Hyundai BlueOn: the Korean company’s first full EV

Hyundai has officially unveiled their first fully electric car, called the BlueOn. The company first previewed an electric car concept, which was based on the previous i10 model at the Frankfurt Motor Show in 2009.

The BlueOn is based on the 2011 Hyundai i10, measuring in at 3,585 mm in length, 1,595 mm in width and 1,540 mm in height. This shell is powered by an 81hp electric motor that generates 210Nm of torque. Power will come from a 16.4kWh Lithium ion polymer battery that is said to have a longer lifespan and storage capacity compared to a nickel metal hydride battery.

Furthermore, the new powertrain gives the BlueOn an acceleration figure of 0 to 100km/h in 13.1 seconds, going on to reach a top speed of 130km/h. The car travels 140km on a single charge. When it runs out of juice, it can be recharged with a 220V household socket in six hours. A 380V power outlet on the other hand, replenishes 80 percent of its power in 25 minutes.

If noiseless electric cars are your worries, Hyundai has fixed that problem by installing a Virtual Engine Sound System (VESS) that creates an artificial sound to alert pedestrians of its presence. Hyundai plan to make about 2500 units by the end of 2012 and will be promoted in the next G20 summit. Look for pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1498]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Potong lah on Sep 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Mana proton EV?!

• rexis on Sep 18, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Typically zero fuel cost if you can charge at your office like how you charge your hand phone…

btw, what’s Myvi’s 0-100?

• Wait for Mitsu EV bro, baru boleh copy.

• campro on Sep 19, 2010 at 2:14 am

Peugeot alr used Mitsubishi colt EV rebadge under their as their own model line up for Europe market….If proton want this Colt EV as well….dun knw Proton hv to sell what of thier model rights to Mitsubishi….but i cannot thk out of which model can be sell to mitsubishi to get this Colt EV…..Proton change 2 model persona & exora to get 1 Lancer model……2:1…..mitsubishi untung gila….

• Initial R on Sep 18, 2010 at 11:59 pm

This can’t used for balik kampung…

• farghmee on Sep 19, 2010 at 8:07 pm

buleh la.
      rumah kt ampang, blk kg di kg baru. hahaha
      lawak raya jer :)

• Hyundai Lover on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:16 am

it looks better than the current i10. should wait for it to come to malaysia before trade in my myvi.
    hi paul,

when it is expecting the new i10 facelift coming to malaysia?

• campro on Sep 19, 2010 at 2:20 am

i guess not so fast facelifted at local since i10 is still new at here between this 1 or 2 year currently…mayb u will chg ur mind after see new generation myvi…wait n see 1st…
      but i like the current i10 look more cute n pretty….this hyundai family face look nice but for me it is not suitable for a vr small car…..ix20 mini mpv (matrix) still acceptable to me….of coz it look vr nice in tucson & coming soon avente

• kozekx on Sep 20, 2010 at 9:08 am

what? are you saying that p2 is coming up with an ev myvi in 1 to 2 years time? if not, then i think you have missed the point. this is an ev vehicle, mister.

i agree with Hyundai Lover. maybe i can get my mom who owns a myvi to change to this, or some other suitable ev as she only drives around town.

• altimasss on Sep 19, 2010 at 12:30 am

Excellent, just what we need.. keep ’em coming !
    We need more choices of EVs that we can choose from.

I have a feeling this one will reach Msian shores first compared to Nissan’s Leaf.. knowing TC, they would want others to test the waters first before bringing it here 5 years after that.

Happy to read this.. good luck Hyundai.. wish you good sales, so that others will follow !

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:37 pm

TC is hopeless, Nissan has no future in their hands. Deficient in something, marketing skills? Nissan herself also doesn’t know what customers want. If you want to target customers who want comfort, then just focus on comfort eg comfortable driving position like telescopic steering, auto air-con etc, instead of paddle shift and alloy pedals for example. Learn from Toyotas lah.

• rahimdin on Sep 19, 2010 at 1:15 am

Emas is like hangat2x tahi ayam.
    or maybe Nato –
    what ta do when TM is still at the helm and
    saying that P1 need not merge.

• MoFaz on Sep 20, 2010 at 11:48 am

you can’t marry the girl if the girl is still married to another man. to merge proton and perodua, perodua need to ‘bercerai’ from toyota/daihatsu first. and why would perodua ask for divorce if its happily married to toyota?

• botak on Sep 19, 2010 at 2:03 am

i tot tht proton already have ev on saga n exora?? already show in indon for saga ev..
    not so sure bout that..

• patriot on Sep 19, 2010 at 7:10 am

Why does EV must have that same midget like look? why cant they make it look like a proper sedan?

• tesla roadster?…it EV sport or supercar car watever u called it….

• suddenly

• djomaha on Sep 19, 2010 at 8:44 am

I love this car!

• nerdeliteonline on Sep 19, 2010 at 9:33 am

nice one… but 6 hrs charging is a bit to long… So the electric + combustion engine still a good option.

• BSLee on Sep 19, 2010 at 10:54 am

If we can have charging point (380Volt) anywhere, then it is viable but not for long distance travel. Imagine hundreds of people try to charge their vehicle at Sungai Perak R&R.

• Tiadaid on Sep 19, 2010 at 1:14 pm

EV aren’t designed as a long distance car. City driving is the main function of the EV car, because city driving is the most wasteful driving conditions in terms of fuel consumption.

• agree with u…

in Seoul. they put sign disallowed EV/ partial EV car on certain highway..this to avoid any problem if the car suddenly stalled in the middle of the highway due to drain out the charge..

in malaysia even kancil 660 is treated as a long haul car with 5 passengers …

• p1basher on Sep 19, 2010 at 1:12 pm

wow, even went so far to get virtual engine sound

• farghmee on Sep 19, 2010 at 8:10 pm

that’s for safety reason.

later can put turbo “kepish2…krukrukru” sound also…haha

• safety..coz EV car sound r not loud as combustion engine..almost no sound

• wonder if they will give this facelift to the recently introduced 1.25 kappa.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 19, 2010 at 4:28 pm

ev or not the face lift looks macho

• sepajo on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:29 pm

I think EV should be more than replacing the engine with electric motor. The body should be made of light weight material so as to increase the range.

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Why still use the Avanza-type cheapo door handles in this modern car? Is the modern handle really that expensive?

• Jenalik5 on Sep 19, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Proton Emas, ‘con’cept hangat-hangat tahi ayam car.
    Cost millions of tax payers money to build, only for show, that is as far as it goes for Proton.

• MoFaz on Sep 20, 2010 at 11:42 am

we’ll see 1 of the Emas in Paris motorshow next month, under Lotus badge (3 doors). Proton version (5 doors) might be in KL motor show in december.

• mivec on Sep 20, 2010 at 11:54 pm

itu la org kite.. belum apa2 dah buat assumption negative..

• p1 can produce…but we don hav enough infrastructure yet to support the system….the G must invest first..but u will complain if they to use ur tax money for that infras…if p1 produce for export no prob la….

• Proton Staff on Sep 20, 2010 at 6:46 pm

our proton already got EV, F1 and rally car…now only hyundai come out with this?
    summore our EV is new design, not reuse from our Savvy…
    our engineers better can produce EV faster than Korean engineers..

• rahimdin on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:24 am

Better / Faster ?
      Then where is the – on the road unit ?
      Talk is cheap !!

• mr.eims @ Perfume on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:31 am

i think this korean company eager to release their ev car too soon.
    while proton takes more time to R&D first,

140km per charge for me is just not practical enough.
    so this car is 100% city car, owner will need to charge the car average everyday? 2-3 days?max 4 days? of course need 2nd car for further driving. paying 2 roadtaxes& insurance, need more space to store the car at house.

if 30km from home to work. go to office n back to home 60km. 2 days 120km. i think i will need to charge everyday also coz, takkan ngam2 only for two days. if emergency need to go somewhere else kan dah susah.

i think for full ev car, minimum km/charge should be 200km+ kira ok lagi la tu..

• Alitstar on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm

I have seen Hyundai rolling out cars with designs superseding some of famous European brands. The new Mercedes E-Class in my eyes must be the ugliest car after Cherry. Yet it sells probably because of its reputation in safety, quality and track record. It seems the same building up in Hyundai. Hyundai is progressing well in the world and I am not saying just in Automotive, but also their core industry in engineering and ship building.

Therefore I braved to shift my paradigm about Korean cars, not that I’m disappointed with my Kancil, Saga, Wira, Altis, Camry, Accord and MINI. I have also had an opportunity to drive various models of BMW during my tenure with a certain dealership.

About two weeks ago, I test drove the Sonata, Tucson, Getz and i10. Having satisfied with the vehicles performance, I signed the RCO – for an i10. My wife was nudging me for the Tucson, but I had to later entertain her that we are stepping into an unknown territory, let’s check out what I consider a “disposable” first. While waiting for the delivery, I read some rave reviews of its fuel consumption on a UK site and was waiting in eager to check it out for real.
    THE i10 ALL NEW 1.25 KRAP-PA ENGINE
    To my surprise when I got it, the sound of the exhaust, loyalty of the gearbox and swift acceleration did remind me of my MINI Cooper. I love the gearbox keeping gears in lock; making driving at traffic jams a fun thing and allows engine breaking. But I am not at all impressed with its fuel consumption, getting only 340km with 28 liters of fuel, that’s an embarrassing 12km per liter; my Altis 1.6 can do the same or better. So what was it again the UK reviewer said about the 1.25 new generation Kappa engine?

On other tests, above 120kph I can hardly control the car wondering left and right. Forget taking it to 150kph (which I did), one will have to stop at the fuel station every 300 km, or less. Overall, the car is good – for a City Car, of less 50k. And please get a spare rear windscreen wiper rubber. You need to use it more often than the front. Some smart-alec designs the rear spoiler to channel all the rain and dust onto the glass. Maybe the Hyundai club fans can tell us how much down-force they got from it in their wind tunnel testing.

On my way back from Bangi, I exited to Cyberjaya to get to Puchong. There is a nice, curling turn off to the toll plaza. I heard a soft ‘tick’ noise and when I straightened to approach the toll, I noticed a two inch hairline crack on the front windscreen, just above the rear view mirror. The next afternoon the crack grew about six inch.
    I showed the crack to the technical personnel of the dealership but they claimed it was caused by a stone chip. Pointing to a speck of dot in-between the crack line. So how can I argue?

I do know that the frame of the i10, like most other cars flexed while taking a turn. Windscreen frames and wheelhouse are the most rigid assembled components but they do flex at certain applied energy. Therefore windscreens are normally installed with several rubber buffers over a certain thickness of sealant. Thick sealant when fully cured restricts movement and sometimes cracks a windscreen, during hard turns or climbing steep humps. But my explanation was thrown out and they insisted that I’m hallucinating.

I gave in and opted to have it replaced by was told that my 21 days old car is not insured for windscreen damage. What’s more, the entire car is not insured. The E-cover had no dates because the dealership has not paid the agent for the insurance, although I have paid everything to them. When challenged, the Branch Manager denied responsibility should my car is involved in an accident of any claims against them.

SERVICE APPOINTMENT
    I decided to forgo the replacement until I get the insurance sorted. In the meantime, my car had reached 850 km and its due for the 1st service, in about 5 days (estimated). The dealership was full, so were others in the state. I was given an option to come on Saturday at about 7:30am and wait on a first come first serve basis.
    Now why would I want to ruin my Saturday to wait at a dealership for an oil change? Then I got a shock when I recalled the 5 years warranty.

5 YEAR WARRANTY / 300,000 KM
    Meaning, I have to put up with these nonsense of appointments, weeks ahead and probably spend the whole day at the dealership. Factor in the part where if I were to claim anything on warranty, they I can be regarded as hallucinating for a free job?
    Therefore, will I have the patience for 5 years, to put up with these ‘nonsense’ to be entitled for a possible warranty on my car repairs? It occurred to me not. That in a year or two, I will not be able to resists the fast, immediate and prompt attention of Ah Chong Workshop. In which, will render my 5 years warranty as void. Since I’m not in any better situation now anyway, what the heck. So I said to their 5 Year Warranty / 300,000 KM – up yours!

RESALE VALUE
    I am expecting to lose about RM 7,000.00 ~ 20,000.00 should I sell this car. Most of those who own a Hyundai claim that their legs are chained with the banks. They still have to settle a huge sum before they can get rid of this car. Is it that bad? When I sold my Altis for a Camry, I was delighted by the Sales person in UMW by offering me the best value, overtrade, free this and that that I fell in love with UMW Toyota.
    About this “Why buy a car just to sell them later” that some Hyundai die hard owners brag. Well guys, with an exception to being a millionaire, most of you cannot claim the car you drive is yours, right? It belongs to the financier until we settle the full loan tenure and this maybe 5, 7 or 9 years. We are practically driving cars on lease. And the so called “Our car/my car” is a liability in respect to road safety as an asset. It’s not at all close to being an investment to hold on the car we purchased to last for eternity.
    The average car reaches metal fatigue just after 3 years. Some even after 1 year, irrespective to what the mileages are. Even with regular service, we can extend probably the engine and gearbox lifespan whilst the rest will be taken care by the way you drive (I’ve seen how you drive), climate and the excellent road condition we have here in Malaysia.

Most of us don’t have the cash to buy cars like millionaires do, so we need to dispose the ones we have to get another. Knowing that these cars (European, Korean or Japanese) are unlikely to survive time, we take the longest tenure, lowest installments (save some) and plan to get rid of it after 3 years. Furthermore, by that time there will be new model with greater features to enjoy. Why keep an antique?
    After the 3rd year, just after the warranty expires you will notice the trip to your favorite garages will increase, time spent will be longer and the money you cough-out for your loyal baby will escalate. Plot them on a chart, and you will actually see with your eyes how your wallet thins every year. You want to keep this sentimental scrap metal, be my guest.

That’s why most Malaysians with the buying power (the Uncles if I may) always consider resale value of the car they buy. And mind you, we Uncles so far have been successful in keeping a grip on which car has better resale while the younger goons continue to debate on the dawn of the uncle’s car.

But it’s fine if you were born with a silver spoon and actually thinks those unheard off cars are antiques, please go ahead. Cars that simply overwhelm you with its ‘torque’, monster BHP, SMART Gearbox, TipTronic, HeadsUpDislay, NightVision or simply for the Chris Bangle design, or the Bang Olufsen sound system and the facts and figures of the machine that matches your ‘character’ and success. Otherwise, you must be joking to say your Hyundai (or any other car) is for keep sake, which remotely has any of the latter standards.

Again it’s OK, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, fine. Enjoy yours and thanks for your NEW SCHOOL thinking, you will remain suckers for another 10 / 20 years and continue to make Malaysia a dumping ground for these scrap…plastics.

LESSONS LEARNED
    I have just crossed 4000km on my new i10 Krap-pa engine. I’m servicing it with Ah Chong as I don’t see the point in paying RM 250.00 (for the first service as well) just to be entitled for their krap-pa 5 year warranty, which they will some how find it void.

I was planning to pass the i10 to my son but by now even he is not interested. He wants a MyVi which has numerous service centers in the country and there one just a stone throw from my place. So the lessons learned are that it may be a good car elsewhere in the world, it sure sucks here in Malaysia.

For those who bought the Hyundai, may god bless you. For those whom are planning…please for god’s sake, check out Perodua, Honda, Nissan and Toyota first.