G-Power Typhoon Black Pearl – big, black, bad X5!

This big, black and bad BMW X5 is from German tuner G-Power, which calls it the Typhoon Black Pearl. Its name, which contains a devastating weather condition, denotes that this mean machine is very powerful and very fast. Does it live up to the name?

G-Power’s SK III RS supercharger system is bolted onto the standard X5’s 4.8-litre V8, increasing power from 350 bhp to 625 bhp at 6,100 rpm. Torque meanwhile, swells to 700 Nm at 5,300 rpm, an increase of 225 Nm. G-Power says that the Typhoon “reacts to any impact to the gas pedal aggressively and without any delay”. G-Power assures reliability too; the Typhoon uses a supercharger from ASA, which also supplies its wares to Alpina. The boost pressure is 1.0 bar. With that, acceleration from 0 to 100 km/h takes only 4.5 seconds, while top speed is “more than 300 km/h”.

Besides forced induction, G-Power has tweaked BMW’s V8, starting with a new set of forged pistons, weight-optimised connecting rods and a “precisely manufactured” crankshaft. Fuel injectors with a larger capacity, a new ignition map and an additional cooling system for engine oil and water are the other changes.

The body makeover is of OEM-quality, says its maker. The Typhoon wears 23-inch Silverstone aluminium wheels wrapped with 315/25 ZR high performance tyres by Michelin. More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=802]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:58 pm

first? Hope my wira 4G93 DOHC also can be supercharged and sprint within 5 sec.

hehe

• dejavu on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:13 am

Still in mood for Pirates of the Caribbeans? Anyway, a crazy SUV

• Halfclutch on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:17 am

300kph SUV!!!! crazY!

• vsground (Member) on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:18 am

the tyre is very wide, very thin, very expensive…. :P with all the acceleration it can do (what 4.5sec ??) i'll be damn!

still… want one!

• pulge on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:28 am

Wah, haven't commented in here for a while. Anyway, this is overkill. Most Malaysians don't need such vehicle.

• albagmane on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:37 am

one thing for sure, i dont wanna see this thing in my rear view mirror… otherwise i'll be dead…

• wan_knox on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:46 am

speechless!!

• chimeraEM on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:59 am

its absolutely redonkcolous!!…4.5 sec to 100kmh, 700nm of torque…its a crazy JEEP!!lolz..luv it tough

• amouse on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:05 am

eat evo and sti for breakfast…

• aww… is it eco-friendly?

• pulge said,

Most Malaysians don’t need such vehicle.

haiyoooo…..what la you. if you are saying most Malaysian don't need such vehicle, then you need to say that to almost each and every posting in this paultan.org….cheh!

been in love with this X5 facelift since launch. this is super cool!

• Thomas on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:32 am

The front bumper looks like a modified Porsche Cayenne

• chyan on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:35 am

Black Pearl?

It's a nickname from SNSD (So Nyuh Shi Dae) Girls' Generations Black Pearl Yuri.

XD

the name too girly for me now.

• japanesecarsucks on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:42 am

this must be the most powerfull suv to date.

• chimeraEM on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:43 am

wat la, evo n sti nt even in d same breath la;)..tiz jeep will eat tehm 2 4 b'fast, lunch n dinner..heheheh..luv u gpower typhoon black pearl[name also so yeng!!!]

• noName on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:43 am

is it faster than porshe panamera 9ff?

• flopsy on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:55 am

1 word………..MONSTER!!!!

• Neo.S on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:22 am

Black Pearl ? Pirate of the BMW ?? hahahahahahaaha

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:37 am

oh my god this is just awesome

• my dream car….but cannot afford…TT

• mitlanevo on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:42 am

pure mafia ride, haha

• Like hotwheel toy car.

• Nodame on Jan 29, 2010 at 5:22 am

this is another example of stupid tuner who doesn't care about the environment. i hate it…mugyaaaah!!!

• zzz u're very stupid endeed..u think 6++hp can eat evo and sti?? think again..they say got 6++ hp if u dyno sure only got half coz body is very big

Dun believe me? do u think the airtrek turbo that got the gta evo7 engine can beat the evo 1,2,3,4,5,6? i'll bet u it cannot even beat a stock gen2 cps..why? because of the body,the weight is very large thus making it slower ^^

if u dun believe me bring ur preciuos suv and race with me

• WhiteFox on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:01 am

Go penang from KL less than 2 hours?

hahaha

Danger SUV watch Out Any sport car out there.

• maybe the fuel is burn through, but it use more only.,..

• tokmoh on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:36 am

Nodame : interesting, ur username is from one of my fav manga series ;) gyabo~!!

Ya wor, wtf with all dat talk abt climate crisis, global warming, CO2, greenhouse gasses blablabla, and still got carmakers come out with this sheez?

Ridiculous, pointless, and as politically correct as communism.

• environment people?? of course not.. their target customers will be the one who wants to rob a bank with 5 people fast n in comfort.. :D

• Wak Kreta on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:42 pm

KDRM should buy this SUV for their enforcement divsion!

• Arashikage on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Definitely a seller in oil rich middle east country…..

• chimeraEM on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:22 pm

My dear mimi, if u read correctly i waz refering to the technical specs between d balck pearl, sti n evo. On paper it WOULD beat those two cars for sure bt as u rightly said, in real life conditions it Might not stand a chance even compared wif laptimes around d track. Please be abit more cultured in your coments no need for the name calling here. As for the Airtrek turbo against the proton, in Standard Spec the Aritrek TURBO wins hands down, [gen 2under 100bhp at wheel, Aitrek does double this] please do a lil research first before u say something in public that may cause you to look like a fool.

• DoubleTap on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:02 pm

i rather get a X6 instead of the monster machine.

• rageaccel2 on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:05 pm

try sprint the airtrek TURBO and CPS.. look who win la.. haiya.. if around trek sure lower gravity ones win la mimi…

just my 1 cents

• sy8_nemesis on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:54 pm

so…. jack sparrow have a new ride erhhh……… i like…!!!!

• pakhashim on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Monsterr!!!!!!!

• mimi,is true that your some sayS Gen-2 is lighter than any1 of the SUV and this Black Pearl.But you neeed to see this the Black Pearl the…

"G-Power’s SK III RS supercharger system is bolted onto the standard X5’s 4.8-litre V8, increasing power from 270 bhp to 625 bhp at 6,100 rpm. Torque meanwhile, swells to 700 Nm at 5,300 rpm, an increase of 225 Nm. G-Power says that the Typhoon “reacts to any impact to the gas pedal aggressively and without any delay”.

The torque is 5-6 time the torque of gen-2.think again look back wat you post.

And dont compare about airtrek and evo's.Airtrek-turbo Gen2-Na….guy you know bout it la….no need me to say so much bout it

• fiz17 on Jan 30, 2010 at 6:16 pm

its black pearl like mirror shine!!i like it.

• German Boleh!

• mynuszero on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:27 pm

our dear mimi must be a dude who just got his P license and daddy bought him a gen2 which later our dear mimi added ah beng styled GT wings with Jinjang mugen straight flow exhaust pipe…..dumb dude…..bro mimi have u heard of something like power to weight ratio…..the X5 carries 6x the hp and probably 650Nm of torque compared to ur gen2…..even if it weighs 3 times of ur gen2…..it can smoke em gen2 witha breeze…..plus it have way better performance suspension package then ur after market set-up installed by a school dropout……u can dream of "whacking" this beast even in the tracks!!