UMW Toyota to fix Prius ABS software issue

Toyota Prius

The second wave of Toyota’s problems – this time focused on the Prius – began when Steve Wozniak claimed his 2010 Toyota Prius could unintentionally accelerate to about 97mph (156km/h) whenever he uses cruise control to increase his speed. He claims that he knows exactly what to do to duplicate the problem and can do it anytime.

And since in cruise control you don’t touch the pedal, it seems doubtful that it is a pedal issue. But thankfully for Steve, braking to cancel the cruise control system continues to work so it’s easy to stop. Toyota has offered to take Wozniak’s car in for a week to diagnose the problem.

Soon after that, it was reported that over 100 Prius drivers in the US and Japan have reported problems with brakes on the model. The numbers come to about 100 in US and 14 in Japan. The brakes on the Prius is a rather complicated thing – the car has to manage between actual braking using the disc brakes and braking with brake energy regeneration used to charge the batteries. 3 drivers even claim that brake issues have resulted in crashes.

Toyota Prius Interior

The response to the Prius issues have been far quicker than the accelerator pedal issue. Toyota has announced a recall and pinpointed a problem in the software that controls the ABS system in the Prius. Apparently reprogramming the ABS system will solve the problem. But there still hasn’t been anything so far about the cruise control issue that Steve Wozniak brought up.

UMW Toyota Motor just announced yesterday that it will be calling in the Prius to perform the necessary corrective measures. There are currently 60 of the affected third generation Toyota Prius in Malaysia right now roaming our roads. UMW Toyota Motor president Kuah Kock Heng says UMW Toyota technicians are currently undergoing training on how to carry out the necessary corrective measures, and they will contact Prius owners beginning this Friday – the 12th of February.

He also added that undelivered new units of the Toyota Prius will also roll out of the showrooms with the fix already applied. Look after the jump for UMW Toyota’s press release republished in verbatim.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• albagmane on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:37 am

well, technology sometimes is used to ease our life… but it may create disasters too… that's the consequences we have to face when we rely on technology too much…

• can happen to any other carmaker? how reliable is this ABS nowadays? every other maker race in putting in latest safety features. there need to be some sort of measurement for us to judge its effectiveness ie working correctly or otherwise. it's high time now we go for standard practice

• Michael on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:54 am

Teachnology can save lifes or cause disasters. But when mistakes like this,is good cause we can improve in the future. I bet the first car had lots of problems but with problem , cars today are amazing because we are improving.

• Gajen on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

all car makers now are now taking more precaution in their products…which is good..

• Desmond on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:05 am

Agree with you albagmane!

• next – virus found in prius…

• owtaman on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:51 am

This news makes people worried when they see a Prius come up his/her rear view mirror.

• dukenborg on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:52 am

Its not easy to make the brakes work in electric vehicles – a friend of mine said you will need an internal combustion engine to power the brakes, otherwise you wont have any!

• petrol-head on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:37 am

Unlucky for Toyota M'sia, 1st time they sell hybrid in M'sia, already "re-call" SURE future buyers will extremely careful!!! WORST, this will deter them to buy non-hybrid or use IMA (honda) which is so far reliable.

• mohd hafizzul on Feb 10, 2010 at 3:31 pm

malaysia terlibat jugak ke??

• Vyrus on Feb 10, 2010 at 3:33 pm

is it possible a VIRUS can attack Prius???

if tat case happen, we should use Jackie Chan kaspersky..haha

• I think the recall is good and it does not mean that Prius is less reliable then the Civic Hybrid. I still think that Toyota car is reliable. Just my 2 cents.

• MADBOY on Feb 10, 2010 at 3:46 pm

UMW Toyota Motor president Kuah Kock Heng says UMW Toyota technicians are currently undergoing training on how to carry out the necessary corrective measures, and they will contact Prius owners beginning this Friday – the 12th of February.

—————-

Wah, the owner can not balik kampung for the CNY with their Prius. Tak pa, nanti ada bas tambahan kat puduraya….

• linear_system on Feb 10, 2010 at 3:51 pm

if this happened to proton, sure proton bashers a.k.a P1B will kaw2 bash proton..luckily it happened to toyota which is from japan…haish…

• azrai on Feb 10, 2010 at 4:04 pm

They don't call it recall, they call it special service. Safety also want to 'main wayang' also UMW.

• rally_fan on Feb 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm

"dukenborg said,

February 10, 2010 @ 1:52 am

Its not easy to make the brakes work in electric vehicles – a friend of mine said you will need an internal combustion engine to power the brakes, otherwise you wont have any!"

You dont need an internal combustion engine to power brakes. Even if you did, the prius has one.

including the almost 400,000 prius cars to be recalled, there are over 8 million cars being recalled for the accelerator issue… i wonder how much all this is going to cost them… ouch!

• linear_system said,

February 10, 2010 @ 7:51 am

if this happened to proton, sure proton bashers a.k.a P1B will kaw2 bash proton..luckily it happened to toyota which is from japan…haish…

————————————————————–

Let me proof to you that Toyota (and other car brand) oso will kena bashed if quality sucks.

Die Toyota, die Toyota!!! Waste ppl's hard erned money. So expensive but still give ppl problem…Apalah!

Are you happy? Better?

• adijb on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:19 pm

I am not familiar with the software development side for the automotive industry, but generally in software development, the automated test environment with a comprehensive set of test suites are key in ensuring the quality of the software.

For example, when I visited NCR for a Point of Sale (PoS) tender excersice, they have a test environment comprising of a machine running the PoS system and a comprehensive suite of automated tests that runs automatically, simulating a PoS user, pressing on all possible options and exhautively go thru each possible scenarios. The whole test takes about 3 days to complete.

Granted, this is not fool proof as there may be other factors involved that cannot be captured in a test environment. But, at least, having a automated test environment shows that the product developer does not leave everything to chance (shudder).

I assume, the automotive industry would have a much, much more comprehensive automated test environment. And this is probably one of the things that Toyota should show to the public (tv or paper advert), to win back some confidence for their current customers and potential ones too. To Toyota, as an Avanza user, I feel you owe us that.

Safe journey to all who is going balik kampung or for a holiday. Peace.

• These recalls are no big issue. Toyota are swift in its action to replace it. Btw the numbers of owner are still small. So why cry about it?

• alpha999 on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:28 pm

f this happened to proton, sure proton bashers a.k.a P1B will kaw2 bash proton..luckily it happened to toyota which is from japan…haish…

——————————————————————

proton bashers are now officially speechless ….haha

• proton will not recall their product larr.. how many years their got power window problem,still not recall.. honda last week recall because power window problem..you can see proton just sell car with low quality..

• Littlefire on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:40 pm

I think if happen to proton, proton will quietly just let this thing pass.. When happen accident, they will claim the driver fault for careless and let the insurance guy to handle…

If not later all those Proton accident owner will come back wanna claim from Proton for not having Vechicle Stability Control, ABS or air-bag as standart safety.. lolz

• Hybrid just pure hype…today diesel = go green & enjoy driving too

• ryan_foong80 on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:40 pm

i STILL support TOYOTA!..

• I thought There should be a mechanical failsafe in brake pedals, such as forcing the brakes to operate no matter what when the pedal is depressed hard.

• waaa, how come toyota also got serious safety problems? I thought toyota QC is near perfect one, or is it just for publicity sake?

• Michael said,

February 10, 2010 @ 12:54 am

Teachnology can save lifes or cause disasters. But when mistakes like this,is good cause we can improve in the future. I bet the first car had lots of problems but with problem , cars today are amazing because we are improving.

—————

I agree with you in a way, but the sad thing is the mistake like this could cost somebody's life…

• Its better to have a power window problem rather than accelerator & brake padel problem lol…never heard this problems on Proton b4..wonder why hmmm??

• MyCarMyLife on Feb 10, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Haiya , we are always told by P1 that complaints have to be tolerated becos proton ma ,what to do ? go to any authorized service shop and find out.

Any car make will break down and have problems , it is how they respond to the car owner when faced with a situation.

That's life

• endre on Feb 10, 2010 at 7:45 pm

I wonder if the drive by wire accelerator pedal is safe to be use like the one in Gen.2 & Persona. I'm a bit worried.

• firefox on Feb 10, 2010 at 7:48 pm

frankly…Prius is a nice car, but priceless le, i think toyota should pay for the mistake and reduce the Prius OTR price..

• RedLine on Feb 10, 2010 at 7:50 pm

I didn't realised the brake system in hybrid cars are so complicated, as braking is also used to regenerate electricity. What is worrying to me is that braking in a hybrid car is dependent on software! For such a critical component such as brakes, I would rather depend on the proven mechanical means. I think this may put some people off hybrid cars.

• i was just about to buy the prius.. now i dont want to buy it anymore… i would only pay 50k for prius.. *wink* *wink*

• Tiadaid on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:06 pm

MyCarMyLife said,

February 10, 2010 @ 11:32 am

Haiya , we are always told by P1 that complaints have to be tolerated becos proton ma ,what to do ? go to any authorized service shop and find out.

Any car make will break down and have problems , it is how they respond to the car owner when faced with a situation.

That’s life

—————

Those Authorized Service Shops are the root cause of Proton's bad rep. They should have been de-authorized for saying things like that. Morons the bunch of them!

Littlefire said,

February 10, 2010 @ 9:40 am

I think if happen to proton, proton will quietly just let this thing pass.. When happen accident, they will claim the driver fault for careless and let the insurance guy to handle…

If not later all those Proton accident owner will come back wanna claim from Proton for not having Vechicle Stability Control, ABS or air-bag as standart safety.. lolz

———————-

Oh really? Then why did Proton recalled the Savvy back in 2005? If your statement is true, then surely they wouldn't have done that. But they did.

• chiewwl on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:22 pm

at least Toyota willing to feedback and recall their problematic vehicles.

P1 & P2? hardly (if ever heard them…) doin tat. Or their vehicles are super world class quality standard…

• p4k4bu on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:37 pm

Found on the net … Toyota's new slogan:

“Drive a Toyota. You’ll Never Stop.”

“Toyota Puts the Pedal to the Metal. And Keeps it There.”

“Toyota. The Last Car You’ll Ever Drive.”

Bad taste…. I know … but can't help it ;)

• Agreed with Tiadaid..

• carsut on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:58 pm

umm.. thats scary, i will accelerate fast if i sow toyota or prius came from my back, wandering how if in the trafic jam or light?? so scaryyy… currently prius, so next??? wish, alphad, or dugong??

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:14 pm

>>CPS said,

Its better to have a power window problem rather than accelerator & brake padel problem lol…never heard this problems on Proton b4..wonder why hmmm??

===========================

Because Proton built better and safer car than Toyota? lol

• DirkTooth on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:24 pm

To me a basher is a basher..

wat cane pun dier akan kutuk gak..

tp klo produk tu dier suka..

puji melangit..

buruk x nmpk dah..

but the conclusion is to see the gud in everything..

then people will respect u..

everybody makes mistakes..

i was initially a proton basher too for their faulties in the past..

but their trying harder now to improve..

we as Malaysian must support them n give kritikan yg membina till one day we can see a true Malysian product in the eyes of the world.

• nighttrain on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Woz is lying, he just likes to drive fast and blames it on the car hehe..

• as any computer programmer who can write software without bugs or never crash. hahahahaha…. so lets us welcome software engineer to the world of automotive, where millions of life will depends on.

• chiewwl said,

February 10, 2010 @ 12:22 pm

at least Toyota willing to feedback and recall their problematic vehicles.

P1 & P2? hardly (if ever heard them…) doin tat. Or their vehicles are super world class quality standard…

———————————————————

'willing'? US gov use the word 'force'

• chris on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm

at least toyota admited that there is a problem with prius and other models, meaning they are not only thinking about profit, but also customer safety. hopefully there no problem with vios model :-)

• now workshop have another easy reason when things get broke.. ".. biasalaa, toyota.."

• mirror mirror on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Thank God I drive a Honda!

• opaque on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:09 pm

If involve toyota, those will say they are responsible, reacted to the complaint. If you look at the report and news, they respond only after there are fatal accidents and incident involving famous people. If not they will keep quiet until there are serious cases then they react such in USA.

Wonder if accident in malaysia involving crashes in open road when the traffic is low. Hope the authorities will look into it and see if it is mechanical mulfunction. We should be more concern about it because here we don't complain if involve famous brand…..

• xavier lert on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:30 pm

so its take APPLE's GOD (mr wozniak) to discover the issue….so this issue must be very complicated….

for those who say proton nvr hav this kinda issue….man this is software issue…does proton hav complicated computerize system??…its like u Q in to pay the bill (no prob right ??penat jela)…but now u using online bill pmt…(easy) but it sometimes goes 404…

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:53 pm

chiewwl said,

February 10, 2010 @ 12:22 pm

SO U MUST BE A NEWBIE IN PAULTAN.ORG..

try to search a lil bit before u post a comment.. -_-' -_-' -_-'

but i know, u must be too dumb to do so..

so just click here:

http://paultan.org/2008/03/31/proton-savvy-rear-w… http://paultan.org/2005/09/29/proton-waja-recall/ http://paultan.org/2005/10/01/proton-recalls-in-t… http://paultan.org/2007/12/19/wheel-jack-recall-f…

and here is a nice website for u to visit later:
    http://www.dumb.com/

dont waste yur precious time here son…

just leave that kind of comment to the PROs (dumb&dumber)

..everybody knew their name already.. no need to quote here..

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 10, 2010 at 11:00 pm

p4k4bu said,

February 10, 2010 @ 12:37 pm

Toyota’s new slogan:

“Drive a Toyota. You’ll Never Stop.”

“Toyota Puts the Pedal to the Metal. And Keeps it There.”

“Toyota. The Last Car You’ll Ever Drive.”

LOL

T-boys should stick that on their windscreen..

• wait proton hybrid car la.. sure have a lot problem.. their saga blm iafm also got problem,but no recall..

• barca on Feb 10, 2010 at 11:10 pm

p4k4bu: definitely the jokes are of bad taste but T deserved it.

if only they are proactive and not reactive makes me think they are going towards the same level as proton, how embarassing!

• mirror mirror on Feb 10, 2010 at 11:50 pm

This is when all car manufacturers can learn a lesson or two from Proton – make simple and low-tech cars and you won't have any recall issues, Proton Boleh.

• nighttrain on Feb 11, 2010 at 12:18 am

Good one mirror mirror! Woz is trying to cari makan with Toyota so that Toyota give him contract to programme the car's ECU. That's just plain cheap stunt by Woz, dirty old man. Stupid Toyota wants to make high tech car see what happens now? Make low tech software luxury like Rolls, or Proton. Everything mechanical high tech one! No to onboard computer!

• well all I can say is these setback will only make Toyota stronger.

meaning they have to go for zero defect to win back the confidence.

They have no choice but to have very very stringent QC.

This will mean a win for the consumer.

I think being on top the complacence started to set in and that is

why they are in this mess.

There is no denying the damage has been done to the brand

Toyota needs to wake up. They cant hide behind badge anymore.

Their product needs to improve dramatically.

Last time you complain about defect and they give you the run around.

Now they will have to take it seriously. Dont you think that is a good thing.

• Tiadaid on Feb 11, 2010 at 1:00 am

For the ignoramuses who said Proton never would do recalls

http://paultan.org/2008/03/31/proton-savvy-rear-w…

• staff on Feb 11, 2010 at 1:13 am

bashers will always have point…

they friends of friends of friends of friends of friends have problem with their proton…

;)

BTW, somebody should realize the recall of HONDA POWER WINDOWS IS DIFFERENT WITH PROTON POWER WINDOWS…

HONDA POWER WINDOWS cause fire to the car… PROTON WAJA POWER WINDOWS cause fire to your heart…

• Ronaldo on Feb 11, 2010 at 1:18 am

linear_system said,

Who the hell tell u Proton hav no problem? They just never recall their car for repair. they will just wait for problem to arise or when customer complain then fix/replace for u. worst still if over warranty period they safe $$$ no need replace !!! Tak guna punya proton.

• Squawk on Feb 11, 2010 at 1:45 am

More ribbing on Toyota:

"Have you heard the new slogan? 'Toyota, just try and stop us.'" –Jay Leno

"Toyota recalling 2.3 million cars because of two problems — unintended acceleration and possible brake problems. Things are not looking good for Toyota. In fact, today, two crash test dummies refused to get in the car." –Jay Leno

"A couple of days ago, there was the annual race, people come from all over the world, and they race up the stairs of the Empire State Building. Wait a minute. You want to get your heart racing, you really want to get it pump pumping? Do what I do. Drive to work in a Toyota." –David Letterman

"Toyota's recalling 2 million cars because they accelerate and won't stop. So you hit the accelerator and you're on your way to the moon. Just Bang! Zoom! You take off. Here in New York City, those are called getaway cars." – David Letterman

• Tiadaid on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:17 am

Ronaldo said,

February 10, 2010 @ 5:18 pm

linear_system said,

Who the hell tell u Proton hav no problem? They just never recall their car for repair. they will just wait for problem to arise or when customer complain then fix/replace for u. worst still if over warranty period they safe $$$ no need replace !!! Tak guna punya proton.

————

Never recall? READ MORE!

http://paultan.org/2008/03/31/proton-savvy-rear-w…

Plus you think Toyota & Honda, in fact ALL the car companies in the world would recall their cars for some small issue? Unless the problem affects the safety of its occupants, THEY WOULDN'T RECALL THEM! In fact, Toyota was FORCED to recall their cars in the US after a family DIED in a runaway Lexus. Honda recalled their cars only AFTER Toyota recalled their cars. In fact, the Honda problem caused a death of a child BEFORE the Lexus accident happened. The only difference is that the Honda incident happened in South Africa, instead of America.

Instead of slagging off Proton, why not go and read more about recall criteria in the US before making any judgement. In fact, from what I read on the US Govt. website pertaining to car recalls, and from what I've read about the Myvi, I think the Myvi's warped brake problem warrants a recall. WHY NOBODY RAISED THAT ISSUE?

• linear_system on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:59 am

Ronaldo said,

linear_system said,

————————————————————

did i ever said that proton didnt had any prblems in my statement above?? and who the hell that told u proton never recall anything??proton did recall for some problems as occured to my neo for the tyre jack problem.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:23 am

Haih useless whatever we sy about p1 and p2, they are already car that dont inspire drivers whatmore that they have many minor faults on electric windows, leakage, soggy brakes, steering vibration etc, especially P1. The Governement dont care, they prefer us die so that no one votes for the opposition, guys out there u are paying taxes to feed proton to kill u if u uy one, proton drivers just remember to be careful your life is more valuable that the Gs…….

• staff on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:44 am

To READERS, PLEASE READ THE WHOLE NEWS BEFORE YOU COME HERE AND COMMENT…

YOU SUPPORT AND BASH WITH NO BASIS… IT JUST MEAN ONE THING… LAZINESS AND STUPIDITY….

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:51 am

Ronalbodo said,

………They just """never""" recall their car for repair. they will just wait for problem to arise or when customer complain then fix/replace for u. worst still if over warranty period they safe $$$ no need replace !!! Tak guna punya proton.

never?????

so what are these:

http://paultan.org/2008/03/31/proton-savvy-rear-w… http://paultan.org/2005/09/29/proton-waja-recall/ http://paultan.org/2005/10/01/proton-recalls-in-t… http://paultan.org/2007/12/19/wheel-jack-recall-f…

duuh???

next time, try to do some homework first laar..

A55HOLE…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:14 am

they should

• TOYOTA : RECALL

HONDA : RECALL

PROTON : BUAT SENYAP, TAK APA, PROBLEM BIASA ……….

• staff on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:10 am

@ zack …

for what? Did someone died in proton due to acc pedal, brake pedal or burning power windows?

no concrete answer yet….

• HueyZho on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:47 am

it's time for car makers to return to the good old days where cars are reliable and creates little trouble. Cars nowadays a electronically driven and tends to causes big trouble if one of the electronic system failed. Even past cars are much more reliable, comfortable and good materials are used. e.g Mercedes w123, Datsun 120y, Datsun 140y and so on

• Nerddy on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Better watchout who behind my back… don't want any toyota with faulty brakes…

"errr… sorry officer, its not that I don't want to obey the red light… There a toyota behind me…."

• Ahmad on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Nerddy said,

February 11, 2010 @ 8:19 am

Better watchout who behind my back… don’t want any toyota with faulty brakes…

“errr… sorry officer, its not that I don’t want to obey the red light… There a toyota behind me….”

————————————————————-

Hahaha…very funny.

Let me resentence..

“errr… sorry officer, its not that I don’t want to obey the red light… I'm driving Toyota, it just accelerates by itself & braking problem, can I send the tickets to Toyota anyway for claim?….”

• Mysticmind on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Zack, what proton not recall? Proton recall in savvy rusted bearing something not include? proton did what?

But the thing is, it is not as critical as you beloved to death Toyota.

Seems Toyota products design flaw is everywhere. Bigheaded make you do more mistakes and ego to apologize and accept it.

• Squawk on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Our govt has been saying how old/used cars are dangerous. So how now? :-P

• rally_fan on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:58 pm

"Vnoz said,

February 10, 2010 @ 9:20 am

These recalls are no big issue. Toyota are swift in its action to replace it. Btw the numbers of owner are still small. So why cry about it?"

eerr.. more than 8 million toyota's are being recalled.. is that a small number???!?!

i really cannot believe the amount of recalls happening.. after the prius, now the 2010 camry also in trouble with possible brake failure….

• toy-auta on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:10 pm

nyampah tengok iklan prius kat espn, bajet bagus

• Muahahahaha.

T n H fanboys going speechless now.

Show you their cars still not that world class after all.

Even P1 can do better at 60 years of making cars. Or yet 80 years.

What a world class joke.

• But the biggest matter still Toyota has serious quality problem.