Proton to hold Ride & Handling Day – Saturday 6th March 2010 in Danga Bay, Johor

Remember the Satria Neo Unleashed with hitz.fm event last year? Proton and hitz.fm actually organized an event where avid autocrossers can try their hand at the Satria Neo. You drive through a straight line and obstacle course, and whoever clocks the fastest time wins a prize!

This year the challenge is back in Danga Bay Johor, and the event is even bigger this time. There’s not only a challenge for the Satria Neo but for the Proton Saga as well! Here’s the full lowdown on the activities happening this Saturday the 6th of March 2010 beginning from 4pm to 1030pm:

• Saga Ride & Handling Challenge – 25 participants
  • Satria Neo Ride & Handling Challenge – 25 participants
  • Test-drive activity (Satria Neo, Saga, and Gen2)
  • PROTON Mini Technologies Display by R&D
  • LOTUS Showcase (performance cars)
  • Sales Activity (Satria Neo Saga, Gen2)
  • Parts and Services display (genuine parts)
  • Merchandize booth
  • Demo performance by LOTUS
  • Satria Neo, Saga, Gen2 Club gathering & car showcase
  • Games and quizzes by Hitz.FM’s DJ and announcers
  • Closing act by Artistes (Pesawat & One Buck Short)

Neo CPS

As you can see above, the Ride & Handling challenge is open only to 50 participants – 25 for the Satria Neo CPS and 25 for the Saga. Participants need to have a valid driving license and need to fulfill the rules and regulations, terms and conditions, and signed indemnity form of the event. Interested person can register at the counter when the announcers announce the time for registration (4.00pm – 4.30pm). All participants will go through safety and course briefing handle by professional track safety instructors. Participant will be guided / supervised by professional instructor during the laps to explain about the cars and to ensure the safety of the participant/ public during the laps.

The first place winner of either category will win RM500 and a Sony Ericsson F305. The second place prizes are RM300 and a Canon 480 digital camera. The third place winners will get RM200 and a RM500 Padini Voucher.

As for the test drive activity, Proton has set up a special course for you to be able to try out the car’s handling instead of a regular showroom test drive where you probably just drive around the showroom area. So if you’re in the market for a Proton sometime soon you may want to test drive the car at this course as well as a regular showroom drive so you can try how the car performs in both worlds – both under hard driving conditions and in a neighborhood.

If you book your car on the day itself there’s a low downpayment scheme and other promotions available. I don’t know what they are right now so you’ll have to pay a visit to the event to find out! Also, Proton Parts Center will be having sessions to educate the public on how to differentiate the original parts with non-genuine parts, and the causes and effect of using non-genuine parts.

Lotus Elise

A professional driver from Lotus will be showcasing the driving demo using their cars to highlight the capability of the cars’ handling. As you know Lotus cars are gokarts on steroids – usually people reserve that term for MINIs but these Lotus cars are the real thing. There will be opportunities for a taxi ride with the cars together with the driver.

Satria Neo, Saga and Gen2 club members will be there to display their cars at the event.A contest will be held to award the most outstanding car for each category. The criteria of the selection of the winner are exterior condition, paint job, decals, stickers, rims, interior cleanliness & practicality, and modification changes. Of course you’ll probably expect some really fast “Campro Turbo DIY” cars there or even some with MIVEC or GSR swaps, but engine bay will not be evaluated as Proton are not promoting any changes made to the engine. Judges will be appointed from Proton managements, the artistes and professional drivers.

Other than that, the public can also participate in any games activities on that day such as a be mini futsal challenge, team activities, and others. These games will be conducted by Hitz.fm announcers Natalie and Jin and they will also be having quizzes. The closing performance will be a performance by One Buck Short and Pesawat, which will start after the demo performance by Lotus mentioned earlier.

So this is something for you to check out this Saturday if you live in the south. RELA will be in charge on that day to handle traffic and parking. Just remember to bring a bottle of mineral water as I’ve been informed that Danga Bay did not give permission for the sale of F&B during the event so you’ll have to bring your own.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NO EVORA! not going. btw,i live 4 hours away from johor, so even there is evora i cant go.

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:08 am

test BMW better

• nazri on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:13 am

Paul, no R3 motorspot showcase there?

• nabill on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:23 am

im still waiting for a proper review of the satria neo cps….most only have 1st impressions rather than a detailed road test…

• my car will be there..

• Dr. M on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:03 am

I personally feel it is over-rated when most journalists praise heaven-like for Ride & Handling of Proton Gen.2 and Neo. There are many good Japanese cars that not only comes with better Ride & Handling than the mentioned Proton models but also score in many other aspects. Such cars are like Mazda 3, Honda Civic and Mitsubishi Lancer.

• S.Roma on Mar 04, 2010 at 1:03 pm

GOOD !

Sure im gonna be there ! 30 mins from my home ! YIPPIE ! Wanna drive the Neo CPS with hard core mode !

• theanswer on Mar 04, 2010 at 3:49 pm

r3 still available? err..Dr.M can u pls tell us the price of lancer,civic and mazda 3? different class i guess.

• subhero on Mar 04, 2010 at 5:21 pm

ive one neo. is it only for stock oem car?

or modified suspension car also can?

• 5 minutes away from my home!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA

gotta drive the NEO CPS like NUTS.. hahahahaha

• yes, lancer, civic or mazda 3 may have a good handling. but how many can afford it? Proton cars is the only choice you have if you really want a car for fun. Especially the Neo CPS..I'm owning it and what can I say this car have a superb handling & I've smoked a Civic FD2 2.0 @ sepang circuit..

• adijb on Mar 04, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Yay! Thanks for the info, Paul. I'll drop by after sending my son for his tuition. Will you be coming too, Paul?

A pity Proton is not offering Exora test drive on that day. Just neo and saga.

As for the F&B, there are many shops and restaurants in Danga Bay. Or, I'll just drop by my office for a drink :D

• Squawk on Mar 04, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Ok, we all know about the ride & handling. Now what about the quality, reliability and ergonomics bits?

• savvy on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:10 pm

why dont have savvy gathering? not invited or what?

• tanasi on Mar 04, 2010 at 8:17 pm

the 3 has good handlng? responsive yes, but nervous as you go from grip to slip..

the other 3 from muenchen, on the other hand, is a car with admirable roadholding capabilities.

imho anything from ford stables nowadays (mazdas included) are a little bit overhyped on the dynamics. agile yes, but at the expense of firm ride and loud tyre roar.

• Squawk said,

March 4, 2010 @ 11:15 am

Ok, we all know about the ride & handling. Now what about the quality, reliability and ergonomics bits?

————————————————————–

everythings seems to be fine with me..

• Tiadaid on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Dr. M said,

March 4, 2010 @ 1:03 am

I personally feel it is over-rated when most journalists praise heaven-like for Ride & Handling of Proton Gen.2 and Neo. There are many good Japanese cars that not only comes with better Ride & Handling than the mentioned Proton models but also score in many other aspects. Such cars are like Mazda 3, Honda Civic and Mitsubishi Lancer.

———————–

You're comparing apples with oranges. Different segments are impossible to compare. Maybe you should compare the City or Vios with Proton, and I tell you, handling wise those two cars ain't that good.

• Squawk on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:10 pm

CPS said,

March 4, 2010 @ 12:37 pm

Squawk said,

March 4, 2010 @ 11:15 am

————————————————————–

everythings seems to be fine with me..

—————————————

Maybe it's subjective. I'd tested the Gen.2 (ok, that was mahaileel's time so leave that out), Saga and Exora…. Saga, can't say too much coz it's a low-end car. But I didn't feel comfortable in the Exora. Seriously, Proton should do more to improve the steering wheel material.

• proton owner on Mar 04, 2010 at 9:33 pm

That's no use if only comes with better Ride & Handling but without quality. My proton saga which was brought few month ago had very excessive cabin noise!!!

• hope they will bring the EMAS there,sure people around malaysia will come ha3 (just kidding)

• proton owner said,

March 4, 2010 @ 1:33 pm

That’s no use if only comes with better Ride & Handling but without quality. My proton saga which was brought few month ago had very excessive cabin noise!!!

—————————————————————

Saga BLM & Viva Elite, price in the same range as well as the noise level..

• exora owner on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Squawk said,

March 4, 2010 @ 1:10 pm

Maybe it’s subjective. I’d tested the Gen.2 (ok, that was mahaileel’s time so leave that out), Saga and Exora…. Saga, can’t say too much coz it’s a low-end car. But I didn’t feel comfortable in the Exora. Seriously, Proton should do more to improve the steering wheel material.

as a owner of exora.. i feel GOOD! thanks GOD. I had no problem with the MPV..since 6 months ago..

• gen2lama on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:31 pm

proton owner said,

That’s no use if only comes with better Ride & Handling but without quality. My proton saga which was brought few month ago had very excessive cabin noise!!!

————————————————————

y dont u test drive before deciding to buy 'junk' car?……yr choice why regreat?….

i.. no regreat buying 3 protons…BLM is on of them…

• gen2lama on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:33 pm

exora owner,

Squawk said,

March 4, 2010 @ 1:10 pm

Maybe it’s subjective. I’d tested the Gen.2 (ok, that was mahaileel’s time so leave that out), Saga and Exora…. Saga, can’t say too much coz it’s a low-end car. But I didn’t feel comfortable in the Exora. Seriously, Proton should do more to improve the steering wheel material.

as a owner of exora.. i feel GOOD! thanks GOD. I had no problem with the MPV..since 6 months ago..

—————————————————————

same with me here….huhuuhuu..feel so good….

• Squawk on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:47 pm

exora owner & gen2lama, good for you guys. Enjoy your ride. I just wish they'd have made the steering with more comfortable material (maybe on par with Vios), I would've been more tempted to book one.

• Wira Tua on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:38 am

squawk….

wrap the steering with leather lah…cost only like 150 at most….if can spend 40k+ on a car..why not 150 to make it better? haiyaaa…

vios got leather wrapped steering wheel..? i dont think so…

• toyotaik on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:32 am

kelakar…dugong tak layak!!

• Squawk on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:41 am

Wira Tua, not talking about whether it's leather or not (Vios' isn't leather but feels better to hold). It just didn't feel nice to hold. It was a short drive. Can't imagine how much I'd hate it on an outstation drive. I can tolerate the so-so plastic of the dash but the wheel is the one I'm in contact with the most. It shouldn't be uncomfortable.

And why would I want to spend even RM1 extra to wrap the steering if I've to pay RM60k+ for a car? But that's just me.

• proton on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:01 am

proton selama lama nya,

hidup proton. Hidup proton.

waja is the BMW for asia. Means asia is stupid, but expensive. lol.

• proton owner on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:02 pm

WHAT I WANNA SAY IS PROTON REALLY REALLY REALLY NO QUALITY…

That's all….

• WAja ProuDer on Mar 31, 2010 at 10:48 am

BDOE ar kaw…

tgk ar nanti…

proton akan brubah…

TRUST ME 100%…

• staff on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Please define, what is quality….

• aksMs on Mar 05, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Agreed with Squawk. The steering wheel in Gen2 and Neo is really a let down. I wonder what is the rational behind the design and material. Cheaper to make? Ergonomics? I like Waja's streering wheel better.

• wah my saga blm ok jerk no problem got problem go to SC lot of part got waranty hahah i like ermmm go proton

• I got a PERODUA Myvi SE2 and i could say it's a shit and low quality car!my dream car is Golf GTi!BUT i can't afford it!Malaysian pls don't expect more and pay less!you should know Cheap without quality!Vios 70k without airbags without leather seat and 1.5L engine!for me better go for Neo CPS or Gen 2 CPS!btw i'm a chinese guy!never said our national car(Proton)it's cheap and rubbish!bcoz i know some Malaysian never supporting their own national cars!some said it's Milo Tin,some said it's low quality and some said it's cheap!if you pay more then Proton and Perodua could make solid Milo tin cars that's all!

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 06, 2010 at 8:57 am

If I was given a Proton to test, my first test would be the "power window test".

• asgard on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:05 pm

forget the test drive,i want natalie

• nazri on Mar 06, 2010 at 2:57 pm

good luck all.. dont forget bring lot mineral water….

• staff on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:16 pm

SY0H,

dont forget my book title suggestion to you…

"FAILED POWER WINDOW: A TRUE STORY"… Hahahaha…

Lame… keep bringing same old story…

• nazri on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:01 pm

at least no one mention about stucked acceleration pedal, pedal of death rite??

• HyundaiSmoke on Mar 06, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Proton needs to come to the US market. Nobody here makes truly cheap cars anymore. I think Proton can make big money,and use that money to grow and get better. They can sell Protons from US Lotus distributorships to begin with.

• HyundaiSmoke on Mar 06, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Nobody makes new cars that really poor Americans can afford anymore. Its good for the used car market in a way, as used cars here have been way overpriced for years, and now the prices are dropping like a stone.

I wish Proton bought a weak and dying stand alone make like Mazda. Believe it or not from what I have been reading about Proton it reminds me of the Mazda of old, and trust Me Very Old Mazdas and the Newer Mazdas have worse quality than modern Protons.

Mazda quality well at least in its American cars as been pretty bad over the past 10 years.

• staff on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:06 pm

HyundaiSmoke said,

March 6, 2010 @ 2:47 pm

Nobody here makes truly cheap cars anymore.

HERE?

you mean you are at USA?

• HyundaiSmoke on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:50 am

Yep, I live in the US, my friend.

• Beep Beep on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:14 pm

HyundaiSmoke… hey hey aren't u the same w*nker who keep on bragging about korean cars and dissing japanese autos at caradvice.com.au? Checking out Proton tech are you hehehe

• zainal abidin on Mar 04, 2011 at 8:14 am

My FL auto is about 1 month…No problems with the car…..Only lacking in tank range…. 300km a full tank (mostly urban) Is this normal? How to improve milage? Thanks