First official images of the new Fiat Uno supermini

This is Fiat’s new Uno supermini that will first go on sale in Brazil, followed by other South America countries. The car is new, but the name is not – the original Uno is the Punto’s predecessor and was sold from the 1980s till the mid-90s.

Like most old Fiats, production soldiered on in developing nations and the Uno is very popular in places like Brazil. If my memory serves right, the five-door Uno was brought into Malaysia by Torino Motors at the turn of the century – it’s no surprise that not many were bought, as the car looked like a relic that time travelled into the new millennium!

Anyway, this new car measures 3,770 mm long, 1,643 mm wide and 1,490 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,370 mm. Boot space is 280 litres. This puts its size between the Panda and the Grande Punto, although it could be a different case in positioning. Word is that Fiat also plans to make and sell this car in Europe and Russia, but nothing has been confirmed. Initial cars will roll off Fiat Brazil’s Betim plant.

The new Uno will come with a choice of two new Flex Fuel petrol engines – a 1.0-litre unit with 75 bhp and a 1.4-litre unit with 85 bhp. As it’s a low cost model, you won’t find Fiat’s nice Multiair engines in this range. Both powerplants are paired to a five-speed manual gearbox. There’s a pseudo-SUV style variant badged as “Way” that comes with 4X4 style body cladding and raised ride height, but the range is FWD only.

The original Uno featured sharp lines; this one is round and appears cuddly. The distinctive design cue here are the three slats that make up the car’s “grille”. The Uno should be a spacious car to sit in, judging from the high-roof look, and while the interior is relatively spartan, the design is rather cheery and stylish. One of the pictures show a net on the front passenger seat that secures loose items; a good idea. More images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1095]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Peter on May 05, 2010 at 3:36 pm

May consider this if this ever reach our shores……

Pricing is the critical factor as it is meant for the budget category.

• Maha_tears_F1 on May 05, 2010 at 3:58 pm

this car is not for a typical american. They dunno how to drive cars with 3 pedals

• malaysia memang boleh on May 05, 2010 at 4:03 pm

Wow,welcome back to the 90s!

• Hallelujah on May 05, 2010 at 4:09 pm

this car is so……renault-ish

• scottloeb on May 05, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Fiat has gone bonkers! I love the Punto, Coupe (penned by Pinifafina) but Multipla and this one just doesnt cut it.

• T4vR-Ralph on May 05, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Looks Mahindra-ish…

front bumber looks like Daihatsu Esse’s

will Fiat Uno come to Malaysia?

when will Malaysia import Fiat 500???

• BMW M-Problem on May 05, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Now Myvi looks better…. this thing is terrible…..

• Maybe they are targeting for low pricing.

• nothing like the original uno. it looks like they were targetting… ok, i’m lost for words now. remember the uno turbo i.e. with the hot 1.3 FIRE engine.

• Italianos…. hai…

• bumper not same as body..if potong sure kene hentam

• kabalotak on May 06, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Potong can learn how to design Saga/Sawi interior by learning from this model…
      Gen2 / Persona interior =crap
      Sawi interior=crap

• I don’t know y….dis car makes me think kia soul…..

• think on May 05, 2010 at 8:18 pm

the design is out of imagination..many says italian design are nice good..but i do not accept the scenario..fiat should employ designing team who have the knowledge of current trend design,,as what kia did with peter schreyer……

• sunny_10 (Member) on May 05, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Paul,
    Looks like we lower middleclassies could only afford this category of cars. Uno, Myvi, i10,

If we go for BMW: it is the M30 1990
    Mercedes it is the Masterpiece 1992
    Volvo it is the 940 1996
    AUdi it is the 2002i.

Could you verify the models you have previous recommended as reliable and affordable entry levels.

When will the taxes and duties be erased. When will the AP’s be eradicated.

My GOD please let make QUICK.

May all Malaysians be blessed.

• feisal on May 05, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Who will be the next Fiat distributor in Malaysia? Will there be a Fiat distributor in Malaysia?

• is that a pistol on the seat? does it comes with one hehe.

• harry19 on May 06, 2010 at 2:19 am

It looks rather Uncle then the Aunty looking car Myvi!

• azrai on May 06, 2010 at 7:56 am

look like the italians job has been outsource to china.

• anyone knows if torino motors is still active?

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 09, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Nope, Torino has given up the Fiat distributorship

• kebrahak on May 07, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Ugly inside out. but i expect this car to be comfortable and spacey, like multipla.

• nishant on Jul 30, 2010 at 2:05 am

After the Palio, Grande Punto, Linea(available in India) and Bravo(sadly not available) I was expecting a beauty in the much anticipated return of the Uno(i happen to own one here in India.)

I am disappointed by the styling, hopefully this is actually utilitarian, The green colored “WAY” variant still has a kind of sneaker and t shirt type appeal.

bring it to India Fiat we need this more than the aging Palio