Skoda Superb and Skoda Octavia VRS in Bermaz Glenmarie

It appears that Berjaya Group’s Skoda sales division have brought in some units of the Skoda Superb and Skoda Octavia VRS and they are on display at Bermaz Glenmarie. Readers Kamil and Shamsir both sent in photos of the two cars today. Apparently the Octavia VRS was quoted to be priced at RM188,888, which makes it the cheapest way you can get Volkswagen’s 2.0 TSI engine in a car with a boot right now. No details on the Skoda Superb, but we do have a huge detailed photo gallery of the two cars which you can find after the jump. You can also see the Superb’s TwinDoor in action.

GALLERY: Skoda Octavia VRS thanks to Shamsir
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1423]

GALLERY: Skoda Superb thanks to Shamsir
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1424]

GALLERY: Skoda Octavia VRS thanks to Kamil
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1426]

GALLERY: Skoda Superb thanks to Kamil
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1425]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lkf0512 on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Superb!!!

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:50 am

superB…oring, of course only apply to the look, skoda is supposed to be VW technology on sales, but the look really fall too behind compare with vw n audi, while the price isn’t! the exterior kinda remind me of hyundai grandeur or something like tt, too conservative…. the designer should be fired!

• sleme on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:48 pm

I think that is their unique selling point. No fancy designs. Good solid value for money. That is what most people look for in a car. It explains why during the automotive crisis recently, Skoda, along with the Koreans, remained profitable.
        Researchla sikit before commenting.

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm

value for money? r u buying it now? koreans n skodas r darn cheap cars those US ppl will just sell for scrap after 3 yrs without feeling any pain, in economy crisis ppl sure go for bread than lobster! i NEVER said skoda sucks, okay, i just want it to look nicer, LOOK NICE is not a fancy thingy, it represent my taste! bacalah betul betul before commenting, dude!

• idiot on Aug 20, 2010 at 6:36 am

I dont think Skoda’s are sold in the US mate. As I said research first before opening your gob. Just because you have a internet line and can type, doesn’t necessary mean that you can make smart comments.

Oh yes, I have owned a Skoda before among other cars that I have owned. As I said value for money if you compare the the similar car from the same family tree.

And, there is a difference between saying that ‘the looks is not to my taste’ and ‘the designer should be fired’.

• tok embun on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:43 am

The yellow one , rear light look like KIA spectra .

• Jimmy on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:13 pm

VW is already orphan cars here, this Skoda is even ……

• sri hartamas on Aug 18, 2010 at 6:55 pm

What do you mean by ‘orphan’car? I don’t think cars have mothers and fathers.

• The Black Stig on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:15 am

@sri, just and expression la.. what he try to indicate VW is unpopular which I disagree. The real problem with VW in Malaysia is the price and after sales services which turned down buyers.

• alldisc on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:24 pm

i believe the price is reasonable enough. lets say a basic Golf 1.6 manual will sell at 100K, though no one will pay for such a basic hatchback. so theres a need to specced it up…

add 2.0 engine – 10K.
          add direct injection and turbocharger – 10K
          add 6 speed DSG – 10K no, make it 20K
          add 7 airbags – 10K
          add HID, auto headlamp and auto wiper – 5K
          add other toys (ABS, DCC, ESP, XDS, TCS) – 15K
          add sporty suspension and 17″ alloys with – 10K
          add hip-hugging electric leather seats – 10K
          performance we get, rarity, exclusivity & satisfaction – 10K

here we go… a 200K car that makes all the sense. and i think VW malaysia is improving because the no of service centres has grown already.

• toktok on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Corona beer?????

Does anyone know how much the Superb is priced at? Or if anyone would like to go in the showroom and ask them?

• Alpha on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm

the superb looks kinda nice,really!!but the octavia….oh well..beauty’s in the eye of the beholder~

• the logo look like a ”sunat” cock with wing!
    http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Kamil-Skoda-Octavia-VRS&image=40701_455494103133_678803133_6300507_6924999_n.jpg

• Maserati on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Typical German designed interior.Should be an OK car.

But at that kinda price,Dont think will sell well cause SKODA does not have the brand image yet.Still miles away to achieving that…

• Octavia VRS looks like Spectra

• sri hartamas on Aug 18, 2010 at 6:53 pm

nonsense!

• ur not alone on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:27 am

spectra!!! spot on….. a pricey one…..upgrade spectra with ah beng mods….

• namawee on Aug 19, 2010 at 10:37 am

that’s peoples’ opinion. respect it.

• Jamesshelby91 on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:34 pm

when a ppl brought back this car with over 180k will you thing someone will consider the rear light like an Korean car or the good felling while driving Octavia. maybe been forgotten the outer appearance but emphasis the performance from VW/Audi.

• Maserati on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Based on the pictures alone,I am actually quite impressed with the level of quality and the fit and finish.

Looks superb in the pictures.Its better than any Korean make out there.But then again,can it sell?

• The new Korean looks way better than this and it’s selling…

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Sure buy cheaper cars……but wait till it comes to spare parts/ maintenance n re-sale value….u will swear on your anccesters grave oh!

• kamil on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm

maserati….

dont la compare with korean cars… this is VW and Audi Breed… its the same engine… all across…. only the trimmings are segmented according to the market….

:)

• I think , skoda cant beat honda accord in performance and quality any time any way. 2.0 TSI is far weaker then iVTEC engine

• gracke on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:42 pm

have u test drive any 2.0 TSI, then you should understand what means performance. Skoda is one of the best!

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Have u tested the Skoda? don’t bullshit la, where got test drive car? If you went to test drive the VW then it shows that VW wanna sell their car, but Auto Praha Sdn Bhd……hmm…….alway do thing kalang kabut one…….go to the showroom and see, no test drive car, no price list, no Skoda brochure, I think now even no more Octovia VRS….some one bought the car already, must be a bad ass dud. Hardcore Skoda lover………………………hmmmmm

• phas3r on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:01 am

weaker? lol what a joke

• The Black Stig on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:22 am

@s60, sorry dude but I have to argue your opinion. Maybe you missed this in your circulations.. hahaha good one Jazz Ross

http://theclippingpoint.blogspot.com/2010/07/my-honda-tak-guna.html

• junaidi on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:56 am

I wonder how many Honda engines did well in WRC.

• Azhar on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:50 am

Dude, r u that dumb?? 2.0TSI is one of the engines of the year n I don’t think i-VTEC ever hold such crown. I like Honda n its i-VTEC engine but now I’m beginning to hate it because of dumb guy like u…

• start counting how many people buying accord rather than passat or octava. A month sales equal to the whole year sales volume for volkswagon/audi with TSI/TFSI engine. People are not numb. Surely they will buy a more powerful engine. Similarly Honda Jazz with Mini Cooper. Skoda is even worst!

• Someone on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:19 am

Who is “numb” here.

First off, the reason why ppl buy honda over vw/audi/skoda is obviously, the price. Come onlah, it’s German. What do you expect.

Secondly, Skoda isn’t popular here, compared to it’s home market, Europe. That’s why even though loads of ppl in Europe buy Skodas for they’re good value for money, it’s not worth it here as the resale value is poor.

And finally, your comment about the 2.0 tfsi is s***. Technicalities aside, how many people buy a car just because it has, what, better performance? Very few people I know actually care about the engine more than, say, the interior.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:32 pm

I think you should compare to the worldwide sales, not just in malaysia or Asean.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:51 pm

P I think you should compare it to the worldwide sales, not just in malaysia or Asean. And more reading about skoda might improved your understanding about this brand.( theres a lot of articles about it, especially from britain, and i dont think they are dump nation..) peace.

• wuttaheck on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:31 pm

ignorant ah beng to the lowest level!
        can only see the car market as honda & others…

• Then answer me, why civic won car of the year autocar asean, and not volkswagon golf or skoda. This is another proof iVTEC is more punchy than TSI. Skoda more value for european? R u kidding or what? i tot it was Honda Civic Type R then. It beat Audi RS

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Asean is not major market for,
            VW group , but TSI engine had won ‘World International Engine Of The Year’ award for 2009 and 2010. Skoda also had won many awards in europe. Vrs is a car for everyday use (like a golf), while civic R is more track oriented.
            Octavia alone had sold more than 300,000 units for 2009,(I don’t have a? figures for the VRS),Asean is not major market for,
            VW group , but TSI engine had won ‘World International Engine Of The Year’ award for 2009 and 2010. Skoda also had won many awards in europe. Vrs is a car for everyday use (like a golf), while civic R is more track oriented.
            Octavia alone had sold more than 300,000 units for 2009,(I don’t have a? figures for the VRS),

• gracke on Aug 21, 2010 at 2:33 pm

TSI torque nm from as low as 1500rpm, once step (not ‘push’ yet) on the acceleration pedal the power flow out immediately. This is only on automatic transmission, if slightly shift on a little ‘S’ mode, the big ‘SUPRISE’ is waiting there! Even semi-auto too.

So, I use to watch out the SKODA VRs, cause this beauty is the twin sister of Volkswagen GTI!! and I wonder which machine can beat AUDI RS?

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Stupid ass, how can u compare Hond with Volks Wagon? a Cucumber with Durian with ….totally different category lah….friend. think again can ar?

• David Wong on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:38 pm

SKODA 2nd hand value is probably very very low.. high depreciation but the RVS boot opens in such a stylish manner! And equipped with Eurolight switch. Plus the front is quite sporty with LED near the fog lights.. power.. Back of RVS looks like the old Lancer

where as Superb’s back looks like Proton Saga lol

• hanifhamzah on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:46 pm

it has that chinese car look on certain angle….

• marsaila on Aug 18, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Proton saga rear?

• no wagon body offer for this new Octavia VRS?

• i may agree that they look not as good as audi or vw,but they have TSI engine,DSG gearbox,typical audi/vw built quality and safety..bad ass cars.

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Wow,are they serius bringing back the Skoda,damn,if it’s cheaper than VW,it could sell well here.

• kamil on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Superb is priced at rm199,999.00… that was what the sales rep told me when i went to see the two chicks today :)

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:02 pm

OTR 206,+++.++………….still fuck man no price list out yet……….semua tidur..

• kamil on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Mr.Paul,

thank you for posting my photos!! its a pleasure to find my collection and the love of my passion featured in ur cool blog :)

Cheers!!!

• Paul Tan on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Should thank you bro, your photos were so detailed! I’m surprised the sales advisors allowed you to take photos like that… normally they feel a littel uneasy.

• junaidi on Aug 19, 2010 at 7:59 am

They’d be happy to get any kind of publicity.

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Thats right……….everything want free only,…….and than always no test car to test drive, always I hear jounarlist is borrowing the cars there….that why if go there on certain days only got Mazda2 Sdn for test drive only…………..how to sell ???

• kamil on Aug 19, 2010 at 9:08 am

kekekeke.. even if he feels a lot uneasy oso i dont care lah. as long as i get what i want.. and once pics taken.. its mine :) and best to share is with Sifu like urself :)

cheers!

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Actually I think the Sales advisors got no say at all about these matters,…normaly this kind of cheap and free publicity is arranged by the Marketing people, not the Sales……….cause the Sales people will most probabaly be busy attending walk in customers or if they are not on duty they wil lbe busy registering cars……if u don’t belive me u can ask any Car Sales Advisor……

• ..... on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm

6speed auto?

• Tiadaid on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm

RM 180K? Hard to sell. It may be a good car, but here in Malaysia, brand is no.1! No matter how good the car is, if it’s the wrong brand then it’s no go.

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:05 pm

I totally agree………..Brand x Price Divide Features = OK Car

• wolfsburg on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:34 pm

How much is the Superb? Is it 1.8 or 2.0?

• kamil on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:55 am

the sales rep said.. price is rm199,999.00

and its the same heart as the VRS… the 2.0TSI.. look at the photos.. u will see the same engine in both bays… even the placing is the same.. alignment as well…

still extracting 200hp and 280nm torque.. just in case ur wondering…

• It is not gona sell. End of story.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Then they will using it as BERJAYA’ s stuff car. I think so.

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:09 pm

It can sell, but only to hardcore followers……………………

• tax74xx on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:07 pm

superb’s look ……..superb lah.

• kevin62 on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:10 pm

I would like to trade in my Superb and get the new Superb. Any showroom in Penang?

• Aman Shah on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:17 pm

ayyooo ugly skoda…200hp but not tht sporty enough…haha..how the hell did berjaya group can get tht engine? sneak up while proton try to talk with them?

• Where’s the combi RS? With the blue in color, 6-speed DSG, 200bhp/280Nm.

• kamil on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:52 am

i dont think they r goin to bring in the Combi RS or vRS… but i hope they do… then it will go head on with Audi A4 Estate.. sure got competition… even Audi Malaysia dont carry the Wagon edition… hihihihi

• Kwing on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm

u guys should drive it then make comments here! for people who own golf GTI & Jetta TSI 2.0 will know how the Octavia VRS feel and is @rm189k. low 2nd hand value? you probably wont sell it once u buy it. As for superb think it won luxury car of the year in top gear! but hav to agree the looks is so-so but vw’s looks is not any better just that we already used to it!

• Sorry, the VRS is priced too close to the GTI for me to even bother. The Golf’s premium can be easily recouped when it’s time to sell the car.

• Kwing on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:31 pm

if u willing the pay rm20k for the heritage and mayb look (for ppl who like hatch and think vw look better). Fair enough.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Yes too close. But it is more practical for a family car. You cannot put extra luggage in Golf.

• mr_3m on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Will Bermaz bring in the Octavia vRS Combi too?

• droll on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm

it’s a brand issue. underneath the skin are all VW parts. so reliability won’t be an issue. in fact, some parts might be shared with other cars from the VAG group. but yeah, it’s an issue with branding.

if i had rm188k, i would buy the VRS.

• the superb is superb.. seriously

• VW_fan on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:09 pm

This is exactly the golf GTI power train. Even the interior share many common parts and looks similar in design concept. Only thing I find missing (based on the photos) is DCC which comes with the golf. The audio player is actually better then the one that comes in the golf. This Skoda which looks better than the old one is not a bad deal. But for a little bit more money you can get the golf which undoubtedly has more admirers and resale value than this.

• But most unfortunately, the bonnet still needs a prop to hold it up and the air-cond is not of the full-climate control type. There is also a high chance that the interior grab handles are non-damped (most Skodas are non-damped with the exception of the Superb).

Heck, even the interior front map lights are the same as a VW B5 Passat from the year 2000 (which is a very old part – mind you).

All these little things count and when the GTI is a mere RM20k more, the VRS is not very value for money.

• mitlanevo on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:10 pm

SUPERB car with a SUPERB name!!!

• rasydan on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:20 pm

the superd won ‘luxury car of the year’ from topgear magazine last year. now imagine that!

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Have u seen the Car? Don’t talk only walk la…win what award also not important! the important thing is can sell? how many units? how to sell? sell to whom? How to make it sell?……everybody sleeping only how to sell?

• RM190K for VRS can buy lah.
    What worries me is next time if sales no good and if Berjaya drop Skoda..
    Engine parts are ok, same as VW.
    Body parts i scared lah.. some motorcycle hit your rear lamp.. where to find?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:45 pm

kamil…are you bermaz salesman??..great photo though :D

• kamil on Aug 19, 2010 at 9:02 am

hahaha… no lah. am just a no body happens to receive a call from a friend telling me the car is ready for viewing…

so i went and i never forget my camera wherever i go.. so yeah… i took lots of photos while the sales rep was talking to other ‘potential’ customer..

:)

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:27 pm

I don’t think Kamil is from Bermaz, but Bawang is, u can see all his comments is more on defensive….rather than offensive……

• nabill on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Skoda consistantly in the top 5 when it comes to reliability surveys in europe , and the Yeti jus got voted car of the year

but thy have no presence in asia at all , very very small , i think europe is their main market , so it takes a very brave consumer to commit , thy need a proper dealership here bt apart from 2-3 showrooms , bermaz totally not interested in even advertising that thy have those cars for sale….

btw those cars also found in the showroom opposit times square !

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:34 pm

SKoda’s website still under construction for years. So frustrated.

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Same like Bermaz Motor la….if u go there for sevicing….Wifi also cut off, reason want to cut cost, want to cut cost very easy….cut all the Managers Salary la….I think a lot of them only sleeping only, I had to borrow a broadband from the Sales Advisor the other day. What kind of fuck up IT Department they have…..

• Anti Proton on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:05 pm

very worth the money for octavia

• something wrong with the color..
    looks like new york taxi..

put it black or red or white..its definitely way better

• trav_da_man on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:33 pm

An underrated car brand but it is mysians lost as this is the best value for money for those who want a good quality continental car at affordable prices. all Bermaz needs is to have good aftersales for Skoda.

• skiborne on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Skodas like VWs sedans, open up a typical malaysian minds of choosing ever popular japanese saloons like camry n accord, these brands sort of like “introducing” them to european marques, since BMWs n Benzes are too xpensive to some

• 1kereta on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:49 pm

what a waste to put VW TSI engine into this car…rm188k is in mid range luxury car, people have b

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:01 pm

It’s CBU units, its rival civic type R priced higher when landed here.

• nebula87 on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:29 am

Skoda Superb = Volkswagen Front + Peugeot Rear
    Skoda Octavia = Merz Front + Opel Rear

Agree anyone?…but i still vote for the Skoda Octavia..it looks sporty~!

• hanzroid on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:43 am

; )

• BeemerFreak on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:47 am

RM 188k is a bit steep for the Octavia. WOnder they consider bringing in the 1.4Tsi 160bhp normal octavia and price it below 140k, that would be interesting. BTW Superb comes with a 1.8 TFSi engine mounted with a 7 spd DSG, and it is priced lower than the Octavia VRS in SIngapore, hopefully Berjaya would do so too..

• For me, the 1.4TSI Octavia has to be way below RM130k for it to make any impact.

• TO PROTON , if you are reading ….

THIS COULD BE YOU … if u actually signed the deal with VW and start looking at long term gains ….instead of trying to safeguard your personal interest (u know what i mean) ….

• alldisc on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:21 pm

yes, i agree. proton could be like this should a collaboration was agreed.

we may see a Persona with FSI. or Satria Neo with 2.0 TSI and DSG.

or a Jetta with Proton badge.

• Put more variant here.

• JonLing on Aug 19, 2010 at 9:04 am

Skoda is doing very well in Europe, and ithink as of here, it’s one of the most “under-rated” car brands of all time. Pity that many can’t appreciate the cars, but I won’t blame them, since the dealership had been changing for few times, and in my opinion, Bermaz has to work extra hard in order to make the brand gaining popularity that it deserves here. And I doubt they would do so, since they are not doing a really good job with Mazda, and (previously) Hyundai…….

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:39 pm

I agree with u JonLing, since for Mazda case which have more variaty of cars they can’t publicise widely then what shit can they do with 2 units of Skoda (Superb n Octavia)they can’t even promote….these cars.

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 19, 2010 at 9:06 am

those who don’t know much about cars (which is the majority of malaysian drivers) won’t buy it.

those who know where skoda sits in vw’s grand scheme of things, and what the CRS badge is all about, will find that the octavia vrs a bargain priced golf and it has a boot to make the in-laws and parents happy.

a totally underated brand. all the better for it as those who know about it, will benefit from having a little more exclusivity when driving it around.

• Kwing on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:38 pm

totally agree, is like VW jetta Turbo! wolf in sheep ‘s skin

• lchan on Aug 19, 2010 at 9:53 am

this version of octavia rs, while the price looks steep for ordinary people like us but against the current price of golf gti, the octavia’s 185k+ price is about correct. Would have been nicer if it was right on the 180k mark and not those bullshit 888888 figures.

• Skoda vehicle in Malaysia is being perceived as “China Made Car” made in European country. With that kind of price tag I bet it could not sell at all, unless “China car price tag” even though it has VW technology. I will not buy this “scrap car” and will go for VW with a slight premium price. Frankly, if you afford this Skoda, definitely you will not mind paying the extras for VW. This is my personal view only.

• sleme on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:44 pm

Glad its your personal view only. By all means, go wallow in your ignorance. Only an idiot would call the car a ‘scrap car’. Just drive your Toyota or Honda and spare us all your 2 cents…

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 6:31 pm

how u know he’s driving toyota or honda? u think urself psychic or god know them all? funny just simply bash without reason…. calling ppl idiot some more? really show ur true color!

• I am not ignorance about car. My personal view is that the brand does not fit with that kind of price tag…. I am willing to pay more for my BMW but not a Skoda. Maybe they have their own fans like you. Sorry it is not a “scrap car” but a “crap car”. I am not offended by your remark because I feel pity of you……Cheers mate.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:15 pm

The same spec CBU BMW are far far much higher priced than CBU skoda, Bmw also cannot sell well here if not because of the CKD units. Correct me if im wrong.

• Maserati on Aug 19, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Rm200k for the superb?!! Really rubbish! I know its a good car but the brand image cannot demand such high price. It will never sell here lah.

And regarding my previous comment. I said fit n finish is better thn korean makes. But design still lose even to korean..

• Kwing on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm

superb won car of the year in topgear, while korean car are use to compare to washing machine and currently upgrade to reasonable price car for celebrity to trash!

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 4:03 pm

those ppl who thumbs down r those who blindly praying to vw n germans like god, n they laugh at japs hardcore fans n say they r fools, i dunno, is this a competition of who’s more ignorant? they talk cock but won’t buy this skoda even 2nd hand. seriously, v all know this is a good car, but pls allow us to comment on its imperfection…productively that is!

• sleme on Aug 20, 2010 at 6:42 am

Heh…its onvious that bystander is a, “Jap hard core fan”. How do you comment on ‘its imperfection productively’? Which part of saying that ‘the designer should be sacked’ productive? Jeez, say silly things…when people catch you out become sensitive.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Its not a pretty nor beuty car, but its handsome and macho..; )

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:39 pm

Great car… wouldn’t mind having one, but if i were looking for one, i’d wait for a second hand unit as i wouldn’t be able to take the hit of the depreciation on this under-rated-not-many-malaysians-can-appreciate-brand….

• noname on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:10 pm

For 6 years, people perception still unchanged. For 6 years, i own a Skoda and my next purchase will be also a Skoda. For 6 years, ppl talk about part, service and maintenance, & i changed parts, doing services and maintenance w/o any hassle. For 6 years, i am happily driving my skoda and it serve me very very well. So, you guys can keep giving comments and miss the real value-for-money conti car, and i will keep enjoying my ride. It is a pity.

• gracke on Aug 19, 2010 at 4:32 pm

I am so glad that finally a Skoda owner fight back all the useless, untruth and unfair all about Skoda services and maintenance. Only the owners are qualify to judge, WELLDONE!!! Skoda one of the performance machine!

• Love my Octavia FSi…been driving for 5 years..and still enjoying it like new..I have clocked 190k (mileage) as of today…
      Have made an appointment for a test drive of vRS after my biz trip….
      Hopefully I will get that chance.

Cheers!

• bystander on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:46 pm

those ppl who thumbs down r those who blindly praying to vw n germans like god, n they laugh at japs hardcore fans n say they r fools, i dunno, is this a competition of who’s more ignorant? they talk cock but won’t buy this skoda even 2nd hand. seriously, v all know this is a good car, but pls allow us to comment on its imperfection…productively that is!

• kayel on Aug 19, 2010 at 3:49 pm

this car really have a class…a class on its own that cannot be compared with normal car… just doing some research on the net about the review on this car and I’m sure you all are going to agree with me…

• Few questions;

This car was brought by Berjaya, means Berjaya is just another grey importer or just another AP King (just like Naza)?

Furthermore, should anyone in here manage to own one of this Skoda, where is the official service center? (or you could send it to VW workshop for servicing?)

Glad if anyone can answer these questions. Thanks!

• Paul Tan on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Berjaya is the official Skoda importer through Auto Praha Sdn Bhd http://www.skoda.com.my/

• BAWANG on Aug 25, 2010 at 3:00 pm

dats rite…ap holder is auto praha

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Hi Bawang, I understand that the car has no test drive car at the moment…….so how do u expect to sell?…..and also no publicity? no advertisment? no price list? no brochure? What kind of organisation are u running?

• hanzroid on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:28 pm

no test drive? maybe the car is only one per model, if anything happened, then there will be no more showroom unit….errrrggg…

• dagaro on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:46 pm

website is still under construction for as long as i can remember. i wonder if the new Fabia is in town now?

• hanzroid on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:15 pm

i own a skoda, so far im very satisfied with their services.

• gracke on Aug 19, 2010 at 10:41 pm

That’s what I said before, another owner of Skoda is proofing their satisfaction AGAIN! Welcome! SKODA.

• bystander, you really talk cock and cocky…no car is perfect okay. What you don’t like might be others liking. For me skodas always have a place in my heart, bcoz i drove and own it before. I know I will have one again soon.

For me, you are not idiot…but a clown.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:30 am

IMHO,there’s nothing such a scrap car in this world. every model has their own target buyers. I cannot afford to buy VW Golf, so Octavia is an alternative, and I found it’s more practicalfor long journey because it has massive boots. Malaysian don’t buy skoda maybe because its price quite higher compare to others CKD units. If we compare it to others CBU, it has a reasonable price. In Europe, octavia price are almost equal to Accord, and its still can sold more than 2 millions units worldwide since their first model. But I cannot deny that japs brands are more brilliant to make their products looks more expensive.
    In terms of driving, it has a decent accelerarion even with its heavy body, but easily can reach 210kmh with no hassle. I told you, even at that speed, its still stabile.(mines is N.A engine).

• kremer on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:09 pm

p1 saga design are much better looking…this skoda like pakcik2 car in 90’s

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:23 pm

I think that’s why skoda can sold millions just for a couple me years compare to p1.

• hanzroid on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:41 pm

I think Berjaya should bring skoda from India or China, then they can compete price here.

• Mr Ai Lai See on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm

I went to the showroom twice already since the car was displayed, and the worst part of it is the price list and brochure has not even been printed out yet. How can this happen? What are the Marketing people doing? If you haven’t decide on the pricing yet then don’t display the car! I’am sure customer will ask about the price………….???

• hanzroid on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Next week i will go there to service my Skoda, I hope that two cars still there, and it is not passing yet to any other Berjaya’s CEO…

• Jamesshelby91 on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:43 pm

skoda share a same engine with volkswagen is there any different,eg; for cut down the price or material built the engine is different material of VW

• hanzroid on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:15 am

I Don’t think so, maybe it is not German brand that make it price lower. If you open the bonnet, most of its components are labeled with VW/audi logo.

• intermilan on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Like someone or a few said before, Skoda design language look so similar with Korean car design language in year 2000-2005 and most of Chinese manufacturer design language. It feel dated.

Personally, it look boring, staid, mundane, uninspiring and uninspired. Out of fashion. Does not look European at all. What the Czech were doing .. i don’t know. Maybe they actually like it like this. They are Eastern Europeans after all (i don’t know what it have to do with car design language, but had to blame something).

Remove the badge and slap some Chinese marque badge and i believe no one (who are not familiar with Skoda) will raise an eyebrow.

I wish for Skoda to embrace fresher design language as performance-wise, they can get world-class parts from VW.

But based on fierce (defensive) responses by some skoda loyalists here, clearly, there are group of people who find value and prefer such design language.

But obviously, the sales figure of Skoda pointed out that this is not a big group of people (but they could be big-hearted people).

Ultimately, its a personal choice. but i’m still hoping that Skoda will change their design language to more more pleasant to the eyes and heart. and also come up with better name for their cars.

Skoda owners no need to get mad if you feel my words are harsh.
    I’m just expressing opinions regarding the image of Skoda that i have.

• omg skoda rs is arrive i been waiting for this new model to ship to malaysia like a years love it..but stil skoda is european car and it have a european standard due to their strict quality procedure nevertheless my family had own 2 skoda it was fabia 05 and octavia 08 it was remarkable they are superbly good..i will try to own this beauty octavia rs with it 200hp i think it will turn out awesome…thanks to the picture guy u r awesome man..im so full with the pic

• you can search on youtube even the fifth gear guy said and approve that skoda superb 2010 was at the same class as merc c class and even more and he also ask the public opinion and they all amazed with the skoda superb 2010

• i just book octavia vrs today..can’t wait to bring back home..such a wonderful car

• dagaro on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:44 pm

U booked in Glenmarie is it? i thought the showroom already closed. do they have Skoda Fabia in stock?

• yeah..bermaz auto in glenmarie..i think fabia is out of stock…

• virus expert on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:20 am

test driven the octavia vrs. left the showroom with a silly grin on my face. the BIGGEST let down of the car is that it only comes with 2 years warranty.

on the side note, i cant help but to laugh out laud when i read the civic type R / iVTEC vs TSI2.0T. I was in germany and i saw a blue euro civic hatch.

• virus expert on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:22 am

opps press wrong button. to continue, the civic looked out of place in the autobahn man… it’s like a poor kid who lost his way and looking for mama.

• mahen on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:45 am

Is it worth buying a second hand skoda octavia year 2005