First crash for Lotus Racing at a wet Jerez

After Fairuz Fauzy clocked in about 334 kilometres on the first day of testing in Jerez, earning himself a Superlicense in the process, the Lotus Cosworth T127 was passed to Heikki Kovalainen for the second day.

Wet conditions greeted the team as they arrived on track. First out at exactly 9am, Heikki completed about 30 laps before a small mistake saw the Finn hit the barriers, bringing the team’s day to an early close, but not before useful data had been accumulated.

“It’s lacking grip, it hasn’t got enough grip. And in the high-speed I think we lose quite a lot of time, partly because of the set-up problems as well. The car is a little bit heavy still and we need to make it lighter, then we can move the balance around and all these things,” Heikki told Autosport, but added that “my initial feeling from the car is good – it fundamentally feels right.”

“Unfortunately a small off and a lack of spare parts curtailed the amount of laps we were able to do today, but fortunately we’ve got spare parts arriving this evening. Up to that point we had got on top of some reliability issues from the previous day and the car was running very smoothly. Although we have lost some track time, the changing conditions made it very difficult, so we haven’t lost too much and we’ll be ready to continue with Heikki in the morning,” Chief Technical Officer Mike Gascoyne clarified.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:15 pm

don't expect much from "such a team"…

not every new team can't performed like late-brawn… don't think you have the $, the car, the driver and lucks to wins….

YOU ALSO NEED TO HAVE A "BRAIN"…

• trav_da_man on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:30 pm

I gonna expect its gonna be Malaysia bashing soon. Still, dont give up! There still 2 days of testing and I bet you all will unleash your fullest potential.

Go go Team Lotus F1!!!!

• crappy driver =.=!!!

• tayar kitar semula on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:34 pm

perghh… alasan…

F Fauzy semalam pun pandu dalam hujan gak…

dan, tanpa "power steering"..

masih boleh catat bawah 1:35 di litar basah…

serapkan aje Fauzy ke dalam pemandu utama!

• Mysticmind on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Honestly, internationally said;

They are an underdog to be alert and monitor. Well.. they got publicity so much now.

• linear_system on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:42 pm

u talk rubbish transformer..

good luck to lotus F1..just do your best!

• orido on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:56 pm

baik kasik Fairuz bawak…

• transformer said,

February 19, 2010 @ 10:15 am

don’t expect much from “such a team”…

not every new team can’t performed like late-brawn… don’t think you have the $, the car, the driver and lucks to wins….

YOU ALSO NEED TO HAVE A “BRAIN”

and what brain are talking about?since its in inverted comma, i don't quite follow..

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:08 pm

This is a predicament, a bad omen.

I suggest team Lotus F1 1Malaysia to pull out before you inflict more damage to the country's already tainted image. Why add more salt to the open wound? Unless you do it like Rambo, who add gunpowder to the gun shot wound to kill germs.

I suggest, CEO of Air Asia, to start "window shopping" for a suitable red-flare air-hostess' miniskirt XL size (just in case you lose the bet!). After all, it is a small price to pay.

• give la some constructive comments.

• fasgen on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:11 pm

my heart always say.. FF is better than them even the two have experiences…

• kimi_ on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:13 pm

this shows that Heikki is pushing hard with this car !!!!!!!!!!! kudos

• yeah, accidents do happen.

However, if more accidents to happen in the future, please don't blame the rain.

or other nature forces. (Reminds me of the ex-work minister….that always blame act-of god, etc)

The blame should be on the car, or the driver, or both…..

• frossonice (Member) on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:19 pm

SY0H said,

February 19, 2010 @ 11:08 am

I suggest team Lotus F1 1Malaysia to pull out before you inflict more damage to the country’s already tainted image. Why add more salt to the open wound? Unless you do it like Rambo, who add gunpowder to the gun shot wound to kill germs.

I suggest, CEO of Air Asia, to start “window shopping” for a suitable red-flare air-hostess’ miniskirt XL size (just in case you lose the bet!). After all, it is a small price to pay.

Just because they had a little accident yesterday, you ask them to quit? Wow. I never thought I see a human being so hopelessly negative. By the way, why are you still alive?

• aki_zz on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:30 pm

this kind of crash is normal during testing…anyway its the first time heikki driving it, and obviously the will be some fine tuning needs to be done. if all cars come out perfect we dont need to do balancing and alignment to our cars…

• Kita Kawan Tak Mau L on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:35 pm

SY0H said,

I suggest team Lotus F1 1Malaysia to pull out before you inflict more damage to the country’s already tainted image. Why add more salt to the open wound? Unless you do it like Rambo, who add gunpowder to the gun shot wound to kill germs.

I suggest, CEO of Air Asia, to start “window shopping” for a suitable red-flare air-hostess’ miniskirt XL size (just in case you lose the bet!). After all, it is a small price to pay.

typical of malaysians, just quit when things start to go bad

• albagmane on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:43 pm

lucky fauzy… if he were to drive on the 2nd day, things could be a lot more worse…

• mr_3m on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:44 pm

yeah.. why some here so negative on their comments? let them crash more lah… at least they will learn more, and it's during testing only, not in the actual race…. it will be worse if and when they crash during the race…

anyhow, at least Mr Fernandes should not have to worry about the cost of the spares… its peanuts compared to the cost of maintaining his fleet of Airbuses….

even if we manage only to fill the back of the grid… u shud all be 'proud' that we hv 1Malaysia logo on the car…. that shud give the concept some nice airtime…. I can imagine even Bernie (Ecclestone) is smiling… good that this kind of team existed… otherwise he would have to wind-up his F1 franchise.. muahahahhahahaha…..

• staff on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:44 pm

SY0H.. SY0H…

whose image are you taking about… you or Lotus?

And, you ask them to quit even before they start it… That's a total LOSER…

Do you always did that?

Failure with teach ppl something… so, Lotus, its a lesson learned for you… Improve will ya?

• mr_3m on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:49 pm

may the Force be with you…. eerrrrr…. that may be suitable for Force India team…

this will be more appropriate for Lotus team:

may the spirit of 1Malaysia be with you, Lotus Cosworth T127… errrrrherherrherrherrherrh (Mr Tony's giggle)…

• bobby on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Lotus should have the knowledge to reduce the weight of the car to maximize performance. Tyre slipping due to gripping is mainly contributed by tyre performance. Choose a better tyre perhaps ?

The Lotus F1 car seriously need more study and improvement. It looks so boxy.

Personal comment, and the color is just awful.

• initial R on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:13 pm

SY0H said,

—————————————————————

Than if u have son that 1st time learn to walk but fail or crash at the wall so you can kill him or ask it to go to die like that right ?…. so stupid & arrogant…. Please SYOH, every time you try to talk something please think the thing that can related to you…. Same goes to G have to spend some money to sponsor adv for the team as same like u spends your money to your son or grandson (Kalau dah tua sangat le diri tu)….

Back to topic….. The test drive on track can said as process of learning that u can gather all info from it. Maybe need to reduce come weight, retune suspension & down force, or can said nether the driver can handle the car or not if anything happen…. same as FF drive the car without power steering, can they drive it or not & the prove that the car still can handle even without power steering… The Hekki round must be to see what the car limit…. so can see need some improve or that but the progress is there…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:20 pm

sakitnya…

• Tiadaid on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:39 pm

mr_3m said,

February 19, 2010 @ 11:44 am

yeah.. why some here so negative on their comments? let them crash more lah… at least they will learn more, and it’s during testing only, not in the actual race…. it will be worse if and when they crash during the race…

———————————

For some Malaysians, it's either 1st or bust. No in-between. But when it comes to themselves, that's a different matter

• race fan on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:41 pm

A hah hah LOL

On second day of testing, an unscheduled 'off' by Heiki(as if they were the only one) and we're all panicking.

We still have more tests this week and and then more in Barcelona next week followed by 19 races.

• nabill on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:46 pm

wats da big fuss la…jus one accident in a windy rainy track,first day massa crashed and i tink hamilton as well if im not mistaken or his car jus stalled or sting , nobody made a big ting…grow up will ya…get rid of this 'im a loser' mentality

• Fairuz Fauzy should be in Heikki seat. All the best for the team.

• Rocky on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Idiotic bashers (refering to Transformers & SYOH)…this is just a normal accident, i think if this happen to M.Schumacher, both of u will talk diffrently,what a losers!!

• Donovan Chin on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:00 pm

I think that ria's comment above is typical and shows no knowledge of the sport itself. Comparing Lotus to Brawn is daft. Lotus is a brand new team with a brand new car. Brawn was just a name and ownership change from the original Honda team which already had the car in development quite sometime. I think that some people just talk without using their BRAINS (since ria used this word).

I'm as much a Malaysia basher as anyone else but I think that the team deserves a chance. Heck, the decision has already been made and the team will be one the starting lineup regardless of whether the naysayers like it or not. As a Malaysian taxpayer, I believe I'm part owner of the team and will wish them all the best. I personally do not agree that Malaysia needs an F1 team (it's too Malaysia Boleh for me) but since it's not up to me, I'd give them a fair shake.

All the best to the team. I hope that Fairuz gets a real drive this year. Would love to see him on the starting grid.

• rexis on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm

GJ HK for trying to push the limit a little bit further. Afterall, roti van driver is what we don't need here.

• race fan on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:14 pm

LG said,

February 19, 2010 @ 1:28 pm

Fairuz Fauzy should be in Heikki seat. All the best for the team.

Would be nice to know the reasons for that.

• Expected! on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Wasting Boleh Land's tax payer money and tarnishing Boleh Land's reputation!

• pensel tumpul on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:51 pm

totally agree with kimi. memang dia try limit of the car. itu yg fauzy lepas previously. fauzy drove relek2, a bit conservative at that time.

• crashing the car during test is part and parcel of F1. It just goes to show how expensive the whole undertaking can be, you are buring cash by the seconds even when the car is standing still. so the question is how long can the sponsers tahan? there's going to be a lot more crashes and DNFs before it start to generate positive publicity for the sponsers. Does NAZA, Tune have the staying power? If they can no longer tolerate the burn rate of money and pull out, will the tax money of rakyat be plundered to fill the hole?

• asahiyakuza on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:10 pm

I can assume that maybe Transformers & SYOH are singaporeans/indons/thais… and they are jelous of Malaysian who have our very own teams (yes teamS cause we have Petronas & Lotus).. LoL

True Malaysian would backed up their own products regardless what the obstacle…

• KERETAPOTONG on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Those who condemned on yesterdays incident please get a dictionary and find out the meaning of TESTING. It mean the car being tested from all aspect before the actual race days take place. This is how they improve the performance.

• ihatekiasu on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:14 pm

All the best to u Fairuz..

U can do it…

Got Superlicense oledi maa…

Fairuz Boleh!!!

• Naz@Ford on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm

i think that boy fauzy is better than heiki, better give change the seat for fauzy la..

• F1 M'sia on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:26 pm

hallo brother…please test the car nicely laa….

see the side sticker maa…our tax money u know..

• skiborne on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:32 pm

ayyo, please la dont bash, support lah positive sikit boleh x?! and yeah why must Lotus quit altogether just because of this incident, imbecile!

• pomenF1 on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:56 pm

just a small excident,all the stupid basher like to complain…why dont u drive the car sure when u start u hit a wall…hahaha

• frossonice (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:02 am

F1 M’sia said,

February 19, 2010 @ 3:26 pm

hallo brother…please test the car nicely laa….

see the side sticker maa…our tax money u know..

Yes dude. That rear wing (which the Proton name is placed) cost RM20 billion of our taxpayer money. The rest is dirt cheap. I don't know, maybe you work with MOF, because u really know which portion of our taxpayer's money being spent on that car.

• mr_3m said,

February 19, 2010 @ 11:44 am

yeah.. why some here so negative on their comments? let them crash more lah… at least they will learn more, and it’s during testing only, not in the actual race…. it will be worse if and when they crash during the race…

anyhow, at least Mr Fernandes should not have to worry about the cost of the spares… its peanuts compared to the cost of maintaining his fleet of Airbuses….

hey mister, u think crashing a f1 car is like crashing a normal car ar?

the money to repair come from where, from our tax money!! —.—-""""

• kimi_ on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:05 am

LG said,

February 19, 2010 @ 1:28 pm

Fairuz Fauzy should be in Heikki seat.

————————————————————–

WHAT A JOKE… Heikki shows us a true driver that push the limit of the car , quick and fast….

Fairuz just like a boy playing with its toy, drive slow like turtle, of course no

accident. Fairuz is just like our next Alex Yong, always on the back, SHAME

• carneo on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:13 am

As wat govmt said drive safely, slowdown when rain thats why Fauzy not caught in accident by the way he drive the car the tyer still new, unlike Hekki he usually press the car hard while he is at Maclaren, he is the real F1 driver not kinda Malaysian road car driver….test driver cant figure out the problem while testing the car this is Fauzy mistake, lucky Hekki has no injuries in this accident. This is why you see team arrangement of driver to test the same car start fron 3rd driver to 1st driver, they take this oppotunity to test the driver skill and expiriance not only the car it self.

• ihatekiasu on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:21 am

once a basher, always a basher maa…

forget Heiki, he is not competent enuf..

replace Heiki with Fairuz Fauzi is a right move.

Lotus F1 machine driven by a Malaysian F1 driver = Malaysian Pride.

• Tengkurex on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:22 am

"Dream the impossible, Believe the Unbelievable, Never Take No for an Answer"

• Tengkurex on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:29 am

Update on Jerez's day 3 testing.

http://live.autosport.com/commentary.php/id/180

• no one can tame a beast overnight…need some time understand each other..something like that la…

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:43 am

basher mean idiot..

to be a basher is easy..

just act plain stupid..

u NEED NO BRAIN to be a "GENIUS BASHER"

even though i dont agree wit the idea of "1M'sia Lotus Team"

i didnt condemn or bash the team just like that..

at least we show the world how serious we are in motorsport..

• Mysticmind on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:50 am

well.. at least they are testing the car for… crash test.

and it safe!

• ali bin abu ahmad on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:02 am

SY0H said,

typical of malaysians, just quit when things start to go bad

—————————————————————

Very very well said, and with some zero-patriotic. The key ingredient for Malaysia's falling. Government isn't always did the best thing, but we as the countryman, should at least have to be optimistic, with some some patriotism and determination to keep the country going.

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:04 am

to say that any driver in F1 –> a loser

is like saying 'the last' top 50 richers person in the world –> a loser.. -_-'

bcoz, that loser owned billions!!

and u??? prfthhhhh….

• Edmond on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:29 am

wasting money…

Do something meaningful la….Malaysia….

• to all no brain basher!!..if u get into that car u wont ever to move even a inch..so shut up!..let they do their job n u do ur own job..driving a single seater race car is not easy like driving a normal car lorr..aiyooo..

• abest on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:54 am

kerajaan buang duit rakyat je…………,baik buat benda yang berfaedah sikit…………………….xpaham le!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Wondering about all the fuss. As mentioned, the crash is a result of a small mistake (Kovalainen admitted it was his). Every time a car is driven there's risks for these to happen, much more on a new car lacking mileage that's still being test driven near the limits. This is racing after all.

On another note, based from Kovalainen's feedback & interview (http://www.formula1.com/news/interviews/2010/2/10450.html), we can see why he should be ahead of Fairuz.

While an established team with a fully-developed car programme can afford to gamble on a young talented driver; a learning team with a new car and limited resources will place more value on feedback by experienced drivers who can gauge whether the car is good enough against the rest of the pack.

• oldman on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:35 am

Yeah….go crash some more…that's the faster way to end humiliation in real race, and u can just blame everybody else but yourself… typical stewpeed mentality.

• iskett on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:41 am

mr_3m said,

Force India – may the force be with you..

Lotus – may the spirit of 1Malaysia be with them..

———————————————

lol! Genius!

• I don't know if this has been emphasised, but Lotus Racing =/= Team Lotus (the championship winning team). Period. They do not share the technologies nor workforce from Lotus Cars. Only reason the name 'Lotus' is used is coz Proton is the owner of the group.

Look it up, the engine isn't built by Lotus (by cosworth). Nor any aerodynamics tweaking.

There's a will, but it's not enough to bring the car to the podium.

I like the backing of Tony Fernandes in the team, but not the 1Malaysia part. Makes it sound so kampung, like want the world to know Malaysia is represented in the race. C'mon, when 'Negaraku' is being played, everyone knows the country is involved. Don't see '1Italia' being painted on Ferraris.

I'll be banking on Mercedes GP Petronas.

• what tax money?they use none of the tax money la…

• Tommy on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:33 am

Hahaha… Dude(s), car crashes are normal thing, if you dont wanna crash your car, keep it in you garage. Or, even better, just let it be in the SHOWROOM… Let them learn… How to tame the beast… You bashers, once you learn you already an einstein izit? It takes practices to be the master. And you knw what, I dont think crashing this car will make a huge loss to the country, cuz we dont even knw, how much this project give money to us… Come on, give them a break, let they do their work… and you do your's… If you are an unemployed, frustrated with the G guy, just do one thing, Shut up..

• Tommy on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:37 am

abest said,

February 19, 2010 @ 5:54 pm

kerajaan buang duit rakyat je…………,baik buat benda yang berfaedah sikit…………………….xpaham le!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

———————————————————

Ouh wasting duit rakyat? Hmm… This is not berfaedah? ouh… let our engineers learn sumthg new is not berfaedah? let us proud of our country is not berfaedah? sure… You wanna know what bashers? What is 'berfaedah" is those thing that benefits you…

• blaster on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:37 am

It is better to crash now rather crash in real race.

Lotus is been given quite a spotlight by the media. Love to see their improvement later. Its a normal for a new car, the most important thing is not to giveup while there is time to improve.

• Tommy on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:39 am

and another one, what benefits other malaysian and not you, its not berfaedah to you… hahahhaha… Be more open minded, try to accept extraordinary unknown risk new things, if not, we will never learn sumthg new…

So, you wish Malaysia be the old malaysia? Other people do it first, if its successful, then we do it? heh… they will never respect us for that..

• Prismo on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:56 am

jgn bimbang abest, kerajaan dah upgrade fasaliti sekolah dah bina lagi byk sekolah kat luar bandar untuk anak2 ko bersekolah…

• Lambori on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:18 am

c'mon,give them a break.They built the car from scratch and they're a new team.

apa u nak?ferrari-ass-kicking in one day?be realistic.

at least they manage to beat team virgins lap time. ;)

p.s. FF is still is still inexperience.THINK,for once,what would happen if we let him the the main driver.We'd have Alex yoong no.2

• alfarabi on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:19 am

Alasan. hand the wheel to Mr. Fauzy real quick. he'll complete the laps

• howitzer on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:46 am

why do people said tax payers money wasted?

lol, i said its a good investment…

it puts malaysia on the map..

i don't see any other nation's name on f1 cars except for force india…

besides, its not the gov that fully support it…

cant you see the sponsors name there?

it support only a portion of it….

good for business like proton, lotus and also tourism malaysia…

at least malaysia has something to proud of.. if not football

• apache78 on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:12 am

just wait n see…whose the loser….who r the winner…but i doubt out f1 team to succeed in first season…it takes time to compete with the otais teams…money is everything…like the epl football..money do the talking…

• rageaccel2 on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:32 am

transformer said,

February 19, 2010 @ 10:15 am

don’t expect much from “such a team”…

not every new team can’t performed like late-brawn… don’t think you have the $, the car, the driver and lucks to wins….

YOU ALSO NEED TO HAVE A “BRAIN”…

———————————————————

LOL.. looking at the grammatical mistake, u also need to have a 'brain' before u post anything or bashing anyone….:)

just my i cent…

• Proton on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:16 am

Bikin Malu Saja, no spare parts. Belum ready janagn mermalukan ! bodoh!

• Proton on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:19 am

Only org yang tidak pernah bayar tax cakap tak wasted. bodoh sangat good investment fo nama? tak cukup malu submarine yang tak boleh selam , jet enjin curi 2 tahun baru tahu! ini lah tak payah sesen pun….bodoh lu org !

• no biggie, i am glad this crash occur in testing and not on actual races, so can check and solve the problem.

i wasn't excited about this team in the first place, but seeing how they are here now, i can't help but feel a bit excited to see their performance soon.

call it a tinge of patriotism.

• MALAYSIAN on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:58 am

Tax Payer Money – Money came from tune, naza and proton (not directly from government), bashers, please study more….give us evidence that money came directly from government……

SYOH said "I suggest, CEO of Air Asia, to start “window shopping” for a suitable red-flare air-hostess’ miniskirt XL size (just in case you lose the bet!). After all, it is a small price to pay" – err,..1st and 3rd day in Jerez, lotus recorded better lap time than Virgin Racing….i think u need to forward this msg to Richard Brenson rather than to Tony Fernandes.

The rest of the fact….we can analyze ourself……

• staff on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:16 am

Mr Proton,

You malu to do things, just sit quietly can ya?

This is for positive minded ppl area…

• Tommy on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:47 am

Proton said,

February 19, 2010 @ 11:19 pm

Only org yang tidak pernah bayar tax cakap tak wasted. bodoh sangat good investment fo nama? tak cukup malu submarine yang tak boleh selam , jet enjin curi 2 tahun baru tahu! ini lah tak payah sesen pun….bodoh lu org !

——————————————————————

Hey, so genius! what have you done for our country? bashing? ahhh…maybe you will get Dato or Tan Sri by bashing…

Hey orang bodoh,

tau baca newspaper tak? U balik rumah, cari balik newspaper lama, baca, mana duit buat F1 datang… DAri duit bapak u ka? duit u ka? Duit Air Asia, Naza, and Proton, and semua duit proton tax money ka? They dont make any profit izit?

• the fighter on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:36 am

crash the car during testing is something normal in f1…for those who followed this f1 events for years, they knew and understand it….only for amateurs and those who do not have enough knowledge in in f1 strictly 'melatah' when this thing happen…what a shame

• MALAYSIAN on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

ooppsss, sorry guys, earlier session, lotus recorded better lap time than virgin but they had some cluth issue in the middle of the test, evening session, lucas managed to take over, and the final result as below (only few miliseconds different) ……

10 . Lucas di Grassi Virgin VR-01 1:23.504 34 Laps

11 . Heikki Kovalainen Lotus T127 1:23.521 68 Laps

mind guys, this is still in a test session, Virgin already joined first round in Jerez last week, while lotus just launched their car last Friday (12 Feb)…..

• free thinker on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

Lu worang asyik ckp pasal itu goverment buang duit rakyat bikin ini F1! Tapi lu worang yg cakap ini macam ada bayar itu cukai ka? Lu pikir la sendiri!

• gen2lama on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:46 am

SYOH said “I suggest, CEO of Air Asia, to start “window shopping”………

hmmmmmmm…i think SHOH really like the word 'window'….

• glacius_25150 on Feb 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

An F1 car is so complex that even a slightest adjustment can make a big difference. Lotus F1 is still developing so let's give them support. It's not easy to start a team from scratch. Even Brawn made their success from big spender and vast experience of Honda. Lotus started from nothing, and therefore, being what they are now in 5 months or so, is a big achievement. Don't associate them with the parent company or the government. Yes, they are direct or indirectly related but this team is a new one. One with new people, new experience, even though they got a long and good pedigree back in the days (70's and 80's). F1 is not just about racing. It involves a lot of technicalities. It involves engineering of the car, marketing, drivers, sponsorship/finances, staffs to manage and above all, to be consistent and precise with other contenders with strict rules and regulations which may restrict or provide opportunities to the team. Let us all support them like the Britons, French, Germans support their team and country they represent. After all, they carry our country's name on the car and driver.

• zulib78 on Feb 20, 2010 at 11:30 am

malaysian – money from gov. via proton la…. they (ketua gomen) during the 1MF1T company launched months ago.. mentioned that ..

• anybody can drive fast. but not everybody can race. FF maybe can drive fast, but he doesn't have enough experience to race. even alonso used to topped the time trial, but fail in race. but I do believe FF is better than alex yoong. give him some time and exposure.

• Heiki on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Latest test result..

Unofficial Friday times from Jerez:

1. Mark Webber, Red Bull, 1:19.299, 115 Laps

2. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 1:20.115, 132 Laps

3. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1:20.394, 101 Laps

4. Nico Hulkenberg, Williams, 1:21.432, 138 Laps

5. Michael Schumacher, Mercedes GP, 1:21.437, 79 Laps

6. Robert Kubica, Renault, 1:21.916, 100 Laps

7. Adrian Sutil, Force India, 1:21.939, 69 Laps

8. Kamui Kobayashi, BMW Sauber, 1:22.228, 28 Laps

9. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso, 1:22.564, 120 Laps

10. Lucas di Grassi, Virgin, 1:23.504, 34 Laps

11. Heikki Kovalainen, Lotus, 1:23.521, 68 Laps

• BasherBodoBangang on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Hate taxes here,taxes that comment.. shut the f#ck up laa.. it's like you are paying a million per month for that. what about the school projects,roads,development n everything. Every f#cking thing want free.. It's not like this country is that poor until no food to eat. I've been to countries that far,far,far,far worse than Malaysia…

Let say government spent RM100 million per year for this F1 team… 100m/10m people.. RM10 per year/12 month… about 80sen per month to watch a very own Malaysian team. Waste tax this la, tax that la.. everything want free.. Aiyahh… you guys spent RM100 every month buy 4D nombor ekor can… 80sen oso want to make so much noise… That is IF you pay your taxes.. which I doubt it.. Typical ahbeng Malaysian, cheapskates,everything want involve with politics,everything negative, other people do is wrong,ungrateful… Stupid *ssholes!

• DariusDrake on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Just ignore all those bashers. They're people who don't understand the sport of F1 and the workings of a team. The fact that there are still some who think the government is funding Lotus Racing already shows how ignorant they can be.

You can't expect a new team to get it right the first time. Give them time and have confidence, they'll make it through. They've got a great technical director on board, who's not the sort of guy who will let a slow car damage his resume.

• oldman on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:14 pm

To MALAYSIAN budus,

No tax payer money huh…huhu….tue sebab org suruh pegi sekolah dulu….jgn lah masih belajar, tapi nak menulis dlm ni….syoh…syoh…gi belajar dulu.

• oldman on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:17 pm

apache78,

it would take more a century for 1Mesia team to win….by that time, possibly f1 no longer exist….

• Alfarabi on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Lol we are arguing like brothers n sisters always do. awww so sweet

• Tommy on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Alfarabi said,

February 20, 2010 @ 8:23 am

Lol we are arguing like brothers n sisters always do. awww so sweet

————————————————————

Sure! The pro-Lotus Racing is the big brother, and the bashers, sissy lil sis…

hehehe

• PROTON member on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

As a staff in PROTON, I hate when ppl said Proton use taxpayer money…

Because you talking by emotion, by rasa-rasa only… not by the facts… BODOH!!!

If it is, why are we find difficulties to apply for budget?

why our salary is not higher than others?

why during economy turndown, we dont get bonus?

• Amiran on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Lotus F1 racing in the presence of Shumi… what a good entry season! There should be lots of publicity around. Just don't "spoil" the party you guys at LF1. At least, keep the good record.

• MALAYSIAN on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Tommy Said

Hey, so genius! what have you done for our country? bashing? ahhh…maybe you will get Dato or Tan Sri by bashing…

Hey orang bodoh,

tau baca newspaper tak? U balik rumah, cari balik newspaper lama, baca, mana duit buat F1 datang… DAri duit bapak u ka? duit u ka? Duit Air Asia, Naza, and Proton, and semua duit proton tax money ka? They dont make any profit izit?

——————————————-

I like the statement, gov clearly stated that they supporting this team via proton, which means that its only involve proton money.

If gov gonna use country fund to invest in this team, basically they have to bring the 'Usul' to parliament for 'perbentangan', that is the basic process…..

……………………………………………………………..

oldman said,

February 20, 2010 @ 8:14 am

To MALAYSIAN budus,

No tax payer money huh…huhu….tue sebab org suruh pegi sekolah dulu….jgn lah masih belajar, tapi nak menulis dlm ni….syoh…syoh…gi belajar dulu.

…………………………………….

Hi oldman,

Org tua tapi fikir macam budak2, simply kata org bodoh (silap budus)…..

U ada bukti yg gov amik duit kita (tax payer) funding lotus f1 ni?…..kalau ada kemukakan laa, at least kita2 yg 'bodoh' ni terbangun dari tdo, …..

• huuka on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:30 pm

hakhakhak…dalam F1 pon maseh nk kutuk G..giler r..yang kaki kutuk ni semuanya loser..agaknya idop kaki kutuk ni dari kecik dikutuk oleh mak bapak kot.tu pasal alwats negative thinker..

• Tarmiziali on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Just some words from heikki…

http://f1.gpupdate.net/en/formula-1-news/228557/w…

So to those who assumed that basic and boxy design of the T127 may encounter this issue have valid arguments. Lets hope the development will come ASAP.

• Anonymous on Feb 20, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Battle between Fernandez & Branson.

Air Asia vs Virgin. but in the circuit, not sky.

F1 became more glamorous.

Well done Lotus.. At least they participate. What about US F1? Tarik diri ka?

• Scuddie on Feb 20, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Latest test result..

Unofficial Friday times from Jerez:

1. Mark Webber, Red Bull, 1:19.299, 115 Laps

2. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 1:20.115, 132 Laps

3. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1:20.394, 101 Laps

4. Nico Hulkenberg, Williams, 1:21.432, 138 Laps

5. Michael Schumacher, Mercedes GP, 1:21.437, 79 Laps

6. Robert Kubica, Renault, 1:21.916, 100 Laps

7. Adrian Sutil, Force India, 1:21.939, 69 Laps

8. Kamui Kobayashi, BMW Sauber, 1:22.228, 28 Laps

9. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso, 1:22.564, 120 Laps

10. Lucas di Grassi, Virgin, 1:23.504, 34 Laps

11. Heikki Kovalainen, Lotus, 1:23.521, 68 Laps

I like this result as it can almost pledge something gonna happened at the end of the new f1 season..

• Scuddie on Feb 21, 2010 at 12:07 am

Unofficial Times

1. S. Vettel Red Bull Racing RB6 1:22.593 99 laps

2. L. Hamilton McLaren MP4-25 1:23.017 +0.424 72 laps

3. F. Massa Ferrari F10 1:23.204 +0.611 72 laps

4. S. Buemi Toro Rosso STR5 1:23.322 +0.729 79 laps

5. P. de la Rosa Sauber C29 1:23.367 +0.774 76 laps

6. M. Schumacher Mercedes GP W01 1:23.803 +1.210 111 laps

7. A. Sutil Force India VJM-03 1:24.272 +1.679 28 laps

8. P. di Resta Force India VJM-03 1:25.088 +2.495 74 laps

9. V. Petrov Renault R30 1:26.237 +3.644 55 laps

10. R. Barrichello Williams FW32 1:27.320 +4.727 109 laps

11. F. Fauzy Lotus F1 T127 1:31.848 +9.255 76 laps

12. T. Glock Virgin Racing VR-01 1:32.417 +9.824 10 laps

And yes,this is my another favourite unofficial test result recorded at jerez..

• MALAYSIAN on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:46 am

4th day unofficial update…..trulli is 1.5 secs behind glock……keep positive….

• oldman on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:18 am

To MALAYSIAN budus,

Ko mmg naive lah, sbb ko bebudak sangat….gi belajar dulu…tue lah cuti CNY lama sesangat….

• Tommy on Feb 21, 2010 at 7:24 am

Hey oldman,

Who are you? and do you realise it that you are acting like kiddies…

Guys, just ignore him… He just sum kiddies from secondary school that wanna say sumthg tht he doesnt even knw it…

• MALAYSIAN on Feb 21, 2010 at 10:12 am

hurmm, someone shows his stupidity……just simply bashing without any fact….

BTW, Trulli unable to beat Glock on their final day in Jerez but technically speaking, Lotus car managed to complete 141 laps without any issue while virgin only completed 27 laps as their car had major hydraulic problem. In this first ground test for lotus, i could say that their car is more reliable compared to virgin. Lotus only had two issues with their car during the test when the clutch sensor became faulty and cracked exhaust. While virgin was having hydraulic problem since day one.

In the real race situation, when car reliability is the main concern, I could say that lotus CAR (not the driver as accident could happen) should be able to complete most of their race laps. Bear in mind, this is just my humble opinion.

Hope they able to rectify their downforce issue and could do better next week in Barcelona.

• youngman on Feb 21, 2010 at 11:41 am

I agree 1000% with you oldman!!

• race fan on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Hello "MALAYSIAN",

Are you working for Lotus Racing or affiliated to them? Just curious. Judging from your posts it sounds like you are.. Do keep us posted.

• razin88 (Member) on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:42 am

the aerodynamics is the main problem..

its prevent the team to do decent..

• wanbmw on Feb 23, 2010 at 10:21 pm

i hope lotusf1team can make a perfect car before bahrain gp and can beat the another team in f1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!