BYD coming to Malaysia under Berjaya Corp?

If you don’t know the name BYD, perhaps you might have seen some of their cars on this blog or car magazines. I was shocked speechless at the Shanghai Motor Show to see a Mercedes CLK front merged with a Renault Megane CC rear! Or how about the famous Altis front-City rear F3 sedan, or even the cloned Toyota Aygo?

Well, there’s a possibility of these cars coming to our shores as BYD Auto (Build Your Dreams) has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Berjaya Corp Bhd to explore the possibility of building the F0 1.0-litre small car for ASEAN. F0 is the Aygo lookalike currently retailing for US$5,000 to US$7,000 in China.

The terms of the agreement includes a feasibility study on the conversion of the left-hand drive F0 to a right-hand drive version together with related research and development as well as having Berjaya as the distributor of the vehicle. Both parties would also cooperate in setting up a manufacturing plant near Rawang where Berjaya has set aside a 100-acre site.

But first, Berjaya needs a new manufacturing license as under the current National Automotive Policy, the Government has frozen licenses for the manufacture of petroleum-based vehicles under 1.8 litres. Berjaya executive director Datuk Francis Lee said there was “a strong case” for the Government to approve the manufacturing license as the deal would be the first step towards making Malaysia the regional hub for BYD’s right hand drive cars.

Shenzhen-based BYD is an auto and battery manufacturer that’s relatively advanced in the development of hybrid and electric vehicles. It was the fourth-largest automaker by sales volume in China last year with more than 450,000 units sold, and targets to touch 800,000 units this year. Berjaya’s Lee added the future plant would be initially for petroleum-based vehicles but would be expanded to include BYD’s new-energy vehicles at a later stage.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Auto_crat on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Oh no…attack of the clone.

• linear_system on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:26 pm

haha..byd…build your dreams..

• zaff1984 on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:29 pm

OMG !!!

• scgtimk1 on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Don't hope that gov will approve berjaya to manufacture in Rawang. The gov will reject it totally coz it is in Selangor. Why?

Coz Selangor is under PKR. but if berjaya set up in Pekan, Pahang sure tomorrow license approve already.

• i can order my own Aston Martin DB9 soon on a 2.0 liter jappy engine mate with korean 6 speed GB ……

• good news..this company is good @ copying other cars..

• KY Jelly on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:33 pm

nice Girl!!

Awesome..

• if u can't afford a mercedes benz..BYD is the answer.

• cyful on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Does China Brand doing very good in malaysia that makes they coming more and more? Seriously i wont buy China cars… their stuff are well known not to last long….

• mkrafz on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:40 pm

please…please..please..

dont take this piece of crap on our road..

for heaven sake…

• muryadi on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Janganlah benarkan dibawa masuk ke Malaysia.

Sungguh memalukan.

• Mufasa on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:42 pm

berjaya sure got aa…no money no talk

• thedude on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:42 pm

damm cute…the girl model laa…

• Mysticmind on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:46 pm

they should name it BYC not BYD.

BYC = Build Your Clone :D

• China made stuff a bit risky to buy, esp. when your life depends on it…

Why? just look at the news….

Buy china baby food, after eating baby's head swelled and hopitalised

Buy China toys, risk of getting cancer or leukimia due to contact with the paint.

Buy their jade, end up finding out it was hi density colored plastic

Buy their jewelery, found out they contained heavy metal plating that cause health prob.

Buy pickles (Jeruk), risk getting cancer due to uncontrolable use of high doses of chemical preservative and coloring.

Buy their panadol, scared they are knock-off made from flour and tapioca powder

Buy their mattress, scared the cotton inside contained recycled/used hospitals swabs

Buy their electrical appliances, scared their appliances explode.

So, I become very scared edi…Buy at your own risk…Buy Korean better.

• Paul Tan on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Changan Berjaya seems to have gone quiet. Now another Chinese brand.

• nabill on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Oh please NOOOOOOOOOO…..boycott this crap….although setting up a manufacturing plant wd help employ alot of ppl…for godness sake not chinse cars…

• Destroyer of brands.

China goods.

Enough said.

• die lor. China CAr..

• lambov12 on Feb 05, 2010 at 10:56 pm

for godsake dun buy the car ..

terrible car with terrible price .. kanasai ..

• klguy on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Enough with one crap (Protong) in this country.

• Eyesore on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:00 pm

scgtimk1…. this is automotive blog… do you have to bring on politic stuff here??? Typical pembangkang… everything have to blame govt… so if the govt allowed this to be set up in Rawang…. but somehow it flop horribly and caused death… will you blame the PKR govt. in Selangor…? NO…. you'll still blame the federal govt for allowing it…. stupid!

• T4VR-Ralph on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:03 pm

looks like a car out of halfcut factory with 'Made in China' material…

i'd rather buy korean car, or d fugly p1 and p2

• khali-fah on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:05 pm

China car maker S*ckssssss

Why copycat another branded manufacturer???

Lousy ..>>…..>>>…..>>>

• tambalkiller on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:08 pm

i will buy the first red car if the engine is from a well known manufacturer.

• MyCarMyLife on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Guys, remember what your father and grand pa ( mine too) said in the late fifties and sixties about Datsun, Honda and Toyota ????? tincans and match boxes sure die one! as compared to the Fords, Vauxhall, Hillmans VW, Sunbeams,Simca, Morris ,MGs, MBs etc etc.

Looks like history repeating itself. Just wait for a few years , meanwhile cling on to your nip cars and enjoy life.

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Berjaya Corp should be sued for crime against humanity!

• Buy proton is the best!

• tokmoh on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:25 pm

scgtimk1 said,

February 5, 2010 @ 2:31 pm

Don’t hope that gov will approve berjaya to manufacture in Rawang. The gov will reject it totally coz it is in Selangor. Why?

Coz Selangor is under PKR. but if berjaya set up in Pekan, Pahang sure tomorrow license approve already.

>>> IMHO, it's quite the opposite.

do you think the BN govt will want to kill their cash cow ie Proton?

If ever, it's Pakatan that welcomes n treat this BYD like royal.

Dah dah, no more politics!! Kesian Paul Tan nanti.

• altec on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:30 pm

can they make 4-door satria neo..? hehe..i want!!

joke*

• "70 Plymouth Ba on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:33 pm

whoaa…got very nice "bumper" mehh..whoaaa….

• Can i make a booking now… i want a ferrari with a hummer butt ….ha…ha…and with a kancil engine

• wakaka on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:39 pm

ok wat..so P2 got fren in copy n paste car..hahahaha

• Let see now… Can i have a E90 back with a C-class front? Can BYD do it for me? i Love BYD!!

p.s i hope u can see that iam sucking up to them)

• vbkcheng on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Why not? later ever one can drive a copy cat Ferrari.

THen the pasar topics will not only, your wear A GOODS ROLEX ah, it will have : You drive BYD Ferrari ah?

• DukeKTM on Feb 05, 2010 at 11:56 pm

What la berjaya is doing…China cars..??

Berjaya should concentrate on Mazda….bring in CKD Mazda to our shores…

Mazda 3, Mazda 6, MX5, RX8…why BYD????

• reject the car like this…..china car tahu copy n paste aje lah…sure malaysian ppl x kn beli kete mcm nie…boleh buat org gelak aje lah…

• budlee on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:06 am

haha..

its a franken car!! built from other car parts..

LOL…

Cherry is doing well right, their MPV is selling quite well.. I keep seeing it everywhere

• taboogen on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:19 am

hahahah now can sambung kereta…. duhhhh

• I-HATE-PROTON-SOHAI on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:25 am

better than proton tough~

• Their most famous "look-a-like" is Toyota Altis and Mercedes front grill… What an embarrasment~

• mitlanevo on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:28 am

1. myvi campur volvo c30

2. we can get cheap clk soon, LOL

3. nice gal, CUN~

• White Jack on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:37 am

All good things start from clone :)

• kerelbort on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:51 am

Hi,

I've been following BYD achievement for the last 2 years and I must say they have done quite a good feat recently. I'm in no way a Berjaya Shareholder but BYD actually have quite a few 'new' model that look quite good.

I guess what Berjaya wanted is not the model with the jap engine but it is their EV, I have believe that this car company could take off as on of the pioneer of mass produce EV. beside Renault-Nissan Alliance. Others still dreaming, skeptic and waiting for charging station to be built.

China already have EV policy and going to roll out 20000 EV Charging station with the first few in BYD hometown.

Malaysian always skeptical but do remember skeptical never move forward. If Henry Ford were Malaysian, I guess car would never be mass produce as for today as everybody think it is a crazy idea and Japanese made bicycle are still the best mode of transportation.

• kerelbort on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:52 am

additional. Changan/Chana is a joke. I wonder why the hell Berjaya want to bring them into the market. I say no to Changan/Chana but yes to BYD.

• Mohd Nazri on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:58 am

come on la…proton is way much better than this crap….this berjaya love to bring the whole china to malaysia…bugger…..

suck a lot

• ninicokolatcelup on Feb 06, 2010 at 12:58 am

Perodua too. so what?

• karipap on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:01 am

klguy said,

February 5, 2010 @ 3:00 pm

So are you! Talking CRAPS!!!!

• alpha movers (Member) on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:05 am

scgtimk1 said,

February 5, 2010 @ 2:31 pm

Don’t hope that gov will approve berjaya to manufacture in Rawang. The gov will reject it totally coz it is in Selangor. Why?

Agreed!!! but i believe they can manipulate the NAP, apply for hybrid cars manufacturing and after that change to petrol manufacturing because bla… bla… Berjaya Corp is G best friend…

if im not mistaken, warren buffet has some share in this BYD company… is it correct paul???

• wolfsburg on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:06 am

So glad to see BYD coming!

• King Samurai on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:08 am

klguy said,

i second you

• Annoy-Nimal on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:14 am

the design sux… no originality whatsoever! What the hell were they thinking?

Its like those fake watches you see at the pasar malam. It makes you wonder, if they can produce a working product similar the real ones, why not design their own?

• ericfoong81exe on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:18 am

Believe or not this BYD F0 is selling only around RMB 30k in China, and the engine top cover is made of some sort of plastic. Internal dash board very much look like Toyota Passo/Boon. Just imagine the quality builded.

• Nasim on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:38 am

at least its better than PROTON!! The crappiest car ever (terrible price with exorbitant price!) Shit on you proton!

• MADBOY on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:39 am

You see, Malaysia is under presure now. Proton want to enter China market, we need to open our market to the chinese also. Among the Asean countries, Malaysia is the biggest passenger cars market, a ckd car assembled in Malaysia will not be taxed as high as a CBU car from China for Asean.

Asean, is a good market for chinese manufacturer as we are not yet a developed county (other than Spore), so the expectation is not that high (generally, but those who read this forum do have high expectation).

So, the chinese do have a fighting chance in Asean and other developing countries. let them come, competition is good for P1 & P2. The Korean have beat us.

• nighttrain on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:44 am

hahaaahehehehhahaa…….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:56 am

yuck.

• perkasa on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:57 am

bad dream..dont get me scared berjaya

• aiyoohhhh.. so preeetttyyy.. got more pics aa?

• kimi_ on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:06 am

This will replace PROTON if priced rightly !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• FIXER (Member) on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:26 am

OMG.Unbelievable..

BYD..build your dreams.This manufacturer build cars we mere mortals dream owning.Mercedes,ferrari, etc..now everybody can own a high end cars with low end price.lol.At least we can see a lot of CLKs on the road.Doesnt matter what underneath the car as long it looks like a Mercedes.

• MADBOY on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:39 am

Paul Tan said,

February 5, 2010 @ 2:49 pm

Changan Berjaya seems to have gone quiet. Now another Chinese brand.

————

However, I still can see their advertisement at 7eleven payment counter perhap becouse 7eleven is under Berjaya

• nazri on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:44 am

wet dream everyday…

• Elvis on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:46 am

Let the buyers decide….BYD is doing well in China….really want to see how good is the quality first…no comment….

• Prismo on Feb 06, 2010 at 3:29 am

cheap "Mercedes" ….

Kimi_, changan mpv is cheap lor… but the sales is not good lor.. jual harga murah pun kalo build quality x bagus belum tentu berjaya jual byk.. kan ko sendiri nakkan kereta yg build quality bagus.. jgn cakap yg kualiti byd lebih bagus dari proton cuma berpandukan gambar je…

BYD known as "build your death" among American … :D

• kimi_ on Feb 06, 2010 at 3:33 am

klguy said,

———————————————————————

i THIRD YOU…………………..mad agree!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• littleboy on Feb 06, 2010 at 3:36 am

scary…china brand distroy the original beauty of the car model!!!!scary!!!

• skiborne on Feb 06, 2010 at 3:42 am

i cant believe u guys picked this communist cars over proton, sure proton is not doing well, but id rather drive proton than this..

my god, the clk face is horrible, i bet the crash test is goin to be similar to that of that GreatWall somethin, whts dat car's name again? haha,

• tambalkiller on Feb 06, 2010 at 4:14 am

the small red car is using older suzuki 1.0 68hp ,90 nm

i read some review that handling n pickup not good .

i feel that they only hv some looks .

the F0 is US$7K , if the price is well under 28k it is ok .

if head with saga , sorry . no for me.

the car will sell if the price is right (low) , and after sales and service is good.

• one crash sure die

• Squawk on Feb 06, 2010 at 4:15 am

Just wondering if anyone here has driven a China brand car in China? How is it?

• shawal on Feb 06, 2010 at 4:48 am

Anyone who drives one of these atrocities are 'ABJ – Asal boleh Jalan' groups… they shoud be fine for littering , loitering , and indecent exposure…

' these k9-eating copycats have no shame i tell you, they took a merc sl + renault megane cc and joint them together and a 1st gen altis + 2nd gen honda city and join that together…'

I know ppl want to make money..but there are ways to make it with your dignicty intact

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:01 am

yea..

bring it on..

i really love to see anyone of you here drive one of those…

yea!! YOU GOT TASTE, MAN!!

trust me..

when you drive one of those 'cool' car around, everyone will looking at you

and say "Wow! That man drive an IMPORTED CHINA car!! He SO COOL!!

trust me.. u will look DAMN COOL man..

ah beng will forever be an ah beng…

one time they said TOYOTA is good (i agree)..

next time they say BYD is good too (for them)..

i dont know about you all, but hey, that's one funny unreliable comment…

…BYD showroom is already available at 'kedai 2 ringgit'… please visit their showroom now…

• bye bye proton on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:15 am

Not surprise.

Malaysia auto industry will crushed by Chinese.

Only time is matter.

BYD is only 'first step' of Chinese invasion.

Next Chinese invasions are….

* Baolong (1998-present)

* Beijing Automobile Works (1958-present)

* Beijing Automotive Industry Holding Corporation

* BYD Auto (2003-present)

* Chang'an/Chana (1990-present)

* Changcheng (Great Wall) (1976-present)

* Changfeng

o Liebao

o Changfeng Yangzi

* Changhe (since 1986)

o Changhe-Suzuki (since 2003)

* Changhe (since 2004)

* Chery (Qirui) (1997-present)

* Dadi

* Dongfeng (1969-present)

* First Automobile Works (FAW) (1953-present)

o Haima (2004-present)

o Hongqi (Red Flag) (1958-present)

o Huali

o Tianjin FAW Xiali (1986-present)

* Foton (2003-present)

* Fudi (1996-present)

* Fukang (1990-present)

* Fuqi

* Fuxing (1994-1998)

* Geely (Jili) (1998-present)

o Zhejiang Geely Automobile

o Shanghai Maple Guorun Automobile (2003-present)

o LTI Shanghai Automobile

* Gonow / Gonow Auto (2003-present)

* Guangzhou Automobile Industry Group (GAIG) (2000-present)

* Guizhou / Yunque

* Hafei (1995-present)

* Huachen (Brilliance)

o Jinbei (1992-present)

o Zhonghua (1985-present)

* Huayang

* Jianghuai (JAC) (1999-present)

* Jiangling (JMC) (1993-present)

o Landwind

* Jiangnan (1988-present)

* Jonway (2005-present)

* Lifan (2005-present)

* Nanjing Automobile Corporation (NAC) (1947-present)

o Nanjing Soyat (2004-present)

o Yuejin (1995-present)

* New Power :

o Zhong Tai (all-electric vehicle)

* Shaanxi Automobile Group

* Shanghai Automotive Industry Corporation (SAIC)

o Liming (1996-1999)

o Roewe

o Wuling (1958-present)

* Shanghai Maple Guorun Automobile (2003-present)

* Sichuan Tengzhong

* Shuanghuan (1998-present)

* Shuguang

* Soueast Motors / Dongnan

* Tianma (Heavenly Horse) (1995-presemt)

* Tongtian (2002-present)

* Xinkai (1984-present)

* Polarsun Automobile (Zhongshun) (2004-present)

* Zhongxing (Zxauto) (1991-present)

* Zhongyu (2004-present)

* Zotye (2005-present)

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:26 am

kimi_ said,

February 5, 2010 @ 6:06 pm

This will replace PROTON if priced rightly !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeay…

and u will be the first man to buy it, right???

WOW, Mr kimi and his SO COOL CHINA car!

you GOT TASTE kimi..

i think u need to 'makan angin' around KL just to SHOWOFF you precious BYD.

vroom.. vroom.. u wanna piece of me?? can't u see my ride?? it's BYD u know!!

yea, i think the car just suit for guy like u.. -_-'

• Gajen on Feb 06, 2010 at 6:33 am

aygo and clk cabrio??? LOL

• JULIAN_LEE on Feb 06, 2010 at 6:35 am

BYD's answer to da west:

Bite Your Dick

• Malaysia memang bole on Feb 06, 2010 at 6:41 am

I wonder why you all really hate proton

their car is ok actually

blame their vendor not proton

they try too improve,please wait

better than those china made car

• Two_Faces on Feb 06, 2010 at 7:36 am

Proton is like a very big coconut shell that the rakyat are currently make to squat under. Maybe it's time for us to take a walk outside & see how the world is changing.

Most Chinese carmakers are pretty crappy & copycat. But, u really need to give them credit for trying.

Practise make perfect. To the lazy people here, that might sound too much trouble for them. But for these Chinese, they grabbed their chances with both hand & never look back.

In a decade times, I bet Malaysian street will be full of China made EV, hybrid or even hydrogen car. Proton will still be around, rebadging China car ^^

• i dont think i will consider this until i get a good hard in depth look. some things we won't know for sure.

• alvin_chan88 on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:09 am

Hi,

Just would like to say that actually I've sat and ridden in the "Altis head, City Butt" BYD, and it was my wedding car when I was in Guizhou, China. To be very very honest with you, the finishing and sound insulation is almost the same with the genuine Altis (Which I am driving 1) and I found out that certain parts are from toyota itself, perhaps this is the reason why Toyota did not take any action on it. The interior is 100 percent exactly like my car except for the badge and audio system. So in other words I think the quality may not be that inferior too… It might not be awesome, but BYD deserves to be given a chance. But I do agree that they should not copy and paste anymore, it is abit insulting and also hillarious. For Malaysian preferences, I don't think Malaysians would like it. Hope BYD can have design of its own and be successful in the future.

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:20 am

bye bye proton said,

February 5, 2010 @ 9:15 pm

Not surprise.

Malaysia auto industry will crushed by Chinese.

Only time is matter.

bla..bla..bla..

please lah..

last time i check the market share for china car here is too little..

chery only manage to sell 1871 vehicle last year (Jan-Dec), while proton already sold 148 031 cars on the same period..

chery eastar only sold 1676 last year while

proton exora already sold 18451 in just 8 months…

by the way.. where is changan?

i think u need to say bye bye to them too..

• hiruma kecil on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:21 am

orthodox!!!!

• hiruma kecil on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:24 am

suka sangat ye.. proton suck ye.. ok!! fine!! ko beli dulu keta china made ni.. pastu tangkap gambar post ngan gambar geran skali kat sini… aku nak tengok berani x ko beli keta ni…

• cetakrompak on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:31 am

blame their vendor not proton

you forgot who chose the vendor .

who know whether is due the supplier price is low.

• shawal on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:34 am

We'll see proton's progress in geneva~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A persona replacement with giurigaro's design…..

• peYno on Feb 06, 2010 at 10:15 am

i told u.. those ppl not a JDM or conti car owener.. they are only perodua and VIOS owner and pretend like driving SUPER JDM JAPANESE CAR

prrrfthhh

• Friqo on Feb 06, 2010 at 1:55 pm

wau~~~well u cn buy an aygo with cheap price tag clone aygo i mean :P

same thing with the china iphone..hahahaha…

• cartoon car on Feb 06, 2010 at 2:18 pm

it's clone war!! sure these cars got market here as msia already has the culture to buy clone / pirated products (cheaper mah). next time ah beng and ah seng no need to modify their waja to become evo or impreza, let the pro make for you. blue ocean business!

• lavenderguy on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:57 pm

i want the girl only…

the others= crap

• crazy on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:59 pm

no, F the BYD.

Proton forever~!!!!

• xu wen chao on Feb 06, 2010 at 6:08 pm

someone said the korean beat us. since when we were above them? silly statement. their existent are much more earlier than proton and perodua(if applicable as perodua = daihatsu = toyota). even some of chineese car manufacturer were establish during th 50's. but they used to copycat other mmanufacturer cars. but the chineese will takeover the world market sooner or later after the korean. China will seize world's economy power from the US

• Tezza on Feb 06, 2010 at 6:13 pm

The byd cloning on those exotic cars are undeniably disgraceful,but i wont suprise or shock to see that they could be evolved to the other leauge of competitiveness in international market,perhaps within the time span of 10 or 15 years later;bear in mind that,the china car industrial growth rate is somewhat terrifying,and it has overtakes the japan and us as world largest car market lately which recorded an impressively 13.5m vehicle of annualy sales 2009, even more crucially is that their local car manufacturer nonetheless capable to grabbed 40% market shares more or less,which is really saying something, probably the patriotism of their citizen is far greater than ours,i do not know,and thats not within my concern here..But then such massive sales figure illustrate that it would definetely benificiary to their local car manufacturers to accomplish something greater than what they are at now.. let time tells..

• Eyesore on Feb 06, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Two_Faces…. Last time i checked, China was rebadging proton's cars…. Remember Europestar? =p

• ericfoong81exe on Feb 06, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Squawk: Majority China car's handling is sucks, felt like driving a car of 70th century. Internal deco too plasticize, low efficientcy old japs engine, hard suspension for poor siemen road condition in most of the place.

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 06, 2010 at 7:45 pm

after reading all comments,

now i know that most of proton basher here are no JDM wanabe..

actually they are CHINA CAR HARDCORE!!!

WOW!!! YOU MUST BE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO PROUD…

trust me, they also owned CHINA IPHONE & CHINA IPOD..

Which is COOL!!!!!!!!

• Peter on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Proton have to start improving its quality issues and reliability…..With Chinese Cars been so cheap ………Proton will have to lose out….Because some of these Chinese Cars are like Perodua whom sources their engine from Japan like Suzuki, etc…..Proton don't improve……Then it is a real shame to our country with malaysians driving china cars …………….When we have Proton and Perodua!

• Prismo on Feb 06, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Two_faces, u want me to give a credit to try byd? let's it be like this, u buy one, try it and share the experience with us.. if the car feel really good then, recomend it to kimi_… 'Practise make perfect' huh? nobody perfect even toyota…

• Elvis on Feb 06, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Maybe we should go and see in China first before trashing BYD cars. Beside, almost everything we buy nowadays are from China. While you sit and enjoy your Kenny Rogers, dont forget that the tables and chairs from China, and while enjoying your Starbuck, almost everything except the coffee machines and coffee from China. So maybe we should stop pretending that we are living that western life when in actually fact we are using China makes. Let's fact it, China is winning and Malaysia fast losting most manufacturing from west…where''s all those US manufacturers in Malaysia? Gone to China!

• icefire on Feb 06, 2010 at 10:54 pm

if fellow Malaysian can accept the quality of Kancil and Viva, so F0 quality should not be questionable. It is equivalent. Maybe with F0 low price and design, it might beat the car in the same category.

Don't look on BYD. They are going to be the most advance electric car manufacturer in the coming years. BYD has great battery technology. A lot of car manufacturers from Europe are impressed with their technology. Do some homework… can find an article in Engadget too.

Elvis, you're absolutely 100%. If a person has travel to China, then he/she will realize that the goods selling in 1U or MidValley are from China! BTW, Starbuck already have coffee plantation in China. Very soon the coffee beans also from China :-)

And for all, I believe you are using something manufactured in China without your notice. I'm sure one of the parts in your computer is definitely from China :-)

• S.Roma on Feb 06, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Dear All,

From my opinion, i don mind. As long as the criteria such as below, is good.

1. Safety like Volvo

2. Quality like BMW

3. Design like Ferrari

4. Cheap like Tata Nano

5. FC like VVTi / iDSi

6. Power like Bugatti Veyron

7. Etc etc

• S.Roma on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:08 am

Nasim said,

February 5, 2010 @ 5:38 pm

at least its better than PROTON!! The crappiest car ever (terrible price with exorbitant price!) Shit on you proton!

—————————————————————-

Dear Nasim,

How u noe? Have u own 1 BYD car? STUPID ! Don talk crap here assXole !

U can cut my dick if the quality is beter then Proton ! Im a Proton user ! I love Proton !

• peYno on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:12 am

ACK HAMMER said,

February 6, 2010 @ 11:45 am

after reading all comments,

now i know that most of proton basher here are no JDM wanabe..

actually they are CHINA CAR HARDCORE!!!

WOW!!! YOU MUST BE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO PROUD…

trust me, they also owned CHINA IPHONE & CHINA IPOD..

Which is COOL!!!!!!!!

-===========

yes.. initially i tot those proton basher are perodua and ASEAN made 2nd grade Japs cars only.. now i know.. they are also china car lover…

• Tiadaid on Feb 07, 2010 at 1:12 am

Elvis said,

February 6, 2010 @ 1:26 pm

Maybe we should go and see in China first before trashing BYD cars. Beside, almost everything we buy nowadays are from China. While you sit and enjoy your Kenny Rogers, dont forget that the tables and chairs from China, and while enjoying your Starbuck, almost everything except the coffee machines and coffee from China. So maybe we should stop pretending that we are living that western life when in actually fact we are using China makes. Let’s fact it, China is winning and Malaysia fast losting most manufacturing from west…where’’s all those US manufacturers in Malaysia? Gone to China!

—————————–

China's cheap.Their currency is among the most undervalued currency in the world, which is why all the Westerners go to China for production. But of course Western products made in China are of different standard to Chinese products…

• pls do research 1st on consumer spending habit.

china cars "may" have R&D department but mostly it is for copy n paste technology

heheheh

• Tezza on Feb 07, 2010 at 1:55 am

Well,all i can say is that for some great extent,most of the jdm wanabe here is lacking of some insight abilities to judging on how the world is going to changed,sadly on their mind they would think that all the goods that made in japanese must be associate with the highest,trustable qualities,but unfortunately this is not always the case,mind you,the great evidence would goes to the Toyota as well as the Honda's recalling for the car brake pad and other safety related issues scandal recently..Then again,something even more amusing was some of them would incoherently stereotype the group of people who fact out that certain china car product wasn't that bad to be driven to the "proton basher" kind and pointing out that "They must be China car hardcore"!!!!!….lmao..I'm really skeptic and doubtful on how malaysia can achieve the vision 2020 with the citizen that are still heavily lack of proper analysing skill and macro minded persepective concerning on the global affair..biases could be a one big preventative..God Bless Malaysia~

• Auto_crat on Feb 07, 2010 at 2:16 am

Then again we're talking about cars here. don't compare it with those cheap stuffs from china. It is something that we use for years not days, week or month. Reliability and good service centre are certainly necessary. Not a RM2 stuffs that you can dump after a day or two. Cheers.

• Auto_crat on Feb 07, 2010 at 2:18 am

The most advance electric car manufacturer in the coming years… icefire…get real. Have you heard about Tesla?

• Auto_crat on Feb 07, 2010 at 2:20 am

Why manufacturers go to china? Try cheap labour.

• MazdAstina on Feb 07, 2010 at 3:50 am

BYD is Buy Your Duplicate

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 07, 2010 at 4:04 am

yea..

i must admit, china is great!

china is the best!

china is number 1 in the world!

china is like heaven..

malaysia is nothing…

malaysian is loser..

dont u think china is a better place for all of u guys too????

c'mon…

dont be a hypocrite..

u guys just talk crap…

there is a better place for u, yet u still wan to die here…

why?? prfthhhh…

the best part is..

most of them think when we talk bad thing on CHINA PRODUCT,

it means we insult MALAYSIAN CHINESE!!! WHAT??? Yea, that's a fact..

a great first class mentality.. -_-' -_-' -_-'

• honlah on Feb 07, 2010 at 5:07 am

hells yeah, take only and only the girl!

• TheKHAI on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:01 am

I wonder if they will try to copy Proton after coming here?

Hahahahaha!!! Double shit on a stick.

• TheKHAI on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:11 am

How about they copy Lamborghini / Ferrary, and market it here with a pricetag of maybe RM100k? Damn, maybe I would be tempted to buy one.

• Squawk on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:19 am

Many of the guys here are like their fathers/grandfathers who used to shoot down Japanese goods for being inferior and for copying the Europeans. :-)

• Peaceaim on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:26 am

Anyway BYD is one of Warren Buffett portfolio. Hope they will bring in F3DM as a cheap alternative to Tesla and Chevy Volt.

• TheKHAI on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:28 am

Jack Hammer, you are so right! I support you!

Those group think that they are intelligent, but in the same time they're not.

• asgard on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:34 am

proton cars better

• asgard on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:38 am

cutting cost to the max,that chinese cars,

• Elvis on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:52 am

I guess most of us relate inferior products equal made in China. Which is very true! But this is true because most of our importers are responsible for bringing in those junks in the first place. As for high price products,in fact your Mercedes Benz, shamefully, 40% parts made from China. I dont know about Toyota, Honda or the rest. I am only guessing that because so many car parts made from China, they start to plug and play! So maybe BYD got its name..BUILD YOUR DREAM…meaning kasi plug Mercedes, Renault, Toyota…watever…DREAM CARS…hahahahaa….

• chinese army killed on Feb 07, 2010 at 7:36 am

Another shit made in china……..

• linear_system on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:08 am

oh no..the handphone nightmare are coming..its like iphone alike,nokia alike..now we can get merc alike,toyota alike,renault alike…

• icefire on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:59 am

Auto_crat, yes i heard about Tesla too. A lot of companies are trying to get a slice of the cake for the hybrid and electric cars.

• Prismo on Feb 07, 2010 at 9:38 am

Elvis, 40% made in china doesn't mean it's was designed/engineered by china.. yet it's still German tech… made in china parts mean cheap labour and materials can get a higher profits.. but what happen here, BYD is copying almost 50% of German's mercedes benz design! so, but how about the tech? quality? reliability?

• Prismo on Feb 07, 2010 at 10:03 am

And, what is the difference between the Mercedes Benz parts made in china and BYD made in china? r u gonna telling us that BYD was good as Mercedes Benz mr Elvis??

• LIghtning McQUeen on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:42 am

Haiyo… Stop All this crap!!!

Send All China made cars back to china loooo….

bye bye proton!!! if you think china is better go to china laaa… why u r here?

R u trying to raise our accident rate?

Enough with government sloppy policies… now allowing all those chinese brand car to flood Malaysian market…

• china brand are not good.All are suck and no quality.refer to china handphone.china also alway copy and paste brand.Proton are better for me.

• LIghtning McQUeen on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:43 am

TUTUP BERJAYA GROUP!!! THE GREAT HYPOCRITE N BLOOD SUCKING COMPANY OF MALAYSIA!!!!!

• Tezza on Feb 07, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Wow…

china is the best!

china is number 1 in the world!

china is like heaven..

malaysia is nothing…

malaysian is loser..

And talking something bad on the china car products meaning that we are insulting the malaysia chinese..?! This is the foremost ridiculous statement that i 1st heard here..plainly amazed..

• Auto_crat on Feb 07, 2010 at 3:11 pm

True Prismo, though made and assembled in China, they're are still foreign brands and bound to strict QC.

• Elvis on Feb 07, 2010 at 7:14 pm

I dont think FDI goes to China because of cheap labour. Why not go to Vietnam, Indonesia or Phillipine instead? Much cheaper and they dont copycat and flood market with cheap imitations. The real reason is because China has huge consumers market for everything. You can be a multimillionaire just selling bottle mineral water. Hmm, maybe i should start putting those 20 cents a liter vending machines in China too! By the where, dont you guys heard about trade dumping. Yes, those irresponsible chinabussinessmen cant sell their products in China and export to, where else, Malaysia. Dont buy craps! Stop buying RM2 junks and the dumping stops too. But so sad that our own retailers are selling fakes at original prices! I dont trust those branded goods anymore, cant compare an apple with an China apple…

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 7:27 pm

I feL of my chaiR reading al tis PROTON efuSiates…!!!! Damm… reLy PiTy to c thm wiT brain DamaGes!!

ProTon cn b bettr thn a BYD or any othR tht maTTr's but thn again It's reLy spoiLing our nation's PriDe man nt eXcLudinG 2nd auTo-maKer as WeL!!

Oh Plz, for de saKe of AuTo-GoD!!!

• BYD should try to ape Toyota iQ after they raped an Aygo and give smart's light.

• tokmoh on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:11 pm

icefire : "And for all, I believe you are using something manufactured in China without your notice. I’m sure one of the parts in your computer is definitely from China :-) "

There's a difference la. Compare between Apple iPhone n mini iPhone cap ayam. Both made in China, but which one better? Of course la Apple, yes it's made in China, but it has strict American heads watching over the local Chinese workers doing their job. But the mini iPhone cap ayam? Urgh…

If going by your logic, Steve Jobs is Chinese, not American. IKEA is Chinese, not Swedish. Sony is Chinese not Japanese. et cetera.

• muahaha on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:13 pm

muahaha. very funny company name. very funny car. berjaya top management getting crazy la. hahaha. OMG…

• Squawk on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Ssangyong Korea took Merc technology and used to shamelessly copy Merc design (remember the Chairman?) A few years later, they came up with their own (never mind that they're now in financial trouble). I think it's the same case with the Chinese now, as was with the Japanese in the 70s & 80s.

• Prismo on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:52 pm

yup.. u got the point Auto_crat…

• Auto_crat on Feb 07, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Who is insulting the Malaysian Chinese? It's all about that damn car you idiot. Tezza you're right. Who starting this anyway?

• mamat puchong on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:10 pm

please no more joke… no point having this car just for the sake of Berjaya Group profit….

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Mother of copycat…

BYD F3 copy of Corrolla Altis
    http://auta5p.eu/katalog/byd/byd_f3_01.jpg

BYD M6 = Estima
    http://www.chinacarfans.com/wp-content/gallery/by…

BYD F3 Hatchback = Kia Spectra
    http://img68.imageshack.us/img68/6900/16671gj6.jp…

Kimi, which one you to buy?hehe

• The reason why BYD copies is because they make cars starting from scratch. (They only started to make cars in 2003.) They take a car apart and see how it is made. You must admire their bravado. It is not like Proton getting the technology by signing technology transfer with Mitsubishi. But then again, Mitsubishi will only teach Proton so much and not more! That said, BYD will have to 'grow up' and design their own cars to get real respect.

• Elvis on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:59 am

BYD yet to copycat Tata Nano….Build Your Nightmare….

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:09 am

Elvis said,

February 7, 2010 @ 6:59 pm

BYD yet to copycat Tata Nano…

LOL

totally suicide..

hehee..

• Auto_crat on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:12 am

Anyway…Let them come and see who's buying.

• pekan on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:39 am

the girl is a clone too.. yikes..

• azrai on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:49 pm

BYD = Build Your Dream

Keep dreaming of making business in malaysia. The G with NAP sure doesn't let BYD set up in Malaysia. Indonesia and Thailand will take this to their full advantage. Rugi rugi..

• Auto_crat on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Hahahahaha…

• kain dia singkat laa…

• King Samurai on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Okay lah…bring it on…where to sell? Petaling Street?

• BYD major investor is none other than Mr Warren Buffet the Oracle of Omaha ! I wouldnt be betting against Mr Buffet, maybe in the future BYD will be Big ! Err….but for now still long way to go.

• Compared to the Chinese in China who try their hands at making anything there is, Malaysians have so little ability to manufacture things. I wouldn't be so smug like some posters here if I were them.

• Leonardo on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:52 pm

So far Chinese cars are successful in their own markets only, because they understand and cater for their own consumer tastes and preference. Copying or cut and paste is no issue there, since it is a short cut to success. They have a large domestic market, like India and could probably survive on it.

But once they go out of their comfort zone, they will realize that the rules are different and cheap sticker price is just one small requirement. Things like styling originality, safety, reliability, technology,branding,resale value, etc will come into play.

Only time will tell if it will be a hit or a miss in Malaysia.

• rakyat on Feb 09, 2010 at 2:17 am

nanti jalan setengah, kete bahagi dua pulak… wakakak

and what's with those proton bashers anyway? too free nothing to do ah?

go get a life!

• TheKHAI on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:16 am

Those chinese manufacturers sure doesn't have creativites in naming their companies, and models.

BYD

Geely

Chery

Ugly names, plus ugly logos.

• Abzaja on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:47 am

People that hate proton bu cannot afford to buy their dream car (T,H,M,P2) will gladly buy this

• Squawk on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:58 am

Renault, Chevrolet don't sound like very attractive names either. :-)

• FIKIRLAH DI LUAR KOT on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:50 pm

1 LAGI..

NAK JAWAB JUGAK ORANG YANG SUKA KAITKAN CHINA dengan " COPY, CUT, PASTE "

untuk pengetahuan basher2 yang tak nak wat research, baca byk2 slm wat tuduhan..

1) bukan semua kereta " made in china " copycat.

Pernah dengan tak sykt design kereta terkemuka Pinafirina yang juga design Ferrari, Bentley, Jaguar, Alfa Romeo, Volvo dll ?

Daripada 21 pelanggan di seluruh dunia di US, Eropah dan Asia termasuklah Ferrari, Bentley, Jaguar, Alfa Romeo, Volvo, Mitsubishi, Hyundai, Daewwoo, Honda. 4 pelanggan firma ini adalah datang dari China dimana adalah pelanggan terbesar Asia mereka dimana daripada 8 pelanggan mereka di Asia, separuh atau 4 adalah dari China dan bakinya masing-masing 2 daripada jepun dan korea. Sykt2 ini adalah Chery, JAC, Brillance dan Hafei. SO TERBUKTILAH BUKAN SEMUA SYKT CHINA ADALAH COPY, CUT AND PASTE.

2) Kebanyakan kereta hampir sama design antara satu sama lain

sebagai contoh paling mudah Exora sendiri pun ada mirip Toyota Wish + Chery Eastar + Toyota Innova. Dan untuk pengetahun, Proton sendiri membeli Toyota Wish sbg sumber untuk merekabentuk Proton Exora.

begitu juga Proton Saga BLM pun ada mirip2 Subaru Impreza tetapi saiz yang lebih kecil.

begitu juga bahagian belakang Kia Forte, ada jugak iras2 nya dengan BMW 3 series.

Nissan Elgrand dan Toyota Alphard pun mirip2 kadang2 walau x sama sepenuhnya.

Saya rasa Kelisa mungkin ditiru dari Mini Cooper sbb ada jugak irasnya walau x sama. Siapa tahu?

JADI, jarang2 ada kereta dalam dunia yang ciptaannya tersendiri.. bagi saya x salah kita gabungkan rekaan 2-3 kereta asalkan x mirip sgt. Lagipun kalau betul BYD copy, cut, paste Toyota, Mercedesz kenapa mereka tidak saman sahaja? ataupun siapa tahu dalam diam2 BYD telah buat MOU dengan kereta2 yang mereka bina bentuknya hampir sama. SIAPA TAHU?

• ericfoong81exe on Feb 09, 2010 at 9:50 pm

BYD used to buy a Toyota car and tear it apart, copy and manufacturing all the component and even share the same air filter(such as 17801-22020& 17801-23030). But one thing that amazed me is the BYD manufactured all the parts from A to Z by them self. Almost 95% are self supply, remaining 5% out sourcing.

• FIKIRLAH DI LUAR KOT on Feb 10, 2010 at 12:00 am

mungkin itulah cara dia belajar membuat kereta.. macam Jepun pernah buat 50 tahun lepas. kalau kita perhati, x mustahil impian China nak atasi Jepun akan tercapai termasuk dlm bidang automatif.. Kalau Korea boleh China mesti lg berkemampuan sbb China ada segala2 nya dari sokongan yang kuat negara2 berpengaruh, kos bahan mentah murah, kos buruh murah, kepadatan penduduk yg tinggi, penduduk berpengetahuan dan ada sumber kewangan yg kukuh

• FIKIRLAH DI LUAR KOT on Feb 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

dan lagi 1

Kekuatan sebenar BYD saya kira bukan pada design nya tetapi lebih kepada teknologi baterinya.. Perlu diingat BYD adalah pengeluar bateri terunggul di dunia dan menjadi pembekal bateri kepada handphone dan laptop jenama terkenal di dunia spt Nokia, Motorolla, Philips, Samsung, Sony Ericson, Haier, Panasonic, LG, Bosch, Lenovo dll. BYD juga adalah pengeluar keypad handset terbesar dunia. Sejarahnya sbg pembuat bateri baru dimulakan pada 1995 iaitu 15 tahun lalu dan drpd kosong menjadikan pengasasnya billionaire dengan kekayaan melebihi RM 20, 000, 000, 000. 00 ( 20 bilion – setaraf Ananda Krishnan ).. apa yg menarik peningkatan jualan keretanya tahun lepas meningkat 165 % dengan jualan mencecah 450, 000 kenderaan dimana kedudukan no4 belakang Volkswagen, GM dan Toyota di China.

Pernah dengar tak kenderaan terbaru BYD..BYD E6

ia adalah gabungan MPV dan SUV AWD ( all wheel drive ) dijual pada RMB 300, 000. 00 ( RM 150, 000. 00 )

apa yg saya kagum bateri yang digunakan untuk menggerakkan kenderaan ini iaitu bateri ET POWER

1) tidak cemar alam sekitar dan tidak musnah jika berlaku crash dengan ciri2 keselamatan tinggi yg diperakui

2) hanya 15 minit caj sahaja dah mampu penuhkan 80% bateri ni. Kalau caj bateri handset pun da makan masa berjam2. Boleh dicaj di rumah dengan kadar 220 V