Ford Fiesta in M’sia – preliminary specs unveiled!

Ford Fiesta

If you’ve not seen Ford’s B-segment contender in the metal before, a nice red-coloured hatchback body example is currently on display in Blue Concourse, Sunway Pyramid new wing this weekend starting from today. Sime Darby Auto ConneXion has also unveiled the preliminary specifications for the Fiesta 1.6 litre Sport model:

• 1.6 litre Ti-VCT engine producing 120 PS at 6,500rpm and 152Nm of torque at 4,500rpm.
  • 6-speed automatic Ford Powershift twin clutch transmission
  • Dual SRS airbags
  • Electronic Stability Programme with Traction Control (ESP)
  • ABS brakes with EBD
  • Sports suspension
  • 16 inch alloy wheels
  • Foglamps, rear spoiler, both sedan and hatchback bodies
  • Electric Power Steering
  • Audio system with USB connectivity
  • Fabric seats

The specs list sounds really impressive, as most B-segment cars don’t even have ESP stability control as an option worldwide! The Fiesta’s available option list has benefited from it being a mainstream player in Europe, where safety features such as a good amount of airbags as well as stability control are a must have to gain public acceptance. But in the end it’s up to the Sime Darby product planners to tick the relevant boxes and it looks like they did! It’s very good to hear that finally a mainstream B-segment vehicle will be available here with ESP.

The preview leaflet that’s being handed out during the Fiesta preview at Sunway Pyramid (you can find a copy after the jump) also indicates the availabiity of a 1.4 litre Duratec with a 5-speed manual, but no specs available for that model. What I’m most curious about is how much the new Fiesta models will be priced at, and how will it compare both price and specifications wise with its ‘sibling’, the Mazda 2.

With the 6-speed Powershift twin clutch transmission, the Fiesta already has an edge over the Mazda 2 which makes do with a regular automatic transmission. The Fiesta’s engines are also larger and more powerful than the Mazda 2’s – we’re taking about a 1.4 and a 1.6 for the Fiesta versus a 1.3 and a 1.5 for the Mazda 2.

It’s definitely a very exciting year for the Ford brand in Malaysia, which will soon have a fresh and new line-up consisting of cars like this new Fiesta, both diesel-powered and regular petrol Focus, the Ford Mondeo and the Ford S-MAX MPV!

GALLERY: Ford Fiesta 1.6 Ti-VCT Engine displayed at Detroit 2010

[zenphotopress number=999 album=738]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=764]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=735]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=653]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=963]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Move over VW and BMW!

If this baby Ford is priced below RM 100k, it will sell because of the DSG gearbox! The power of manual with the simplicity of auto. FC should better than most 1.6 out there.

• hahaha……Saingan caldina….very funny lol

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:27 am

Fiesta from Thailand
    Focus diesel from Thailand
    Focus petrol from Philippines

• Toyota people are th on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:43 am

It is the sedan that sells in Bolehland, like the Dugong, Persona or the City, unless they could match Myvi's price, I mean look at Suzuki, they're struggling with their CKD Swift.

• _Zephyre_ on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:46 am

Nice car. Top Gear did a pretty epic review on it that involved a chase by a Corvette through a shopping mall and a military amphibious beach assault in the Fiesta.

Any guesses on the local pricing? I reckon it'll probably be >RM100k, but yeah.

• white looks nice

• jebon lonely ranger on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:01 am

wow..if this car has a pricing like forte, i would considering it as my 1st car..nyum nyum

• jebon lonely ranger on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:02 am

by the way, my chosen is white color with that bodykit

• i will have to agree that malaysians dont appreciate hatchbacks :(

i am anticipating for ford focus 2011 =D

• sirimusa on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:16 am

Beautiful car and I hope it sells well out here.

However, when are Malaysian importers going to stop being skimpy with security options. 2 Airbags? Really? Who is Sime Darby kidding?

I mean, they will be charging an arm and a leg for this car, and they still dare to take out 4 airbags.

This is a shame and I hope Malaysians will soon demand the security apparatus our peers get in Europe and North America. Arf. I'm really angry at such skimpiness.

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:19 am

How much will you guys think Ford will price the 1.6 Sport variant at?

• Thomas on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:23 am

RM100k.

• desmodeci on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:24 am

i think it should be priced below the 90K bracket to gain positive response and reignited the brand among malaysians. Should compete head to head in the Forte in terms of sales if not better

• desmodeci on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:26 am

ooopss u mean sport variant, paul?? hmmm…slightly lower than civic i guess

• price price ?

• as usual… Ford will price the B-segment car like a C-segment… how to buy la like that…

• azman on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:31 am

RM65k.

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:32 am

Wah, this is a B-segment car, more realistic to be under RM90k isn't it? I doubt it'll go over RM100k otherwise it'll be way too close to the Focus.

• theanswer on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:32 am

not more than focus. probably around pug 308 price.

• pulge on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:34 am

Agreed with sirimusa..

BTW, they took out 5 airbags, not 4. If you count the driver's knee airbag for the European version.

No 1.6 with 5 speed manual? Green is nice!

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:36 am

I am hoping it will be priced around 80K to 90K, anything above that will turn off a lot of potential buyers…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:37 am

I am hoping it will be priced between 80K to 90K, anything above that will turn off a lot of potential buyers…

• aurora on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:41 am

hope it to be under 90k, will consider buying this… paul, please ask them to make it under 90k! haha

• mr_3m on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:42 am

Paul,

I think they will pit the Fiesta 1.6 Sport with Swift Sport… price circa RM99k to RM105k…. my best guess it will be 100-102k… and the Swift is feeling its age already – almost 5 yrs old this yr… and the Fiesta is the new boy on the block…

the basic 1.4 Fiesta will probably be going for RM75-80k… to compete with the CKD Swift…

anyhow, now I'm torn between this Fiesta 1.6Sport, the Swift Sport and by end of this year… the Polo GTI with 180hp!!! Spoilt for choice already… but as usual in Malaysia… the final decision will depend mostly on the price set for these cars…

• chun (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:48 am

First the Forte, now the Fiesta. It'll make buying a sub RM100k car decision that much more difficult.

• mr_3m on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:48 am

referring the flyer…

"5-door Sport hatch and 4-door sedan"

the 1.4 is possibly the 4 door sedan version… my guess is RM75-80k

• farhitech on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:49 am

saingan kepada Toyota Caldina . Jika Caldina recon dapat sambutan hangat … Ford mungkin mengatasi . Jangan terlalu mahal sudah la . <RM140k ..

• _Zephyre_ on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:49 am

If it's priced under RM90k, I'd say that's pretty value-for-money (at least, relative to the way things are priced here).

• desmodeci on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:53 am

right…but 'realistic' is less meaningful in this Bolehland..

• blackbox on Mar 13, 2010 at 4:26 am

With the twin clutch transmission, if can price near the 308 VTI then it will be very interesting. Any idea it is made from where?

• blackbox on Mar 13, 2010 at 4:28 am

BTW any paddle shifter for this twin clutch transmission?

• Samuel Schick on Mar 13, 2010 at 4:31 am

now only they bring it in, i've already purchased a swift sports. damn u ford malaysia

• RM78k for the 1.6 is the figured I've obtained from very reliable sources and yes, it is an unbelievable figure but my source is sure of it.

I have to buy him dinner if he's wrong.

• W.ROOK on Mar 13, 2010 at 4:57 am

Paul, Is there any interior pictures?

• theanswer on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:04 am

"saingan kepada Toyota Caldina . Jika Caldina recon dapat sambutan hangat … Ford mungkin mengatasi . Jangan terlalu mahal sudah la . <RM140k .."

u've no idea what u'r talking abt..caldina is not a hatchback supermini. Lol.and pls dont compare with 'unofficial' model.

• wai york long on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:09 am

worth it below 90k with later transmission technology.

• Toyota people are th on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:15 am

I guess most of us will go for Peugeot 308 Turbo, I mean get you a lot of car for that money. I am not so sure Malaysians might want to fork out 100k for a hatchback. Honda Malaysia's Jazz is badly received from the public because of the high price. I heard Mazda3 hatchback will cost around 75k – 80k. Then there's the yummy Kia Forte. Guess I'll stick with the bigger 308 VTI.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:16 am

got any pictures of the car in pyramid?

• arian on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:25 am

Nice car….but….RM90k? naah..wouldn't buy wif tat pricing…90K for B segment is bit overpricing ady…forte would b better…

• i hate car with signal light at side mirror…hate more people who own 1 but not use it when overtaking n change lane…n still demanding signal light at side mirror..off topic

• gollira on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:39 am

Rm69,888 OTR

• is that true. the price +- 70k. I’m going to sell my swift 06. Whoes want it, please reply…

• mitlanevo on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:46 am

price it competitive also useless, 99% of typical malaysians will still worship their god-like japanese brand…

to them, cars like ford, peugeot, citroen are bad…

~sigh~

farhitech said,

March 12, 2010 @ 7:49 pm

saingan kepada Toyota Caldina . Jika Caldina recon dapat sambutan hangat … Ford mungkin mengatasi . Jangan terlalu mahal sudah la . <RM140k ..

saingan kpd Caldina? bro, u hari ni x pakai cermin mata ke???

• since when Malaysian start to appreciate Ford badge?

where are all d concern on poor resale value? high maintenance cost and etc…..

seems malaysian driver improve on their ride choice !!!!

wth Fiesta coming in….expect Opel Astra to join in…..soon

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:22 am

my take on the price….not more than 95k for the hatchback..maybe 85k for the sedan

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:24 am

paul..this fiesta is made in philippines rite??

• zoom zoom on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:34 am

mazda 2 hatch n sedan brought in by Bermaz is only 1.5 variant. boo~hoo no powershift for mazda. if fiesta fetches at 90k++, is value for money.

• Denfire on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:44 am

This is a B-segment car, and some more it is a brand that not so popular in malaysia. Should not be more then 95k. But i like their sedan. Does the fiesta comes with sedan? Beside the hatchback.

• Babelon on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:01 am

RM98,888 OTR

slightly lower than Mazda 2

• Bebelon (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:06 am

same price as Mazda 2?

• joke of the day, "SAINGAN KEPADA CALDINA", Bet to you he might have compared it to the twin turbo version GT4 for the price he mentioned.Think the cermin mata hilang la…..

• ericfoong81exe on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:38 am

What a nice car, but too bad Ford isn't a sellable brand in Malaysia, simply bcos of the high price and less service station provided……spare parts expensive with very low 2nd hand sell off price.

• skiborne on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:02 am

i went to sunway pyramid today, there was a auto connexion showcase, and the fiesta was there, the interior is SUPERB!!! soooo solid! brillaint built quality! and the estimation price would be as much as vios n city, abis lah those japs!

• Brera on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:03 am

RM70K… White is nice

• rasydan on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:55 am

i'm seeing the car here in UK everyday and my god…it is BEAUTIFUL!

can't wait for it to be available in malaysia and hoping the price would be

circa 90k or less. btw, nothing wrong driving a hatchback in KL. you don't really use the full bonnet space everyday. i myself got a kenari and a civic back home. and most of the time, i'm more than happy to take former into the city rather than the latter.

fyi, autocar UK recently did a match up between the new citroen ds3 vs mini cooper vs fiat 500 abarth. there's a footnote mentioning briefly that the 2 door fiesta would've beaten these 3 models…unfortunately, the brand is just not sexy enough to be in the same pool as them. :)

• 'swift-killer' same price bracket as them suzuki.

• Benz83 on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:25 am

Mazda 2 from Thailand as well ;-)

I guess 1.4 could be slightly below mazda 2, mayb around RM75k.

1.6 could be selling at slightly higher than mazda 2, mayb RM90-100k.

• fiestaagent33 on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:55 am

Greats shots of the Fiesta, thanks for sharing

• vbkcheng on Mar 13, 2010 at 10:02 am

1.6, 6 speed at RM78? Sure taipau or most strong T&H…

While one is nice..

• ahamay on Mar 13, 2010 at 10:16 am

my bet on price around MYR 75k to MYR 85k

• escort rs on Mar 13, 2010 at 10:20 am

Reminds me of bygone years the famous Ford TX3

• pontan on Mar 13, 2010 at 11:22 am

this car will fail like all other fords

• rickyll on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Very nice car indeed. I concur with dex, personally I prefer a sedan. If it is priced under 90K I will be the first few to register for a test drill.

• raybrig on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm

haiya..mane dtg idea ni nk compare ngan caldina???funny…

it should be best to compare with mazda 2,jazz….mito…

n to those who compare this car with 308 turbo,u should compare it with 207….haiya…pls compare apple to apple la…

• oldman on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:21 pm

time to change….. people, please stop worship T & H brands

• Ada Ford S-MAX MPV ke ???

• 1.4…likely 80k++

1.6 sport likely 90-99k

• The S-MAX coming too?

• klguy on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:06 pm

with these specs, slightly above 100k is acceptable. come on la, it has more features than the jap, give face a bit. if some pathetic malaysians can spend over 100k for a Jazz, they should really consider tis 1.

• theanswer on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:46 pm

paul, noticed that yesterday focus diesel advert already out in newspaper. around 128k.

• Jimmy on Mar 13, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Don't price it like the crazy expensive i30. Competitive price if < RM100k in whole M'sia.

• m.i.n on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:13 pm

rented this car to travel up north from london last winter and it was amazing. engine, handling, drive comfort…absolute alternative to japanese compact hatch.

i think price range here in uk is around GBP 12,000 – 15,000++

lets do the math then. really looking forward for official arrival in m'sia.

• Mysticmind on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:42 pm

knowing ford, it never come cheap.

but it far away than T & H.

But part of it's also a mazda what?

• carsenthusiast.blogs on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:03 pm

been in sunway pyramid yesterday..

oh la la..red color, i lyke;)

• lchan on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:14 pm

looking at the specs, about 110k.

• lchan on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:16 pm

i notice typical malaysia, they predict price way off the charts?. some says 75-90k?…what you freaking living in alice's wonderland???

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:30 pm

This car is CBU, right? My guess is the price might be around the range of our CKD Peugeot 308 Turbo or slightly lower than that.. It might surprise many if Ford priced it at roughly the price of a 308 VTi (RM94K).

• Eric G on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi= RM150K

Ford Focus Ghia 2.0 = RM 112k and RM118k

, so theoretically, since Fiesta is a 1.6 variant, the price would be between 90k-100k.

• proton on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:49 pm

come on guys, focus are supposed to be more expensive than fiesta.

focus is 110k, fiests probably around 90k.

anything more than that, just go for kia forte.

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm

The focus tdci is 128k+ not 150k. Anyway sime Darby has indicated

a price of about 70k to 80k+ with the higher number being the price of the 1.6 sport and the lower number is the 1.4 manual

• please gov decrease on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:02 pm

wow.. 6 speed auto. bawak masuk oleh sime darby. sime darby pun jual ckd swift dan cbu swift. 1.4 pun dah oerpriced. yang ini 1.6 dengan 5 airbag ngan 6 kelajuan, so mustahil harga sama swift. thInk di Malaysia selagi AFTA tak dilaksanakan, harga dalam RM 90 K – RM 120 K. nice car. Top Gear yang suka kutuk pun bg komen yg baik utk kereta ni

• DenFire on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Wow Pautl, if Sime Darby really giving the price like what you mentioned. Surely this car will be another great value in our Boleh Land.

Let's hope that will be the true price of it.

• Tiadaid on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Paul Tan said,

March 13, 2010 @ 11:52 am

The focus tdci is 128k+ not 150k. Anyway sime Darby has indicated

a price of about 70k to 80k+ with the higher number being the price of the 1.6 sport and the lower number is the 1.4 manual

———————–

If that's the case, T&H will have something to worry about, especially the Dugong!

• Joseph on Mar 13, 2010 at 10:09 pm

What ? If really price at 70k – 80k , Surely a knock-out punch to Vios / City and even Forte…… WOW !

• aurora on Mar 13, 2010 at 10:40 pm

saw the car at pyramid today, very nice car!

they said it will be around 70K-80K

sedan is cheaper than hatchback of course! sedan is mid specs.

I want the sedan!

already book mazda 2 but when viewed the car 2 days ago, made me to think longer and might cancel the booking…

mazda 2 very basics, no trip computer (FC etc), very cheap looks interior.

hope this car will be here very soon.. can't wait. any idea when???

tq

• alfarabi on Mar 13, 2010 at 11:47 pm

any pics of the interior?

• _Zephyre_ on Mar 13, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Out of curiousity, how much is the Mazda2 priced here?

• sunwic on Mar 14, 2010 at 12:24 am

I currently drive a Ford Lynx LS equivalent to the Mazda 323 (one of the rarest car you can find on the road) and so far I havent had any problems with the car (almost 10years old now).

Kuddos to Sime for bringing the Fiesta and not just the Ford version of the Mazda. Sime should price it below 90k to get the buy in from the masses. Lets give the Dugong and the City run for their money.

• BSLee on Mar 14, 2010 at 12:32 am

If the indicative price is right then Ford Fiesta will not give Japs a run of their money: Pug Naza will have much problem of selling 308!

• oldman on Mar 14, 2010 at 12:35 am

70-80k…i expected we could have this car for about 50k…… then it's a FIESTA

• Tak pa la…korang beli dulu…lagi 3/4 tahun aku beli dari korang…secondhand…hehehe

• W.ROOK on Mar 14, 2010 at 12:56 am

It seems by June should be available.

And the price is roughly 70K for 1.4L

77K for the sedan

and 82K for the hot hatch.

• Motorist on Mar 14, 2010 at 1:07 am

escort rs said,

March 13, 2010 @ 2:20 am

Reminds me of bygone years the famous Ford TX3

=============================================

Yes it does ;-) The hot hatch that every student wish to own. Lest not forget the Ford Escort RS Cosworth, the car most likely to be stolen outside your home.

Sadly, when Ford bought 25% share of Mazda, it used Mazda as the platform for Fords in Asia Pacific (incl. Aust & NZ). That meant the end of European Fords into M'sia (Escort Mk II was the last European Ford if not mistaken).

Too bad the new European Fords (Mondeo & now Fiesta) will be CBU. The importation excise duty & tax will kill it from an affordable car to an expensive imported car. IMHO the Mondeo Mk IV is as good as the Camry or Accord, but sadly, it will have to fight the ingrained perception of superior Japanese car mentality here in M'sia.

• ahamay on Mar 14, 2010 at 1:28 am

our bet on it won't be overpriced here since Fiesta is CKD at Rayong, Thailand, ASEAN, AFTA.

Price perfectly around 75k – 85k.

• I've been there (pyramid) today also, the pretty girl in red dress told me the estimated price is from 82k-85k (1.6), and 75k (1.4). Will be launched around August – October. Love the car! ( and the girls too!)

• mr_3m on Mar 14, 2010 at 3:01 am

bring the fiesta sooner rather than later… 1.6 Sport, I like….

• Rulered on Mar 14, 2010 at 3:09 am

Toyota Vios type J is already priced at around 75k, and remember this is kosong car without any airbags even, who said Japanese cars are cheap? It all… perception. Which B segment Japanese cars that have 6 speed transmission? Toyota? Honda? We've been perceiving that Japs cars are better and reliable cars, well now perhaps we should look closer.

• Warlord on Mar 14, 2010 at 3:11 am

Fiesta shld be priced in the 80-90k price range. Saw some Fiestas in China recently.. a truly good looking car. If only it was available in Malaysia 3 years back, I would have bought it for sure.

• appetite4destruction on Mar 14, 2010 at 3:31 am

saw the fiesta at pyramid today.. quite a beauty.. the sales staff rec the price around 65k-70k for the 1.4 manual… but i doubt it as the price at UK for fiesta 1.4 5 doors is around 14k pound sterling….. if what the salesperson says is correct i will seriously consider this fiesta

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 14, 2010 at 4:24 am

realized that i'd read in auto mag bout this fiesta..they pitted fiesta vs mito vs cooper s..what can i say,Fiesta was the best of the lot…top notch handling+good interior space..same spec as we'll be gettin' only diff. its 2 doors + 5 speed manual gearbox…FC for mix driving 17km/l!!!…guess i'll better start saving money rite now!

• audio on Mar 14, 2010 at 4:47 am

Fiesta is a very nice n cool car. Just saw it on DXB road today XD

• Tiadaid on Mar 14, 2010 at 4:48 am

Just saw this at Sunway Pyramid. It's very, very nice. I'm seriously considering replacing my City with the Fiesta, especially after the bad news I got today concerning my car's gearbox (7K for replacement, the old City CVT gearbox problem). Although I have to sacrifice some boot space, I don't think it'll be that big of a problem.

• lkm51 on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:10 am

was at Sunway…

Focus TDCI is RM 128,888 OTR, even on ford malaysia website the price is indicated..

the Fiesta showcased actually is a Singapore version which feature the previous generation, while our upcoming one with 6 speed auto and traction control, the sales man estimate price round RM85k for 1.6…

The bad news is that he is anticipating delivery on 3rd quarter of 2010 instead of 2nd quarter due to the political problem in Thai now..

• HAHAHAHAHAH AVILLION on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:45 am

This baby looks way better than the boring Honda Jazz !! Specs are definitely better~ over here, the T & H specs are sucks! when you pay so much u get so little!!

• HAHAHAHAHAH AVILLION on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:50 am

so if this baby price really at 70k to 80k ..then if there still have new Honda Jazz buyer, those must me die hard die hard japs fans!! or had been told by their parents, only choose H &T for cars!!

oh come on… Ford is better than a Honda.

• Feeqree on Mar 14, 2010 at 6:07 am

Price is between 70k-80k.confirm!!!!

• lchan on Mar 14, 2010 at 7:50 am

i dont see any infromation on a 6 speed twin clutch on the fiesta from UK ford website. Ford in general is always slightly pricier then its competitors, moreover it's definately not going to be rm80k+ for that type of transmission.

• osh_kosh on Mar 14, 2010 at 8:14 am

aah… FORD… hmmm.. how was last year sales?

• asgard on Mar 14, 2010 at 9:09 am

if price below rm90k,this prob one of the best price car in malaysia after forte,wow even 100k + japanese model doesnt hv esp.

• White Jack on Mar 14, 2010 at 4:28 pm

…saw the Fiesta at Pyramid… nice from back, front and side. Legroom at the back is surprisingly wide too. A solid car overall. Dashboard material is soft-type, not hard plastic. Include the HID, this car will hot sell like crazy.

Those salesman are playing "estimated" price to gauge the market response. Most people will be happy if it is priced at 85K+..so the ordering will be large at this price.

Looking at how they priced Mondeo, my guess is.. they will price it at 95K+ for the 1.6 highest spec to avoid over-booking. If priced around 105K+ for this small car, it will be sitting in the showroom waiting for test drive only all the time :)

Let's wait for the official launch price :)

• helmi on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:51 pm

If the price is around Yaris or Jazz, Fiesta will face the same fate as Malaysian feel its not worth buying for this small car.

• GBToyMachine on Mar 14, 2010 at 7:28 pm

Very nice car…finally something from Ford that's not an outdated model in the international market.

Information on pricing varied between the Sunway roadshow salespersons and the PJ showroom…When I went ot the PJ showroom the salesperson there said it wouldn't be more than RM78k….that is very very competitive pricing! heheh

Well, being under Sime Darby does help with the AP issue, and also the sales guy said that its registered as a CKD from Thailand, when its actually CBU

Can't wait to test drive it! :)

• progtfa on Mar 14, 2010 at 7:59 pm

saw d car in sunway pyramid roadshow yesterday. nice car but the interior looks like cheap plastic. the sa told me price is around 85k

• Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Cheap plastic? I beg to differ. The dash actually have a very nice soft touch coating. You can actually push it in. Watch this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gc0GWG41XEc

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 14, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Paul Tan said,

March 14, 2010 @ 12:07 pm

Cheap plastic? I beg to differ. The dash actually have a very nice soft touch coating. You can actually push it in. Watch this video.

—————————————–

that guy is dreaming about rolls royce interior in his fiesta. honestly, i think the fiesta has a higher quality interior than very "premium" cars like the Alfa Mito and Mini Cooper. And according to Autocar Magazine March 2009. The Ford Fiesta Zetec S(aka 1.6) beats the Alfa Mito and Mini Cooper in everything except for power and pace.

• Eric G on Mar 14, 2010 at 10:12 pm

haha lets hope they bring in the zetec s performance kit!

• yarusaru (Member) on Mar 14, 2010 at 10:38 pm

please bring this car in early..i wanted this car soo much..

n pls lower the price oso :P

• tokmoh on Mar 15, 2010 at 12:07 am

Fuh fuh… I visited UK last year, among the first cars I saw at Heathrow car park was a blue Fiesta. So awesome I died. Fiesta <3

Mmm… tentative price sounds right to me… I think this model can finally give the break Ford needed badly… and the Focus diesel as well I suppose.

Now I suppose some lansi die-hard hardcore Toyota fanboy will come and hijack this thread by cocking how superior T customer service compared to other brands, like what happened to another thread. Even name calling and bitching to ppl not in agreement with them. So…

inb4 Toyota fanboys bitching :3

I think it has begun… Fiesta uses cheap plastic? hohoho

• klguy on Mar 15, 2010 at 12:30 am

paul, got any pic of the interior? i wander if the hi spec comes with auto climate.

• Maserati on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:09 am

Definately between RM 95k – RM 110k..

Nice car but wont sell well in M'sia

• YeapyEvo on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:58 am

It is a CKD from Thailand, certainly it must be cheaper than Pug 308 and Kia Forte if SIme plan to sell the car in Malaysia.

• Tiadaid on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:56 am

Maserati said,

March 14, 2010 @ 5:09 pm

Definately between RM 95k – RM 110k..

Nice car but wont sell well in M’sia

———-

I doubt it. Surely the sales people at Pyramid would find that people would buy the car if it's in the 70-85K range. If it doesn't sell even at that price, well just goes to show how Malaysians are too badge conscious, willing to buy the Dugong without ESP etc, while slagging Proton for not having ESP etc.

• elite on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:08 am

Wish that it is the size of 308.

• sick&tired on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:19 am

Not even 1 picture of the interior!?

• Tiadaid on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:52 am

Paul Tan said,

———

If I may ask, what's the advantage of having soft touch plastic dashboard instead of the usual hard plastic?

• Paul Tan on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:55 am

Feels more upmarket? It IS more upmarket actually since there's more cost. I don't like the feel of a hard dashboard. I have to admit you caught me there – everyone I know loves soft dashboards. No one has asked me the 'benefit' before. No benefit other than for the owner to feel good I guess, or maybe if your head slams against the dash it will hurt less haha.

• scottloeb on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:55 am

paul, are you sure it's Instrument Panel (IP) is slush moulding? Ford really gone for the kill isnt it? How about the 'I want Freedom' Mazda 2? is it the same?

• MBX Boy on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:33 am

h2k said,

March 13, 2010 @ 8:56 am

1.4…likely 80k++

1.6 sport likely 90-99k

————————

I tend to agree with h2k. I think final pricing will be like that. Meaning, no way i will buy it.

I wished 1.4 is RM40k and 1.6 is RM55k. Bloody g-tax!! Almost half the price of my current new car is tax to the g! Really bo kam guan.

• MBX Boy on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:34 am

BTW, the dash is really really cun! Wayy cun-ner than the new Mazda2's dash.

• even if its gam gam under 100k….its way better than a full spec city or dugong….im sure it can tapao them…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:04 am

Tiadaid said,

March 14, 2010 @ 9:52 pm

Paul Tan said,

———

If I may ask, what’s the advantage of having soft touch plastic dashboard instead of the usual hard plastic?

———————————-

when an accident occurs the plastic won't snap and pierce through your leg.

• Vbkcheng on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

When will be the official lauching date? When can get the car…They have to play rushing game, 1 month after Madza 2 will still get some of M2 customer to swith to them if the price is at RM80K range…

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm

talk to their salesgirl at sunway..she said expected launch date in 3rd-4th quarter this year..after sitting in Fiesta,i felt myvi interior is bigger..but build quality+material definitely fiesta better..if under 80k i think its worth to buy

• ckcspice on Mar 16, 2010 at 4:47 pm

very good car no doubt…much better than the T&H models obviously..but this is bolehland…not sure if the average rakyat here got the sense n taste to appreciate real motoring goodness….resale value, maintenance costs, bla bla bla will alwiz take precedence…tats y so many T&H on the roads..

• intermilan on Mar 16, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Auto Connexion should launch the Fiesta ASAP. Launching it mid-year is so waste of time. But I reckon their hands are tied to the schedule.

At least they will beat the lauching of Naza/Peugeot T33 (207 Sedan), which depending on final price might not be able to complete with the fresh Fiesta.

This is basically a pretty / very nice car to look at. And drive well to I heard!

Indicate price of RM75K – RM85K is good, but expect the 1.6L will cost very very near to RM85K. Sport version might cost more. We all can only hope they'll have the courage to price it as low as possible (and gain more presence on the road + economic-of-scale advantage).

But i'm not counting yet. Good news, Auto Connexion has somewhat prove that they are willing to [play the price war game (i.e .the recent Focus TDCI price is quite competitive). But much more is expected, okay.

Sales of the the Fiesta should be a breakthrough (for a Ford passenger vehicle) as it was amongst the first of many 'new' Ford that deserved to be a success and knock some senses to the masses, even over here, the land of the rising sun worshipper.

• Robert Tan on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Well, there was an article that i read which I am sure explains why cars like the fiesta and focus find it hard to compete with altis, cios, city etc.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/driving/jeremy_c…

• If price at 85k, will sells like goreng pisang…..esp..etc…take that T & H…bring in the fiesta econatic diesel which is more frugal than a Prius and sell it at 80K…Go Ford

• _Zephyre_ on Apr 02, 2010 at 6:31 pm

http://www.ford.net.my/fiesta/index.html

Recently found that from Paul’s Twitter, but wow, that’s some seriously competitive pricing.

• Hazriq on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:17 pm

If the price between 80k to 90k, which one do you prefer?
    VIOS 1.5??
    Mazda2 1.5??
    Ford fiesta 1.6??

• Nice car.. but most important after sales service. i mean service centre and part price.
    Dont be like Naza. Cheap car but making profit behind those thing.

• Baloot on Apr 08, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Nice! I love this car.

• nikita on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:45 pm

The car specs and the exterior is good but the interior looks weird. Just like driving the alienship on the road. I can’t accept the centre dashboard…

• Ash Menon on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Let me be the first one to thank you, Paul, for those amazing pictures. My mouth is actually watering at how good this car looks!

Here’s hoping they keep the price to a sane (or insane, considering the spec list) level.

One question though, has the powershift twin clutch system been implemented on any other cars here in Malaysia? I ask because I’d worry about maintenance costs for a new engine technology.

• Robert Tan on Apr 13, 2010 at 7:48 am

Powershift gearboxes have been implemented in Malaysia by Volvo beginning with their Volvo S40.

Ford also has it installed in their Focus TDCi but these two gearboxes are different from the powershift in the Fiesta since the gearbox in the Fiesta uses a dry clutch and supposedly it would be maintenance free.

• kento on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:45 pm

This would be a nice car….the price around 75-85k, just received sms form Ford PJ. Can consider to buy one hahaha..

• seen it touched it but could not wait to drive it

• seen it touched it but could not wait to drive it. sor far i like almost everything bout. smaller to 308 in which i should not hv compared but i cant help it. i drove one :) but yeah looking forward to see it otr then i’ll decide :)

• btw you may book it now for just RM500.00 already asked at midvalley autoshow today

• paradop on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:22 pm

Spec – 1.6 Sports 5-door Hatchback
    1.6 liter Ti-VCT
    120PS@6000RPM
    152Nm@4050 RPM
    6-speed Dual-Clutch
    ESP/ABS/dual SRS/ISOFix
    RM84,888

Spec – 1.6 Sedan LX
    1.6 liter Ti-VCT
    120PS@6000RPM
    152Nm@4050 RPM
    6-speed Dual-Clutch
    ESP/ABS/driver SRS/ISOFix
    RM79,888

Spec – 1.4 5-door Hatchback
    1.4 liter
    96hp@6000RPM
    128Nm@4050RPM
    5-speed manual
    ESP/ABS/driver SRS/ISOFix
    RM73,888

• Paul,

Could you please comment on the spare part prices and maintenance cost?

And also the second hand value probably after 5-10 years?

• edwin0000 on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:18 pm

2nd ford lynx 1.6 isit worth to buy? any comment for the spart part and the maintenence cost.