Sime Darby takes over Porsche franchise in Malaysia

Sime Darby takes over Porsche franchise in MalaysiaPorsche Asia Pacific has signed a Letter of Intent (LOI) to appoint Sime Darby the sole and exclusive importer of Porsche cars in Malaysia. In this role, Sime Darby will assume full responsibility for the importation, distribution, sales, marketing, PR and after sales service for Porsche cars in Malaysia, including the right to appoint dealers and service centres.

Sime Darby, which also owns a Porsche Centre in New Zealand, is expected to officially take on this responsibility from Jaseri Automotive Group Sdn Bhd by the end of the first quarter of 2010. Porsche Centre Glenmarie will remain as the base for Porsche Sales and Service while additional Porsche Centres will be added to ensure higher service levels.

“We are pleased to welcome a new partner to our Asia Pacific family, and are confident that the team at Sime Darby are the right choice for us to grow the Porsche brand even further. We are also very happy that Dato’ Mokhzani Mahathir (chairman of Jaseri) will remain as a shareholder in this new partnership, which will ensure continuity and a seamless transition for our customers,” said Christer Ekberg, MD of Porsche Asia Pacific.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What will happen to Mokhzani's?

• oliver chantk on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:10 am

We look forward for a more affordable Porsche from Sime Darby's takeover

• wah really? sime darby owns Porsche and BMW, cool huh…but why they decided to do so?

• whatever on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:19 am

Hire me please…..

• I've heard about this since 2009. Jaseri is bleeding and has not been profitable. Consider this as national service for Sime Darby.

• I-HATE-PROTON-SOHAI on Feb 02, 2010 at 2:56 am

oh shit this time!

• with so much criticism on him, wouldn't just be better to let it go? now those who only know how to talk about AP this or AP that with usually no idea at all what they are talking about will be happy lah.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:24 am

hmm….FORD…ALFA ROMEO…AND NOW PORSCHE…ARE WE LOOKING AT A PATTERN? however if cheaper porsche then good

• Littlefire on Feb 02, 2010 at 4:40 am

Another Naza in the making…

• Ah Bear on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:06 am

Fierce stuff……VW and Audi next?

• aha…if sime darby rebadge the porsche, will it be cheaper?don't mind the sime darby badge if got the porshe perfomance..hehe

• chuakz on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:20 am

hmmm…I thought porsches were selling quite well here….and now they dropped the brand….

• Squawk on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:48 am

He's cashing out at GLC's expense? Anyone want cheap, please don't hope for SD to do it. Look at the prices of their current stable of brands now. Anyone think it's cheap?

• mitlanevo on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:48 am

Cayenne Turbo Sime Darby Edition and Cayman S Sime Darby Edition, coming soon~

• chuakz said,

February 1, 2010 @ 9:20 pm

hmmm…I thought porsches were selling quite well here….and now they dropped the brand….

————–

Most of the Porsches you see on the road are grey imports. Very few are actually sold by the distributor.

• mr_3m on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:10 am

Will Sime Darby big bosses, board of directors get 911s, Cayennes & Panameras now as their company rides? I used to see plenty of those BMWs at Sime Darby building a few years ago… now I can imagine these bosses are getting tired of their BMWs… time to upgrade for them… even Bimmers can be too common now… bet they can't wait to get their hands on the Porsches…

As for Mokhzani's, I think he's clever of letting the Porsche franchise go (though he still maintain some shares in the new structure/partnership) before AP system is abolished a few years down the line…

SD oh SD… u r just another 'special purpose vehicle' for the people who calls the shots in Malaysia…

• Ferruccio on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:08 am

Aman said,

February 1, 2010 @ 6:19 pm

wah really? sime darby owns Porsche and BMW, cool huh…but why they decided to do so?

Sime Darby owns BMW? Really?

• why ….so syok..aaaaa! dont worry wit mokzaini lah his brother still in matrade lah. that why still own share….! plan shut down Naza lah bro!

• tamaki on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:58 am

ain't no one get a cheaper only SD getting wealthier.

• syahman on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:12 am

forget about porsche..lotus is the king

proton should bring lotus evora and get national-car-status with reduced price

• whatever on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:20 am

at least Sime Darby is own by PNB ( who handle all our fund! if you understand what I mean) which make that people's company the RAKYAT company not some father son family runs business, its a company that run by people who are capable to make a change!!!!!!!!

• the fighter on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:33 am

oliver chantk said,

February 1, 2010 @ 6:10 pm

We look forward for a more affordable Porsche from Sime Darby’s takeover

____________________________________________________________________________

affordable Porsche?? u must be joking ….its Porsche ..no matter who is the distributor its premium brand..its not for everybody..

• Andrew on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:33 am

:) "affordable" and "Porsche" don't belong in the same sentence.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:16 am

Andrew said,

February 2, 2010 @ 1:33 am

:) “affordable” and “Porsche” don’t belong in the same sentence.

———————

not in malaysia…overseas….cayman and boxster are pretty affordable

• Altiveq on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:40 pm

I wouldn't mind if sime darby is going to sell us Inokom 911, Inokom Cayenne, Inokom Boxster and Inokom Cayman… would be funny though

• Altiveq, I conquer. lol.

• longjaafar on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Sime Darby will provide the much needed push, due to it's vast resources. However, I can't help reflecting on Sime Darby as a corporate entity. They are not innovators, but merely using their financial might to grab already successful ventures. Example: The KLGCC golf club, Sime UEP properties, the failed UMBC takeover, and now this. But the worst would be the intended take over of IJN which was a success in it's own right. Luckily for all of us, sanity prevailed, and Sime Darby was stopped from muscling themselves into IJN.

• illumiricon on Feb 02, 2010 at 6:51 pm

did everyone ever bother to read the actual story? Sime Darby is the sole importer. Keyword : Sole Importer. This is not a take-over, CKD manufacturing deal, or rebadging Porsche or whatsoever. D'uhh….

• illumiricon,

thanks for your post. not many read the story before giving their 2 cents worth.

• La Vecchia Signora on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:30 pm

cHEAp?cheaper?

when hell freeZes oVer.Porshe doesnt correlate WITH mid income.High income pun x mampu.U have to make more than 15k a month to drive A BEAST OF SUCH STATURE

• La Vecchia Signora on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:31 pm

15K TU KALU XDA UTANG LAIN LA TP KAN,WUTEVA LA…DAH TAK MAMPU WATPE KORG NK MERAPU NK MURAH??IT AINT CHEAP.SO LEAVE IT AT THAT.

• Motorist on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Another GLC used to rescue the son from financial difficulties.

Isnt it wonderful to have such a caring & powerful father?

• Tiadaid on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 2, 2010 @ 2:16 am

Andrew said,

———————

—————–

If it's affordable how come Porsche aren't more widely seen on the road overseas? If Porsche's affordable, then it's luxury status all go down the drain…

• staff on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Motorist said,

February 2, 2010 @ 1:11 pm

Dont say something dont you may have doubt yourself… it will cause fitnah..

• Ferruccio on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Motorist said,

Seriously, get a life buddy. You must believe that "all rich people are crooks", "Someone MUST lose for you to WIN", "KIASU the way of life" "No GOOD exists in this world" etc etc etc

I know the city in which you live in.. It's called 'scar-city'!

• drputera on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:23 pm

this is pure business lor. no such things as GLC used to cover Mokhzanis…very lame explanation and accusstion PR style.

haha

• peYno F**K on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:29 pm

tiadaid,

sorry if i'm wrong..but i can see alot of porsch in uk,aussie,us…as a premium brand and u can see this car more than 10 a day..would it consider a lot??for me we can..

• peYno F**K on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:31 pm

tiadaid..

u should look back at ur statement…all ppl says that porsche is 'affordable supercar'..so theres nothing wrong with the sentence…please don't look at one perspective..please think out of the box

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Tiadaid said,

February 2, 2010 @ 1:37 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 2, 2010 @ 2:16 am

Andrew said,

———————

—————–

If it’s affordable how come Porsche aren’t more widely seen on the road overseas? If Porsche’s affordable, then it’s luxury status all go down the drain…

—————————————

hello there mr. kampung stuck under the well? u ever been to overseas. i guess not. u be too busy fixing ur PROTON.

• Motorist said,

you could also be sued for defamation… so be careful what you say over here. many things can be traced. plus, if you also don't have any proof to back up what you say, so you might as well not say it.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 03, 2010 at 3:22 am

AE said,

February 2, 2010 @ 4:58 pm

Motorist said,

you could also be sued for defamation… so be careful what you say over here. many things can be traced. plus, if you also don’t have any proof to back up what you say, so you might as well not say it.

—————————

but its true, all revealed truths begins of with rumours

• the fighter on Feb 03, 2010 at 9:51 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 2, 2010 @ 7:22 pm

AE said,

February 2, 2010 @ 4:58 pm

Motorist said,

you could also be sued for defamation… so be careful what you say over here. many things can be traced. plus, if you also don’t have any proof to back up what you say, so you might as well not say it.

—————————

but its true, all revealed truths begins of with rumours

its suck when car forum been mixed with the political rumours…

• yup. i agree. paul should delete all political stuff. does not contribute to the forum at all. let's keep this site clean. i'm sure we're mature enough aren't we?

• Sbpir on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:09 pm

No political stuff please..we are clean here

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:22 am

Clean kepala brain korang. Denial, ignorant, close-one-eye, typical gay boys.

• soya bin on Feb 04, 2010 at 8:52 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

February 1, 2010 @ 7:24 pm

hmm….FORD…ALFA ROMEO…AND NOW PORSCHE…ARE WE LOOKING AT A PATTERN? however if cheaper porsche then good

Not to forget that Hyundai also in SD hands.

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:02 pm

AE said,

February 3, 2010 @ 10:15 am

yup. i agree. paul should delete all political stuff. does not contribute to the forum at all. let’s keep this site clean. i’m sure we’re mature enough aren’t we?

——————————

not that we want to. problem is….our favourite carmaker proton has everything to do with politics. so does our car prices. and the price of petrol. and road tax. and laws like no dark tinting on our glass. the quality of petrol. its all politics

• er, i believe the topic was about porsche here? … and nothing was mentioned about proton?

i just cant understand how threads like porsche, or even strange brands like skoda get entangled with mentions about proton. don't we know enough about the car market to steer away from these? can we just focus on the brand that is featured? why do we always want to draw parallels to proton. is there nothing better for us to say?

• KESAVAN on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm

SIME DARBY NOW IN LOSS………..WANT TO IMPORT PORCHE?