2011 F10 Alpina B5 – more info with interior shots

Official details have been released of the new Alpina B5 Bi-Turbo which is based on the current F10 5-Series and occasionally called the M5-killer.The engine as mentioned before, will produce 507hp from just 5,500rpm coming from an aluminium V8 twin turbo 4.4-litre engine. This also produces a humongous 700Nm of torque from as low down as 3,000rpm.

The Alpina has also optimised the intake air cooling system with shorter intake tracts and increased intercooler flow. Apart from that, high performance pistons along with direct injection and Double VANOS give it a more efficient drive train returning 10.8L/100km while only producing only 252g/km of CO2.

This power is transmitted through the SWITCH-TRONIC 8-speed sports automatic transmission which changes its character when in sports mode, while the manual mode gives customers full control over every shift. Handling all this power will be the suspension set-up which has been specifically tuned to be comfortable yet precise around corners. This has been done with the use of progressive springs and special suspension arms sitting on light-weight 20″ ALPINA classics.

Helping with the handling will be the new aerodynamic package which now reduces lift when travelling at high speeds by 60 percent in the front and 30 percent in the rear, providing excellent stability when needed. Apart from that it features the F10’s new sleeker more sporty body style.

Moving on inside, the B5 will feature leather upholstery, navigation system, LAVALINA leather SWITCH-TRONIC steering wheel and Bluetooth compatibility. This is nicely complemented by the ALPINA burled Myrtle wood trim giving it that all important ambience.

Look after the jump for a picture gallery including pictures of the interior.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1284]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Nice car

• Anti Proton on Jul 14, 2010 at 2:08 am

is it avialable here?

• Still boring…E60 M5 much better~

• The Black Stig on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:02 am

Given the specs on paper no doubt a great car. But wood panels and three tones dashboard? YUCK
    Seriously dude what are those got to do with performance

• the juke on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:41 am

exactly. so why bother?

• gangully on Jul 14, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Seriously dude… u don’t want a three tone, then don’t order it as a three tone lah… u don’t want the wood panelling… then don’t get the wood panelling… that is why it is called OPTIONS!

and those who prefer the E60 are not BMW purist… thats all i can say…

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:12 am

now we’re talking

• Peter on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:56 am

I have read problems regarding BMW’s reliability in some other forums….

I hoped BMW can improve its reliability instead.

Cheers, this design is sleek and sexy. If there were no issues regarding its reliability, i guess its rather a good car.

Cheers

• niuhje on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:10 am

…the seagulls will not follow the trawler if there aren’t any fish, no?… said by a once famous footballer… who likes to watch martial arts movies, me thinks!

• Azril Nazli on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:49 pm

E34 & E39 is the last of the mohicans

I saw a light brown F10 yesterday at KLIA, still mixed feeling..unline the adrenalin rush when I saw E34 and E39 at first time

• chuakz on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:28 pm

I would get the alpina over an M5 anyday…they just look better and feel more special…