GALLERY: All-new 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee looks good

Tomorrow is the launch of the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and the Chrysler Group has released images that show a very handsome SUV doing macho things like fording streams and climbing hills.

I’m not sure if you agree, but I reckon that this Jeep is one of the best looking 4X4s of late – bold, tough looking and with none of those “crossover” designs going on.

Capability highlights include a choice of three 4×4 systems, new Jeep Quadra-Lift Air Suspension and Selec-Terrain and towing capability of 3,356 kg. On-road dynamics are improved courtesy of new independent front and rear suspension systems and a new body structure that substantially increases torsional stiffness.

The new Grand Cherokee also features Chrysler’s all-new 3.6-litre Pentastar V6 engine which boasts 11% better fuel economy and delivers more than 800 km on one full tank. Read more on the Pentastar here.

Hi-res gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1142]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jugaus on May 20, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Stunning..

• Leseid Obrut on May 20, 2010 at 1:06 pm

this is waaayyy better than the previous-gen grand cherokee…thumbs up to chrysler!

• Squawk on May 20, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Looks good. Hope they sorted out the QC and ride & handling. Previous Cherokees kinda suck in those areas.

• 4G63tDSM on May 21, 2010 at 5:04 am

The previous cherokees we have here are completely different to the grand cherokees.

Actually I’ve not seen any Grand Cherokees around, maybe due to the 4.0L V8s they had.

I’ve always liked the Grand Cherokees and having driven them on several occations, I prefer them to say a comparable Ford Explorer.

• Bkt Jambul Joe on May 20, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Sexy and tough, what a Jeep should be, not some pussy looking ‘taufu’. Bravo Chrysler!

• Side profile looks like BMW x5 profile , especially the door side. Very good looking.

• A diesel will be spot ON

• so bad…

• kimikim on May 20, 2010 at 2:31 pm

4×4 purist

• yes, looks like the originals…

• Sebiji macam Kia Serento 2010…cut and paste design….

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 20, 2010 at 5:07 pm

any clue on what type of transmission it using?

• Nutty Dad on May 20, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Sweet!!

• Nutty Dad on May 20, 2010 at 5:28 pm

The red one look kinda Iron Manist^^ Double sweet!

• In the 90’s Cherokee was so famous in Malaysia and the price was reasonably good.. I think the price would be very high if it come back to our shore.

It is beautiful indeed but if I want a bold statement then i would choose GMC Terrain or Chevrolet Orlando

• queen on May 20, 2010 at 6:27 pm

the design looks very ‘toyota-like’, oldskool outdated design but looks okay…

• this jeep looks garang
    better than previous toy story look

• shawal on May 20, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Exterior looks Grand, Muscular , and very desirable.
    But Interior looks uninspiring…and interior plastics and wood looks cheap…

A good wood interior example is previous gen’s Honda Accord (the big fat one)…shiny stuff

• kugan on May 21, 2010 at 3:30 am

Well..looks way much better than previous model….rear view reminds me of Toyota Fortuner..