KBS Goodyear Drift Challenge in Putrajaya this weekend

As part of an effort to promote drifting, Goodyear Malaysia has teamed up with the Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS), to kick start the KBS Goodyear Drift Challenge 2010 as part of Hari Belia 2010.

The event, which will be held throughout this weekend (15-16 May) at Putrajaya, will feature local novice and expert drifters including Team Goodyear Malaysia drifters Ariff Johanis, Azrina Jane Abdullah, Hanizam bin Hamzah and Michael Gan.

The quartet will be putting up an exciting drift demo for spectators at the event location in Precinct 3. This is a chance for the public to get up close and smell the burning rubber from these four experienced drifters, fresh from competing in Formula Drift Singapore.

Lucky spectators will be given “taxi rides” around the circuit by the pros. Best of all, entrance is free! You can click the event information poster on the top left to view more information.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• subhero on May 14, 2010 at 5:02 pm

lets go to putrajaya.. ~!!!!

• i want to join it!

• irfan on May 14, 2010 at 5:22 pm

oh yesss!!my kid(5 years old) really eager to watch drift!!

• irfan on May 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm

but..what time arr?

• irfan on May 14, 2010 at 5:26 pm

but,what time arr?

• Paul Tan on May 14, 2010 at 5:27 pm

More info can be found in the poster we just added. Sorry for the omission before. It’s 10 am to 6 pm.

• AE86 (Member) on May 14, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Hopefully Tengku Djan wont shown up there, if not later he will owning again just like in formula drift singapore…

• Mazda 3 MPS on May 14, 2010 at 5:51 pm

i thought the KBS of korea….

• HirumaKecil on May 15, 2010 at 8:43 am

haha.. to many korean drama’s ha?? haha… but cannot say anything coz i’m also korean drama’s addicted.. hehe..

• HirumaKecil on May 15, 2010 at 8:44 am

to many korean drama’s meh.. cannot say anything coz i’m also korean drama’s addict..

• lol, why would anyone drift in a commodore?

• pomen_GTR (Member) on May 17, 2010 at 1:24 pm

why not???

more fat torque…

longer wheel base and stable…..

-even i’ve seen a HSV Ute (with SCharged V8) drifting and smoking in aussie….

cheers…

• because they handle like boats, and a VZ easily weighs over 1.7 tons, the chassis and thicker panels contributing significantly… torque doesn’t help you control a front heavy car.

I don’t think burnouts and figure 8s count as drifting, heck I can a burnout in a 1.6L Corolla too.