All GM vehicles to come with active louvered grille?

SRG Global Inc, a supplier of chrome-plated plastic parts, has developed a prototype louvered grille for General Motors aimed at improving the efficiency of the automaker’s full-size pickup trucks. Stringent US emissions and fuel economy regulations are looming, and the behemoths aren’t exempted.

Grilles that can open and close aren’t new. Some cars already have such a feature, although it is a secondary part, mounted behind the grille. “We’re trying to find a way to do it more efficiently, less expensively, as an integrated part,” said Jon DeGaynor, SRG’s VP of business development and strategy.

The active louvers are connected to the engine control module, opening and closing per engine temperature. Shutting off airflow not only reduces drag and fuel consumption, it allows the engine to heat up faster, emitting less CO2 in the process.

“What we heard is that GM is moving 100% of their vehicles to louvered grilles,” DeGaynor was quoted by Ward’s Auto as saying.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Motorist on May 21, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Another short term cheap fix gadget.

Wanna bet this gimmick will be forgotten soon?

BMW also had this kind of gimmick in the 5 series E60 but was removed when it came into tropical M’sia.

• Celine Bags on Apr 08, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

• Okay.. so when will we get cars that can transform into robot?

• so what still? and still following audi design! bored. get ur own design

• i would prefer a ‘let a fart out’ flap that automatically opens in the roof, if someone lets one go,