Porsche recalls every single Panamera due to seatbelt issue

Porsche has revealed a seatbelt issue that affects the Panamera 4-door coupe which resulted in the recalling of every single Panamera worldwide. This means that the recalling should include the units that are here in Malaysia as well.

Apparently the front seatbelt mounts may fail if the front seats are pushed or adjusted to an extreme forward position. To date approximately 11,324 Panameras have been sold worldwide. Luckily for Porsche no injuries or deaths have been reported.

Porsche AG is currently being owned by Porsche SE which holds 51% while the remainder is being held by Volkswagen.

UPDATE: We have received confirmation that all 11,324 Panameras manufactured up to 25th February 2010 will be recalled along with units sold in Malaysia.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:01 am

For the premium price you paid for this… still got problem ah?

• i’m sure malaysian car are not affected, you see, Toyota and honda recall did not affect us as well.

Perhaps Malaysian are getting the best car in the world, better than US market.

• Actually, its the other way around. Our local cars are the worst one, up to a level that doing recalls are pointless. Might as well replace the whole car!

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Japanese cars are as bad if not worse! Next car I buy won’t be Japanese at all! (Actually the next car I’m buying is the Savvy, but that’s my sister’s car). I have had it up to here with Honda cars and its so-called reliability!

• hilmi on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:21 pm

yup. .me too.. honda gearbox unreliable nowdays.. haishh.. expensive to own.. even more expensive to maintain..

• Why savvy? Wait for the ford fiesta, not bad u know.. B-Segment hothatch.

• Tiadaid on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:54 am

Savvy’s for my sis. I’m paying for it so I can’t afford to buy another car at the moment. But am seriously considering Fiesta.

• Yea, for that price range, savvy def safer than tin milo can viva.

• wuttaheck on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:32 am

or maybe they dont even care about us…haha
      at least my persona, or even my 8 y.o satria dont have this problem..haha

• How you know dun have problem? They could have just did what you just said, dun care bout you and never informed got such problem, until that day comes, and they say, user/car fault, got warranty, scare wat? Toyota tried such stance and paid dearly… but in msia, there’s no such kind of rules to deter such actions.

• see..typical malaysian cant stop bashing bwt malaysian car..heh?imagine if proton hve the same seat-belt probs..all basher will bash like hell ..

• Someone on Apr 29, 2010 at 1:03 am

Stop calling people bashers… you can be called a typical proton fanboy.
            In my opinion manafacturers that recall are the best ones because they care about they’re customers. It is almost impossible for any big car manufacturer to have absolutely no problem with their cars.

• kopi-man on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:05 am

it depends how they see it. face the reality or hide the head in the sand for those manufacturers..oopps, i forget, we dont even have a safty standard of the car, our lives are cheap. accident will never be a quality problem in bolehland.

• well, anything happens, they will say driver problem, bawak laju laju, skill tak bagus, lumba kat jalan raya.

But they never mention anything about CAR problem ^^

• Hahahha.. yea lo..
          That’s my point oso.. In Bolehland, there are just some company we can’t touch even if got problem.

• chaos on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:56 am

Made in Malaysia car is never good enough and can never excel the European Safety…People should wake up and realize the importance of passive and active safety and body strength.

Government Transport and Road Safety Department should educate the market

Safety standard, fuel consumption and emission level should be published by manufacturers. Some people spend stupid amount of money for nothing.

• watever on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:55 pm

then how the hell does Proton sell their car in UK ?

• aksMs on Apr 28, 2010 at 2:49 pm

I would say the RTD should be educated first! Even among them got different set of interpretation of their own rules and regulation. So many loopholes and grey areas.

Once they are educated then they can educate the general public and crucially, the automaker!

• alooo…most of the time they claimed driver no good cause bawak laju2 in bolehland. Seldom they said about road condition (due to lack of maintenance from…errr…JKR?) and none said about car condition. I bet if someone start saman local manufacturer, our automotive industry could gulung tikar, and a lot or workers’ family could living on a street begging for food. Luckily our industry is protected similar like our lawyers and doctors…

• Mr. MB on Apr 28, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Locals get low quality n the better quality is the ones sold in foreign country….this goes for most companies…tats why we here were not affected by the recalls before..cos we are foreign to them u see

• Our Toyota, Isuzu, Honda (certain models), Suzuki, Mitsubishi all are CBU from Indonesia and Thailand. Whahahahaha. Our neighbours build better cars.

• OMG!! I just saw one in Mont Kiara yesterday… now it has to be recalled…what a disappointment

• Recall – Repair – Resent back to owner… it’s gonna be back in a flash.

• anti-Porsche on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:37 am

Are you sure? Waiting period to have your car done at Glenmarie is at least 1 month, if you call that “… a flash”.

• Wow.. how u know, u have a Panamera issit? But u anti Porsche woh..

BTW, It’s not written on Paul post, of coz i dunno it gonna take 1 month la. It’s not like there are a lot of Panamera’s here. They usually recall it cause they have a fix for it. My experience is 2 weeks gao tim. But different place/manufacturer different story.

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:32 am

2010 should be known as the year of the recall…

• trav_da_man on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:52 am

recall is the new pink for today’s world of motoring!!!!

• so then its ok-lor if there are a lot of problem from RM50~60k car rite? :)

• TOTAL RECALL

• carsut on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:13 am

that insane, for million price car…

• fairsyah on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:45 am

is it really a seatbelt prob or a decoy one… ???

• chiewwl on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:58 am

well.. after many recalls frm diff manufacturers..

Rakyat should ‘proud’ of proton and perodua for being able to produce ‘top quality’ vehicles…hardly any ‘recalls’ frm their (cloned/rebaged/etc…) ‘product’…

• p4k4abu on Apr 28, 2010 at 12:26 pm

“Luckily for Porsche no injuries or deaths have been reported.”

This kind or recall i.e. preventive type — before any injuries or death happened — is good for the company’s image. Most owners will be very pleased — “Oooh… I didn’t know something like that could happened. Thank you for fixing it …. bla bla bla … ” — That kind of feeling, if you know what I mean. For expensive cars like this, the owners are probably treated like VVIP…. with telephone call followed by house visit probably.

Forced recall…. now that’s something else …. and to be worried that anything can happened while waiting for the date of appointment to fix the fault ….

• mitlanevo on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:33 pm

should recall and demolish as well, awful design…

• turbonatics on Apr 28, 2010 at 3:19 pm

see…even well-known porsche recall because of technical faulty,what a shame

• fffuuuhh.
    luckily i bought the canyenne S instead of this. Saved me some money also. =PPPP

• Save it la.. even if u wan to buy the panamera, there ain’t any for u to buy coz all sold out in malaysia atm.

• azrai on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:11 pm

I thought only proton have problems just like what it says in the comments before.

• Luckily I couldn’t afford to buy Porsche…nor any non-local brands for that matter…

• Brape biji lah sgt panamera on the road skrg

• S.Roma on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Dear All,

FYI

There could be some possiblities :

1. Even this kind of brand also have prob, don mention Malaysia Product la. Could be worse.
    2. Or, Porsche mislook this problem, and resulting recall, while Proton is very carefull, because wanna gain back our trust.

Dono which 1 le !

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:38 pm

this is why you should buy a quattroporte

• R.Shafie on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:50 pm

ceh..semua kutuk2 je kete mlysia. korang yg kutuk2 nih, tau x pe yag engineers n workers buat untuk mghasilkan sebiji kete? korang yg xamik kos engineering xkan tau benda2 macam ni.if any one want to kondem mlysia car mnufacturer..jz answer this question first:

what is EOM for mechanical vibration in cars?

kalau xdapat jwab..jgn mndai2 kutuk brand mysia.

{kalau jahil, jgn tjukkan kejahilan tu.}
    {org jahil bertengkar sesama jahil..terpesong nanti..}

regards,
    UMP engineer

• My God!! What kind of engineer that writes rojak and broken malay to convince ppl that we are at wrong. And yes, I don’t really know what is EOM but I don’t think most of the people know. But at the same time, do you know how diesel engine works, how turbocharging works, how EGR works, how Ammonium/HC Injection works? For the things you don’t know, I know. But for somethings that I don’t know, you might know. So why don’t you share your knowledge with us? Don’t just say that if you can’t answer, then you are not qualified to criticize people.

We criticizing because we never know what is wrong in bolehland, because there aren’t such law to force manufacturers to admit faults or end with bad consequences. And seldom there will be company in Malaysia that has their own good will to sink money on recall. We are too greedy for that, but this is the human nature. But I do respect those with self good will.

And last, I do know there are some comments that are a bit “over” on the “kutuk2” but hey, this is a public forum. Either suck it up or use your action to prove them on what they reject really Boleh! Absorb comments whether good or bad and improve our country for all our good.

My kind comments, Don’t “sombong dan tinggi hidung” and reject every comments that you don’t like to hear. You will be good use to Malaysia if you succeed. If you can do this, give you my future comment. “Proud of you as a Malaysian”.

Kind regards,
      Also an Engineer

• Kecoh beb, tanya orang pasal “dynamic analysis”. Mana-mana budak tadika pun ada belajar itu.

Malaysian Local Car Manufacturer needs to learn how to design power window first!

• wah luckily those mothers who always push their seats extreemly forward didn’t got any trouble while driving this car

• quadlights on May 02, 2010 at 1:07 am

only about 25 units reg. in Malaysia. very easy for sime darby