In conjunction with the upcoming Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) are offering customers discounted parts and labour when servicing their car as part of the “Special Hari Raya Service Promotion”.
Emphasizing on safety in relation to the long balik kampung journeys, Hyundai will give each of their customers a discount of up to 20 percent on selected parts and 10 to 15 percent off on labour. This is dependent on the amount spent on parts. As you would expect, only certified Hyundai service outlets will offer this promotion from the 20th of August till the 9th of September, using only genuine parts manufactured according Hyundai specifications.
Customers participating in the campaign will also receive a free mystery gift. Further details are available from your respective service centres and dealers.
hyundai is losing out in the game especially in the market where Proton totally outshine others MPV market(Exora) and compact executive luxury sedan market (waja)
hyundai is deperate and pushing hard to compete against the big players in Malaysia automotive market Proton,Lexus,Mercedes and BMW
Proton made profit of RM100mil+ for the first quarter of 2010
Hyundai?
the only balik kampung here is hyundai should balik kampung Korea.
just wait next year for proton’s next gen. car.
with campro fuel efficient CFE(turbo one) engine and lancer model on the line,
they do have big prospect to go boom high for their sales.
maybe a new high record.
hoping for a satria/persona with a CFE engine, cvt/6 gear manual one also can + lotus ride and handling.
Hyundai is a global player & very successful globally. Not doing well here due to protective taxes, or else their cars will definately be cheaper than a proton (and what will happen to Proton if hyundai’s car are cheaper?..hence the taxes)
hyundai is the only car maker that makes money in 2009, and they are globally top 5, higher than your Nissan GTR and your Honda type R. THe only japanese company in top 5 is toyota(no1) and PSA, and VW.
lets keep proton out of this discussion.
@rossi46 Care to elaborate more on “protective taxes” you’ve mentioned. Didn’t proton also contributes to the same kind of tax?
Allo. Proton is a local car hence it is not subjected to import taxes or duties. Whereas imported cars are imposed with all sorts of duties during entry and hence make it more expensive. How can Proton compete with these Korean, when Korean car manufacturing cost is only 1/3 of Proton. You know why? Because they are huge and exported throughout the world in millions. Just go to Pusan and you can see they even have a dedicated port besides the factory with rows of ships loading Hyundai cars to be exported.
Sorry kawan, all passenger cars are subjected to excise duty irrespective of brand. So even when you buy a Proton or Perodua, there is no import tax, but there is 75% excise and 10% sales tax.
http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm
you must be a Proton salesman…haiz~
Disagree fully. Who says maintainance for Hyundais are pricey? I have an Accent, the 2009 one and i have to say it’s actually not so bad, considering the fact that it ALSO includes semi-synthetic lubricant oil. And, a compact luxury sedan is typically a BMW, Mercedes, Audi, and any other equivalents. The upcoming Waja? Nah, it’s just a C-segment competitor.
People like you are nothing but idiots, calling Hyundai desperate but failing to state facts that Hyundai cars like mine have much better quality than the local brands, even the Japanese now, are cheaper to buy, service, and nowadays, actually on par with the Japs for reliability. Get your facts right before you start to call Hyundai or even any other make desperate!!
since when a waja is a luxury sedan?
In the first half of 2010 they recorded USD 1.2 BILLION profit ..
http://www.businessweek.com/news/2010-07-29/hyundai-profit-jumps-71-to-record-on-overseas-demand.html
Proton’s Quarterly profit is at RM 105 Million which is like only a fraction of that in comparison. All this could be achieved with the help of regulations in the auto industry.
what is so great about proton making 100mil, if not because of the government protection at the expense of people money, who would seriously buy proton if the price is on par…hyundai sonata is sold at less than RM70k in US and Korea and slightly more in Australia, with that, you cant even buy a high line exora.
Secondly, you are putting proton, lexus, merz and bmw in the same league…bravo…you are the only one in malaysia doing that…
hyundai is typically fine and i think the issue is the management of the company. They have full range of car (11-12) from small car (i10), mid size (Avente, gets, matrix, i30,), big MPV (starex), executive car(sonata), 4×4 (tucson, santa fe) and also coupe. If they have consistency in pricing, more established service operation, they should be doing fine….
In fact, hyundai themselves have been doing very well in other market…..malaysia is really an exception …so if you want to put someone to balik kampung….you should ask the management of sime darby
i think the Sime D is not doing a good job in sellign the car.
the I30 is rarer than ferrari in KL. lol
i dont think Hyundai is to blame. just look at what Naza can do to Kia in terms of pricing but SD is just too ignorant to the market forces.
i agrree with the fliz slightly
however they did launch the cool new look of the tucson and sonata
the latest I series also looks cute and cuddly
hope the price falls though.
have you guys seen the new sonata? it’s spectacular, least to say.
hyundai is doing so much better than Proton (think globally, nuthead), enuf said.
well,i’d say…proton is improving,but hyundai improved better..
the US “bullis” sales for Hyundai states the fact that it’s a good priced car for design and warranty, especially on the Sonata segment.
one thing for sure, you do not drive this car for it’s handling and sharp response.
btw, never compare Proton with a big industrial conglomerate like Hyundai.
It’s like comparing Mid Valley with mamak store….two different stories altogether. ;)
wahhh pandainyaa…u should be proton MD in next term…
Proton to compare to Korean made…come out lar!
heaven and earth lar….perhaps proton level now is below sea level.
the gap is to big…hyundai is the world 4th largest car manufacturer!
i can see that you are just trying to justify your purchase
that is normal actually for car owners to be overprotective over their choice of brand
so i dont blame you for your ignorant of how much better Proton is compared to your Hyundai
proton loser hahaha
Hi flizzardo,
U must be trolling here. That, or u must be a real jaguh kampung.
Check out this link :
http://paultan.org/2010/01/08/hyundai-sales-break-three-million-mark-in-2009/
Hyundai did what took proton 24 years to achieve in just 1 year. If ur words hold water, there would be 3million suckers worldwide in 2009. Should I say more?
Hyundai is keep inovate some difference compare to others, some people want to compare with our Malaysia lovely PROTON, in term of Inovative, Technology, Export Volume, Oversea Distributors, is really cannot compare, Sime Darly is doing something very stupid for Tucson model few months ago, increase the selling price within a short period, Sime Darby need to do something to increase, raya promotion only for the hyundai owner, how about for protential owner? think about it.
duly and partially agree.
SD’s idea is just simple…reaping profit from the current “order” statistics, or perhaps an adjustment from the fallover cost somewhere they failed …anyway, it’s CBU, and not CKD.
It could be either way….”someone’s” tax got higher or “someone” got greedier.
Malaysians are pretty good at judging whether an extra 5k is justifiable..
My opinion… nope. It changes the whole ball game, between deciding Japanese or Korean…
agree…
My wife just sent her i10 for a minor service last weekend…
With all the huuhaaa about the discount, it ended up more expensive than the pre-discounted service…
Both were minor services with nothing extra…
yea, try bmw and merc ;) or even peugeot
i drove a 2004 hyundai Matrix….it is wayyyy better than my previous car, the proton waja (of course laa different price segment & CBU)… no power window problem & door handle tak patah… the only problem is the price of the parts!! One side replacement of drive shaft will cost you nearly RM1600!! call their service center if you don’t believe me…
i believe u..that is because u ask from hyundai..if u wanna cheap, go to spare part shop..this shop normally give u 2 choices, either ori one or not..but if not ori usually they give warranty for few months..and A LOT cheaper..any car also like this..i doubt if a lot of car owners go to the authorised service center to get their spare part..sure the price will chop head kaw2..
I own a Hyundai Avante x20…
Rare breed I might say compared to the Pug 308, Mazda 3, Civic, Altis, and all the same class segment rival on the road…
This is my first Hyundai…
Some friends have been driving some, but a bit sceptically why those people but this brand…
After owning one, I just understand why…
“Value For Money”…
Cheaper… but get more car and a bit better quality then the others…
It feels a bit sad that Hyundai cars sold here is run by an organization/ company that still need miles of improvement in terms of Customer satisfaction and responds…
Hyundai is now a BIG name outside Malaysia, but locally… the brand is still behind others…