US will not get the 7-seater Chevrolet Orlando

Automotive News has reported that General Motors will not sell the 7-seater Orlando in the US and said that the company intends to focus on its current models. Nevertheless the Cruze (Delta II)-based Orlando which was presented as a concept back in 2008 will make its market introduction in Canada, Europe and Asia.

In the US General Motors has decided to increase the output of the Equinox, Traverse and Malibu models to make up for the missing Orlando. At the same time the production of the Cruze in the US later this year is still on schedule. If we’re lucky, we may just see Chevy’s new distributors Naza bring in the Orlando as a Honda Stream competitor since it seems to use the same formula – use a C-segment sedan platform to make an MPV.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• moha774 on May 01, 2010 at 3:01 pm

nice…any interior pic??

• wow paul, 1st of may still working? 0.0

• Whoa.. That Orlando surely looks as tough as Q7 or CX9 or. Awesome. Wonder how the interior is.

• denaihati on May 01, 2010 at 3:44 pm

why they don’t want to sell in the US?

• malaysia memang boleh on May 01, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Sorry I’m out of topic,but you know what,just know I saw a new Hyundai Tucson cruising on the road near persiaran kerjaya,although I kinda hate the design when I see it in pictures,but it is actually a damn beautiful car,Good job hyundai,is there any info when this car will be launch

• think on May 01, 2010 at 9:42 pm

the car will be launched in few days,this month,followed by the sonata….

• jonny blaze on May 01, 2010 at 6:06 pm

most interesting design.. i like

what type of engine and transmission offered..?

• mitlanevo on May 01, 2010 at 9:02 pm

hmmm…. will it be as good as Orlando Magic and Orlando Bloom???

• think on May 01, 2010 at 9:44 pm

really a good design..i already saw this car few months back..but only now i knew that it’s an mpv..pls bring it into malaysia,,as mpv ‘s in malaysia is expensive..priced it arond the innova..it will definetly do well..

• khaix19a on May 02, 2010 at 5:35 am

if orlando sell an Malaysia, ithink the price is not near as the price of innova may be will more expensive because of the tax…

• Naza knew best how to price like around lnnova-league, better if lnnova 2.0E’s. if the Chevy is diesel it will rocks mpv market.

Orlanda kinda small for 7-seater American offering.

• Stinky bangla butuh on May 02, 2010 at 1:13 pm

i m sure m’sia gomen is going to tax heavily on this typical american gas guzzler

• if naza price it right, i’m forking out my wages for this baby