Lotus F1 Fairuz Fauzy confirmed for German FP1

Fairuz Fauzy has been confirmed a seat in the Lotus T127 for FP1 (Free Practice session) at this weekend’s German Grand Prix. He was originally meant to just take part in the British, Hungarian, Singapore and Abu Dhabi races but due to technical issues his Silverstone run had to be cut short.

Thus the team have decided to bring his Hungary run forward to Hockenheim where he will be able to gain more experience behind the wheel of the T27 and valuable on-track development.

“It’s an exciting day for all of us in the Lotus Racing team – being able to tell Fairuz he has another Friday run a week before he thought he’d be back in the car is a great way to start the week, and we all know he’ll deliver for us, both on track and in the feedback he’ll provide the team. He’s an inspiration to young drivers around the world, proving that being determined to make your dreams come true can make very exciting things happen!” said team principal Tony Fernandes commenting on the matter.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Rosmama on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:36 am

I bet the Lotus team presured to field a Malaysian driver by Madam Pettunia

• Nik Amirul on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:43 pm

his mission is just to complete the practice session… look at the result he get… he just faster thn sakon yamamoto 0:0.163… i rather to let jarno and heikki suit themselves with the circuit. Free practice session for Fairuz is unnecessary!

• squawk on Jul 22, 2010 at 10:58 am

To be fair, it’s ok if Fairuz can give positive feedback for car development. Trulli and Kovalainen have a lot of time and experience with the car already. Only thing is whether Fairuz’s driving style is similar to the driver he replaced and whether his feedback is constructive for the team.

Since testing time is so limited, every second is valuable for any driver (test or race). If Fairuz doesn’t get enough track time with the car, what’s gonna happen if one of the regular drivers fall ill or is injured and can’t race? Then we blame him for not sitting behind the wheel enough?

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:24 pm

i wish him the best , may he can learn and develop skills more so that he will qualified to be behind wheel on real races !!

• show them what u got dude !!
    we know u got it in u =)

• wow….still a practice driver ^^

• akmal on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:14 pm

boooooring!

• Caya lu……….Bro….. :-)

• orang_malaysia on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:01 pm

For now, he’s still the only Malaysian who drive the F1 car,no matter what other people says……proud of you dude!

• ayamxxx on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:29 pm

after paying a lot, a lot of money, we only can see him only on practice sessions. itu pon only 1 session in practice..

• motorist on Jul 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

With enough $$$ you can even buy a seat on the Russian spacecraft & put a monkey into space.

Feiruz needs the experience to be a better F1 driver. If you put him in a situation such as Alex Yoong, then his inexperience will show & he will perform poorly.

Then we blame him for being not good enough, just like Alex.

$$$ can buy you many things, even grand titles like Dato’ Seri but in F1, just like many things in this world, it cant buy you experience.

• see your free practice result last time pretty disappointing.. :(

• malaysia boleh!!

• elite on Jul 22, 2010 at 6:23 am

too bad we can’t buy a gold medal in Olympics…

• PakAbu on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:17 am

But steroids has helped a lot of people won gold.
      So I heard. ;-)

• waste of $$$ and waste of times

• makan makan on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:50 am

Tony, just give Fairuz chance to drive..You wont get any point either with Trully and kova behind the wheel.

• PakAbu on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:29 am

The presence of invidiousness I sense in this corner of the galaxy.

:mrgreen:

• leonardo on Jul 22, 2010 at 5:14 pm

How can he be judged if he has not be given a chance to do a full race? I doubt Sakon Yamamoto can do much either in the HRT.

• Idlan on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:15 am

better fairuz open driving school laa~
    more money he will earn then set up a team if he want lol :)

• Who is Tony to say who drives ??
    Lotus is a lost cause. Govt say be thrifty so just pull out of F1.
    The money saved can help the Govt subsidise its people.
    Ouch !!! but it makes sense cos Idris Jala says that Msia
    will be bangkrupt if the Govt does not check its spendings.