E12 to E60 5-Series at KL Convention Centre

We’re at the Malaysian press launch of the all new BMW 5-Series F10 at KLCC this morning. From what I understand the public parties will begin tonight. The event has yet to start but BMW Malaysia has sourced some nice examples of previous generation 5-ers to showcase at the event floor. You will find a small gallery of them after the jump – my favorite is the awesome white manual transmission E34 BMW M5!

Enjoy and watch out for our full launch story later this afternoon.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1101]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1105]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1104]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1103]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1102]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly express admiration for the classic BMW models displayed at the event, especially the E34 M5 and E39, praising their design, driving experience, and nostalgia. Enthusiasts recall their personal experiences with these cars, highlighting their rawness, solid build, and driving pleasure. There is excitement over the upcoming models like the F10 and discussions about their prices and features. Some comments mention the rarity and historical significance of these older BMWs, lamenting the shift to more modern, comfort-oriented designs. Overall, the comments reflect a strong appreciation for the vintage BMW 5-series, with sentiments ranging from admiration to longing for the older, more visceral driving experience, and some playful banter about the models and prices.

• Jalan KeNajiban, Subang Jaya on May 07, 2010 at 10:28 am

Fuiyooo…..manual transmission E34 BMW M5… sound like a classic. But it looks like 80’s design la. hmm… Izzit an old model or they purposely retro-designed it?

i also prefer traditional manual to dual klutch manual which u can’t smoke the wheels

• it is an old model lorh..

• tokmoh on May 07, 2010 at 10:51 am

What’s with your username Jalan KeNajiban (a playword on Kewajiban?)

E34 sold in 1988-1996, you can just see the years in the pics, so of cuz it’s 80’s design. Duh. Even if let’s say it took 2 years to develop the car, so at latest the car’s development started in 1986.

• HirumaKecil on May 07, 2010 at 10:59 am

80’s la best… Saya suke 80’s design… Umur baru 22(rasa muda lagi ni..) tapi suka dengar lagu 80-an…. member pakai satria,wira,myvi,jazz,bla,bla… tapi saya beli Peugeot 405… Kalau civic type-r,evo X ngan mazda 3 lalu depan mata memang x pandang.. tapi kalau e30,ae86,180sx lalu depan mata, kompom usha sampai hilang dari pandangan.. haha…..

• HirumaKecil on May 07, 2010 at 11:02 am

motor pon saya guna c70…..

• Sharin on May 07, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Yang lama tukar, banyak masalah,-honda c70 memang tahan tapi kena jaga minyak itam,kalau dah overhaul pun minyak itam dia makan,verry underpowered.
        sama dengan BM lama banyak masallah

• Kalo Mercedes lama tiada masalah… mileage dah sampai 430k dah masih mcm kete baru…

• HirumaKecil on May 07, 2010 at 3:19 pm

betul tu… c70 saya pon dah tukar guna barang ex5… teknologi nak yg baru.. tapi luaran nak old skool.. hehe… Kereta peugeot 405 saya pon xde problem.. karburator je dah modify, lain2 standart lagi.. jalan jauh sedap lagi..

• barca on May 07, 2010 at 3:26 pm

respect bro!!!

sekarang ni, banyak orang tak tau nak appreciate model2 lama ni and they CERTAINLY don’t know what they’re missing out!

paul: thanks for the wonderful pics, really!

• emine on May 07, 2010 at 4:35 pm

macam2 ’80an yang best….. :)

• Are you thought that car was built this year??
      do you even know what e34 m5 is?
      still want to fuiyoo
      haha

• U’re funny la…sld go thru some old models b4 u comment- -‘

• mspfaz on May 07, 2010 at 10:31 am

E60 is my favorite. TMHO it is the best looking of among all BMW 5 series to date …

• emine on May 07, 2010 at 10:35 am

Any BMW with manual transmission is always better than BMWs with automatic box….. my E32 auto included……

• old model dude

• HirumaKecil on May 07, 2010 at 10:42 am

E34 is one of my fav bimmer… i like e30 the most… e34 come second… hehehe…

• crappybooze on May 07, 2010 at 10:52 am

It’s a range of 5-series model – from first till latest. Love them all!

• zimmer on May 07, 2010 at 10:55 am

Old model yes but still fantastic and awesome.

• NCB7900 on May 07, 2010 at 11:04 am

org melayu kata – makin tua makin berisi

• BRAZBUZ on May 07, 2010 at 11:22 am

wonder what the price for f10

• Saw the latest 5 on the road @ cyberjaya . hoping to take a look once launched soon.
    Btw my friend bought the last 10 models of E60 series. He said that the latest 5 looks more like a chauffers car. I hope BMW malaysia keep those LCD screen as an option for the 523i and 525i.

• E60 is better than F10

• Alpha on May 07, 2010 at 11:35 am

i wanna see the F10!!paul,what is the cheapest model??and wil it be around rm350k like the E60’s cheapest model??

• mynuszero on May 07, 2010 at 11:36 am

E39 M5 is my all time favorite.

• Paul Tan on May 07, 2010 at 11:47 am

400k to 600k. damn expensive! but CBU. CKD coming later.

• Paul, when can outsiders go n have a look?I mean a visit? is it precisely at convention centre?

• Jalan KeNajiban, Subang Jaya on May 07, 2010 at 11:59 am

really miss the 80’s. i dun think new stuff r necessary better than (or an improvement of) oldies. Just like songs. I miss the heavy , abrupt , powerful klatch of an old kar which feels extra umphhh . Unlike these days, cars are either automatik or paddle dual klac which IMHO can’t replace the old grandfather style manual. It is just like horologist/ watch connoiseur preferring an mechanical watch to quartz. What i mean is tho new tech is good but they MAY not entirely replace the oldies. Just my humble opinion, no basheries pls!

Moreover new cars comes with a lot of horrible cheap plactics to save cost. plasticky interior….and thinner milo tinned metal. There nowhere as solid as older cars.

• Tiadaid on May 07, 2010 at 12:30 pm

But you have to admit, newer cars come with better safety features. Sure, they might take the edge of driving on the limit, but for those who aren’t the kind of guys who drives on the limit those safety tools are a godsend.

• Jalan KeNajiban, Subang Jaya on May 07, 2010 at 5:14 pm

yeah..I always think “Bad cars make better drivers”. Just like F1 which lacks of all the hi-tech goodies that we have in new cars like ABS, active suspension and launch control (yup they still HAVE to use hand clutch only at 1st gear altho it is called semi-auto). So it is up to the driver’s bare skills and courage to control the car from any danger.

I believe rally car is also the same if i m not mistaken…and they that r scary to drive

• Gosh, I hope you’re not talking about that “local” car that you always praise upon. Hahaha.

• keluangman on May 07, 2010 at 12:31 pm

truly agree… nothing beats the solid feel of a classic car, just like how twin clutch or DSG will never replace the manual transmission….

• gtmaniac on May 07, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Paul – of coz E34 M5 is manual transmission. As far as I know, there are no E34 M5 in auto. And the car looks very pristine. What a lucky owner!

• victor on Dec 04, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Had autoglym applied from the start. Totally accident free and on original paint until we sold it on to some mechanic who was bugging my Dad to part with the car. After that, can’t say how it was looked after.

• rkg38 on May 07, 2010 at 12:24 pm

launching of new 5-Series?

• Tiadaid on May 07, 2010 at 12:27 pm

The E39 looks pretty. But how would the maintenance cost be like if I were to buy one? Price-wise a used 5 Series looks attractive, but if my pockets will be emptied by the maintenance costs, then better buy a new car.

• gangully on May 07, 2010 at 12:40 pm

which M5 got auto bros?

anyway… i am surprised there is no E39s in the showcase… how come ah?

• gangully on May 07, 2010 at 12:58 pm

oh… tunggu… did not realise the little thumbnails…

• Motorist on May 07, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Old skool will appreciate the E34. It was the iconic executive sedan of the early 90’s. A time of greed & decadence, where Gordon Gecko’s immortal words rang true from NY Wall St to London’s Square Mile “Greed is good, greed is right. Greed works”.

The E34 epitome the comfort of a executive sedan yet retaining the rawness of BMW’s legendary handling & feel. Coupled with it’s famed 6 cylinder in line engine, it was the purr-fect car for a young hot shot Wall St or Square Mile trader (though those that made it rather have the 911).

Of course the younger Generation Y will not appreciate the conservative lines of the E34, rather preferring the Chris Bangle “flame surfacing”. However, many purist will argue that Bangle has moved away from the many hereditary features of previous generations of BMW & has only retained the 2 BMW signature, that is the nostril & rear quarter window Hofmeister kink. Also the E60’s feel is more “numb” or “isolated” vs the old rawness of the E34. Generation Y prefer ultimate comfort, not rawness of old skool E34.

The shark-nose E28 was another legendary look of yesteryear BMW. It was an aggressive styling that BMW will never go back to, for Generation Y does not appreciate such look anymore. Besides, with all the Health & Safety regulations around nowadays, the sharp shark-nose will surely fail. So much for progress…. sigh

• keluangman on May 07, 2010 at 2:21 pm

bro… nice writeup.

You just reminded me what BMW is all about. When thinking about it, BMW cars nowadays are really soft! Unlike back in the good old days…

• i want another car... on May 07, 2010 at 2:26 pm

well said motorist. E34 is the last of the great 5ers.

– borderline gen x/y – er

• i want another car... on May 07, 2010 at 2:28 pm

ooops, i meant E39!

• bazet on May 09, 2010 at 6:08 pm

I drove 1990 E34 for almost 2 years…talking about rawness and sheer driving pleaseure…no doubt E34 can deliver that. Now I’m driving 03′ E39……smoothness is all the way..no more Inline 6 growl like in E34…and no more manual trans in E39

• shawal on May 07, 2010 at 1:17 pm

hahahahaha…, i guess they put ‘motor trader’ and chop shop to good use for this event

• sutheshkumar on May 07, 2010 at 1:17 pm

I heard two models is confirmed; 523i and 535i.
    but I am not sure whether the 523i’s engine is the newer 3.0 or the updated 2.5 seen in 523Li.

• FaBuLous Cool on May 07, 2010 at 1:36 pm

wait till the Recond one……….im lovin’it………but paul,can i hav a F-10 with M Sport?

• Jalan KeNajiban, Subang Jaya on May 07, 2010 at 1:42 pm

i wish BMW retro-design a new model .Solid and have classic feeling. Just like rolls royce and bentley.. the design hasnt changed much tho. Dunno what u guys will call me , an ahpek or oldman thinking.

• longjaafar on May 07, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Whatever you may say about him, Chris Bangle has immortalised his name in the motoring world. I feel that the E60 was a daring move and it sold well, in spite of being ‘different’. it is still my favourite.

• fariq on May 07, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Sniff!! looking at these pictures brings back memories.. Dad had both the E12 and the E34.. though the E34 was a 12valve 520i and cant even out run a wira.. it was still a joy to drive especially on twisty roads.

• Haha, I saw one of these everyday near my house. Nothing to show right?

• KLdude on May 07, 2010 at 5:08 pm

fyi, there are 2 models launched, a 523i and a 535i..both are cbu at the moment..former costing in excess of rm400k and the later costing in excess of rm600k,,after roughly 6 months, they will introduce the skd versions, ie. semi-knocked down units..no more ckd units as per the sales consultant in kl..the skd versions of the 523i will come with the old 2.5 detuned engine whilst the 535i will come with the new 3.0 turbo engine..in between, there should be a 528i with a detuned 3.0 normally aspirated engine..former costing similar to e60 at rm360k++ and later costing rm460k++ with the middle version costing around rm400k++. the 528i will use a detuned 3.0 unit as the new car is lighter than the e60. can’t wait to see the new f10 at pavillion or at bmw showrooms by the middle of this month..still love my e39 though..

• BMW M-Problem on May 07, 2010 at 8:29 pm

check the carpet may have a oil leak ha ha ha…

• Mazda 3 MPS on May 07, 2010 at 9:03 pm

is the e34 M5 fitted with american spec bumpers (cause of those bumper blinkers)? and what is that e39 doing there? it’s one of the worst i’ve seen. paul’s look much much better

• victor on Dec 04, 2013 at 10:41 pm

yes.. we had that fitted to the car. Original did not have them so we had the black strips ordered including all the lighting/housing/bulbs direct from BMW.

When the german Tech specialist were over in Brunei, we got him to advice the local BMW service boys to have it fitted in. Oh and we also modified the front fogs to work with the side lights. Originally it would only come on when the main lights were ON.

Why? Cool cruising at night…!

• When will this event end?

• VW_fans on May 07, 2010 at 11:45 pm

8-speed is da same as Lexus 460L!!! but I was wondering why Merz E-class still stick with conventional gearbox? I thought more gears sure very good fuel consumption.
    Anyway I only can envy when ppl drive BMW, so here I say: lucky future F10 owners!!

• e12…. really hard to see nowadays…. e28 is not that bad maybe with wide BBS wheels, so retro, but would like to try the e34… seldom see the 5 series in our state, except for the E60…

• E39 fan on May 08, 2010 at 6:11 am

The most machoest bmw is the one and only E39, not too boxy and not too sexy!!

• Ian CHEONG on May 08, 2010 at 7:36 am

Strange trivia! Grab one unit EACH of the E12 to E60 combined, u can just barely trade in for ONE unit of F10! hah! thanks to our Malaysia Bole, taxation!
    E12 = 20k (Had an old 525 with German BLAUPUNKT headset which traded in for only RM 5k, sad!!!)
    E28 = 30k
    E34 = 50k
    E39 = 100k
    E60 = 200k
    TOTAL ALL up = 400k
    New F10 = 400k

• phas3r on May 08, 2010 at 1:49 pm

some corrections i think
      e12=5-10k
      e28=5-10k
      e34=15k-25k
      e39=49-110k
      e60=160-300k

• phas3r on May 08, 2010 at 1:54 pm

the e12 looks a bit dirty, the e28 too modified to be displayed, e34 m5 damn superb and pristine condition although a bit wrong to represent a normal e34 5 siri, e39 nice almost looking like e39 m5.. no comments on e60

• victor on Dec 04, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Yeah, that M5 wass unique and my best loved car. Bought in Brunei, we had the side marker lights ordered in UK direct from the states and fitted in Brunei. Kinda sexy looking.

Car was ONLY ever fed Mobil1 from the start, washed practically daily, polished 4 times a year. Had a whopping sound system added into the car, designed by me.

Can tell you every single work done to it and its great to see it in such great hands after the idiot (local Mechanic) that bought it over and ran it down.

Still dream about that white e34 M5. Awesome is the ONLy word to explain how it sounded when on full acceleration. Your hairs will stand.

• phas3r on May 09, 2010 at 2:08 am

saw an e12 520 in mudah… i lol’ed at the rims

• bazet on May 09, 2010 at 6:04 pm

E39 still the most handsome 5ers at least for me.But it’s quite hard or near impossible to find manual E39 in Malaysia…

• phas3r on May 09, 2010 at 8:35 pm

only e39 m5 is equipped with manual in malaysia..the rest 99.9% auto.in uk etc got lah manual

bazet? you the who drove like crazy in youtube is it? haha

• YWChg on May 09, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Yeeah….E39 the best….just got myself a 03 525i…..love it so much!!!

• nighttrain on May 10, 2010 at 9:07 am

E39… car of the year, forever!

• cactus7778 on May 11, 2010 at 10:50 am

someone told me he likes E34.. no wonderlah.. because his ex-gf, a wife to someone drives that car 525i (E34).. rugilah.. if he still with that lady.. he can drive her car..

• cactus7778 (Member) on May 11, 2010 at 11:05 am

someone told me he likes E34(525i).. no wonder lah.. his ex-gf (a somebody’s wife) drives E34 Plat BDX.. rugilah.. if he still with that lady.. he can drive her car.. i presume he would continue having scandal with her if she treats him well.. he was so proud that his ex-gf is so pretty.. rich.. full package.. good.. pity her husband ,an old man.. being cheated by his wife..