on a test drive here last year… absolutely wonderful car, sweet handling and excellent real world performance… good alternative to the Golf GTi that has almost become a bit 'common' (relatively laaa…)

shame about the price though – RM230k for a Renault? May be better let the 1st owner enjoy the car first and buy the R26 in 2011/12… hopefully we'll save 60%-70% by then… & the car is still in 1 piece!!!

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 26, 2010 at 12:16 am

The Megane look great.. Love it!!!

Once again, only able to see, not able to own one…

• mystvearn on Jan 26, 2010 at 12:45 am

Pictures of the megane don't do justice. It really is that beautiful in real life. I date say it is as beautiful as the Sirocco, or maybe more.

• redxdevil on Jan 26, 2010 at 1:14 am

The Royal Academy of Proton Bashers said,

January 25, 2010 @ 11:38 am

time to teach those Proton Posers some lessons…..on what is a really fast hot hatch =)

—————————————————————

this will make perodua car look even more slower. lol

• Honest Bob on Jan 26, 2010 at 2:06 am

I honestly don't get it when ppl here make comments like "..I'm glad these sporty car prices are high judging from how Msians drive".

What this person forgets to take into consideration is that cars like these are EURO NCAP 5 star safety rating . B'cos ppl are going to drive fast and reckless regardless what car they're in, so why not in a SAFER car?

So to say that it is good these fast cars are expensive just blows my mind!!!

• MyVISE on Jan 26, 2010 at 2:46 am

The center one looks a little bit like a MyvI SE first generation with plate put in to the middle

• Colin Chapman said,

January 25, 2010 @ 2:17 pm

Yep, these duties are a killer and I dont think it matters whether ProXXX is here or not. The government will still need tax revenue to fund its projects – sending more people to space and build new palaces etc. Of course that is much more important then spending on upgrading our education system cause our system is just plain perfect right?

—————————————————-

since when malaysia G neglect edu sys…malaysian bajet 4 edu every year very high..as compare to other country..is it just popup from ur head bro n type as u like…..do u done ur homework? i mean do info searching..i hate people just make comment without knowledge..pure ignorance

ps: also to fund ur biasiswa, food, medical n other thing the bolehland G subs

my100cent

• Honest Bob said,

January 25, 2010 @ 6:06 pm

I honestly don’t get it when ppl here make comments like “..I’m glad these sporty car prices are high judging from how Msians drive”.

What this person forgets to take into consideration is that cars like these are EURO NCAP 5 star safety rating . B’cos ppl are going to drive fast and reckless regardless what car they’re in, so why not in a SAFER car?

So to say that it is good these fast cars are expensive just blows my mind!!!

————————————————-

for the driver of that car ok la….for other people outside the car EURO NCAP 0 eg. pedestrian, motocylist n other non NCAP car..they ramm they save wat

• NiceCar said,

January 25, 2010 @ 4:16 pm

————————————————-

work hard or start business….start now don just whining all the way…without effort nothing we can get even our pant….rich people don start it rich but some r born rich

• whose here are high schooler, college or uni student…study first get gud job then buy best car ok

• shawal on Jan 26, 2010 at 5:58 am

Megane 250 Sport with Cup Chassis ~!!!! how much?? How much izzit!?!??!

• ford_ton on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:34 am

Just educate the drivers first before deciding on lowering prices of these rapid bullets. Might turn these EURO NCAP 5 STAR cars into MSIA NCAP 5 STAR coffins. Just how often do you see drivers slowing down at housing estates? When we want to cross the road oncoming cars speeds up with blaring horn and lights flashing instead of slowing down to avoid possible collision. When we overtake, oncoming cars veers towards the middle of the road straight into the overtaking car instead of moving towards the kerbside to give some breathing room. The overtaken cars usually speeds up to make life difficult instead of lifting off to let cars safely pass them. Do you all dare to cross the road at zebra crossings? I bet nobody wont. Malaysian drivers on any mode of road vehicle are the most intolerable to other people's mistake as if they themselves never make any mistake at all. And all they do is whine upon other people's action. These are the qualities of ultra kiasu people which the majority of Malaysian people can be grouped into.

Until we can safely use zebra crossings, then its the right time to sell these 'El Rapido' cheaply to the masses.

• can bring here, but will probably cost ex due to duties.

sad case, because renault cars are pretty damn good.

• scottloeb on Jan 26, 2010 at 5:52 pm

ford_ton,

I agree wholeheartedly with you. Malaysian drivers are bloody reckless, inpatient and ultra kiasu. We dare said Singaporean kiasu, but on the road, we are one of the worst driver available in the world. On the other hand, our Bangkok/Jakarta are much more patient, and careful (cermat) compared to us even if the traffic are much more worse. Of course our road rules are better but people choose to ignore especially when no police around right? I knew this 1 parents said infront of his child" Lampu merah berhenti kalau ada polis, kalau tadak jalan saja kalau kereta takda". Should teach the kid to respect the law even without police, just like you teach your child to fear God as its "maha mengetahui". And dont get me started with Penang/Taiping driver, and some Pillah/Jerantut/Kuala Kubu folk who tailgate is part of their veins.

• Renault RS is amazing!! Fell in love with it…

• funny on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:30 pm

scottloeb said,

ford_ton,

I agree wholeheartedly with you. Malaysian drivers are bloody reckless, inpatient and ultra kiasu. We dare said Singaporean kiasu, but on the road, we are one of the worst driver available in the world. On the other hand, our Bangkok/Jakarta are much more patient, and careful (cermat) compared to us even if the traffic ar

——————————————-

becos we're not a good driver, so the car price is to remain high.

becos msian are not smart, so, no democracy for you.

becos you guys are too smart, 20 years later, this country will have nothing left.

if you do not know how to drive properly, so better give you a cheap and bad car, so you can go to hell sooner.

this is the malaysian thinking, so the political party can remain in power for 50 years.

becos you are rich, so you should pay extra in houses, and no gomen job for you, and when police/thief ask money from you, pay la.

your sister is ugly, if i do not rap3 her, she'll not enjoy the fun of having s3x for the rest of her life!!

are you guys out of your mind? you trying to justify tyranny?? wtf? wth?

• crazy on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:35 pm

NiceCar said,

January 25, 2010 @ 4:16 pm

————————————————-

work hard or start business….start now don just whining all the way…without effort nothing we can get even our pant….rich people don start it rich but some r born rich

—————————————

thanks for doing your propaganda job for gomen, as if you're earning big buck.

no matter what gomen throw at you, swallow and worker harder! thats how myanmar lost it.

• Next election on Jan 26, 2010 at 8:53 pm

agree with crazy…

but in av difficulties, there's lies the hidden opportunities…thanks to government, i gotta do part time mlm…though i hated it…but its one of the best way to channel my anger n get rich, at least not just comment on av single blog or Mtoday onli…not enaf……revenge n kaw kaw scamming on those foolish government ppl….now waiting to get rich enaf to migrate….

Guys while waiting next election, there is always a way to revenge…just now thinking how to pull some prank on those blue shirt abang kaki rasuah..

Thanks to the government that im like this

• I am not sure if working harder or starting a business got to do the car's price ? The fact is only Bolehland car prices are inflated compare with other country that is the point here. And working harder or starting a business dont gurantee you success btw.

• scottloeb on Jan 26, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Funny,

Price and tax are different things all together. Besides tax, the positioning of the products and volumes speak for the price of the product as well. If youre smart enough to read between the lines, never I said about agreeing to the price, rather than the recklessness attitude of Malaysian driver. if you've read my other comments or being here long enough, you should know where my stand are.

And linking about raping sisters and all that crap, that shows the shallowness of your mentality. How about abiding the law, no matter how ridicules it may seems? Clearly your mind is clouded with anti gomen and anything is related to that. Even price of Renault car, which is clearly a European product that the Malaysian public shy away from due to its ridicules price of spare parts and association of 'european complicated cepat rosak' besides bad resale value can be associated with these clouded judgement. Grow up. Life is much more meaningful than your political party.

• ford_ton on Jan 26, 2010 at 10:45 pm

To funny.

just don't get me wrong. Not that I want to prevent anybody to drive nice fast cars. but the Malaysian road is literred with impatient drivers. When authorities are present they just 'berlakon' but after that all hell breaks loose.Change our own mindset first before asking other people to change for your sake. Criticize yourself first before trying to critic others. Is that a too difficult task?

Stop on yellow lights instead of trying to beat the red lights.

Move to the left as you see cars approaching from behind but the road ahead is empty as you are going to be a potential road hog.

Move to the left lane if you cannot keep up with the speed of cars infront to let faster cars to overtake.

Try to icrease tolerence level on other people's mistake.

Lets us all try this few simple defensive driving measures and I can guaratee you Malaysian roads/ highways will be less stressful. I knew I did my part.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:48 am

renault is doing a very good job now. they swept all the performance hot hatch car category in the What Car? awards

• squawk on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:28 am

Lovely cars. Type Rs and Evos better watch it. :-)

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Scottloeb,

Drop it bro, don't waste your time…that guy is just plain DUMB!!

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Arse90 said,

January 25, 2010 @ 11:30 am

love that cute little twingo 133 cup. hope the pricing is attractive eventhough i do get a hunch that it is gonna be expensive.

Sorry mate! TC Euro Cars ain't gonna bring that cutey over here…just the RS200 and the RS250. Trust me, it's a car that u guys gotta have to drive it…nuff said! Oh yeah…drop by at the showroom around April. :-)

• aksMs on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Tiadaid said,

January 25, 2010 @ 11:40 am

———————–

Well, seeing how Malaysians drive on the road, I’m rather glad cars like this cost so much. Perhaps we should revamp our driving school curriculum first?

——————

Bro, I won't simply put all the blame to the curriculum. Our driving academy's syllabus has improve a lot compared to say, 5-10 years ago. Latest I heard from academies owner, they are proposing night driving test in the new syllabus. That's one step forward. It's not the curriculum. It's the mentality. It is us lot who need revamping. The high prices of cars here doesn't help much if most of us still drive with a single digit IQ. Actually, I pretty much repeated what ford_ton has said.

Scottloeb, Penang drivers, I second that. Hehe.