Toyota is back in the black, streamlining effort continues

Toyota will further streamline and become more efficient by moving production to emerging markets and away from mature markets such as North America and Japan. Exchange rates are one of the problems faced by Toyota as it exports a bigger portion of the cars it produces in Japan compared to rivals Honda and Nissan. After its first loss in 70 years, Toyota rebounded to make a profit in the fiscal year ending March 2010, but it took a ¥320 billion kick from the yen’s rise against the dollar and euro.

Targets for production in North America will be higher “self-reliance from development to manufacturing” said Atsushi Niimi, Toyota’s global manufacturing boss. Toyota’s North American capacity is now lower by some 400,000 units from the closure of New United Motor Manufacturing Inc, the company’s joint assembly operation with GM in California. Production in Japan will be streamlined by combining lines and putting production of similar vehicles in the same plants. Also planned are lines that are able to produce both body-on-frame and unibody vehicles.

Toyota seems to have got back on its feet financially. With aggressive cost cutting and streamlining, the Japanese giant now needs to make an estimated 7 million units to turn a profit, from the previous 8 million. For instance, in the fiscal year ending March 2009, Toyota built 7.56 million units and made a lost, whereas this year they made 7.28 million and made a profit. Toyota’s aim to be a leaner outfit was evident in Thailand, with the suspension and migration of Hilux/Fortuner production.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• PutraMalaya on May 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

TO YO TA

• Moving Forward even when you don’t want to. ;-)

P/S: So make sure you got a Toyota in front of you, not on your rear. XD

• lance on May 17, 2010 at 10:29 pm

That’s de power of Toyota Production System….

• yes…cut cost….cut away the metal and replace with plastic/ foam.

you can make more profits selling it to 3rd world bolehland idiots.

toyol

• Billy Gates on May 18, 2010 at 2:59 am

Our future generation will discovers Toyota vehicles only in internet archives or museum!
      Not on the road!

• Motorist on May 18, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Cost cutting doesnt just involve “kam lui” (reducing the quality of the prodduct).

Cost also involves operational cost, admin cost, workforce etc. By reducing operational cost (like closing one factory & consolidate into another) or admin cost (by maybe outsourcing) or reducing workforce (due to plant closure), you would have reduced cost.

Of course, you could also “kam lui” but that will have an implication on your product & reputation in the long run.

Most company will do a combination of any of the above but “kam lui” will probably be a very small percentage of the total cost reduction.