Prodrive and Lola not entering Formula 1 in 2011

The FIA recently invited possible entrants for the 2011 Formula 1 season to register their interest, but the recruitment drive wasn’t too successful. The deadline is up, and apart from former GP2 team Durango, no other party is fighting for the 13th slot vacated by USF1. Lola and Prodrive, who both applied for a place in this year’s grid but were unsuccessful, declined the offer.

Race car manufacturer Lola feels there is not enough time to be ready for the start of the season. “A 2010 entry under the cost capped and performance balanced criteria was perfect for Lola. We already have F1 standard facilities at our headquarters in Huntingdon. Sadly our well-developed 2010 F1 project, which included a significant wind tunnel programme, had to be frozen in June 2009. The recently announced applications for 2011 has left us with insufficient time to prepare for what would be a quite different programme,” owner Martin Birrane told Autosport.

Prodrive on the other hand, doesn’t believe it can be competitive in F1 and will instead focus on a return to the World Rally Championship next year.

“As expected, we’ve witnessed the financial and technical challenges that the new teams have faced this year in just getting to the grid, let alone being competitive and whilst I have enormous admiration for their efforts I don’t believe this is an appropriate strategy for Prodrive or Aston Martin to adopt.

“However, I have always made it very clear that the timing for a Prodrive entry would be judged on two criteria: that we could be competitive and that the business case would make it a financially viable proposition. Today, if we were to adopt the strategy of starting a new team, I don’t believe it is possible to meet these two conditions,” boss David Richards said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mr_3m on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:31 pm

May be another “Malaysia Boleh” outfit want the slot? After all we dont mind making losses…

unlike Prodrive boss, David Richards, who speaks and thinks with good common (and business) sense.

• mr_3m on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Here’s some suggestions:

PDRM F1 (Pro Drive Racing Malaysia.. mind you!)

BeEnd F1

1Malaysia Boleh F1

or may be Perodua F1 (the other major Malaysian company not yet involve in F1 as you all know Proton (&Lotus), Naza, Maxis, Petronas, AirAsia, 1Malaysia Inc. all already in F1 circus… in some way or another…

• Ford_GT on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Good news for die hard WRC fans here claiming that Subaru will entering again into championship next year.

• glacius_25150 on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:05 pm

i wonder why stefan still not accepted in f1? what a shame..

• The Steak on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Good move for both of them. Why race if not ready and making impact since both are prevalent names in motor sports.

Too bad Prodrive is not racing though, I’m quite excited to see how they does in F1.

• monash.u on Apr 16, 2010 at 4:22 pm

where’s STEFAN GP entry? toyota chassis goes to waste???

• Persota on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:13 pm

“However, I have always made it very clear that the timing for a Prodrive entry would be judged on two criteria: that we could be competitive and that the business case would make it a financially viable proposition. Today, if we were to adopt the strategy of starting a new team, I don’t believe it is possible to meet these two conditions,” boss David Richards said

GOOD ADVICE – Read and learn LOTUS

• Mysticmind on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:49 am

Yes? just like everyone said running Airlines need much money?
      Sorry, but Tony did in the other way btw.

Better do something than do nothing.

• Squawk on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:51 pm

With them screwing with the rules every year, not many will want to take the risk of extra expenditure to conform.

• the fighter on Apr 17, 2010 at 1:28 am

its sad since Lola and Prodrive are big name in motorsport …

• Mysticmind on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:51 am

Perodua F1? Lol!..

U mean racing on bumpers? lol!

They only know designing bumpers maa..

• save d earth!
    stop racing cars…
    co2 will destroy our ozone..