UMW Toyota Motor: Malaysia not affected by Corolla, Camry and Tacoma recall issues

UMW Toyota Motor: Malaysia not affected by Corolla, Camry and Tacoma recall issuesUMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd has issued a statement regarding the Toyota recalls in the US. The following are extracts from the press release they’ve emailed us, and you can find the press release in full after the jump:

• Toyota Motor Corporation Japan has confirmed that the Toyota Corolla models in Malaysia and other regions are not affected by the power steering issue, as different components are used compared to the American market models.
  • UMW Toyota says they have received no complaints on power steering for this Toyota Corolla model in Malaysia.
  • The Toyota Tacoma driveshaft problem does not affect Malaysia as it is not sold in Malaysia and is completely different from the Hilux pick up sold by UMW Toyota Motor Sdn. Bhd., and uses different driveshaft parts.
  • All Toyota Camry models sold by UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd are not affected by the Toyota Camry power steering hose and front brake tube inspection.

Look after the jump for the full press release.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• longke on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:27 am

dont really trust what they said… the consumers in msia is not vocal enough like in USA… if we compare with proton cars obviously toyota is much better

• kevin choong on Jun 25, 2011 at 10:44 am

Long ke,
      I agree with you, i have done some surveys with most of the card repair shop eventhouse the toyota service center are telling the major problem with steering hose problem. Toyota Malaysia has not taken initiate action to recover back as this is due to their common defective parts in which it should not happen.

I am driving toyota camry new model having the same problem now with steering wheel turning noise and the associated breack too and the rest of my friends are having the same problem.

• Wow Toyota got scared. The sales will drop for several months that's for sure.

• subhero on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:29 am

IM 1ST!

• Arashikage on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:32 am

Wow!! Like avalanche….once recall started, everybody jumps in and say their Toyota got problem….. No car is perfect….including ours….

• skeptical on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:32 am

i don't believe. our cars are much better than US? when something bad happens, the fault will be more on driver error. out of 10 recalls in US, 0 will affect Malaysia. In that case, it is better that all cars are assembled here or thailand!

• nasi goreng kampung on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:34 am

One by one press statement is out from Toyota… what's happen? one issue after another. aiyoo… quite pity laa to Toyota… mcm orang Melayu cakap, "Hidup ibarat roda, sebentar di atas, sebentar di bawah…" Cobaaaaaan….

• Paul Tan on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:35 am

I don't think its an issue of our cars better than the US or what… it's different parts suppliers. Like the pedal issue – we use problem-free Japanese Denso pedals, while the problematic pedals are supplied by the American supplier CTS.

• agreed, thank you toyota for keeping us at the safe side ;)

• haha…

while toyota malaysia in not affected with any recall.

the main point is…

guess what??

the increment of price DUGONG cars to cover up the huge toyota expenses due to recall in USA!!!

So pity malaysian…

• theanswer on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:44 am

i agree with paul…toyota is a worldwide company..i dont think they'll use the same part vendor for all their models throughout the world. even for US market alone, the parts supplier should be different from asia supplier(lots..lots of toyota cars around the world). and we even have UMW toyota which supplies parts for toyota..and toyota US dont use umw parts rite? so dont just jump staright into conclusion..at least they have guts to recall their cars rite?

• scgtimk1 on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:59 am

theanswer said,

February 19, 2010 @ 5:44 pm

i agree with paul…toyota is a worldwide company..i dont think they’ll use the same part vendor for all their models throughout the world. even for US market alone, the parts supplier should be different from asia supplier(lots..lots of toyota cars around the world). and we even have UMW toyota which supplies parts for toyota..and toyota US dont use umw parts rite? so dont just jump staright into conclusion..at least they have guts to recall their cars rite?

—————————————————————-

They do not recall their car on gut's…. they were force bu US gov. due to several death repoerted.

Typical toyota blind supporter statement. Please la they are other brand sold in Malaysia. Suzuki, Mazda, Nissan, VW, Skoda, Renault, …….. etc.

Do not be blinded by T&H and it subsidiries co.

• White Jack on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:16 am

Yes Paul,

we know suppliers are different, but how come all the suppliers here so good ? No issues from the parts they supplied in Asia ? Another possibility is there is no strong organisation in Asia which will test and investigate on automobile issues like those in USA.

Toyota owners should be more worry if the message is always the same "Toyota in Malaysia not affected".

Paul Tan said,

February 19, 2010 @ 5:35 pm

I don’t think its an issue of our cars better than the US or what… it’s different parts suppliers. Like the pedal issue – we use problem-free Japanese Denso pedals, while the problematic pedals are supplied by the American supplier CTS.

• ford_ton on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:17 am

Now I can see why treir sudden pullout from F1 despite a race ready team and possibly a competitive race car for this upcoming season. They have to budget for recalls.

I wonder if their F1 car sold to Stefan GP will have the same stuck throttle problem? A carpet mat problem? Braking problem? Driveshaft problem? Will Stefan GP car recalled?? LOL..

• ihatekiasu on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:21 am

To all Toyota owners, your car market value will drop like hell! For your safety, pls stay away from Toyota, make it your last choice of vehicle. P1, pls take advantage, where is the 'WRM' (waja replacement model)? Come on la, why so shy? WRM oso got proplem kah? Power window issue?

• Myself and Sister bought Toyota Altis on year 2004, both have driveshalf had change due to known issue.

Wondering why Toyota denied everything which already admitted by the headquarter.

• Mufasa on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:51 am

ooo..maybe gov should handle investigate of accident in malaysia… do we have good csi?

• initial R on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:05 am

pitty to malaysian so easy con by T brand…. Hmmm… what to do….

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:10 am

Time to commit Seppuku Mr. Toyoda!!!

• nabill on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:11 am

i read sting very interesting from the toyota boss in japan few days ago, he said this recalls is due to over expanding to become world number one …so thy had to cut training time for emplyees…..jus to produce cars at fastest rate possible ,which mite have sacrificed indirectly to lower quality and this high demand for cars world wide in the previous years is DUE TO VERY LOW OR FREE FINANCING , NOT BECAUSE PEOPLE NEEDED CARS TO BUY….im not quoting the exact words bt that what he said….kinda opens ur mind ….

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:15 am

toyota..

-_-' -_-' -_-'

• Eyesore on Feb 20, 2010 at 3:19 am

lol obviously they got guts to recall (well after several deaths and being forced by US Govt.) if not they gonna face even worse situation… countless lawsuit filed against them… that is more damaging than recalling few millions cars…

• waaa…. so many recalls by toyota lately…not so good for their image i think

• Most malaysian are driving more dangerous car so why worry about toyota.

• blacky on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:10 am

ppl start seeing only the black dot in a big white board haha… there are a lot more recalls from other brands also haha…now dun ask me which haha…

• TopGear on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:11 am

recently…got 2 m'sian politician's camry turn turtle…

• rally_fan on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:13 am

"coke said,

February 19, 2010 @ 7:51 pm

Most malaysian are driving more dangerous car so why worry about toyota."

i do not agree with your logic coke.

a car in good condition is not dangerous, as long as it has brakes, decent tyres, and good condition suspension, even if its 20 yrs old, it is fundementally, a "safe car". if ever there was an accident, it will be the fault of the driver or another driver..etc.

but a car with a "defect", or a part that is proven to fail, like defective brakes, sticking throttle pedal..that i believe, is a "dangerous" car. Because if you do meet with an accident, it would be due to something failing on the car.

• redkde on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:19 am

OMG…..OMG…..OMG…..OMG…wat happen to this toyot…suddenly so many recalls…..quality issue? lousy enginner?..sound familiar huh…like our P1 previously…

• blacky on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:34 am

turn turtle cos last time no confident… but when drive camry got confident n speed but skill no good… y turn turtle must blame car? just look at f1haha… then their car no good?

• theanswer on Feb 20, 2010 at 6:32 am

"They do not recall their car on gut’s…. they were force bu US gov. due to several death repoerted.

Typical toyota blind supporter statement. Please la they are other brand sold in Malaysia. Suzuki, Mazda, Nissan, VW, Skoda, Renault, …….. etc.

Do not be blinded by T&H and it subsidiries co."

even if the us govt forced them to recall, it's a risky move for them..they need guts to do it. anyway, my family and i never own or drives any honda or toyota..we use local brand only.(few years back my parents use to have nissan march,mitsu pajero and old galant).

• endre on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:05 am

UMW need to convince us by showing the actual defective parts and the one used in Malaysia

• to search ..we call it google or googling..

to recall ..we call it toyota or toyoting

so other manufacturers, if your car have defect, please toyota .. dont wait for US congress to call you in.

• RedLine on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:28 am

I don’t think its an issue of our cars better than the US or what… it’s different parts suppliers. Like the pedal issue – we use problem-free Japanese Denso pedals, while the problematic pedals are supplied by the American supplier CTS.

IF that is the case, then what I would like to know is that, is it a manufacturing fault or a design fault?

If it is a manufacturing fault, then it should not affect components made by other suppliers. But I find it odd that there can be such a high percentage of manufacturing faults (to warrant such a big recall). Typical manufacturing errors or faults are less than 10%.

If it is a design fault (i.e. the design of the pedal itself is flawed), then by right all parts by all suppliers must be effected/faulty as well. This is because all supplier will manufacture the parts according to the same specs. Especially since the accelerator pedal is quite a "standard component".

• staff on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:36 am

In malaysia, do not recall the car… recall the driver… and replace their brain… haha

• bongok_la_weh on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:51 am

toyotas are road rubbishes..luckily dont have toyota motorcycle here

• ahmad abdullah on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:51 am

Memang ada problem, ppl are worry takut kena saman by UMW and dun know the correct way to highlight the existing (if there are) and addressing matter to right party. Maybe Paul boleh advice of correct way.

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 9:18 am

US congress asked for Toyota to recall cars for repair and upgrades.

Malaysian government asked Malaysians to buy Proton by raising the price of import cars. Some more terrible quality.

P1 parts failure = 9/10 in less than 1 year.

Import cars parts failure = 1/10 in 5 years.

Sheeshh, as if Malaysians are stupid, only blind supporters are idiot.

• Mastermind on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:11 pm

The toyota statement totally unrealiable….

for me because:

Engineering issues….part may nt same but the technically must equall each other ….So when suppliers do some research…intructions came from master R&D department in Japan…So totally double standard….who resposible to draw techical part for toyota???? Japanese,Malaysian,American or Chinese ????

Second if the statement is truth please indicate which company supply parts to UMW toyota??? it is perodua….???? or China and thailandplants???? who is their senior engineer?????? from Malaysia or Thailand or may be from US……???

If the people trust press statement…only is not the best answer……for me because in the real world the press statement still questionable……..???

lastly work with ur brain …we know …who is the liar!!!!!!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Why always linked every issue with PROTON? Shouldn't say Proton supporters are happy with what happened to Toyota, Honda, Peugeot-Citroen etc recently. Perhaps General Motors is the one to be happy….. NOT PROTON OR SUPPORTERS!

• Paul Tan on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Two pedals from two different suppliers for the same car may be different in design although they aim to perform the same function. It's not that multiple suppliers are making the same design. They have different designs (use different techniques to achieve the same thing). Here is a good story comparing the defective cts pedal with the denso pedal. Denso's design and the material they use

ended up being more long lasting.

http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/why-toyota-must-…

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:44 pm

People never think if this happened to Proton sure people bash it like hell. Politics, money or even relationship between some government or minister with the suppliers and so on. Everything can linked up all together.

Now, Toyota (including Honda etc), the suppliers supplied defective parts to Toyota and Toyota covered the defects for 1 year. Yet so many people still support Toyota. Why?

Please be more fair when giving opinions and comments. Please don't simply support or bash.

• staff on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:51 pm

SY0H,

dont make FITNAH can you?

do you have all car brand in your house?

how do you get figure 9/10, 1/10?

If you just only have Proton car… dont make points out of your knowledge… It is call BLINDNESS and STUPIDITY…

• Not so.. what about the Toyota Prius Hybrid. It is fully imported from Japan and it does have brake problem.

• initial R on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:44 pm

What I hear that 2 Camry that used by 2 Malaysian politician’s turn turtle are imported from Japan & Prius also direct import from Japan by UMW ?…. Hmmm…. lucky that Perak Gov change back to Perdana & sold all Camry…. Those buyers have to check back the car either having problem or not, but in same time not to blame Perak Gov now coz Dato' Nizar suggest changing official car from perdana to Camry…

• endre on Feb 20, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Prius in Malaysia could be better quality than in other country. So no need to recall.

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 20, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Whoever makes the brakes, pedal it doesn't matter, in the end its Toyota that does the quality checking before selling to the public.

They failed to spot the defects, it's Toyota's fault.

• Now I know why Toyota drivers not driving fast on highways anymore.

• Tiadaid on Feb 20, 2010 at 11:08 pm

theanswer said,

February 19, 2010 @ 10:32 pm

“They do not recall their car on gut’s…. they were force bu US gov. due to several death repoerted.

Do not be blinded by T&H and it subsidiries co.”

even if the us govt forced them to recall, it’s a risky move for them..they need guts to do it. anyway, my family and i never own or drives any honda or toyota..we use local brand only.(few years back my parents use to have nissan march,mitsu pajero and old galant).

—————

How is the recall a risky move for Toyota? It's even more risky if they DON'T recall the cars!

• redkde on Feb 20, 2010 at 11:10 pm

SY0H said,

February 20, 2010 @ 1:18 am

Malaysian government asked Malaysians to buy Proton by raising the price of import cars. Some more terrible quality.

hahahaha from where you got those figures…..you last statement shud referring to yourself

• Paul Tan on Feb 21, 2010 at 1:38 am

The Prius sold by UMW Toyota is in fact being recalled for the ABS brake issue.

http://paultan.org/2010/02/10/umw-toyota-to-fix-p…

• Mastermind on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:01 am

reality on the ways…

first to UMW toyota…must

publish who is engineer design the defective part…..either in Asia,Europe or US …is same person…????

secondly; toyota must shows their accountable and transparent….on company especially on incharge at procurement department…engineering department or related to Malaysian….

Thirdly;sincerly to Malaysian…either Denso is main supplier to Toyota in Asia regions or just gimmick due denso also Japanese company???? so to cover the lost…toyota may use the relations with denso as weapon to deny any issue related to toyota problems………..in Asia…which may be given negative effect to company image…………

work with ur brain…………TQ

• Those who try to bring other brand cars into this discussion is simple has inferiority complex.

Call a spade a spade please.

• wakaka on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:53 am

even denso having problem with their parts. believe me, they have sent so many defect IC to their supplier due to 0km and field failures especially power steering. I've been working in one of those ic supplier b4 and i can say denso is not so good as u think! so for toyota owner..bewareeee

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:31 am

I'm thinking this issue will be the 3rd atomic bomb after hiroshima and nagasaki..

gud luck Toyota.

• gen2lama on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:41 am

SY0H said,

February 20, 2010 @ 1:18 am

hahahaha from where you got those figures…..you last statement shud referring to yourself

——————————————————–

agreed…only stupid SYOH bought persona after having SOOOOOO many prob with his waja…..

• syed nasurudin on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:19 am

no matter how many recall frm Toyota, every month, 2400 Malaysian will buy a Vios. Even if it gonna cost more than RM100k, they will still buy. Mazda 3 or Latio? No. They still love a Dugong. Malaysian will still buy a Dugong even more 1000 people die world wide because of a brake failure in a Toyota.

• syed nasurudin on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:25 am

i love Toyota. Malaysian trust Toyota even 1 million people dies worlwide driving a Toyota. Dont know why, But I love a Dugong

• Smallfish (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 6:31 am

So…the big lesson this year that all Malaysians must learn is "DO NOT TRUST IMPORTED CAR OR CAR WITH EXPENSIVE RM AS GOOD QUALITY CAR"

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 21, 2010 at 7:34 am

The argument about CTS pedal & Denso pedal is a weak one in my opinion. In Europe Toyota is recalling 1.8 million cars http://www.autoblog.com/2010/01/29/officially-off… and Europe models are using Denso pedals as well.Furthermore, Europe do have right-hand drive models (UK) as well and yet they're part of the recall. UMW is just being lazy. They could at least offer customers the choice to bring in their cars for a free inspection to ease their fears. I for one drive a Hilux and am concerned if there are any defects that are life threatening.

• sunny_10 (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:59 am

It is the same with any product we import. Remember why our good government (G) act slowly like tortoise. Why Singapore discover the light emitting ice-cream has unwanted danger for about one year, before our dear G take action?

Our G is too too protective of our suppliers.

When we hear discoveries by other countries, our G very quickly without hesitation, investigation and testing, announce Malaysia (M) (semuanya) OK. Take China melanine at first said none came into M.

So, Paul, would you agree what some of the above bloggers said that our G has to be proactive to test. One way is ask Puspakom to initiate thorough testing by a proper population sampling. We do not want any untoward incidents. We need the records of all accident cars and establish the make of cars and the likely causes of accidents and compile usef statistics. The records are all there and it is just a matter of priority and preoccupation.

Our G has recently lamented that our vegetables contain too many pesticides. Yet of the downsouth country is enjoying almost pesticide-free vegetables from the same farms. Why does our G find out how that downsouth G does it?

• sunny_10 said,

February 21, 2010 @ 12:59 am

Our G has recently lamented that our vegetables contain too many pesticides.

===========================================

Vegetables=Pesticides=TOYOTA ?…..

• afezi on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:44 am

Quite interesting to see 2009 #1 automaker got to recall their cars..personally I also don't trust the press statement by umw toyota..we need details..quite interesting to see how msian react to this..

• azrai on Feb 22, 2010 at 3:59 pm

So it's true that Toyota sold in malaysia very deifferent from Japan one. Downgrade ma…No JDM lorr….

• gen2lama on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:15 pm

the downgrade are better?….hmmmmmm…..

• jeffcws on Feb 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

I can't wait for my Vios TRD to come out this week!!!!!!!! The more I see it on the road, I just can't help getting excited about the new car I bought……

• Paul, my colleague drives a 5-6yrs old Corolla Altis and when i told her abt Toyota’s gas pedal and carpet problem she said she had also encountered her pedal being stuck in the carpet before… so what can be done? Can she send her Altis back to UMW to get them to fix or change it coz UMW has not offered any recall at all and still claims their local models are not affected? Pls advise! (I believe there are more out there who had encountered similar problems but thought nothing of it and may not know of this global recall thus that's why here it is a bit quiet here on the same issues.)

• wallstreet on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Give us a break la…Not only the 'G' is treating us like a fool, companies also treating us like fool..In US you can NEVER play a fool with their consumer rights. Every single issue can be sued. So no company dare to compromise on their safety otherwise it will be a multi million dollars of law suit..IN Malaysia? How many ppl will actually check the cause of the accident? Even there are something cropped up, you know I know la….can 'Kow Tim' wan……

• Guys,

Read this – Toyota heads to Capitol Hill with team of lobbyists, history of political giving – at http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/arti….

In short, kow tim.

• TeeMoon on Feb 22, 2010 at 9:22 pm

1 Toyota

• Tiadaid on Feb 23, 2010 at 4:13 pm

wallstreet said,

February 22, 2010 @ 11:35 am

Give us a break la…Not only the ‘G’ is treating us like a fool, companies also treating us like fool..In US you can NEVER play a fool with their consumer rights. Every single issue can be sued. So no company dare to compromise on their safety otherwise it will be a multi million dollars of law suit..IN Malaysia? How many ppl will actually check the cause of the accident? Even there are something cropped up, you know I know la….can ‘Kow Tim’ wan……

————–

So? Don't wait for the G or others to change it. WE HAVE TO DO IT OURSELVES. What's the point of banging on about it if WE DON'T ACT ON IT!

• ppp said,

February 22, 2010 @ 10:18 am

Paul, my colleague drives a 5-6yrs old Corolla Altis and when i told her abt Toyota’s gas pedal and carpet problem she said she had also encountered her pedal being stuck in the carpet before… so what can be done? Can she send her Altis back to UMW to get them to fix or change it coz UMW has not offered any recall at all and still claims their local models are not affected? Pls advise! (I believe there are more out there who had encountered similar problems but thought nothing of it and may not know of this global recall thus that’s why here it is a bit quiet here on the same issues.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Paul, really appreciate if you can find out for us what can be done? TQ!

• Chicago Camry on Feb 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Toyota is suddenly having a bad time. Mr. Biller is asking for the safety documents of 2008 lawsuit which says Toyota agreed to give $3.7 million severance payment to Mr. Biller.

• bongok_la_weh on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Soon I'll create and sell car sticker, can stick or hang at your car rear written

"TOYOTAS PLEASE G.T.F.O AWAY FROM MY BACK ELSE U'LL HIT ME!"

hahahahahaha

• CA Windshield Repair on Mar 18, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Toyota in general in recent has drastically had so many acqusations against it that it really makes me think will they ever be able to digg themselves out of the scrutiny that they are in. And with this recent accused scammer that said he could not stop in his prius… It just seems like people is coming out of the wood work making complaints, most of them are probably not even real. Its just like everyone want to jump on the bandwagon. Seems like a perfect opportunity for some behind on the payments on the cars with toyota to attempt to not make a payment.

• Josie Wong on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:08 pm

I am facing problem with Toyota (Alor Setar Branch). I told them that my engine has funny noise and the repair bill rolls from few hundred to an unbelievable amount of RM11,700++. BTW, I drive a VIOS and it is less than 2 years.

I have already bought this matter to the Tribunal for Consumer Claims (TTPM) and pending for the decision. I will keep everyone posted on the result.

ADUAN TERHADAP TOYOTA SERVICE CENTRE ALOR STAR

Merujuk kepada perkara diatas, pada tarikh 15hb September 2010, saya telah pergi ke pusat service centre Toyota untuk membuat servis kereta kepunyaan anak perempuan saya, yang bernombor KCU 808, jenis Toyota Vios 1.5G (kereta ini didaftar pada tarikh 31hb Disember 2007) dan diberitahu bahawa kereta tersebut perlu diserahkan pada tarikh 17hb September 2010 untuk diservis. Pada masa itu saya memberitahu pihak berkenaan bahawa kereta tersebut mempunyai bunyi yang kasar semasa dipandu dan meminta pihak berkenaan memeriksa kereta tersebut dan menukarkan alat ganti yang sepatutnya mengikut jadual yang telah disediakan oleh pihak Toyota………

http://www.users.on.net/koktsin/toyota.pdf