The Exora My Unbeatable Family reality show on 8TV – starts in May 2010

Proton Exora

I came across this interesting project by Proton while surfing some forum threads on the Cari Chinese forums which had referred to my blog. Exora My Unbeatable Family is a family reality challenge TV series promoted and organized by Proton Edar Sdn Bhd. It will run beginning the month of May 2010. Any Malaysian who can speak Mandarin can join, but you have to join as a family that consists of no less than 5 family members aged between 18 to 50. The Program will feature families competing in weekly challenges involving the Proton Exora. During the weekly episodes, families that fail to complete the challenges will be eliminated.

Proton ExoraBefore anyone gets outraged about the Mandarin speaking requirement, the show will be aired on 8TV and it will be done in Mandarin thus the need to be able to speak and understand Mandarin. You don’t have to be Chinese to enter though – there are a lot of non-Chinese who can speak Mandarin these days, as well as a lot of Chinese who cannot speak Mandarin!

The grand prize winner will win a Proton Exora H-Line while 2nd place and third place winners will get RM5,000 and RM3,000 respectively. There will be a total of 6 families ultimately chosen for the TV show so the remaining three participating families will get RM1,000 each.

If you would check the show out, it will be aired every Sunday on 8TV from May 2010 onwards. It will consist of 7 episodes of which 6 are half an hour slots while the final episode is a 1 hour finale where only the finalist 3 families will be featured. More info about the show including a trailer video can be checked out at ProtonExora.TV

The Exora My Unbeatable Family reality show on 8TV – starts in May 2010

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AE86 (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 6:03 pm

omg… the advertisement look a bit gay… anyway those who are interested in proton exora can go participate.. of course for those who can speak chinese..

• not chinese bro.. mandarin. I have lot of chinese friends who cannot read/write mandarin because they went to sekolah kebangsaan but they can speak "broken" mandarin (mandarin + hokkien + cantonis)

• Hypocrite on Mar 30, 2010 at 6:25 pm

interesting to hear from those.

• Charger (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 6:30 pm

It's good to see that Proton's marketing is putting some effort into promoting this particular MPV. :)

• more interesting is to understand why they make the move such as this..go figure..

• Vbkcheng on Mar 30, 2010 at 6:43 pm

In fact, I agreed that this model is value for money… It just that 1.6 is a bit under power lor…

If P1 put in turbo, to make it around 160 HP..that should be great for this model..

• theking on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:14 pm

I dun agree with your statement that exora 1.6 campro cps is underpower bcoz in reality the power is adequate and i am an exorian too.

• deGonggok on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:37 pm

1Malaysia!!!

• kimi_ on Mar 30, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Why only chinese can enter, how aboout malay!!!!! whatlah proton….1 Maalaysia my ass

• Charger (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Paul Tan stated "Mandarin speaking", not only "Chinese" can enter the contest. Aiyo…

• bashbash on Mar 30, 2010 at 11:25 pm

duh..i think u can read properly..are u?

i give u a chance to correct ur statement by reading the post again…

• emmeth on Mar 30, 2010 at 11:50 pm

the article clearly mentions the program is looking for mandarin-speaking participants.

perhaps english is a challenge for you too?

• initial R on Mar 31, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Kimi…. clearly that u are blind… Paul Tan have stated “Mandarin speaking” mean anyone that can speak mandarin can enter the contest… Now not only chinese can speak "mandarin", also india, malay, even "Mat Salleh" also can speak "mandarin"… this not a racist but the fact is it is 1 Malaysia program that not only in Malay or English but also others converse…. even now chinese TV program have been seen by non chinese….

• Darth Vedder on Apr 01, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Stupidd!!

• xu wen chao on Mar 30, 2010 at 9:51 pm

hey kimi_says, anybody can enter as long you can converse in mandarin. stupid..

• adijb on Mar 31, 2010 at 12:59 am

Wonder why Manderin and not English? Well, hopefully, in the future they will have one in English.

• Hypocrite on Mar 31, 2010 at 2:32 am

i'm realllly tempted to say something reallly racist here. but i wont, same like others who wont even care to comment. haha

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 31, 2010 at 4:17 am

looks like a stupid show

• Tracks on Mar 31, 2010 at 6:10 am

Fact is Proton Exora is underpower. It doesn't feel like it because of its short gearing. As a result, the fuel economy sucks.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 31, 2010 at 6:23 am

Can someone share how thrifty or thirsty Exora is?

Will this show shows this?

• Jarum on Mar 31, 2010 at 8:11 am

Of course la, P1 is targeting the Exora to the Chinese potential buyers. How many Chinese do you see buying an Exora. A handful only.

At least, its certain that Marketing team in P1 is really working hard.

• emmeth on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Had seen 1 Singapore-registered Exora (Singaporean chinese family) in Johor Bahru.

• mystk on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:17 am

ho humm…