New Hyundai Sonata and Tucson coming in April!

Hyundai Sime Darby will be a very busy company in 2010, and the first launches we can expect from them this year is the introduction of the new Sonata YF and Tucson SUV, which is scheduled for April. Both cars will be imported CBU from Korea, and our source has also revealed the variants that will be brought in.

The sixth-generation Sonata, codenamed YF, will come with two Theta II engines – a 163 bhp/198 Nm 2.0-litre and a 176 bhp/228 Nm 2.4-litre, mirroring the engine options of its D-segment Japanese rivals. Not only the Sonata’s figures compare very well with its competitors, it also has a six-speed automatic gearbox (Accord and Camry 2.4 have five forward ratios) which is self-developed and claimed to be “maintainence free”.

The Tucson SUV will also ship with these two engines and the six-speed auto ‘box. If you want 4WD, opt for the 2.4-litre model, as the 2.0-litre Tucson will be front-wheel drive only. Hyundai’s Theta II, which is a development of the GEMA world engine, is 10kg lighter than its predecessor, more frugal, cleaner and comes with Dual CVVT. The latest GDI direct injection engines won’t reach our shores however, due to below par fuel quality.

Spec levels for these two cars will be competitive and prices will undercut their immediate rivals, which we take as the Honda CR-V for the Tucson, Accord and Camry for the Sonata. You may have noticed the Arab number plates on these pictures; they were snapped this afternoon as we have been test driving the new Hyundais in Muscat, Oman. Unfortunately, we cannot share our impressions with you yet as the story is embargoed, but do stay tuned for updates as the launch date nears. Let’s just say for now that these new entries have great showroom appeal and are very decent to drive!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• first comment on Feb 11, 2010 at 12:13 pm

this would be the best sonata ever

• dukenborg on Feb 11, 2010 at 12:38 pm

The new Sonata will be worth a test drive!

• khaix19a on Feb 11, 2010 at 12:47 pm

wow the sonata looks cool…i think we will see lots of this car when its arrive at our shore…

• Nice work from the korean..

• Please bring in the Hyundai Genesis Coupe 2.0T RHD…

• Cool….. Korean Cars are making more progress …………………Sonata is an excellent car …………………..

• Is it under RM114k for Sonata? Sell below Civic or give start-stop-go technology or potent diesel engine. Hyundai still a class under Japanese until it proof otherwise. Even after RECALL FIASCO.

• Geekfiredog on Feb 11, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Wow. That's fast! Hope SD prices it right this time.

• jugaus on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:11 pm

i will get the sonata..nice

• seancorr on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:13 pm

U can't be far from me Danny, I'm currently in Qatar now haha. Not bad line up…gonna be happy to see these on our local roads but I have to say their 2.4 engine offers very little improvements over the 2.0 engine.

• Now.. now… these will surely raise the eyebrows of the Japs. The Theta II is a much anticipated piece of technology and I am very sure it is ahead of the packs!

• Nice!

• UGLY….1st

• asura on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:38 pm

1st!

• mohd hafizzul on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Lawa…

• azrai on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm

The Japanese should watch very closely. No more recall or defect. if not the koreans will conquer with their new direction of appealing design.

• Wow! New Tucson price within 100k – 120k?

If lower than 100k better still…

Haha… just dreaming…

• Kevinksl on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Wow…

Finally Tucson II will be here in April.

Must go for a test drive…then perhaps would place a booking

• gegala on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:57 pm

huh!!!..new sonata…front grill closed to honda city 2009…

• anonymus on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:59 pm

a copycat of honda city's front grill…yucks

• Kingz-8 on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:07 pm

SHITTTT to hell wit d Honda city! such weird outlook! But the Grand Sonata Baby is real GReATTTT!!! so pls dun Misuse the word COPY cAt!!!

• Delio on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Nice shape. Hope to see in malaysia

• afoka on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:00 pm

the sonata look fierce, but the tucson is fugly like merge r35 and crv front.

there's a video sonata yf have a drag with camry, it takes 3 sec to pass the camry from the starting line.

Better put Kia Cadenza and Hyundai Sonata against Honda Accord and Toyota Camry in a review.

Price wise, korean car is cheaper than japanese car here, cos Malaysian still want a toyota and honda in their life, they just want the brand, not a catch up brand from korea.

• CSL wannabe??????

• neveraproton on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:07 pm

The new Sonata is a major departure in terms of styling compared to the present model. Clearly the attack is on with the Japs; the aggressive styling cues are aimed squarely at the Camry and the Accord.

I've had the pleasure of driving the current NF, and despite what most people will find as sedate external charm, the car delivers plenty of comfort inside. NVH is commendable too.

But the Tucson, I must say is really neat here. When paultan.org posted about the new Sportage, the cat was out of the bag, but this looks really nice. I'm hoping for diesel given the new subsidy structure. Any chance Paul?

Can't wait for the launch and a full review!

• Satay on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:13 pm

1st, wow, nice car for M'sian choice

• got coupe genesis alike on sonata's lamp, and a bit of Merz feeling to it.

I think it'll be an "ong" year for korean's and continental's cars since the Jap's cars are made for Total Recall. LOL

• omg omg omg I am so gonna test drive these babies!

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Wau!!!!!!!!!

These two model really look great, design alike the Ford "kinetic design" concept. Hope the price is good here!

For the 2.0l & 2.4l engines, both also with dual CVVT?

• i tot d location is in Buraimy in Oman……

• eisyam on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:44 pm

overall i like that sonata…..but the grille need some changes 1st

• kodok on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:44 pm

163hp with 2.0 engine???!!!…eat that H & T!!!

• Annihilated on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Given that their aftersales improved big time, it seems that my view towards Korean makes shall change.

May the force be with you..

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:53 pm

The NF was a commendable response by Hyundai to the Camry and Accord.

Now the YF has the looks to "fix" what possibly the only thing they did wrong with the NF

• the tucson's wheel looks kinda small…would be bigger if the wheel is bigger in size else looks out of proportion ^^

• the front of sonata look like the new alphard

• frossonice on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Paul, check this out.

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/81365

1st image of 2010 Lotus F1car. Kinda cool.

• BrakeFader on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Great car but what matters is price. Hope they don't get big headed and sell at higher premium than camry. Previous CBU Sonata was sold at 160k. Please emulate nazakia that made forte a killer because of right price.

• Hope there wont be any airbags, switch, pedal problems.

LOL

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Well, In 2000-2009, Samsung vs Sony and Samsung win the game.

In 2010, Hyundai vs Toyota & Honda, let see if the Korean still can bit the japanese…

Susihi vs Kimchi…..

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Since it is CBU, we don't expect it will be able to price below RM 130K lar….

Let see if the 2.0 with 6 speed gear box, perharp 5 years waranty with 200K KM, at RM 138K otr, will Malaysian choose sonata over cambry or Accord?

• Car LoVer on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:29 pm

I think the price for this Sonata would be around RM 130k-140k

• Mysticmind on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Sonata design is boring.

Tuscon design is good.

• exciting looking car….if the prices are right, it will surely give other brands a hard time…..

• sonata and passat cc – same design cue and flows.

tucson – damn nice SUV, with boyish-transformer look, unlike the ugly CRV

• jackson on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Dear Hyundai Sime Darby,

Since you are measured in KPI as a GLC, you have to ensure the cars sell well. Therefore, you MUST price this car (Sonata and Tucson) right. Dont overprice it. Dont underspec it. And please, dont think that because the car looks like it well sell well, you then price it accordingly, read expensive. Dont do a Kah Bintang.

• xavier lert on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:53 pm

tucson looks really2 really bad……

• xavier lert on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:55 pm

vbkcheng said,

February 11, 2010 @ 9:20 am

In 2010, Hyundai vs Toyota & Honda, let see if the Korean still can bit the japanese…

Susihi vs Kimchi…..

——————————-

but we still play PS3

• xavier lert on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:56 pm

vbkcheng said,

February 11, 2010 @ 9:24 am

Since it is CBU, we don’t expect it will be able to price below RM 130K lar….

Let see if the 2.0 with 6 speed gear box, perharp 5 years waranty with 200K KM, at RM 138K otr, will Malaysian choose sonata over cambry or Accord?

—————————————-

answer : NO

remedy : buy mazda 6

• naza forte offer the latest tech

now hyundai did the same

japanese cars?

same 'ol tech…

we r suckers to japs car..

• vbkcheng said,

February 11, 2010 @ 9:24 am

Since it is CBU, we don’t expect it will be able to price below RM 130K lar….

—————————————————————-

Hyundai vehicles comes with 5 years/300,000km warranty and not 200,000km

Beat this Japs!

• RedLine on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Wow, Hyundai (and Kia) is improving by leaps and bounds. All their new generation of cars look amazing. I think very soon the Koreans are going to be at par or may actually beat the Japs in automotive.

• nighttrain on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Malunya aku… 'below par fuel quality.' heee maluuuu. If I pick up the Sonata, will my boss bengkek or not? He drives a Camry.

• consume petrol like hell… korean cars…..

• nighttrain on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:23 pm

If the Sonata is priced at RM75k in Korea, how much you think they set the price here?

• kodok on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm

BrakeFader said,

February 11, 2010 @ 8:53 am

Great car but what matters is price. Hope they don’t get big headed and sell at higher premium than camry. Previous CBU Sonata was sold at 160k. Please emulate nazakia that made forte a killer because of right price.

————————————————————

u want SD price it right??..ask them to replace hyundai logo with SD logo…that will do the trick!…wakakaka

• jugaus on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:38 pm

GP said,

February 11, 2010 @ 10:19 am

consume petrol like hell… korean cars…..

——————————————————

Apparently you have never own a Korean car..

• "Competitive pricing" is very subjective.

For me, the Sonata has to match the pricing of the Civic and Altis with similar or higher specs. Only then will it move by the shiploads.

• qwert on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:44 pm

kalau harga ngam, comfirm tak payah pakai pelaris ni…

• super ugly.

• aki_zz on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:47 pm

the front of tucson looks like the nissan gt-r…if you paint the grill under the logo black u might see it…that's just my thoughts…

• Squawk on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Korean brands don't command a premium yet so don't put a premium on it.

And don't dumb down the specs either. Koreans are known for their value-for-money.

• wolfsburg on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Hope SD will price it right and two of them will be very competitive in this market. I won't say that the Sonata will shake the Camry / Accord's market share, but i am sure that it will raise many people's attention to Korean! Just like what the Forte did!

Price it right, spec it right, it will be all right!!!

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Very good example, 407 is selling at RM170K before it CKD. When Naza CKD it, it drop to RM 130K.

Do you see Peugeot selling better? So you see Accord and Camry 2.0 potential buyer shift to 407 because they can safe RM 20K and get a better ride?

In Malaysia, people statr to feel that Accord and Camry is more superior than Peugeot 407, even all three are CKD now.

• Isaac on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:11 pm

i never expect sime darby going to sell new sonata at low price, i30 is the best example.

• top_gunkits (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:12 pm

mr hairpin judge by photo only is not the big problem.i m sure that u are 1 of the stupid toyota or honda big fan,1st thing if compare, alot malaysian order japan just judge by photo and spec also,after get the car want regret also cannot,just act like pround to be the 1st bage car owner.mr hairpin why dun u set toyota and honda a u official religion

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:14 pm

HairPin, What wrong with Hyudai and Korean?

If you recall the situation in 1970…people will tell you japanese car is shit… but in 1990 onward, they are great car…

So, what make you so sure that Civic and Altis will be better than Sonata?

GO test drive you seft and you will know what I mean….

Buy the way, for those still think that Volvo is for uncle, test drive their XC60 and you will know what I mean….in fact, that XC60, a SUV that handle like a sport car….

• bugbear1986 on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:15 pm

yf sonata 2.4 vs camry 2.5 video..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3ME2_liduQ

• DenFire on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:37 pm

GP said,

————————————-

If korean cars still consume petrol like hell, then the people in US and Europe must be a bunch of morons. Products will improve, and I had to agree that products from korean did improve a lot compare to the old ones. If they still give bad image like high fuel consumption, low quality and others, people will condemn their cars. Don't always just talk and think of grandma's story, look to the future.

By the way, I like the Tucson, hopefully it really price correctly, don't make the same mistake like i30, up until now, I haven't see any i30 on road, really wonder how bad the sales of that car.

• Sime will find it difficult bringing down the prices of the Hyundai range

eventhough they have a fantastic branding.

unlike Naza where prices can drop by just changing the Logo.

Maybe Sime should follow Naza's footprint !!!

• Dewata Raya on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:57 pm

face of crab from mars

• apamau on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:01 pm

I don't think the New hyundai sonata will be able to price low unless they avoid tax :-).

Last time when Sonata NF 2.5 CBU comes in early day, even though it is selling cheap overseas, but was price over RM160k.., so I can we can dream on if 2.4 are price below RM140k for CBU, not possible for 2.4.

Unless it is like the Kia where the 1st 500 units are CBU before CKD, then they will be able to price in competitively.

I do hope the CBU come in Full specs, and for SD and Hyundai to do well.. it's not easy due to branding issues and a lot of people are still thinking hyundai car 'eat oil"..

For malaysian, those driving camry and honda, a lot are chinaman, or company car.., for company car, if it was price RM140, and camry RM170, it's still about status..not so much about price..

for chinaman, hard to change their perception, so SD need to rely on new professional generation who's knowledgeable enough to know what they want and what they appreciate and what it means by value for money.

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Samsung vs Sony is on the electronics empire war, not game itself. Samsung bit Sony on LCD, and others electronics items.

And this round, it will be automotive war…

We know the the japanses has bit US, be the best seller since 2006.

And now, Hyundai will start the war to toyota….

And for this Sonata, it is more like future design, the CLS look, a follower after Passat CC.

Madza 6 is look great, but it is sport sedan look. Malaysia market will have more for executive sedan.

So, Sonata with CLS look, with 168 PS, 6 speed, 5 years/ 300K KM waranty vs Accord 158PS, 5 speed, 3 years/ 100K KM vs Camry 150PS, 4 speed, 3 years/ 100K KM waranty.

If Sonata price not more than RM 130K, I will go for sonata.

And remember, new generation of engine from Korean is no longer what we know in 5 years ago. THeir engine is fuel efficient now.

• apamau on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:08 pm

But I think the 2.4 maybe able to whack those Jap in the D segment 2.0, if the price is about the same, say the 2.4 YF against the 2.0E or 2.0G of Camry, especially when in the company car segment as for the 2.4 segment will still be conquer strongly by Jap, until another 1 more generation when they car are really so good that they can price at the same price for the 2.4.

• apamau on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:14 pm

For those who own old gen of Hyundai, their statement is correct as old hyundai really consume petrol like hell till the new engine when start with the sonata nf, which have better fuel tech.

But for new generation who's updated with most of the car news, It still take times to change the mind set of people, even though korean car are now rated the most fuel efficient automaker in US in 2009.

http://www.autoblog.com/2009/12/01/hyundai-tops-t…

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:22 pm

If sime need to bring down the price, they need to CKD it. By looking at the qty that they can see in a year, it is not economically to CKD it.

They shall talk to the taikor, DRB Hicom to rebadge it like Naza forte, they see it below RM 120K, get more market share, say 2500 Pcs a year, and CKD it next year….

To do that, they need a very strong cable connected to "MITI".

• KommeAusDeutsch on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:22 pm

Whoever buy camry/accord would look so stupid to me.

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Yes, Sony loss the game because they see Samsung no up….

Those who always look at history, never learn, and always thing that people will always behind, they will be surprise with all the hand and mouth open…

I dare to say, 3 years from now, Korean car can be treat as same standard of Japanese. After 5 years, they will overtake Japan.

Of course, those Japanses who learn from Sony lesson will do their work and put more afford to develop Hybird, with the hope of blue ocean, make Hyundai irrelevant….

• The new comer Kia Sportage looks better for me than Tuscon..

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Can you see the future? If you always observe what is happen around you, you will know the trend of future….

• GP said,

God, talks about flogging a dead horse. Story from yore. That's no longer true. I drive a korean car. Current models compare favourably with T&H. Read reviews in car mags if you don't believe owners.

Quality and design wise the koreans has improved by leap and bounds. The sales figures in USA, Australia and even Singapore should be fair indication of how far the Korean has improved.

I would like to point out that second hand value is determined by demand. i.e. car buyers, if you all keep buying second hand toyotas and hondas then their price will be relatively high. Much of this depends on perception. Sure Toyotas has reputation for quality and reliability (recalls has thrown recent models reliability in doubt though), but I believe that T&H are way overpriced. Korean cars gives the best bang for you bucks. Vote with your wallet and maybe T&H franchise holders will reduce their FAT profit margin.

• GP said,

——————————————————

Are you driving a Hyundai car?

Perhaps u driving old version like Getz 1.3 i assume….

i got 1 elantra X20 in my home, travel from Sungai Petani – Kuala lumpur with 140kmh-150kmh, hanging out in KL, full tank goes around 760km,

thx 2 the small gear ratio….

I juz want to noe, when will hyundai bring in their Genesis Coupe?

i'm waiting for the little machine!

• and i own a Proton Satria NEO as well…

what can i say is high FC, low quality built up, sound here and there…

onli the thing can impress me is the handling…

• alpha999 on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:45 pm

For most who never own korean makes, obviously they are singing praises. I used to own Atos 1.0 and getz 1.3. By far and large, built quality is great, maintainence cost is reasonable if you do them at recommended intervals.

However, the only obvious improvement that they still lack behind the jap makes are fuel consumption and ride handling. Though improved gradually with each new released model, I dont see much significance. Now if KIA and Hyundai can par or better the japs in those areas, Im sure that they will sell more especially in Boleh Land

• vbkcheng on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm

MK,

Agreed, a lot of people jsut don't open their eye and ear….still think that T & H is the best…

Anyway, at this moment, T & H will win korean interm of the hybrid technology.

If you compare FC of those new model like City, Vios and Forte, you realsie that city cost only 13 cent, vios about 14 and Forte should be around 16cent for city daily drive.

If petrol price raise to RM 2.7 again, that will make forte irrelevant…

• with the recent recalls from Honda/Toyota, it suddenly makes this korean cars look like a gems!

• nighttrain on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Hey! they tested Lotus F1 already.. Paul, can you get some pics? Sorry folks offtopic.

• im driving a getz 1.4. so far so good, very reliable. fuel consumption is not as bad as what people expect

• jeremy0 on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:42 pm

To those who never owned or let alone driven a korean car, pls do not judge from what you hear from people with chinaman mentality

The older korean cars like the sephia/getz/accent are fuel guzzlers that is true compared to the japs.

When u compare spares, i'm getting cheaper parts compared to my family driving H brand. I also previously owned a T brand car which is no cheaper to maintain than my current korean car.

The koreans have gone ahead of the japs the same way the japs went ahead of the americans years ago. The new range of Theta II engines and six-speed gearboxes shames what the japs have to offer in the same segment

• cqdx6ko3 on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Why are Korean cars price higher than Malaysia?

Because Malysia fvcking import tax.

Malaysia goverment making it as a overprice.

(acutally, they are cheaper than same class japanese cars)

• cqdx6ko3 on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:43 pm

@vbkcheng

"like City, Vios and Forte, "

When Forte classified as civi, vios?

In outside of malaysia, Forte is a compact car, civi, vios are subcompact.

• cqdx6ko3 on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm

civi, vios (x)

city, vios

• endy (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm

There is also new elantra coming later this year or sometime next year. Based on the internal & external looks, I think its gonna beat beat Civic or Altis hands down!

• man101 on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:58 pm

I really want them to succeed. It's been too long having those 2 marques (Toyota & Honda dominating the market with obscene pricing and mediocre specs. Roll on the Kias and Hyundais.

• jmg_32188 on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:03 pm

2nd gen Tucson started to be sold here in the Philippines on December of previous year. Its interior is smaller compared to CR-V (and the interior plastics of CR-V is really of excellent quality unlike Tucson's) but it's a practical choice for anyone who wants a crossover. It's recommendable. And it's beating the sales of cr-v (which is now facelifted). But people still prefer Japanese brands over those of Korea. I rode a Hyundai Accent taxi here and I asked the driver how's the performance of his Accent. He said that it's good (because of the large torque of its CRDi engine) but he presumes that it's not gonna last for a long time.

• jmg_32188 on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:08 pm

photos of 2nd gen Tucson (CBU from South Korea; imported to the Philippines):

http://tsikot.yehey.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2…

browse the pages within the thread for more pictures.

• kopi-man on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Just as VW challenging BM and Merc, Hyundai and Kia is challenging Toyota and Honda.

Globally, Hyundai and Kia has been taking up USA and Australia alot, while it still has not been the case in Malaysia due to…u know, our protection policies.

G just wont have the intention to give a chance for the public to drive competitive price car with good quality. Period. They charge huge Tax via this import car. Don't forget the grey AP licenses for parallel importers so they can make money. So keep dream on if we anticipate this car to be cheap in competitive price.

I guess Sonata 2.0 will just selling at RM139K (slightly lower than Honda), and then the 2.4L will see at RM165K (slightly lower than Honda). So end of the day, Hyundai will wont get popular. Since they believe people will buy the car with 5K difference, where the consumer always think of resale value. That is why this "ice-cold" car model wont get popular since they never intend to "penetrate into the market" with real intention, and the stupid (depend which side you at) restricted policies.

• peYno F**K on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:31 pm

typical malaysian who are always thought korean car still the same as before…please do ur research or own one and after that..conclude urself..dont just ambil ape orang kate bulat2…

• The Who.. on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:40 pm

jugaus said,

February 11, 2010 @ 10:38 am

GP said,

——————————————————

r u talkin about those old naza ria or stupid kia spectra??

we're in 21st century.. korean cars improve so much now..

• top_gunkits (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:22 pm

haha is really a nice car,but some of the malaysian with malaysian mind set,say below rm100 i will buy la this la that la,so funny,as my info sd will set the price for sonata around rm140k and the tucson rm130k.if dun want buy korean car pls dun come in compare,pls go to japan car,and put toyota and honda as u official religion.waakkaak

• problem with SD is that there are so rich, they can't be bothered to price the cars competitively or take a gamble and have it to be CKD.

Honestly, if ist priced above RM130K, most car buyers will still opt for T & H due to the so-called realiability and after-sales service. Of course, the realiiability has taken a big hit but Malaysians have a poor memory anyhow.

Don't believe, how many of you ppl here below 30 has heard of "Bright Sparkles". Don't Google for an answer, but my bet is most of you below 30 are too young to remember.

• sohaikiller1 on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:40 pm

The Who.. said,

February 11, 2010 @ 2:40 pm

jugaus said,

GP said,

——————————————————

we’re in 21st century.. korean cars improve so much now..

how you know?from the hype n marketing ads?

• The Loner on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:50 pm

cqdx6ko3 said,

February 11, 2010 @ 1:42 pm

Why are Korean cars price higher than Malaysia?

Because Malysia fvcking import tax.

Malaysia goverment making it as a overprice.

(acutally, they are cheaper than same class japanese cars)

Forget about the import duty. The real thing to bash is the excise duty, where it's higher than import duty. Import duty becomes less threatening in deciding the final selling price of imported vehicles.

• xatomic on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:19 am

For Forte, u still get what u pay for..

The interior and quality is so flimsy

• Mufasa on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:23 am

good improvement….err,,not hyundai,,but altitude of commenter here….normally always bash P1,,,but now they try to compare samsung sony? new trend?

• gavin on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:24 am

haha the koreans have it hard in malaysia especially, below a 100k the cars are champions of the industry best thing ever since sliced bread. when pricing is around 10-20k cheaper only it becomes 'hah stupidlah korean car pay so much better i top up and get the accord / camry, japan car got VTEC got this got that, korean car drink petrol'.

• odok said,

February 11, 2010 @ 10:29 am

BrakeFader said,

February 11, 2010 @ 8:53 am

Great car but what matters is price. Hope they don’t get big headed and sell at higher premium than camry. Previous CBU Sonata was sold at 160k. Please emulate nazakia that made forte a killer because of right price.

————————————————————

u want SD price it right??..ask them to replace hyundai logo with SD logo…that will do the trick!…wakakaka

—————————————————————

Rebadge to inokom…not SD ler bro

• inogetz on Feb 12, 2010 at 1:02 am

The Who.. said,

February 11, 2010 @ 2:40 pm

jugaus said,

GP said,

——————————————————

we’re in 21st century.. korean cars improve so much now..

————————————————

agree.. I own a inokom getz and found it very reliable and very good fuel consumption.. other than regular services, oil changes, and timing belt set once after 60,000k km i've changed/repaired nothing since 2006.

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 12, 2010 at 1:10 am

GP said,

The Sephia came out in 97. This is beyond 2010… Hellooo…. stop living in the past. The Sephia is loads better than our 1.5L Wira auto in terms of fuel consumption.

The truth of the issue is, you slap a tiny little underpowered engine in any car larger than it was intended, and you'd get horrid fuel economy.

My old 5.7L V8 Z28 runs (converting back fom imperial) about 11-12km/L, cruising on the highway. About the same as if not slightly better the wheedwhacker 1.5L Wira Auto doing the same speed…..

• for me is the kimchi will good forward & imporved in a fast pace. as vs some other made. BTW, will we see the Tucson 2.0 VGT here soon?

V8 Z28??? nice car I used to hv a firebird too…. got it for USD1K ~ RM2.5K cheap2… realy used & throw…!! V8.. no problem at all Fuel that time only USD0.99/3.8L!!

• HairPin on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:16 am

xavier lert said,

February 11, 2010 @ 9:55 am

vbkcheng said,

February 11, 2010 @ 9:20 am

Susihi vs Kimchi…..

——————————-

but we still play PS3

===> this is really true.. ha ha ha ha ha. korean still can't match japan

• Mysticmind on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:17 am

4G63tDSM.

If I not mistake, 1997 Kia Sephia are using Mazda Engine and it's a good engine. ( Engine Code B6 ) Not their own (Kia) developed engine.

And yes, it can outrun wira iswara toyota (at the same level) anytime!

• HairPin on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:22 am

many commentors here only judge by the photos….CLS la..looks good la…

if you can't afford camry then buy altis, or civic why by hyundai, why do you have to sacrifice the money just because you need to be on par with accord, camry

at the end it still hyundai….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:58 am

good job

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:59 am

but i don understand why cannot post anything bout these cars? this cars are like launched overseas so long ago. its the age of the internet. ppl are not dumb.

• vbkcheng on Feb 12, 2010 at 3:06 am

cqdx6ko3 said,

@vbkcheng

“like City, Vios and Forte, ”

When Forte classified as city, vios?

In outside of malaysia, Forte is a compact car, city, vios are subcompact

Yes, forte should be different segment from City and Vios. It compare with Civic.

But, this is Boleh land. People buying car is diff from others coutry.

Those who has RM 120K, tehy will only consider the option aroudn there. They won't think Forte 2.0 selling at 93K is a choice and safe those money for fuel…That why I compare City vs Vios vs Forte 1.6 as they price about the same…

• Where is the 2.4 L GDi, 198 hp (148 kW), I4 engine???

• top_gunkits (Member) on Feb 12, 2010 at 3:58 am

totaly agree with vbkcheng

• i dont think the korean give a damn about their sales in Malaysia. they already catch the heart of american and european. malaysian perception wont change a thing…

• libralcl on Feb 12, 2010 at 5:25 am

2.0cc with 163bhp good……!

• kopi-man on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:59 am

I am wondering those who always says Msian drivers a lousy, driving only T & H only…what car are they driving? :P

Drive Tucson before in US from St Fran to St Jose…the engine is horrible.

However, I would like to see the Ford Fusion to have RHD. It is one of the fuel efficient and cool car i have driven. Only is the interior a bit american, and not fancy.

• mohgui (Member) on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:01 am

i thought the bunch of Hyundais got hijacked by the pirates??? someone paid the ransom ah?

• Jimmy on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:01 am

Those who love Korean cars should ask Hyundai-Kia not to give dealership permits to those dealers that, despite charging high for car servicing, do not truely change your filter/engine oil. Some Korean car dealers may actually take out good parts from your car and replace with a rosak one! Hey, all these cheating people one day will get punished by God/Tuhan, likely on their family members. Have you seen all sort of accidents on apparently innocent people? Inilah padahnya.

• helmi on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:36 am

Personally I dont like both models exterior, too many curves and lines. Feels like too futuristic and not match with nowadays surroundings and on the road.

• cqdx6ko3 on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:02 am

"Drive Tucson before in US from St Fran to St Jose…the engine is horrible."

>> Tucson R-engine is a world most cutting edged engine.

• cqdx6ko3 on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:04 am

“Drive Tucson before in US from St Fran to St Jose…the engine is horrible.”

>> This is an all-new tucson. not older model. by the way, older model tucson named as consumer report one of the "most reliable" vehicle.

• 96325826 on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:14 am

People bashing Korean car, because when 1980s~1990s there cars are not great.

But, you guys must know this,

When 1980s~1990s, Kia used Mazda engine + powertrain,

Hyunda used Mistubishi engine + powertrain.

Mazda and Mistubishi delivered their engine to Hyundai and Kia. Mazda and Mistubishi also 'guaranteed' their tech and engint to hyundai and kia.

understand?

It was a Mazda and Mistubishi Quality and Technology.

It mean, Older Korean car sucks = mitsubishi and Mazda were sucks.

Please, face to fact.

older mitsubishi and Mazda were sucks, not korean cars.

btw, Hyundai is not using japanese technology in now.

• Littlefire on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:47 am

So during 80's until now Proton got problem, is Mitsubishi sucks.. As they still offer us Auto gearbox and those Wira, Saga, Iswara & Waja 1st gen engines? Hohoho… Play tai chi very good laa..

• redkde on Feb 12, 2010 at 3:35 pm

korean cars sucks…toyota & Honda are even worst….BMW is the best

• azrai on Feb 12, 2010 at 4:01 pm

The problem with proton is the low production of cars. This mean the break even point is longer than those koreans. imagine malaysia with 29m population while the south korea with 90m population. If 10% of the market already whopping 9million per year, instead of Malaysia just 2.9m. That's the main point why proton slowly to progress.

• vbkcheng on Feb 12, 2010 at 5:34 pm

To be fair lar,

Mazda, Mitsubishi sell those old tech to Kia, Hyundai and Proton. In fact, interm of engine reliability, we hardly see people complaint that Proton Engine "Kong" before 200K KM right? That mean the engine is realiable and can last us 8 to 10 years for normal driving.

The problem we have in the "P" brand is very obvious. It is because of the P's value chain. Imaging there are a lot of blood sucker who is doing nothing but claim the profit from the real vendor of "P". End up, those you pay RM 100, you get the item that only whort RM30.

We all shall recognise that the "P" brand has improve. But then, the speed that they move is not enought to catch the global trend. And worst, those monkey who has failed Malaysian, it take 3 time harder to gain back customer confident. IT is branding issue now. Have you ver hear people say, I just don't want the tunder cat logo…so I go for P2!

• vbkcheng on Feb 12, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Let me remind all of you, the stake holder of "P" brand who srew and suck our blood, is now holding the "H" brand.

They sell off "P" to Petronas and invested new assembr plan in Alor Gajah for "H" brand….

I am waiting to see if "H" brand been screw up again….and note that it will start the effect from the new model that assembly in this new plant. Reason been, those previous model, vendor has been fix and the monkey cannot bring their abang and adik in, only new model can be start develop with those monkey brothers…

• vbkcheng on Feb 12, 2010 at 5:41 pm

BMW, the E39 is one of the good model that BMW ever make…

• vbkcheng on Feb 12, 2010 at 5:42 pm

But, early model of E46 (99 &2000) is killing you for it problems…

• The bottom line is: despite of massive recalls doesn't mean people simply shift to Kia-Naza as their reliability still yet to be proven unlike VW (if many may think Toyota and Honda both d) suck due to recent fiasco).

Many factors need to consider and no single to get a clear verdict.

SONATA only can sell RM120K for 2.0 otherwise "lu pakai sendiri as their resale value even poor than a Perodua though the Malaysian product don't get the best engine from Diahats

• nighttrain on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:43 pm

SD will have to identify the potential buyers first and IF you find that this group will only pay a certain amount for the 2.0, then you sell at THAT price. Only then you can sell a lot. Once the reliability and technology is proven, the 2015 model you can sell at RM147k for 2.0 and RM165k for 2.5. Not right now, no.

Or, you can spend RM3mil on a marketing blitz, putting out comparisons in the same class(and bribing automotive journos), international awards bla bla, without any sureties, of course. You also need to change Inokom to something that sounds smarter hehe.

• nighttrain on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:49 pm

For this model I guess you have to sell cheap, at a minimal profit as to get people to see this car all over the place in the country. Next model you can sell at Camry or Accord price.

• whugnef on Feb 12, 2010 at 8:48 pm

for those who think T and H is the best and the latest korean makes are worse..please go on ahead…and buy the jap makes…i drove a dang accord for crying out loud and NOT even 5 years down the road the car rattles and with problems cropping up everywhere…so yes i think the japanese cars are not as reliable as one would assume…so give the koreans a chance..or if u realli wan something good…then please buy a vw

im not saying the koreans are better at it because i never owned one before but the consensus seems to be that kia forte is the best car in its class now…and their sales are going up in almost every country in the world…so their cars must be good or else they would be bashed…so people drop your chinaman mentality and open yr eyes as big as u can…

• vbkcheng on Feb 12, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Yes, low price with high spec and good quality, get people try your car, get your customer to tell your competitor potential customer.. THis is word from mouth marketing which is relevant today…

Like me, driving japanese "H" brand, but very kind on Korean "K" and "H".

I even believe that Hyndai and Kia will sell the same unit like what T & H can see in coming 5 years time…

• OpenMind on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Whatever price they are trying to put, it is by default already expensive with reference to our earning per capital.

Most importantly, if the car posses the right mixture of design outlook, features, then it be sure surely on price if the brand name is not established. In fact, Hyndai and Kia are really estalished name in car industry, but this is a consumer market with a lot of dimension and perspective when it comes to buying a car.

So, i would suggest the price to be in the range of RM120k for 2.0 and RM130k for 2.4. In that manner, you are targeting those who can afford a civic, altis and as well as those who are targeting a big 2L car at lower price. This is how exactly the Mitsubishi is finding success with their Lancer. It started at RM99k, then RM10Xk. Now that, when the price becomes R120k, the demand just normalized.

I do think that both have the features and reasonable outlook to be successful, but only if the price is right. Sell more at lower price, focus on service, and i am sure when there are more hyundai car on the road, it will be the best form of marketing……..only if SD is looking to be a major force in the car industry for a long period of time.

Good Luck SD.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm

why buy this…when u can buy ford mondeo

• Squawk on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:52 pm

If you sell low first then raise the price instead of pricing high then resorting to huge discounts to move stock, the early adopters (your first batch of potential loyal customers) will not be screaming bloody murder for depleting their car's used value.

• nighttrain on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:22 am

407 also sold at low price, but you don't see it everywhere, Then again, 407 already passed mid life when NAZA put it back on the market.. I guess for the 407 replacement NAZA will put it above Camry and Accord bracket. Hmm in this business, it's anybody's guess how your sales is gonna be, what with the eccentric Malaysian Mentality, heheh. Well, at least for those who're not protected, of course.

• hyunkia on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:52 am

Sime Darby Hyundai should always send some of their marketing executives to read more forum feedbacks about what people think and feel…

the big problem is Hyundai is under this so called very rich Sime Darby which does not care much about sales… not sure if their mission is to help the government to make the Hyundai un-popular in this land…

look at their pricing strategy on i30… it was laughed by people

Hyundai has and will have lots of good quality new cars, but the Sime Darby Hyundai has no 'heart' to plot very good martketing strategies… the new coming Sonata could be unpopular now matter how good is that…

I have lots of expectation on this new Sonata…it is classy design like luxurios car to me… i really hope the price would not scare me away…

• xatomic on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:21 am

Cannot compare Hyundai to the big Japanese automakers like how u compare Samsung to Sony yet la.. Samsung is a on a different playing field, in fact at one point it is even bigger in market cap than Intel. Samsung products have reached world standards that one might not perceive much quality difference between them and Japanese counterparts

But in terms of automobile technology, everyone knows that Hyundai has a long way to go before reaching the Japanese's standards.. There are still things lacking in a Korean car, whether its the engine, interior, handling, character, design originality, etc. And they sell cheaper anyway, so that explains everything. So you get what u pay for

• "But in terms of automobile technology, everyone knows that Hyundai has a long way to go before reaching the Japanese’s standards."

>> if you don't know anything of automotive world, plz stfu.

They already reach (or surpass) at Japanese counterpart Toyota and Honda.

They only lacking 1 thing, brand percetion.

In 2009, According to the US Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) fuel economy report, Hyundai is the most fuel-efficient automaker in America. Hyundai surpassed every major automaker –even Toyota and Honda.
    http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-trucks/…

• engine,

>> Did you know their diesel r-engine and 4.6L tau(chosen as ward's world 10 best engine)? even Japanese can't making this.

interior

>> Did you check Sonata and Elantra Interior space. Sonata and Elantra are best interior space in its class.

After comparing new sonata interior with Camry/Accord. New Sonata is a Lexus, Camry is just Camry.

handling

>> I never read their handling is bad.

Read Genesis Coupe review. Even their handling is better than BMW M3.

According to The Truth About Cars review, "…The biggest surprise in this entire package: the Genesis Coupe’s steering. While the Europeans seem to favor lighter and lighter steering feel (to disguise their model’s increasingly obese if safety-oriented curb weight), the Genesis feels perfectly weighted and precise. BMW’s M3—yes, that one—should take lessons from the Genesis Coupe’s steering rack. It serves-up Porsche-level feel, with just a tad less precision."

character, design originality

>> new tucson, new sonata, nobody says, recent hyundai designs are inferior than Toyota and Honda.

T & H known as reliabilty, they are not known as good design cars.

• Hisham on Feb 14, 2010 at 12:11 am

It really shows how far hyundai already gone. Now they are to topple the japanese. What a nice car especially the sonata, very nice design.

• Arnes-really-is-some on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:49 am

Why can't we see something like this from our proton?

Proton simply not seriously doing the business like korean, and many malaysian still feel sympathy to believe in PROTON, not becos we we like proton of what it did for the past years or achievements (any good one?) but becos it is our home grown brand ! am i rite?

just imagine if Proton is from Thai, and for the past 20 years they feed us with all the cars models with cheap quality and too without proper replacement model in schedule, and many many others craps, wat would you all say about it??

now i wanna buy a new 2.0 local make car, should I get the Perdana which appear on the road almost 10 years d??

I hope proton don;t use up our quota, we all know with the money we pay on ur craps, we actually can get a better pieceof metal from japs, now even korean..

don't take us for granted.. a govt company doesn't mean you have the absolute ACE card in your hand, business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market..

• lots of bashers compare 80-90's korean tech with current japanese tech, and neverending with the expensive parts, high maintainece, high FC, low resale value together with the 'korean copy & paste conti or japanese'

sigh.. what a bunch of losers.. tsk tsk tsk

• better than "accord" sonata

• xatomic on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:45 am

wow lol are u a korean or something..so much passion in protecting this marque

pardon me if i dunno bout the current Hyundai cars now..but i havent seen the 2010 Genesis Coupe in our shores yet. Have test driven the current coupe and although i have to give thumbs up for the design, it doesnt have the character and interior to please. Best looking car u can buy for the money though.

Well every reviewer have their own opinions and it is quite bold to say its better than a M3, which costs so much more. But again, it wouldn't be fair to compare a current year car with new tech with an old car, such as the E46 M3.

In the end i guess all of us consumers will be happy if finally Hyundai can deliver more for less and become the next Lexus story, as we will have more choices

• Niemans on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:14 pm

I am putting my money in for the Sonata 2.4l. Grown tired of Toyota and the Honda here.

• Hisham on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:00 am

Korean no need to keep saying BOLEH or 1 Malaysia or Whatever. They just doing it, not like us just keep talking big. I agree with "Arnes" When the OLD Perdana will be replace or just plain rebadging from the OLD Galant again. The Mitsubishi Galant 380 just left 1 or 2 years in it's life circle.Why proton keep holding the launching? Are they waiting until mitsubishi change the galant generation? What a waste. Billion of RM goes to the trash, still the BOLEH Land People getting the OLD Tech. Same OLD Story AGAIN>>>>

• i believe in giving credit where credit is due, however many bashers are either blind or still living in the 80' / 90' or just plain stupid.

• Hisham on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:33 am

100% agree wit you TJ. I also agree with Niemans about growing tired with toyota & honda, overprice and and actually it is not value for money for their items. Just check the one they sold in US, Japan and Europe. It is higher spec with low price. Now Hyundai try to bring one of the best car around and value for money, hopefully they will be success here..

• gohck on Feb 26, 2010 at 7:49 am

wow! such a long discussion here!

but, … the fact is…. the new sonata will not be here in malaysia until 2011!!

• top_gunkits (Member) on Feb 28, 2010 at 1:18 am

watch out guys, all top guns (CEOs or so) from the three japanese makes Toy, Hon & Nis have acknowledged Hyundai is coming in very strong in the market. Two downed and one more to go.2009 North America Car of the Year is Hyundai Genesis lah wei ! What else to prove? Now they just pluck the fruits of their years of hardwork labour. Anyway koreans are not World War II criminals like the Japs. I support them to take on the world with their products.

• gohck on Mar 01, 2010 at 8:03 pm

vbkcheng : ]]

407 interior is smaller than Accord, Camry and Sonata. It is not comparable in it range in terms of interior space as concerned. This is why most people not interested into.

• gohck on Mar 05, 2010 at 6:41 am

I am totaly sorry! My mistake!

The new sonata will be here around April as mentioned here.

• "it also has a six-speed automatic gearbox (Accord and Camry 2.4 have five forward ratios) which is self-developed and claimed to be “maintainence free”. <— mean no need to do oil change…??? sure boh??

• silas evenstarr on Mar 06, 2010 at 9:54 pm

fyi, Hyundai is World's No. 4 Automaker currently.

• goh c k on Mar 12, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Just view the Sonata YF actual car ( left hand drive ), it is too magnificient to view the actual car, extremely smooth on the body line, exterior look is superb. The minor setback for me is the back or rear seat is really narrow comparing with camry and accord.

• Mohd Noor Yacub on Mar 21, 2010 at 7:23 am

I using both model of Hyundai sonata NF and 2001 model, if the price is good and I will booking Yf 2010 model, becouse now I am looking for another car. I aready test drive Kia Sorento 2.5L and Chevrolet Captiva 2.0. I am not dicided yet which one. And I will wait until april to see the price, hope SD will give the good price for sonata Yf. Thks.

• wow wow wow , 3 new models from hyundai , 2010 the year of the hyundai , don't forget the genesis guys , trust in hyundai

• Vincent on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Any update on the official lunching date?

What is the final price?

• Marina on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Hi all,

Saw the new Sonata and Kah Bintang Jln Ipoh 2 weeks back. Its stunning and a complete departure from the old model. If i remember correctly, basic model is around RM130k to max RM140 maybe for full spec.

They are already doing test drives so check it out. I thought it was super chun

• wow…. test drived it! super stunning…
    the external look ard make u drooling, wait till u starts the car, when d dashborad lights on-supernice features, and when u open up it’s roof. it’s d car full of futuristic features.

very smooth gear transmission, minimum turning radius at 5.3m.
    very quiet and smooth driving, i dont even realise i was way above the speed limit….LOL

BUT……. one big question! will d engine be reliable for long? been told by many especially car mechanics that korean car’s engine will starts to give major problems after 7 years!

any comments?

• mikechin on Aug 16, 2010 at 9:54 pm

No need to argue so much about this car. Let me make a suggestion. Wait 2-3 years. Buy 2nd hand. The car will still be under warranty. And knowing resale value of Korean cars in Malaysia, the value would have dropped a great deal. So, you buy a good car at low price. Best solution to own a Korean car !! I will let you guys buy and I will buy off 3 years later at 70-80k or so…

• Alitstar on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:43 pm

I have seen Hyundai rolling out cars with designs superseding some of famous European brands. The new Mercedes E-Class in my eyes must be the ugliest car after Cherry. Yet it sells probably because of its reputation in safety, quality and track record. It seems the same building up in Hyundai. Hyundai is progressing well in the world and I am not saying just in Automotive, but also their core industry in engineering and ship building.

Therefore I braved to shift my paradigm about Korean cars, not that I’m disappointed with my Kancil, Saga, Wira, Altis, Camry, Accord and MINI. I have also had an opportunity to drive various models of BMW during my tenure with a certain dealership.

About two weeks ago, I test drove the Sonata, Tucson, Getz and i10. Having satisfied with the vehicles performance, I signed the RCO – for an i10. My wife was nudging me for the Tucson, but I had to later entertain her that we are stepping into an unknown territory, let’s check out what I consider a “disposable” first. While waiting for the delivery, I read some rave reviews of its fuel consumption on a UK site and was waiting in eager to check it out for real.
    THE i10 ALL NEW 1.25 KRAP-PA ENGINE
    To my surprise when I got it, the sound of the exhaust, loyalty of the gearbox and swift acceleration did remind me of my MINI Cooper. I love the gearbox keeping gears in lock; making driving at traffic jams a fun thing and allows engine breaking. But I am not at all impressed with its fuel consumption, getting only 340km with 28 liters of fuel, that’s an embarrassing 12km per liter; my Altis 1.6 can do the same or better. So what was it again the UK reviewer said about the 1.25 new generation Kappa engine?

On other tests, above 120kph I can hardly control the car wondering left and right. Forget taking it to 150kph (which I did), one will have to stop at the fuel station every 300 km, or less. Overall, the car is good – for a City Car, of less 50k. And please get a spare rear windscreen wiper rubber. You need to use it more often than the front. Some smart-alec designs the rear spoiler to channel all the rain and dust onto the glass. Maybe the Hyundai club fans can tell us how much down-force they got from it in their wind tunnel testing.

On my way back from Bangi, I exited to Cyberjaya to get to Puchong. There is a nice, curling turn off to the toll plaza. I heard a soft ‘tick’ noise and when I straightened to approach the toll, I noticed a two inch hairline crack on the front windscreen, just above the rear view mirror. The next afternoon the crack grew about six inch.
    I showed the crack to the technical personnel of the dealership but they claimed it was caused by a stone chip. Pointing to a speck of dot in-between the crack line. So how can I argue?

I do know that the frame of the i10, like most other cars flexed while taking a turn. Windscreen frames and wheelhouse are the most rigid assembled components but they do flex at certain applied energy. Therefore windscreens are normally installed with several rubber buffers over a certain thickness of sealant. Thick sealant when fully cured restricts movement and sometimes cracks a windscreen, during hard turns or climbing steep humps. But my explanation was thrown out and they insisted that I’m hallucinating.

I gave in and opted to have it replaced by was told that my 21 days old car is not insured for windscreen damage. What’s more, the entire car is not insured. The E-cover had no dates because the dealership has not paid the agent for the insurance, although I have paid everything to them. When challenged, the Branch Manager denied responsibility should my car is involved in an accident of any claims against them.

SERVICE APPOINTMENT
    I decided to forgo the replacement until I get the insurance sorted. In the meantime, my car had reached 850 km and its due for the 1st service, in about 5 days (estimated). The dealership was full, so were others in the state. I was given an option to come on Saturday at about 7:30am and wait on a first come first serve basis.
    Now why would I want to ruin my Saturday to wait at a dealership for an oil change? Then I got a shock when I recalled the 5 years warranty.

5 YEAR WARRANTY / 300,000 KM
    Meaning, I have to put up with these nonsense of appointments, weeks ahead and probably spend the whole day at the dealership. Factor in the part where if I were to claim anything on warranty, they I can be regarded as hallucinating for a free job?
    Therefore, will I have the patience for 5 years, to put up with these ‘nonsense’ to be entitled for a possible warranty on my car repairs? It occurred to me not. That in a year or two, I will not be able to resists the fast, immediate and prompt attention of Ah Chong Workshop. In which, will render my 5 years warranty as void. Since I’m not in any better situation now anyway, what the heck. So I said to their 5 Year Warranty / 300,000 KM – up yours!

RESALE VALUE
    I am expecting to lose about RM 7,000.00 ~ 20,000.00 should I sell this car. Most of those who own a Hyundai claim that their legs are chained with the banks. They still have to settle a huge sum before they can get rid of this car. Is it that bad? When I sold my Altis for a Camry, I was delighted by the Sales person in UMW by offering me the best value, overtrade, free this and that that I fell in love with UMW Toyota.
    About this “Why buy a car just to sell them later” that some Hyundai die hard owners brag. Well guys, with an exception to being a millionaire, most of you cannot claim the car you drive is yours, right? It belongs to the financier until we settle the full loan tenure and this maybe 5, 7 or 9 years. We are practically driving cars on lease. And the so called “Our car/my car” is a liability in respect to road safety as an asset. It’s not at all close to being an investment to hold on the car we purchased to last for eternity.
    The average car reaches metal fatigue just after 3 years. Some even after 1 year, irrespective to what the mileages are. Even with regular service, we can extend probably the engine and gearbox lifespan whilst the rest will be taken care by the way you drive (I’ve seen how you drive), climate and the excellent road condition we have here in Malaysia.

Most of us don’t have the cash to buy cars like millionaires do, so we need to dispose the ones we have to get another. Knowing that these cars (European, Korean or Japanese) are unlikely to survive time, we take the longest tenure, lowest installments (save some) and plan to get rid of it after 3 years. Furthermore, by that time there will be new model with greater features to enjoy. Why keep an antique?
    After the 3rd year, just after the warranty expires you will notice the trip to your favorite garages will increase, time spent will be longer and the money you cough-out for your loyal baby will escalate. Plot them on a chart, and you will actually see with your eyes how your wallet thins every year. You want to keep this sentimental scrap metal, be my guest.

That’s why most Malaysians with the buying power (the Uncles if I may) always consider resale value of the car they buy. And mind you, we Uncles so far have been successful in keeping a grip on which car has better resale while the younger goons continue to debate on the dawn of the uncle’s car.

But it’s fine if you were born with a silver spoon and actually thinks those unheard off cars are antiques, please go ahead. Cars that simply overwhelm you with its ‘torque’, monster BHP, SMART Gearbox, TipTronic, HeadsUpDislay, NightVision or simply for the Chris Bangle design, or the Bang Olufsen sound system and the facts and figures of the machine that matches your ‘character’ and success. Otherwise, you must be joking to say your Hyundai (or any other car) is for keep sake, which remotely has any of the latter standards.

Again it’s OK, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, fine. Enjoy yours and thanks for your NEW SCHOOL thinking, you will remain suckers for another 10 / 20 years and continue to make Malaysia a dumping ground for these scrap…plastics.

LESSONS LEARNED
    I have just crossed 4000km on my new i10 Krap-pa engine. I’m servicing it with Ah Chong as I don’t see the point in paying RM 250.00 (for the first service as well) just to be entitled for their krap-pa 5 year warranty, which they will some how find it void.

I was planning to pass the i10 to my son but by now even he is not interested. He wants a MyVi which has numerous service centers in the country and there one just a stone throw from my place. So the lessons learned are that it may be a good car elsewhere in the world, it sure sucks here in Malaysia.

For those who bought the Hyundai, may god bless you. For those whom are planning…please for god’s sake, check out Perodua, Honda, Nissan and Toyota first.

• Kevin Lau on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:03 am

Sorry to hear your bad experience with your i10

So far, I have no issue with my old Kia Spectra except the slightly high FC. The car has served me well for seven years before I traded it back for another Korean car. No doubt about the second hand value as it is being dictate by market economics and nothing to do with the inferior quality one perceives on a Korean car. In fact, Korean makes reliable and durable cars. The market demand has make them into the fifth largest car manufacturer in the world which to some great extent superceded some big Japanese car manufacturers here.

Currently, I am a proud owner of the new Hyundai Tucson (IX35) and it handles extremely well on the road and no post resonance over the purchase. Somehow, it has lived up to my expectation.

I found it odd that your service is more expensive than my current IX35. And so far, there aren’t much complaint about Hyundai service level. Similarly, I have walked in on a Saturday morning as well as placed a booking and none of the occassion which I was left being dissappointed. Perhaps I was luckier ;)

I would advise you not to bring your cute i10 to its maximum speed as structurally and technologically, it ain’t a MINI and no matter what Japanese car you can drive, you will definately get some noise intrusion into the cabin area when one driven pass 150km/hr.

Let’s not allow a single bad experience to cloud out the goodness of Korean cars. Even reknowned Japanese made has flaw and require recall.

Good competitions between car manufacturers are good news to us as car owners unless if you are the japanese car salesman.

Just my 2cent worth

• Alitstar on Sep 27, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Also coming with Sonata & Tucson are 3 recalls. Some 139,500 units of Sonatas in US are being recalled for door latch and steering column issues. Also 47000 Tucsons has Airbag occupant detection issue.

I am suprised that Hyundai US is owning up to the problem and committ to resolve. Lets wait if Sime Darby Motors follow suit, or will they say the issue/s are not applicable to RH drive cars…yeah right!