Hyundai Sonata and Tucson sighted on our roads!

A reader sent us these images of the new Hyundai Sonata and Tucson being delivered on a trailer, so we know that they are already in Malaysia ahead of the scheduled launch in April. The paparazzi in training did not say where these cars were spotted, but from the surroundings my guess is the Bukit Kiara area in Kuala Lumpur. Hyundai is sponsoring the Malaysian Open golf event at KLGCC, which is in the vicinity, so it makes sense. In that tournament, the Tucson will be the hole-in-one prize.

We can see a grey Tucson and a black Sonata in the pics, without any exterior badging and with the Hyundai logo taped up. If these are the exact same spec that will go on sale, we will be getting the same big rims and Kumho Solus tyres as the cars I tested in Oman last month. Our sources also revealed that Hyundai Sime Darby will be bringing in (both models are CBU from Korea) a high-spec variant of the Sonata with panaromic roof. The roof is split in the middle (like the W211 E-Class) and not a whole piece item like on some French cars.

For the specs of both cars, see our previous post here. More pictures after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=918]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:23 am

Lorrr…dah sampai. Berapa harga nih?

• mohd hafizzul on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:23 am

Berapa harga nih??

• Maserati on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:27 am

Wow! Thats fast!

• xavier lert on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:27 am

tucson looks like dugong

• Baldwin on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:31 am

nice!!!

• vbkcheng on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:39 am

wow, coming lior, sonata….

• WoW! That Sonata looks really hawt.

• planet on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:42 am

wow……..

• Eric G on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:43 am

estimated price?

• please gov decrease on Mar 05, 2010 at 12:46 am

saya minat tucson. brp harga? kalau harga lama, sure2 berbaloi. memang cun habis. sonata pun berubah drastik

• are we getting a low spec tucson?it seems like losing something….but i still love it..nicer than sportage and sorento

• gavin on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:16 am

korean makes have it hard in malaysia, when they are cheaper by 10k to jap makes they are the champions of the industry, best thing since sliced bread. If they start creeping near jap makes it becomes 'har korean so expensive ar, better buy jap got this'

good luck hyundai

• The Who.. on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:24 am

Korean ROCKS!!

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:30 am

120k for sonata and it will be a hit!

• the koreans will be gaining market share for sure now…

• Thomas Heng on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:44 am

current sorento is CKD or CBU?

• Thomas Heng on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:45 am

Sorry i meant Sonata :p current model is CKD or CBU?

• Thomas Heng on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:46 am

Sorry i meant Sonato~current model is CKD or CBU?

• Centurio-Cohors Prim on Mar 05, 2010 at 1:48 am

OH MY GOD………look at these 2.

U hv arrived HYUNDAI!

• Diesel on Mar 05, 2010 at 2:06 am

Any news Tuscon come with R-Engine Diesel 2.0

• sonata is very sharp looking…. gotta try the tucson with a test drive…. this is the way to go….

• greenluck on Mar 05, 2010 at 2:30 am

cannot wait to test drive the new sonata! and can't wait to get rid of my aging Sonata. Any taker?

• lowprofile on Mar 05, 2010 at 2:43 am

sonata looks really sharp!! sure to turn heads on the road. reserve my comments on the tucson though.

• no need to wrap with camouflage..lol..i guest they purposely did that..

• Thomas Heng, you are just flaming here.

• Squawk on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:34 am

The Sonata really makes the Camry and Accord look Ah Beng.

• jackson on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:58 am

i'll have both in black please.

• quite a number new tucson in sgp already, have yet to see a brand new sonata on sg road… the koreans sure make an impact

• Babelon on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:02 am

saw sonata and tucson during my visit in Korea last month. Sonata is not really that good looking if you viewing the real car..Maybe you will feel suprise when see it at the first sight, but will feel boring after that..

• tamaki on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:47 am

Spectacular, Tucson totally distinctive and than previous dull, no question kia did a fabulous job.

• izputra on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:52 am

They (Hyundai Sime Darby) uses this new Sonata (12 units to be exact) to ferry star players to the event venue (KLGCC)

• Gajen on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:55 am

is it safe to drive this new sonata?? because like 2 weeks ago,hyundai recalled this new batch of sonatas worldwide…..hhmm…

• skyline cysts on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:01 am

wait n c the kia sportage then make comparision with tuscon

• Hyundai in Australia have moved into #3 spot based on February 2010 vehicle sales (out-selling the local boy Ford). If that is not impressive, I don't know what is.

• whattf? on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:32 am

i say 100k and it'll be this year's best selling big sedan.. face it hyundai don't have the brand yet..

• androndraco on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:33 am

This car (Sonata) is really beautiful car. I really love its interior. I wonder who are the lucky one will own this car…

• Alpha on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:34 am

lolz,Hyundai or Inokom??hahaha!!

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:57 am

my god….it really looks good

• holy shit, thats fast!

• Alan Wong on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:33 am

My uncle already driving the new Tucson in Singapore for a month and I have been in it many times and driven it a few times too. Frankly, the 6 speed auto gear box is more refined. However, it still lacks the power I would prefer. The shape is something new, more sportier looking. Frankly, the built up is still not as refined as I would like it to be. Interior wise, still very plasticky and the BLUE dashboard does not appeal to me. I would personally say that the looks is good but the finishing is not as refined as I would prefer….

• that sonata folding side mirror like m3 shooting star folding side mirror..i like :)

• Rooney on Mar 05, 2010 at 4:53 pm

paul tan terror lehh, see the trees only, know it's Bkt Kiara!…..

• nigttrain on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Now for the pricing policy and marketing strategy. What do you have to do to put as many vehicle as possible on the road? To make sure that people can see this car in every part of the country?

• pulge on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:39 pm

The Koreans is raging worldwide! Nice!

• nigttrain on Mar 05, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Hey maybe NAZA is already formulating a strategy for NAZA Optima…

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:43 pm

these 2 model look nice!

Cant wait to see the test drive report and then have my own test drive (if have) provided by dealer..

• StevenChen on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Congrats Sime Darby doing fantastic job in promoting Hyundai. Perception in Korean made now in Malaysia is getting better. Look at S'pore Hyundai Avante, they out-beat Toyata/Nissan. They are currently No 1 best selling car.

• xavier lert said,

March 4, 2010 @ 4:27 pm

tucson looks like dugong

– then VIOS is a dugong ?

• No way on Mar 05, 2010 at 7:19 pm

korean cars is not good. no 2nd hand car value also..

• Diesel said,

March 4, 2010 @ 6:06 pm

Any news Tuscon come with R-Engine Diesel 2.0

——————————————————————

Yes, i want the diesel too!

• Alan Wong said,

March 5, 2010 @ 3:33 am

My uncle already driving the new Tucson in Singapore for a month and I have been in it many times and driven it a few times too. Frankly, the 6 speed auto gear box is more refined. However, it still lacks the power I would prefer. The shape is something new, more sportier looking. Frankly, the built up is still not as refined as I would like it to be. Interior wise, still very plasticky and the BLUE dashboard does not appeal to me. I would personally say that the looks is good but the finishing is not as refined as I would prefer….

—————————————————————-

Read the review from Aussie, the 2.0 petrol is a bit underpowered but the R-series 2.0 diesel far more suitable for this Tucson, high torque to move its weights…guess, in spore they taxed too high for diesel, hence have to opt for the underpowered petrol….Hyundai-sime, pls bring the diesel

• keyboard.rosak on Mar 05, 2010 at 8:45 pm

have they solve the door latch issue?

Sonata in US was recalled back a week after launching!!

just google it and you'll find the issue

• apamau on Mar 05, 2010 at 10:06 pm

I like the sonata and are driving one, NF, but I think, the Jap, especially Camry, won't sit and see.. their camry already in facelift, I believe their new camry may also be a killer, since they already know YF and Accord.

I believe they will come out something more classy this time, maybe a similar to their LS460, but smaller, or something better in design.

But that still gave Hyundai few more years to gain new customer and make some camry owner jump shirt.

I will also believe that Sonata YF buyer will be much younger, who dare to take new risk.

• @keyboard.rosak

door latch is already fixed. and they resume their sales.

Hyundai's decision speed fast. and they fix it quickly.

door latch problem is NOT a safety issue. there is no customers complain it. it is not happen in any sonata customer. some Hyundai dealer report it, and hyundai decide to fix it quickly.

This is hardly an issue. I think Toyota's problems are just causing every company to jump at every single thing that might be considered an issue, even for such small things as this lock "problem".

Good pre-emptive "recall"…call by Hyundai while in it's very early stage. Not like the arrogance/"big-headed" Toyota had displayed for several years denying serious complaints for so long…

Yeah, and for a pretty silly issue. Here's an easier fix: don't push down on the door lock at the same time as you're pulling the inside door handle.

If I'm reading it right, the latch works fine when operated normally … but if you hold down the lock switch when trying to open the door it'll malfunction. So, recall for all the retards in the world.

Now, what idiot would hold down a door lock switch & at the same time pull on the inside door handle to open the door????

"Recall for idiots"…

Why would you need to hold the lock from inside and try to open the door at the same time for??

Anyways, at least it isn't anything major. Its just a recall for moron that likes to hold the lock and open the door at the same time.

• Infiniti also has a problem, but they do not recall. infiniti car also have similar ptoblem, hold down a door lock switch & at the same time pull on the inside door handle to open the door

• HIsham on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:30 am

everywhere in the world already took notice on the hyundai and kia, only we here in boleh land still closing the our eyes what going on. As usual, Keep BOLEH without knowing nothing.

Even the japanese big player took notice with these tsunami that is coming their way.

Hopefully we here can start open our eyes to see and take notice with the changes around us.

• beeling on Mar 06, 2010 at 2:03 am

Is interestingly to have latest Kia Optima ( K5 ) coming this April as well in Korea then we could perhaps comparing the Sonata YF to it !!

• MBX Boy on Mar 06, 2010 at 2:33 am

Rooney said,

March 5, 2010 @ 8:53 am

paul tan terror lehh, see the trees only, know it’s Bkt Kiara!…..

—————————————————–

paul tan or danny tan? anyway, danny is paul's brother?

• Hisham on Mar 06, 2010 at 2:37 am

How about proton, no need recall their cars? everything in the car is faulty..Malaysia BOLEH.

• SaInT_x on Mar 06, 2010 at 3:03 am

I can't wait to test drive Sonata…am thinking of getting it!!

• Samurai on Mar 06, 2010 at 4:37 am

At a glance, The rear of Tucson looks like Toyota Harrier.

• milanista on Mar 06, 2010 at 5:16 am

the sonata recalled will only happen in americas as the nation is well known for its lawsuit minded people

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 06, 2010 at 5:22 am

sonata looks like passat cc

• @milanista

the new YF Sonata selling at only Korea and US till now.

of course, they recalled in US and Korea.

• We tend to describe a car as 'dugong' if the shape is swayed from the ordinary. So xavier lert, I believe Tucson was ur second described dugong's car, as the first dugong was here 3 years back?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 06, 2010 at 10:53 am

No diesel variants are planned, for now at least. As for pricing, expect both cars to undercut their Japanese rivals (by about RM10K for the Sonata and more for the Tucson is my guess; they are CBU after all), but RM100K sticker price (as some suggested) is impossible. Hyundai Sime Darby is a business, not a social service!

• Maserati on Mar 06, 2010 at 8:09 pm

Its a nice car,but unfortunately it will never be a hit in m'sia unless they sell it for some ridicolous price like around RM 95k-100k then ppl might think about it.

• apamau on Mar 06, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Rm10k undercut the jap with cbu is a tough sell… people may hold and wait for CKD. The previous CKD is 40K less for 2.4, i will wait for ckd or else the car price value kaput 30-40k in few months.

• OpenMind on Mar 07, 2010 at 9:16 am

if the price is only RM10k cheaper than camry or accord, it will be tough to create boom in sales. The boom in sales based on good model is critical for long term success because it will provide a great user base for subsequent service business.

In the past, when the Sonata (2 generation ago) was price at about RM113k for 2liter and RM123k for 2.4 liter, the response was much very good, I remember reading a news article that showcase sonata at that time was the best seller in the 2.0L car category. Of course, that was 2-3 generation ago.

Now that with Toyota especially in trouble, the strategy should be to make it much easier for consumer to make decision which is to put the price to about RM120k (even for CBU) to create a quick sales and capitalize on the existing issue with Toyota, once consumers try this new Sonata, words of mouth marketing would be much better…..

Good luck if they priced it at RM140k, remember it is not about CBU or CKD, it is about subconcious benchmark against Toyota and Honda, if Sime wants to make the best out of this. As suggested, even in Singapore, Avente was the best selling C segment car, in Malaysia , the Avente with current discount of about RM12-13k (now selling at about RM86k), the response is still relatively slow. Secondly, do go out and ask all the current hyundai sales person, how many i30 had been sold? Even the business owner is not interested to sell this anymore, because the profit is purely on paper as they just cant sell the car.

I agreed with Danny Tan that Sime is not doing Charity, but if they are serious about doing this as business, they should have known what is the breakeven point for their investment, I am sure the quantity of sales would be the higher sensitivity point if compare with margin per car. What is the point of making short term profit if the strategy taken is not able to sustain long term business vision.

• waiting for sonata..really awesome good looking! agree with OpenMind about the marketing strategies..

• Tucson and Sonata will sells if price at current model of (RM95k-100K) & (100k-120K) respectively. If near to Jap pricing, Hyundai-sime can have another slow moving model like the i30. kekekekekeke

• beeling on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:03 am

I had already done the booking with hyundai dealer for RM2K fully refundable.

Anyone here did the same ?

• SaInT_x on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:20 am

Finally I managed to catch glimpse of the above Sontata on Malaysian grounds as it was on display for Malaysian Open 2010 during the weekend…It is so HOT & SEXY!

• Comment by Whatcar.com for the Tucson:

Performance4 out of 5 stars

The ix35 is available with two 2.0-litre engines: one petrol and one diesel. The diesel is strong and provides real shove-in-the-back acceleration. In fact, there's so much grunt that it's easy to set the front wheels spinning if you pull away too swiftly on front-wheel-drive versions.

• salmannizam on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:16 am

Guys, due to recent recession the Korean had picked themselves up with introducing new and more vibrant designs with viable approach..Should the KIA 'Cadzena' or Hyundai Sonata 2010 model hit the shores here….I betcha its gonna be a tripple hit and blow to the Jap & Conti Models as these new intros had the best of both worlds gadgets and safety like Kia got its 5Star Euroncap and Sonata aggressively launching its Ace designs and concept models. Like wise in Singapore KIA has had en route its concept design and surprisingly the market is getting hot with the Korean badges than the Jap whom are been outwitted where Korean are producing new gadgets and safety…but the fuel consumption are still a issue..perhaps they could be refining it soon..

• uakehabA on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:03 am

a welcome to a boooringggg motoring environment in Malaysia

wish we have the prior 1985 motoring choices ….. petrol price was okey… car choices was great …. people talking about cars n the industry with passion, reading a motorvehicle magazines/papers was real (car is around to be seen and touched) , now one can only appreciates in pictures thogh we r so sophiscated with web world……(ie for commercial vehicles)…

booooringgggggggggggggggggggggggg ……………..

the have will get non proton…..

the have not will get proton ….

• tucson fan on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

Just spotted Hyundai Tucson on trailer yesterday, there were like 6-7 of them (all white Tucsons). Really nice! Have checked with Hyundai showroom – the 2.0 low spec @RM126,888.00, 2.0 high spec @RM136.888.00 (high spec c/w sunroof, keyless, HAC, semi-leather)

Hmmm… still deciding btw the 2 specs, which to buy? Is additional RM10k worth it?

• chiko on Apr 28, 2010 at 12:09 am

Which hyundai have you driven lately? Those who have never been in any hyundai car (what more driven one) and so obsessed with the japs badges should say no more. You guyz are talking rubbish!! I have the driven a hyundai brand for 8 years now…as a 2nd car. My first car is jap made…in fact i have owned a few jap made cars before. Shame on those who think korean cars are inferior…have you been keeping abreast of their latest achievements around the globe esp in the US n European markets where customers are wiser and more demanding than us??? The japs are selling their badges…not cars. To the potential buyers of the new sexy sonata n tuscon think no more….you are making the right choice. Kudos to the koreans for the job well done….hope proton people can learn a good lesson from the koreans.

• 2 weeks ago paid RM2K for Tuscon 2.4 at price of RM152,000. Loan already approved and was told car will be ready in 1 month time. Unfortunately yesterday Sime Darby Hyundai said got to wait another 3 months time. Currently they hv 70 units of new Hyundai (mixture of Sonata, Tuscon 2.0, Luxury and 2.4) in Port Klang and those are meant for their branch offices as showroom cars. After those 70 units, no cars available time being. This is what I’ve been told. Shocking yah!

• chiko on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Pity SC for what’s happening…sadly those people @ Sime Darby still work at snail pace n surely cant keep up with the rising demand and anticipation…if they continue to work like this I bet the sales of the 2 models will suffer like the recent sonata….only about 450 units sold whereas the target was around 1500 units a year. C’mon sime darby….show us your passion please!!!

• Alitstar on Sep 21, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Wait till the cars are due for service. The dream car may turn out to be a nightmare.

• Alitstar on Aug 03, 2010 at 10:08 pm

I have seen Hyundai rolling out cars with designs superseding some of famous European brands. The new Mercedes E-Class in my eyes must be the ugliest car after Cherry. Yet it sells probably because of its reputation in safety, quality and track record. It seems the same building up in Hyundai. Hyundai is progressing well in the world and I am not saying just in Automotive, but also their core industry in engineering and ship building.
    Therefore I braved to shift my paradigm about Korean cars, not that I’m disappointed with my Kancil, Saga, Wira, Altis, Camry, Accord and MINI. I have also had an opportunity to drive various models of BMW during my tenure with a certain dealership.
    About two weeks ago, I test drove the Sonata, Tucson, Getz and i10. Having satisfied with the vehicles performance, I signed the RCO – for an i10. My wife was nudging me for the Tucson, but I had to later entertain her that we are stepping into an unknown territory, let’s check out what I consider a disposable first. While waiting for the delivery, I read some rave reviews of its fuel consumption on a UK site and was waiting in eager to check it out for real.

The i10 All New 1.25 Kappa Engine
    To my surprise when I got it, the sound of the exhaust, loyalty of the gearbox and swift acceleration did remind me of my MINI Cooper. I love the gearbox keeping gears in lock; making driving at traffic jams a fun thing and allows engine breaking. But I am not at all impressed with its fuel consumption, getting only 340km with 28 litres of fuel, that’s an embarrassing 12km per litre; my Altis 1.6 can do the same or better. So what was it again the UK reviewer said about the 1.25 new generation Kappa engine?
    On other tests, above 120kph I can hardly control the car wondering left and right. Forget taking it to 150kph (which I did), one will have to stop at the fuel station every 300 km, or less. Overall, the car is good – for a City Car, of less 50k.
    On my way back from Bangi, I exited to Cyberjaya to get to Puchong. There is a nice, curling turn off to the toll plaza. I heard a soft ‘tick’ noise and when I straightened to approach the toll, I noticed a two inch hairline crack on the front windscreen, just above the rear view mirror. The next afternoon the crack grew about six inch.
    I showed the crack to the technical personnel of the dealership but they claimed it was caused by a stone chip. Pointing to a speck of dot in-between the crack line. So how can I argue?
    I do know that the frame of the i10, like most other cars flexed while taking a turn. Windscreen frames and wheelhouse are the most rigid assembled components but they do flex at certain applied energy. Therefore windscreens are normally installed with several rubber buffers over a certain thickness of sealant. Thick sealant when fully cured restricts movement and sometimes cracks a windscreen, during hard turns or climbing steep humps. But my explanation was thrown out and they insisted that I’m hallucinating.
    I gave in and opted to have it replaced by was told that my 21 days old car is not insured for windscreen damage. What’s more, the entire car is not insured. The E-cover had no dates because the dealership has not paid the agent for the insurance, although I have paid everything to them. When challenged, the Branch Manager denied responsibility should my car is involved in an accident of any claims against them.

SERVICE APPOINTMENT
    I decided to forgo the replacement until I get the insurance sorted. In the meantime, my car had reached 850 km and its due for the 1st service, in about 5 days (estimated). The dealership was full, so were others in the state. I was given an option to come on Saturday at about 7:30am and wait on a first come first serve basis.
    Now why would I want to ruin my Saturday to wait at a dealership for an oil change? Then I got a shock when I recalled the 5 years warranty.

5 YEAR WARRANTY / 300,000 KM
    Meaning, I have to put up with these nonsense of appointments, weeks ahead and probably spend the whole day at the dealership. Factor in the part where if I were to claim anything on warranty, they I can be regarded as hallucinating for a free job?
    Therefore, will I have the patience for 5 years, to put up with these ‘nonsense’ to be entitled for a possible warranty on my car repairs? It occurred to me not. That in a year or two, I will not be able to resists the fast, immediate and prompt attention of Ah Chong Workshop. In which, will render my 5 years warranty as void. Since I’m not in any better situation now anyway, what the heck. So I said to their 5 Year Warranty / 300,000 KM – up @#%$!

RESALE VALUE
    I am expecting to lose about RM 7,000.00 ~ 20,000.00 should I sell this car. Most of those who own a Hyundai claim that their legs are chained with the banks. They still have to settle a huge sum before they can get rid of this car. Is it that bad?
    When I sold my Altis for a Camry, I was delighted by the Sales person in UMW by offering me the best value, overtrade, free this and that that I fell in love with UMW Toyota.

LESSONS LEARNED
    I was planning to pass the i10 to my son but by now even he is not interested. He wants a MyVi which has numerous service centres in the country and there one just a stone throw from my place. So the lessons learned are that it may be a good car elsewhere in the world, it sure sucks here in Malaysia.

• 1Malaysia on Sep 20, 2010 at 4:21 pm

I just realized you’re posting this very same lengthy msg across most Hyundai posts. If you are T&H salesman (which is very likely), using such lowly tactics only shows that the japs T&H are really scared of the rejuvenated Koreans..

• Alitstar on Sep 21, 2010 at 7:12 pm

By the way 1Malaysia, you are not the mother or the designer, engineer nor the manufacturer of these Korean cars, so dont take it personally.

I just came back from Ipoh on a Tucson, we both (the owner and I) got a f….ng headache from the smell of the overly stuffed plastic trims.

• Alitstar on Sep 21, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Sorry to disappoint you, I worked in a BMW for 20 years, prior to which was with Isuzu both in Sales & Aftersales. In the last 5 years I have moved out of automotive to a completely different industry. I have owned and driven all brand of cars and have written reviews for some.

Based on this fact and your assumption that I’m a Toyota Salesman, just a proof that you have yet to reach a maturity level to comprehend man and machine. Because my experienced expressed was mainly on Sime Darby Motors Hyundai.

Just my advise, you did not gave birth to Hyundai. You have your opinion I have mine.

Anyway Mica Heikinein once said, “opinion is like an @$$ hole, everyone has one”