McLaren storms into surprising 1-2 victory as both Red Bulls crash into each other!

McLaren has just scored a 1-2 victory at the Turkish Grand Prix as Lewis Hamilton led team mate Jenson Button across the finish line. The duo were running behind the Red Bulls and pressuring both Webber and Vettel till the race distance crossed the half way mark. Unfortunately for the bulls both Webber and Vettel who were running in first and second crashed into each other when the latter tried to overtake Webber.

This put Vettel into retirement and took away Webber’s lead as the Australian had to pit for a new front wing. A couple of laps later both the McLarens nearly took each other out when Button tried to overtake Hamilton in a rather spectacular move. Mark Webber managed to limit the damage done by finishing the race in third place.

Michael Schumacher missed the podium and settled for fourth place for Mercedes while his team mate Nico Rosberg crossed the line in fifth. Renault’s Robert Kubica managed sixth place while both the Ferraris finished in seventh and eight positions respectively. Force India’s Adrian Sutil came home in ninth while tenth spot went to Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi.

Lotus Racing suffered a double retirement today, again thanks to the hydraulics. Trulli was the first driver to retire from the race followed by team mate Kovalainen. Both Virgin cars and Hispania’s Karun Chandhok were classified as race finishers.

Mark Webber who started the race from pole position had a good start while Hamilton momentarily lost his second place to Vettel before gaining back the position. Schumacher was also charging ahead and went up to fourth place but settled down in fifth after Button eventually passed the German.

It looked like a two horse race between Red Bull and McLaren as Hamilton was pressuring Webber for the lead but the Red Bull driver managed to keep the Brit at bay. Fernando Alonso was one of the first to pit and as the dust settled it was Webber who was leading followed by his team mate Vettel. Hamilton and Button were close behind.

It was all looking good for Red Bull until both drivers took each other out on Lap 41 while approaching Turn 12. Webber was lucky enough to survive the contact and went on to finish in third and maintain his lead in this Driver’s Championship. He now has 93 points while Button and Hamilton both have 88 and 84 points. However Red Bull lost its lead in the Constructor’s Championship to McLaren. The Woking-based team leads Red Bull by one point with 172.

It was definitely an exciting race especially with the Red Bull crash and an interesting tussle between the McLaren drivers. If only Vettel and Webber handled the situation like how Hamilton and Button did. Formula 1 now heads to Montreal for the Canadian Grand Prix on June 13th!

You can view the full results here.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• tokmoh on May 30, 2010 at 9:35 pm

FRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!

KNNCCB, I think McLaren pay Vettel to crash Webber!!!!! DAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMMIIIIIIIITTTTT!!!!

• tokmoh on May 30, 2010 at 9:42 pm

On second thought, more like McLaren jampi using black magic. Yep, that must’ve happened.

DAAAAAAMMMMMMMMIIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!

• scanzew on May 30, 2010 at 10:46 pm

hamilton’s luck spell is haunting Vettel and Webber..hahahah…RedBull with reliability issue make Mclaren winning Constructor and Drivers Championship at the end!!! yeahhhh!!

go Hamilton go Mclaren!!!

• tokmoh’s spell didn’t work…..maybe someone more superior cancelling your spell

• tokmoh on May 31, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Ya wor… someone outsmarted me, hmmm….. Paul? lolololol :D

• Korean on May 30, 2010 at 10:30 pm

McLaren wins on others misfortune. Some more (main wayang) pretend to racing each other to fool the spectators, damn stupid.

• Emerson Cilipadi on May 31, 2010 at 2:33 pm

This is another NASCAR in the making. Guys, ask Bernie to stop this wayang TREND from happening. Otherwise, F1 will be degraded to redneck, hillbilly, hick NASCAR.

• imbhotep on May 30, 2010 at 9:35 pm

what a beautiful day!!!!mclaren and Hamilton win!!!

• Lotus_Supporter on May 30, 2010 at 9:38 pm

what an unfortunate race…we lost both Lotus car…poor Vettel…
    plus both Merc car was about to hit each other…
    however its good to see M.Schu finished at the fourth place…

• hehehe on May 30, 2010 at 10:25 pm

yeah..schuey is getting even better..but i wish the Merc GP cars got a lil bit more power..schuey did passed button right after the green lite, but then Mclaren’s car a lil bit fast, schuey got “tapaw”..i think its due to the F-duct thingy…but poor Vettel…

• Emerson Cilipadi on May 31, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Agree …i felt Michael did well this time… it is just the car which underpower. He make an opportunistic pass during the starting grid ahead Button but in the end he was overtaken by Button on a straight line without sweat. Looks like the brute power which dictates victory in certain cases.

• Reader1 on May 30, 2010 at 9:48 pm

The crash.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzqqrVjEmyA

• jlooi on May 30, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Racer’s normal reaction for those red bull crash. Once u c d oppoturnity u strike. No pay no gain.

• malaysia memang boleh on May 30, 2010 at 9:55 pm

hmm,too sad for lotus,they are quite near to midfield,but hydraulic failure coz both of the driver to retirement,at least they didn’t crash each other!

• Rovert on May 30, 2010 at 10:06 pm

I’m very glad RedBull allowed their drivers to race each other unlike McLaren who were too conservative and used indirect team orders.

Let’s not even get started on the Ferrari’s…

• ali bin abu ahmad on May 30, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Vettel is one entertainer =D
    @Rovert: Nope, personally I don’t encouraging drivers in the same team to kill each other.

• my name on May 30, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Actually what happened between the two Red Bulls drivers were hard to explain. Mark was just trying to defend his position, while Vettel turn to the right a little too early and then made contact.

• mitlanevo on May 30, 2010 at 10:49 pm

McLaren using black magic, sue themmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LMAO, F1 is no longer the good old F1, dont give a damn who win or lose…

• ali bin abu ahmad on May 30, 2010 at 11:10 pm

@mitlanevo:
    But we have hell lots of entertainment like this afterall =P

• khimfoh on May 30, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Honestly either Redbulls could have one the race but clearly both Mclarens had been piling the pressure throughout the race.

Judging from the video, it looks like Webber did give a nudge to Vettel but only slight and it was not wrong of him (webber) to defend his position. Vettel on the other hand was quite adamant to move to the right in order to take the next left turn corner. I guess it was assuming that Webber would yield but the Aussie didn’t feel the need to.

In my opinion it Redbull gifted the win to Mclarens buy shooting themselves on their racing boots.

• tokmoh on May 30, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Pretty much it, yeah.

But oh well. I guess this ups the ante, it’s gonna be a pretty intense season. And it’s gonna make the victory all the more sweeter yeaaa!!!

GO VETTEL GO!! GO WEBBER GO!! GO RED BULL GO!!

• wat da u know…look like everyone is very entertaining watching f1……i tot almost everyone hate f1

• 2fast on May 31, 2010 at 12:16 am

Too bad for the Red Bull team, they had the race covered until the disaster. I think Webber was shocked at Vettel’s overtaking move, so he did not give space like he should have done. Lucky for Red Bull only one one car was out from the incident.

The McLaren duo showed Red Bull how to handle overtaking move by team mates. Though most of us watching were expecting disaster, they beautifully judged each other’s move and exchanged places at the top twice.

Jenson was sneaky on his move on Lewis. He ignored McLaren’s orders to ‘conserve tyre and fuel’. Lewis was certainly not happy with Jenson’s tactics. After he won his first race of the season, he didn’t jump for joy or throw himself to his supporters.

So now we have two top teams with their drivers hating each other.

The F1 drama is back :)

• azlan on May 31, 2010 at 1:00 am

2 comments

1. blame webber for the incident. As i concern, the relation between both not so good even befoe the incident

2. Schumi still at a competetive level. i do believe that if Schumi drive redbull car, it could be schumi win or in podium position. Merc GP has to improve a lot. 45 second gap between schumi & front runners berfore incident!!!

• keypad (Member) on May 31, 2010 at 1:59 am

good race towards the end but really annoying when McLaren keep radio their drivers and said “save fuel” when they should just said stop racing your own team mate

save fuel = stop racing your team mate

from the start of the season they never have issue with fuel but suddenly in turkey they seem to have fuel issue

poor lotus racing… when they seem to have make some progress, reliability issues keeps coming during the race.

• trav_da_man on May 31, 2010 at 9:49 am

Though the race was boring and felt dismotivated the moment Lotus F1 retired both of their cars. Turn off the telly and went upstairs to refresh my net coverage of autosports.com, only to found out vettel has crashed!

Quickly went back to the telly only to found out that was the best 20 mins of the whole GP!!! Looks like Red Bull is cracking up but Mclaren is getting their momentum! Good race for Mercedes GP and Sauber managed to score a point and finished 2 cars!

• Motorist on May 31, 2010 at 11:34 am

It is so refreshing to see anyone but Ferrari winning.

• mirror mirror on May 31, 2010 at 3:14 pm

This season’s championship will be wide open right down to the end, I hope to see six closely matched contenders battling it out, more sports drama please that’s why I installed astro.