Goodyear dealers support ban on regrooved tyres

Some 15 per cent of road accidents in Malaysia are related to bald or regrooved tyres, according to Jabatan Keselamatan Jalan Raya (JKJR) Director General Datuk Suret Singh at a ceremony where Goodyear dealers pledged their support to the recent move the JKJR and the Ministry of Transport to ban the selling of bald and regrooved tyres in an effort to improve road safety levels in Malaysia. Regrooved tyres are produced by carving new treads into a worn tyre to create more tread depth.

The Goodyear dealers promised that such tyres are not sold, stocked or displayed in their premises. In addition, posters, banners and brochures will be placed in their outlets to educate consumers on the dangers of using these “recycled” tyres. “It is extremely dangerous to use these types of tyres. Take two minutes to check the condition of your tyres before embarking on your journey,” Datuk Suret added.

For this, Goodyear recommends the “20-sen tyre test”. Insert a 20-sen coin in the groove of a tyre to check the depth of the tread. If the word “sen” is clearly visible, then the tyre is considered “bald” and should be replaced. Alternatively, you can drop by any Goodyear Autocare or Servitekar outlet for a free 10-point check, which includes inspection of your car’s tyre pressure and wear, power steering fluid, air filter, spark plugs, engine oil, transmission fluid, radiator coolant, brake pads and fluid, battery terminal connection and water, as well as fan and air-conditioning belts.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I think they should also look at banning retreads. Very dangerous on the road especially when they fly off lorries.

• xavier lert on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:32 pm

memang la…..takde bisnes la diorg kalu sumer pakai tayar second…!!….we produce rubber…but still our tyre price is too tooo hi….. 17 inch tyre simply average around rm400-rm500 per piece!!!……but honestly dont use used tyre even its imported…..i once wore pirelli pzero rosso 2nd….it last for 2mnth before the sidewall tear apart….then i chnge all to new potenza adre re001 which is quite ok tyre….

• Iskandar on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:37 pm

There are lies, damn lies and statistic.

I would like to see the research showing that 15% of accidents are caused by regrooved tyres.

Would JKRJ please publish their extensive finding to the public?

p/s I support the move. I just don't believe the findings.

• littlefire on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:50 pm

First look at the root cause… Why a lot of people use this kind of trye? And what group of people will use it?

I can guess, mostly those kampung ppl which have tight budjet… Why until now still cannot support new trye? Ask who promise to help rakyat for almost 50 years, but still a lot of them still cannot success…

If i not mistaken, if your trye is different brand in front or rear you also illegal on the road also… As they suspect u buy second-hand trye or recond 1…

• staff on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:58 pm

Ooopsss…

The political story is start to coming….

• littlefire on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:20 am

Is all connected with the well-face of people, if our politic is not stable. Do you think the people below will benefit it?

Look at other country like Korea or Singapore. Compare them when we are in 80's and now… We are like snail pace compare to them…

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:26 am

I dunno lah guys, don't you think ALL NEW CAR TYRE dealers will support this ban?

It's like asking a taxi driver; can we NOT use meter to charge passenger? Of course Mr. Taxi's answer is Yes, I don't want meter!

Same goes to previous thread; ehem, should we lift (disband) the AP protection and local car manufacturer protection; and "they" were asking P1. Try guess what's the reply; nationalism lah, we are not ready lah… typical bunch of gay boys.

Remember last time; they wanted to initiate car scrapping programme for vehicles more than 15 years and band on second hand parts industry, LOL. Without realizing the damage it could done to the second hand car/parts industry in which thousands of people still rely upon? Without taking note on the despair and trouble of the poor income/middle income people?

I can name you a local car manufacturer (in which I do unfortunately own one of their "quality" cars) which has gone IN and OUT from the service center 11 times in less than 1 year for various problems. My late Grandpa Toyota Corolla 1980's power window still work fine until today.

It's not the matter of RIGHT or WRONG, it's just that "they" have posted WRONG question to the WRONG people.

• 2nd hand tyre shouldn't be a problem…the problem arise when some ah pek regrooved the already bald tyre…and sell it to customers…

• Tiadaid on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:54 am

Haiyoh, everything also want to subsidize. Now even tyres want to subsidize? Ask yourself this, where is your money going to? Learn to budget and prioritize. Ini tak, Malaysians always subscribe to the idea "Biar papa asal bergaya"

• Dr. M on Feb 04, 2010 at 1:28 am

Please use Michelin and Continental tyres.

• S.Roma on Feb 04, 2010 at 1:53 am

There are lies, damn lies and statistic.

I would like to see the research showing that 15% of accidents are caused by regrooved tyres.

Would JKRJ please publish their extensive finding to the public?

p/s I support the move. I just don’t believe the findings.

—————————————————————————-

Dear Sir,

Agree with u. i also wanna see the study or research that they made.

• buildiflying on Feb 04, 2010 at 1:56 am

3rd world country using retread tire & playing rubbish (half cut car)

Even Thailand itself not using retread & halfcut junk car.

Ok now Malaysia is getting better lah for not using retread & became 2 1/2 world.

• racerx111 on Feb 04, 2010 at 2:59 am

I ran smack into a retread that came off a lorry at night on the highway once. Bumper and bottom portion of the radiator caved in because of it. Fortunately i didnt loose control of the car but yeah, for a sec then I thought it was bye bye.

• littlefire on Feb 04, 2010 at 3:16 am

In Thailand, a lot of those racing team also using halfcut engine to modify their cars. Just that they cant legalize on the road.

Tyre are cheap there, why want to retread? If the recond Tyre is in good shape and imported from Japan, they will also used it. Especially those slick tyre which have been used dont know how many times..

• buildiflying said,

February 3, 2010 @ 5:56 pm

'3rd world country using retread tire & playing rubbish (half cut car)'

Possibly you don't know:

All aircrafts are using regrooved tyres, even Boing 747 and Airbus A380. And the mechanical load is much higher than on a lorry btw.

But of course Goodyear is interested to sell new tyres.. ;)

• Squawk on Feb 04, 2010 at 3:44 am

Use Falken. :-)

Are regrooved and retreaded tyres different?

• aceprima on Feb 04, 2010 at 4:15 am

All tyre manufacturers should stamped the manufactures date on the tyre permanently. Even the new tyre from old stock is considered not safe on the road due to the life span.

Kekadang ada orang tertipu beli tayar baru yang agak murah tetapi sebenarnya stok lama.

• ezralimm on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:12 am

15% of accidents are by cars with regrooved tyres.

but wait… 30% of cars have regrooved tyres! :p

What obvious propaganda.

• mamat puchong on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:29 am

not sure what to comment. always use quality tyre as it last longer and are much more safer. however tyre price in Malaysia maybe can be reduce to promote people to use brand new tyre. cheer

• harmza on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:33 am

Bangang betol.. orang 'terpaksa' beli tayar korek sebab tayar baru telalu mahal..even its produce in our country. Dulu Goodyear cakap dia 'terpaksa' jual mahal sebab kos buruh di malaysia tinggi.. La ni Goodyear menggaji pekerja asing yg murah tapi tayar baru masih mahal..! WTF!

Inilah sistem kapitalis yg terlalu meng'agung'kan keuntungan maksima.

Bos kilang tayar kaya-pakai mercedes. Penoreh getah miskin-pakai basikal.~

• Malaysien on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:33 am

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?i…

Retreaded Tyres Safe And Reliable, Says Suntex

SEREMBAN, July 27 (Bernama) — Retreaded tyres are safe and reliable for use, according to Sun Tyre Industries Sdn Bhd (Suntex), the country's largest tyre retreading company.

Suntex's general manager Chin Hon Meng said that some people have a misconception about retreaded tyres, confusing it with re-grooved tyres which are reported to be unsafe.

Chin said that retreaded tyres are being commonly used in Western countries as well as by over 60 percent of the industries in Malaysia, including agriculture, mining, public transport and cargo handling.

"Many industrial and light commercial vehicles are using retreaded tyres. About 80 percent of the world's aircraft are using retreaded tyres too," he said here Monday.

Chin said retreaded tyres are designed to reduce the total commercial vehicle operating cost, reduce scrap tyre disposal and save natural resources and energy.

"To produce safe, reliable and good quality tyres encompasses various key processes, such as on selection of good quality casings it is essential to have proper screening using the shearography tyre test system, buffing and punctures repair, and final pre-delivery quality control checks," he said.

"And all these must comply with the technical specifications of Malaysian Standard MS224. In addition, we carry out in-house testing and tests are also conducted by external or independent laboratories accredited by the Department of Standard," he added.

Chin said Suntex, which is currently retreading about 30,000 pieces of tyres each month, is also the only company using the barcoding system to trace the materials used and product warranty.

He said Suntex was the first recipient of the product certification licence, Malaysian Standard MS224:2005, for retreaded pneumatic rubber tyres for commercial vehicles.

"Our certified retreaded tyres will carry a product warranty against defects in the workmanship and material. But re-grooved tyres do not have such warranty," he added.

Suntex, located at the Senawang Industrial Estate here, has a network of more than 1,500 tyre dealers in Malaysia and Singapore, and its products are also exported to Asean countries.

— BERNAMA

• Malaysien on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:37 am

The next question is How much discount is a Suntex rethread vs a new tyre?

AND where can we buy one? 1500 dealers….where?

• David Wilson on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:21 am

Hi everyone.

Interesting to see some of the comments above. Here is some information relating to the issues raised.

Firstly, with regards to the difference between regrooving and retreading. Regrooving is where additional grooves are cut into the tyre tread once the original tread is worn down, in order to increase the life of the tyre. Many truck tyres (although not all) are designed with the extra tread rubber in order for this to be able to be done, so in principle, if the tyre has been designed to be regrooved, it's perfectly ok to do so. The problem is when untrained people try to regroove tyres that can't be regrooved or try to regroove too deep and damage the cords.

Retreading is where you take a used tyre, remove the old tread using a buffing machine, apply new tread (either uncured tread rubber or a pre-cured tread strip) and then cure the tyre (either in moulds similar to new tyres or in large chambers called autoclaves). Retreading is also a perfectly sound method of extending the life of the tyre.

Several of you mentioned tread rubber coming off truck tyres. There is a common misconception that this all comes from retreads. This is not the case. Research shows that this comes just as much from new tyres as retreads. Actually the main reason why tread rubber often flies off truck tyres is poor tyre maintenance – for example if a tyre has internal damage (e.g via a a tread separation caused by water getting underneath the tread) or if the tyre has been run underinflated. In these conditions it doesn't matter whether the tyre is a new tyre or a retread – it will fail.

With regards to the comment about aircraft tyres. All aircraft actually use retreads – not regrooved tyres. Aircraft tyres are routinely retreaded multiple times

The comment about only third world countries using retreads is also inaccurate. In Western markets retreads are highly popular. In the USA about 1 in every 2 truck tyres on the road is a retread – the same in Europe. This is because commercial fleets measure the cost of truck tyres in terms of cost per kilometre and the most cost effective way to manage tyres is to by a quality new tyre and then retread it. In fact it is in the third world countries where the retread percentage is lower.

Hope all this info helps – For what it's worth I'm the publisher of a tyre industry business magazine in Malaysia called the Tyreman and a UK based magazine for the retreading industry called Retreading Business

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:58 am

David Wilson said,

February 3, 2010 @ 10:21 pm

Thanks for the heads-up mate! A prime example of intellectual comments. It's just I'm embarrass a well known foreign publisher knows the bad side of our tyre policy. Sheesh! Now the whole world knows how sucks is our car industry.

• monash.u on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:39 am

the move came too late. almost a decade too late.

an innocent gal died on LDP 10 years ago due to regrooved tyre failure on a six wheeler. the lorry lost control. subsequently, flew over the barrier and slammed onto the Beemer 5-series. the case is long forgotten with the driver free from the law. no case was brought against him.

and the bottomline is the lesson was never learnt. still road users prefer culut tyres because is cheap. is like chicken and egg situation. no demand no supply. no supply no demand.

• i wonder does gov. still got money or not….

it's like asking us to squeeze our wallet till it dry u know…emmm

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:13 am

this should have always been the law…but no…the malaysia police only know how to catch people speeding etc etc duit kopi stuff. useless dirts.

• Cocobear on Feb 04, 2010 at 11:57 am

Thank you, David Wilson, for the good explanation. But I still believe changing 4 brand new economical tires in a passenger car won't punch a hole in the wallet. I have just changed mine for RM 600. It's safety that matters.

• haiyoo.. u all talk about wanting cheap tyre. who in malaysia willing to sell things cheap? your company you are working with also will hentam the price kaw kaw to the client. everybody want more money maa..

• Be a more responsible Malaysian.

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:41 pm

lots of ppl have no regard for safety. selfish people.

• Rusman Bassri on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:41 pm

safety depends on our preserverance in maintaining our standard. Whether new, rethreaded or regrooved; tyres will be unfit to be used on the road if they did not pass certain standard that our local industry set.

Rethreaded and regrooved tryres are also good for our environment because they make full used of recycled material. But of course they need to pass the quality assurance before they can be sold.

All these activities will create jobs for Malaysians.

• Leonardo on Feb 04, 2010 at 8:58 pm

When you go to a tyre shop, the dealer will always find fault with your tyres no matter what! They will always 'frighten' you into purchasing new tyres. If you know a thing or two about tyres you can always argue back that is okay and can still be used for a couple more months or more. This is assuming that your tyre alingment, caster, toe in/out, camber, etc, is perfect.

But i agree that regrooved tyres are dangerous and should have been banned long ago. The next best alternative would be re-threads, but seldom used on cars, since the cost of new tyres are not too different. I know most commercial vehicles use rethreads, and you can see rethreds falling apart on our roads almost daily! I always wonder about their so called "quality control".

• David Wilson on Feb 05, 2010 at 12:25 am

Leonardo, You're correct in saying that retreads are seldom used on cars these days. In fact, I think I'm right in saying that no car retreads are produced in Malaysia at the moment (correct me if I'm wrong). In the UK we used to have the biggest car retread plants in the world. We had one that made 80,000 tyres a week back in the 1990s. Now they've more or less all gone out of business due to the influx of cheap new tyres. mostly from China. Chinese tyres may be cheap but they're nowhere near as good for the environment as retreads

With regards to quality control on truck retreads the control of this has been problematic in the past but is now changing in Malaysia due to the work carried out by the Tyre Retreading Manufacturers’ Association of Malaysia (TRMAM). There now exists a Malaysian Standard (MS224) for the retreading of tyres for cars and commercial vehicles which covers the entire process of manufacturing, including performance testing

This was first introduced in 2005, but the government officially announced enforcement effective from June 2009. Not sure what the current position is, though. In the middle of last year only 10% of retreaders had achieved certification and TRMAM was forecasting a rush of applications expecting to result in long queues for tyre testing in relevant government departments.

Suffice to say, though, the situation is improving.

• RetreadSupporter on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:53 am

Hi David Wilson, in fact there is one tyre retreader still producing Retread Passenger car tyre in Malaysia, if you are interested to know, i could name it for you.

• 1Dezzy on Feb 05, 2010 at 1:50 am

If tyres weren't so expensive maybe people wouldn't be using regrooved or retreaded tyres…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:02 am

i only use Vredestein

• Just bought goodyear duraplus..wish they lower the price some more..

• Jason on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Retread tyres mainly for Truck and heavy vehicles, NOT meant for passenger car tyres.

• Mohd said,

February 3, 2010 @ 7:26 pm

Possibly you don’t know:

All aircrafts are using regrooved tyres, even Boing 747 and Airbus A380. And the mechanical load is much higher than on a lorry btw.

and what is the mileage of aircraft on the landing strip ?

airplane only spends a fraction of time on the ground, most of the time its travelling in the air.

a lot difference from lorry which can do 50,000 km per month.

• err..but the stress of an aircraft when the pilot hit the brake?can top any lorry anytime…

• knopix on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:35 pm

debating is never ending story…

for me, before i chose my car i need to set up my mind how much the maintenance cost of the car? how much the price increment of car maintenance? is salary can cover for all those things?

i dont like just buy a car but later give too many complains the tyre expensivelah, government never support us lah, gaji kecik lah,

pls plan our budget for future or ukur baju di badan sendiri.

and one thing, if the tyre so expensive then we can use our power as a consumer. be a smart buyer