07/08 Lamborghini Murcielago at risk of fuel leakage

Calling all Lamborghini Murcielago and Murcielago Roadster owners, your car may blow up! Well that may be an exaggeration, but the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) in the US has announced recently that models that were made between 2007-2008 will have to be recalled.

Lamborghini is recalling these models due to the welds holding the fuel pump support inside the fuel tank could detach. This could ‘result in a fuel leak’. Which in turn could result in a fire when igniting the engine. But owners can rest easy knowing that dealers will replace the fuel tanks free of charge and the recall exercise expected to begin in June 2010.

There have been no indication whether cars outside the US are affected but it might be worth checking out as most Murcielago’s would have been assembled at the same point. Until June, you may want to keep your bull in the garage.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• bobby on May 25, 2010 at 5:02 pm

I love this statement:

Until June, you may want to keep your bull in the garage.

• ferrarist on May 25, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Omg, that’s a public issue then, real potential hazard to fellow road users, hence the government should BAN it OTR until proven rectified in June by Experts in Puspakom, Transport Ministry and the National Fire Dept.

• littleboy on May 25, 2010 at 5:04 pm

not only T brand need recall….even this super car also recall due to fuel supply….nowaday nothing is defectless!!!

• S.Roma on May 25, 2010 at 6:07 pm

I agree with u…

To relate it with Proton, i thk we all shud give Proton a chances for improvement, and i mean A LOT !

• Vincent on May 25, 2010 at 5:10 pm

wah hahaha…

Rich or poor also has the same chance of getting lemon yar…

• valandil on May 25, 2010 at 5:11 pm

i am surprised lambo hasn’t recalled their baby lambos too.. they are always on fire too.. everywhere..

• kopi-man on May 25, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Proton no recall! Proton is the greatest car ever made in the world…

• iam with u dude….ha3!!!long life PROTON!!!!!!

• shyam on May 26, 2010 at 9:21 am

Who said no recall…
        1. Savvy got a recall for the axle bearing or something
        2. Gen 2 (batch before january 04) and Satria Neo( batch before April 06) got a recall for lifting jack issue
        3. Waja was recalled to rectify rims issue…

in fact every carmaker will make mistakes.

• Tiadaid on May 25, 2010 at 5:14 pm

That explains all those burning Lambo pics I saw on Top Gear!

• The Loner on May 25, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Murcielago on fire, whoa!

• nighttrain on May 25, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Oh, maaan! this is such a hassle.. I wouldn’t have time to send mine for a check up. Can any of you guys swing over the house and pick up the car and send it to the shop?

• Car runner on May 25, 2010 at 5:59 pm

No problem. My rate is RM1000 per hour. The pickup will be tomorrow and I’ll send u back when it’s done approx 1 month from now. So that’s RM1000 x 24 hours x 30 days = Rm720 000. And one more thing – I’m free to use the car so long it is in my possession.

Deal?

• no wonder so many lambo blowed up or burned down…….

• Lambo is not just hot…demn its burning as well

• aminbotak on May 25, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Hmm.. what a co-incident with the massive accident during Round 4 Lamborghini Super Trofeo Cup driven by Giorgio Bartocci.. but that one is the Gallardo LP560-4..

• 98% hand made, 220k USD car recalled. epick.
    I don’t know how many of you will be surprised, but murcielago actually means “BAT” in spanish, yes, the one that flies at night.

Keeping your bat in the garage is more appropriate.

• Motorist on May 25, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Lambo also kena.

So how many here will jump on Lambo (or even it’s parent company, VW) like wolves over an injured lamb (just like they did over Toyota)

• mati katak on May 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm

if really terbakar, then its a good time for the owner to buy another Lambo model……

• d3niel on May 25, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Why i do not receive the notice ?I need to send my car back to NAZA

• mitlanevo on May 25, 2010 at 7:19 pm

luckily my gallardo is still safe…

• Kington on May 25, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Now this is what i call STICKY situation.

Are we entering an era where the more recalls you make, the better your company is?

Honda, Toyota, Mitsubishi, Lambo are names with huge stakes in it…

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PAgFK5M2PRM&feature=topvideos
    Related ?

• blacky on May 26, 2010 at 8:26 am

Recalls have been going on since long time ago…but when it happened to Toyota, it made such a big big issue as the number of cars sold oso big big. I’ll say… thanks to Toyota, we are now more aware of these recalls. Some ppl even said gotta pay such a premium for Lexus but oso kena recall n shame la wat wat la…I like to see their 2 cents here for the even premium…

• Good point. Toyota screwed up big time. Stop comparing it to others.

• Jaybond on May 26, 2010 at 8:56 am

I wonder if my Lambo Murcielago LP670-SV is also affected..

• BMW M-Problem on May 26, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Even a hand made car needs to be recall …….what more Toyota…which is mass produced……

Now days all cars got defect only who those who dare will issue public recall announcement…..

I know certain German marque which is plaqued with defects but no recall.
    Why ?. Cos they dont want to loose face in front for their German competitior…..

So if you think Toyota make lousy cars … think again…it will only make them stronger.

• omg.. i have to send my car back? pity me.. it was all a dream.

• fique on May 26, 2010 at 11:25 pm

hahaha bull lost its ball… million dollar car also being recalled?
    sad sad… perfection is just a dream… better opt p1 / p2 then..
    at least it worth my rm rather than flamin’ speedster huhu

• Looks like lambo has joined the trend of recalling, how can a car being hand made and inspected so many times has problem, i’m a big fan of cars and i certainly do not wish to see any of these cars explode…

• mitlanevo on May 27, 2010 at 11:00 am

that’s why my lp670-4 is already sold, and i got myself a new 458 italia…

• Its like spent a million for your coffin actually….hehehe