Teaser vid reveals details of new Nissan compact

Nissan March Sketch

A new Nissan compact car will be unveiled at the Geneva show at the end of this month, and Nissan has given us a preview of what they will be launching in the form of a video that shows interviews of members of the project team.

Some juicy details revealed include the fact that the car will be powered by a new 1.2 litre 3-cylinder engine, although both 3-cylinders and 4-cylinders were considered at first. According to Nissan, it was “obvious” that the 3-potter delivered the best balance of performance, cost effectiveness and environmental friendliness. This new engine will also be mated to a new CVT transmission that uses a sub-planetary gear. All these new components will sit on a new platform called the “V-platform”.

Nissan March Spyshot

This new compact car will be none other than the new Nissan March/Micra and we’ve actually already seen spyshots of this car (shown above) – and they seem to match the previously released sketches (shown at the top).

Check out the video below. You’ll have to put up with the team members going on and on about what a breakthrough the car is though. Nissan says sales of the production car will begin in Thailand in March, with European sales starting in the autumn. Wonder if a Thai introduction means ETCM are able to bring it in Malaysia anytime this year?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kinda ugly….

• Nvr drives a CVT b4, sounds interesting

• worst car design..even myvi se luks gud…but goog tech under the hood reuind by the looks…luk at the kia,s n hyundai,s..their designs r nw days gettin well n the japs r lacking…lets c hw it do whn it cms 2 our shore…

between the 2010 kia forte,new 2010 hyundai sonata,tucson,sportage,soranto luk superb

• eh?does this car looks like the new boon?or its just my eyes?not enough brain storming?who copy who?

• iskett on Feb 17, 2010 at 3:32 am

Hmm.. the drawing looks better than rel photos..

• satukereta on Feb 17, 2010 at 3:58 am

honestly speaking, if you put all this car line up with smart for 2, toyota yaris, and a few other recent published same segment car, i can't really differentiate who is who! hmm can someone make it a bit different?

• Optimistic in Thaila on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:03 am

I'm very optimistic about this car… I'm betting purely on specs and the artists drawings… So far the drawings are promising… though, the color shown here in paultan is a bit bland…. they are offering 12 different colors.

The fuel economy, engine offerings (benzine and diesel), and CVT.. has been enough for me make a booking for this car. I'm hoping it lives up to the hype.

NO.. it's not a Ferrari… so don't compare 0-60's… NO it's not a Bently… so don't compare comfort.

• bugbear1986 on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:18 am

front profile looks like the hyundai i10

• Mohan Nair on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:26 am

This car will be built at the new Nissan plant in Chennai, India for local sale and exports. They expect to build about 200,000 of them a year.

• Lolz…this car looks exactly like the newly launched 2nd generation Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:42 am

yuck. mazda 2 better.

• klguy on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:05 am

the current march looks cooler. tis 1 looks like meant for low budget market just like the avanza/innova/unser/myvi for toyota. but will sell like hot cakes here bcoz its….Japanese.

• nissan makes good if not the best cvt around so i look forward to this new cvt technology to be implemented in other cars.

as for the new march, not really interesting to me.

• Geometry on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:24 am

It looks like the new Boon/Passo tht paul had posted on the same page.

• donno on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:51 am

hahahaha…

The new Nissan March wanna be like Toyota Aygo…

New Toyota Passo wanna be like Nissan March!

• Jazz looks tons better than this..at a price.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:54 pm

IMHO, i don't think ETCM would have chance to bring it in… Nissan won't allowed it… ETCM are stucked with old models only… Say old Vannete, old Frontier, old Sentra, old Latio and old Sylphy(don't you think its a new?)…

this new compact are not able to improve sales either as Bolehland are land of sedan… Nissan are quite busy with thier premium sedan until forgotten sedan(c-segment) market…

• transformer, u r damn right!

• intermilan on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:44 pm

honestly, its kinda round and ugly.

Failed the first impression test.

• come in and kill savvy/blm/satria….? never !!

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:24 pm

for the exterior shown in the picture, it really ugly!!!

Is this the cost saving model?

• subhero on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:01 am

do not bring this car to malaysia. please..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:13 am

come see mazda 2. special preview.

• tamaki on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:35 am

eeehuhu,is it complete unit? if that really so,look so cheap kinda china design QQ

• if they bring it in knowing that it could fail in the looks department, it could be that it is not their choice rather, they could have been pressured by the parent company in japan. i just said 'could be' so it is highly speculative.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:54 am

IMHO, ETCM can't say much about what they'll received from Nissan..

Nissan itself can come Bolehland anyway… Why let ETCM do? But provided Nissan can offer products "really" suitable for Rakyat…

One good example is Honda, Last time Kah Motor and Oriental Assembly making/selling Hondas, now Honda (M) represent itself already with their plant in Melaka…

• Abzaja on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Nissan's fan boys will surely drool just by looking at this ugly car

• lowprofile on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm

transformer,

you are probably right. etcm cannot dictate the terms as nissan could simply do what honda did. so, etcm perhaps has to toe the line. again, i'm speculating ;)