Toyota announces recall due to brake master cylinder and fuel pump problems

Lexus RX

It looks like it’s still recall season for Toyota, who have just announced that it will be recalling 1.53 million Lexus, Toyota Avalon, and other models for issues related to brakes and fuel pumps. Of all the cars affected, 740,000 are in the US and 599,000 are in Japan, while the rest are scattered around Europe and other world markets.

The brake problem is with the brake master cylinder, which could lead to weaker braking power. A small amount of brake fluid can slowly leak from the master cylinder, resulting in an illumination of the brake warning lamp. If left unfixed, the driver will begin to notice a spongy or soft brake pedal feel, with the car’s ability to slow the vehicle down gradually deteriorating subsequently. Apparently Toyota claims it’s not all their fault though – they say the problem is caused by the use of non-Toyota brake fluid. The company claims their Toyota-branded brake fluid contains lubricating polymers that prevent the problem.

The problem with the fuel pump is an electrical fault can lead to the engine stalling, which affects mostly models sold in Japan. It involves a connector within the fuel tank, which can move, causing it to wear.

Models affected in the US are the 2005-2006 Toyota Avalon, the 2004-2006 Toyota Highlander, the 2004-2006 Lexus RX330, the 2006 Lexus GS300, and the 2006 Lexus IS250 and IS350. Models affected in Japan include the Toyota Crown, the Toyota Crown Majesta, the Toyota Harrier, the Toyota Mark X, the Toyota Alphard, the Toyota Kluger, the Lexus GS350, the Lexus IS250, and the Lexus IS350, all various models produced between May 2002 and November 2005.

In Japan, only the GS350 and the Crown are affected by both problems while the other models are affected only by one of the problems. A lot of the cars above are sold in Malaysia via grey importers, so the fuel pump problem may be a cause for concern – better get your brake master cylinder and your fuel pump connectors checked.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acerman on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm

THIS is recall year. Nothing is perfect. FULLSTOP.

• azrai on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:32 am

“No need to worry. Malaysian Toyota’s and Lexus’ does not affected.” I’m sure this will be the UMW statement in a few days to come.

• klguy on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:31 am

correct correct. we only get the top quality product. not like those in US and Europe.

• Yeess no one is purrrrrfect….

• truly a bad year for toyota.their reputation for reliability will really suffer

• shamazlan on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:40 am

no….ppl will feel they are more responsible…..some just keep silence….

• Consumer on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:09 am

Yea, but at the risk of sounding a tad idealistic, isn’t it Toyota’s Responsibility to announce a recall?

• lolypop on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:39 pm

Quote>> “”Apparently it’s not all Toyota’s fault though – they say the problem is caused by the use of non-Toyota brake fluid.””

Do you guys really believe it is design flaw and not detected during its reliability test?? If this happen to non toyota brake fluid, it should have much much massive recall rather then just affected to certain models/batch..

• Ya lorrrr.. what a lame excused from Toyota…. Even a top Marque car didnt have problem if they using a different brand. Only thing no warranty lorrr..rite

• shamazlan on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:42 am

that because the design is for bigger polymer brake fluid……kau x paham bahasakah?

• 4x4Fan on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm

They don’t understand la Bro..Suruh dulu diaorg pakai keta Flintstone..kurang sikit maintenence…pkena2 pakaian Flintstone pon ngam jugak tu tau….

• bobdbilder on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:38 am

I would think that they would have it in their warranty disclaimer. Toyota does not make its own brake fluid and by the turn of the century they should have designed this for DOT standardized brake fluids.

The most disturbing part is the electrical fuel pump which causes moving parts??? Vibration from the pump? Moving parts tend to develop friction. Not very good in tanks that are less than half full perhaps?

Recalls are almost always safety related. Not about quality.

• nabill on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:48 pm

moral of the story , buy from authorized distributors, atleast things can be fixed , those recond owners where to go ??

• hengkem on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:37 pm

I suppose they have to repair the problem themselves as they knew all along that there will be no warranty. Question is, will they want to go and check just because their brakes are feeling okay at the moment? I hope so as there are loads of those toyota models affected being sold here…like someone said below, just becareful when a toyota tails you…let him pass!!

And don’t tailgate a toyota either, he might stall and you’ll whack his behind…..

• campro on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:40 pm

makan sendiri loh…want cheap is like that 1, then this is what you get if trouble come out like recall matter…cheap not necessary mean good…

• recond on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:01 am

Dear Campro,

I quote, “cheap not necessary mean good”. Pls find me an unreg recond car below 100k. Majority are 150k and above.

So, Proton and Perodua cars are not good? They are the cheapest in the market.

• Gapodios on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Even ‘otai’ make a mistake.

• civiclise on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:54 pm

imagine this happen to proton.. what would thos pro H n T would say…

• shamazlan on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:44 am

proton just ikut style toyota…….recall for h-line only…..wat about the b-line models?

• Arcane on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:16 am

Because b-line is not equipped with airbags and/or cruise control

• Prismo on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:46 am

If happen to Proton, they will bash like hell… just like acerman said, nothing perfect when it happen to toyota..

• Tiadaid on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Harrier & Alphard…I wonder how those who bought their cars from Naza are going to feel. Definitely won’t get support from UMW that’s for sure.

• orite.. The world has proof it. No car is perfect! Now we shouldnt blame Proton for being low quality in the past. Proton is now standing just as the international car.. Support national car… Beli buatan Malaysia… If your budget is below rm100k.. be proud! be really proud just like korean only buy korean cars!
    malaysia.. Proton is the image of us for the outsiders.. If we cant be proud and not supporting Our brand.. What is the world is going to think of us?
    -be proud-.

• shamazlan on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:48 am

why waste money buy something that is not good quality? just because it’s made in malaysia…? than u derma semua duit u tu untuk bina that 100-storeys mega tower la…..kita kena tgk siapa pemimpin……bukan buta-buta sokong

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:09 am

I want my children to get No 1 in academic, and not No1 in the size of his school bag.
        101 tingkats but in a 4th world country ???
        No 1 in sales but quality no more No1???

• learner on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:11 am

almost every nations got mega project like that, not just for the nation pride but also to generate economy. thousand of companies both local and international and both malaysian and foreign labors will get direct benefits from it, while business that existing around it will prosper too. when economy down (even grow), gov must inject money into the systems. so that business will maintain growing and labors will not losing their jobs. this practice is recognize worldwide. want to be develop must inject more money into the system lah.

anyway, what the hell dragging 100 storey tower project into toyota recall problem???? this project announcement makes toyota quality drops?

• hello on Oct 24, 2010 at 7:18 am

you all bash proton without using something called a brain….nak beli kereta murah murah tapi nak quality…you dalam industry ini baru you tahu….you nak high quality plastic…kena bayar lebih kalau cost dia mahal tapi quality pun bagus…plastic yang mahal tahan lama….so kalau proton jual mahal you all bising…..

• Izhar on Oct 24, 2010 at 12:18 pm

hehehe….belilah kete import….sama je mana2 kete pun….kete sekarang macam handphone….komputer..pakai buang….

• Proud only if there is no protection. Why the need to feel proud when so much protections are given and end of the day still cannot get it right. We would be really proud if Proton is not protected and compete in fairness.

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

So by your definition, Koreans shouldn’t be proud of Kia & Hyundai because they were built up with Government protection that’s even worse than what we get here. Don’t forget, they took 40+ years to get to where they’re now.

Protectionism’s everywhere. Face the facts. Even the so called bastion of free trade America practices protectionism in one way or another.

• ProtonRocks on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:19 am

Totally agree, it’s the time to remove the trade barrier and let Proton fight like a real soldier, not a boy scout

• toyota recall, proton also kena bash in this topic ka… what a basher…

• so be extra careful when a toyota tailgates you…..

• Still waiting for the recall of power window!

• shamazlan on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:48 am

me 2…..for my proton…..

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:14 am

I’m still waiting for the recall of CVT gearbox for the City!

• hualan on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:27 pm

You are waiting ?? I thought you own a Proton ? City produced in Melaka you think from Thailand meh ?

• dickybird on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:37 pm

KIV, the cvt in the Inspira, good luck you guinea pigs!

• learner on Oct 23, 2010 at 11:29 pm

guinea pigs? i don’t understand, the current mitsu lancer that have been around for more than a year is not using CVT? but mitsu gives CVT for inspira?

• Maybe because they have publicly stated their ECUs had no problems, then when probing the data, vehicles were showing velocities in the hundreds of miles an hour at the time of an incident.

This is in direct contradiction of previous statements. Now are the responsible for the unintended acceleration issues? Only the experts know for sure, but I am not holding my breath to here it from Toyota.

We can argue that Toyota’s quality is currently slipping… but notice how all the recalled cars this time are in the mid-2000’s. Before that, we had Toyotas as old as 2001 being recalled.

Now I’m seriously wondering why there are so many recalls of old cars from Toyota. It really gives me the impression that Toyota tried to hide recalls – which can cause a far severe damage than the January recalls to the brand…

• nabill on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:26 am

imagin a toyota with accelerator pedal,brake pump issue,airbag malfunction ,all inside one car ??
    whats next ?
    wheels falling over?doors fly away by themselves?

man , this really is a death trap….how many times toyota hav to recall for ppl to ditch the brand ? i guess love and brand loyalty are both BLIND !!

if this was another brand with that many recalls in one single year , thy wd be bunkrupt by now for sure…

• moving forward!

• they say the problem is caused by the use of non-Toyota brake fluid.

So I guess only pretty much only US and Japanese purchasers use non-Toyota branded brake fluid because they didn’t recall elsewhere. Almost every single Toyota purchaser in every other country never used non-Toyota branded brake fluid.

• so far Perodua haven’t got recall gok le ho?

• yongtj on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:23 am

in malaysia …everythings no problem…no need recall..everythings fine…

• ko malu saje... on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:06 am

pursuit of perfection? prffffttt…..

• shamazlan on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:38 am

yes…..this is perfect ……good job toyota

• Johndeep on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:04 am

Bro Shamazlan, I assume your Toyota is 100% in perfect condition. This should give you more comfort. There is no reason for backing up Toyota even if you own one. Mistake has been made and they should correct it although they take such a long time to exercise this recall.

• shamazlan, recall is perfect? good job toyota? u are in denial mode la bro..

• Izhar on Oct 24, 2010 at 12:23 pm

hahaha…salesman toyata ke ko???
        byk tul komen ko dalam ni….100% support toyota….
        xper…..dah ko mmg cegitu..nak wat macamana kan….hehehe

• How all the recon toyota models affected used in m’sia??

• mivec on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:34 am

how about recond cars?

• S.Roma on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:39 am

Dear All,

Is there any other than below brand that recall their product this year?

1. Proton
    2. Honda
    3. Toyota
    4. ?
    5. ?

• bien335 on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:36 am

4. mercedes-benz
      5. other japanese makes.

FYI, Japanese cars also have a recall exercise, or rather PUD (product update) where by the manufacturer updates or upgrades their cars that have been made.

If you notice, many imported used Japanese cars have a small green sticker on their rear window/door sill, about the size of our 50 sen coin. those are recall stickers.

• johnny on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:38 am

Suzuki & Ferrari..

• recall car this year is…

Volkswagon (Voyage), Nissan(Infiniti) ,Mercedes-benz (C-class/ e-class), Porche AG (Panamera)

• alldisc on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:12 am

proton waja has a popular fuel pump failure over the past 9 years – why isnt there any recall?? it was highly dangerous when out of sudden the waja in front of you slows downat speeds…

• Johndeep on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:07 am

If every part failure need to recall, better have lifetime warranty system bro.

• Aroma on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Is John Holmes your relative ah Johndeep ? Failure sure need to be fixed la !

• rally_fan on Oct 23, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Had a waja, never aware of any fuel pump problem. friends in waja club also didnt seem to have any problem.. where did you get your info from? or its something you just made up>?

• alldisc on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:10 am

fuel pump failure is POPULAR to waja, i didnt say all waja.

if you have not face the problem yet, good for you. but go check waja forums or ask the proton’s SC. eh, they sure tell you no problem one…

• Yea…dont forget about Avanza model too.. most common failure “Aircond” within 2-5 years.

• da'kongzter on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:44 am

I would congratulate Toyota for being brave to step forward and recall their defective products.

This is not easy on their financial point of view, but it is the most ethical thing to do.

• rally_fan on Oct 23, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Its not about being BRAVE or ethical.

if you have a serious problem that can affect the safe operation of your vehicle (which means a defective aircon button doesn’t count), a manufacturer MUST report it to the authorities, and start a recall.. failure to do so, can mean large fines and possible court action, which happened to toyota in the us.

toyota was fined around usd16 million beginning of this year for exactly this, not reporting a major problem in time although they knew about it for some time. im sure they dont want to get fined again in the same year. so are they still considered ethical? i’ll leave it up to you guys..

• da'kongzter on Oct 26, 2010 at 1:28 pm

it is ethical in my opinion. I’m working in an engineering mnc developing, manufacturing and supplying parts to many automative maker. i have seen many companies ‘hide’ the fact they have defective parts/supply just to ensure they can meet with the demand.

toyota could had been one of those company to ‘hide’ themselves from the shame and put the blame elsewhere but they did not.

look, after toyota dared to step forward, many other automaker came out from the blanket and dared to declare a ‘recall’ on some of their product.

• zanggief on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:49 am

Pls correct me if i m wrong.
    In automotive industry, it is usual to share components on the effort pf cost saving. If there are pros and there must be also cons. There is a trend to design the components to be multi model sharing. When the faulty occurs on the parts and this will generate into the sister or brother models that share the same or similar parts.

• “recalling 1.53 millions”
    if toyota = no one is perfect.
    if p1 = p1 bullshit. bad car. car not safe..bla..bla.bla..

awful truth..

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:13 am

Indeed. Where are the P1 bashers who vehemently bashed P1 when they announced their recall exercise? Where are the people who stated “P1 after 25 years still cannot produce perfect car should better close shop?” Toyota’s 73 years old and still they couldn’t produce perfect car, should they close down?

Typical.

• dickybird on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:44 pm

you still dont get it do you. well, i suppose when proton is your paragon of virtue than you cannot really see anything else being better.

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Oh come on dickybird, why don’t you just admit it! Why can’t you open up your mouth and criticize Toyota for once! How can you still stand there and say Toyota’s all good when they’ve gone through recall after recall after recall, and then try to play the shift blame game by blaming everybody else for their problems. Heck, even their recalls are not voluntary but forced upon them by the American government after people died! How is that good?

And why the double standards? It’s always a case of “If it’s a Proton recall, everything’s bad, they can’t build cars properly etc.” and “If it’s some other carmaker, well they’re not perfect.” If you bash Proton for being low quality, why don’t you bash Toyota? Because they’re foreign, and everything foreign must be good, isn’t it? It’s the typical Malaysian attitude. For once be objective and see things the way they really are!

It’s not me that don’t get it, it’s you.

• dickybird on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:18 pm

because thanks to proton, we dont buy toyotas anymore for a reasonable price. none of the models recalled are officially suppported by umw toyota, if they were then there would something to be said.
            even toyota’s management has admitted recently that it may have expanded too fast for its own good.
            has the top management of proton ever owned up for their infamous lack of quality in their products?
            kaizen over proton kuliti anytime.

• he’s just a sales person cari makan…

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Yeah right dickybird. No wonder Toyota have Malaysians by the balls. No wonder Malaysians are offered their cars at exorbitant prices with lousy features and still you won’t blink an eye.

As for Toyota’s management, when did they admit they expended too fast? After all the brouhaha over the recall reached its peak. After their reputation got battered to a point that if they don’t “admit” to their mistake they’ll never get up again. Even then, during the recall they tried to twist and turn by playing the blame game. Very responsible.

Are you naive enough that it’s a sincere admission?

• dickybird on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:46 pm

haha, then you two must be the sorriest proton SAs, got nothing better to do but to troll around in paul tan’s blog.

• i love malaysia on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:11 am

dickybird, people always say car price in Malaysia are very high because of proton.. but are u REALLY sure that if there is no more proton in this country that toyota dugong can be bought around 40k?? even japan car also got some quality issue.. but the owner just dont want to admit it..

• u did da same dicky.. got nothing to do but troll around in this blog.. talking like u know everything in this world..

• true!!

• learner on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:18 am

some just cannot accept reality. it’s human nature to protect themselves ………….. now they are having trouble to give excuses after many series of recalls.

• get a Honda instead!

• Hey guys, any idea if the 2006 Toyota Alphard faces this problem?
    If so, would Toyota themselves fix it in Malaysia??

thanks.

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:07 am

I doubt Toyota Malaysia would fix it. Grey imports are usually not under the responsibilities of the official distributor of the car.

• Johndeep on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:09 am

Toyota will sure fix for you but UMWT, not sure?

• sukasuki on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:11 am

UMW cars are “Great, flawless, quality tip top no 1, wont be affected by recall”
        lucky malaysian get those extraordinary excellent to perfection toyota car quality

wooottt, pls read it with sarcastic sound. ahaks!

• vincent on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

No worry Ash, cuz all Toyotas in Malaysia had superior quality, there won’t be any problems or issues at all.

• JusticePao on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:58 am

Nolah….Proton is always better

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/to-stay-is-a-high-achievement-says-dr-m-of-proton/

• Jack N on Oct 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Just pay them and they will fix it…. cheers!

• i want to congratulate Toyota for being the biggest LOSER of the year!

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:15 am

No 1 in sales but not No 1 in quality = 101-storey most famous building in a setinggan area in a 4th world country (if 3rd world country is static or making slow progress, 4th world country is the one moving backwards in terms of policy).

If you continue to give contracts to friends with tali (connections), you will be like this.

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:24 am

If your friends with tali are unable to supply you with good durable parts, don’t give them faces. Teach them some lessons. Blacklist them. Don’t give them contracts for 10 years until they show convincing improvement.

What? You just hope for their undi in you ‘DAP” kah??

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:28 am

You want your son/daughter to get No 1 in academic results, or you just want him/her to get No 1 in school bag size competition but No 45 in academic result.

• toyota recall seem to be response faster than Proton. Look at proton recall clockspring also take so long, almost 5years to notice there is a problem. Recall also didn’t specify the model on the 1st day. 2nd day only announce only for highline ge2 and neo. How about medium line car? They also got problem with clock spring, horn & radio control not functioning well.

• Tiadaid on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Let me quote the article: “Models affected in the US are the 2005-2006 Toyota Avalon, the 2004-2006 Toyota Highlander, the 2004-2006 Lexus RX330, the 2006 Lexus GS300, and the 2006 Lexus IS250 and IS350. Models affected in Japan include the Toyota Crown, the Toyota Crown Majesta, the Toyota Harrier, the Toyota Mark X, the Toyota Alphard, the Toyota Kluger, the Lexus GS350, the Lexus IS250, and the Lexus IS350, all various models produced between May 2002 and November 2005”

Cars made from 2002 to 2006. Now 2010. Fast eh?

• muserella on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:41 am

Because ONLY H-Line got Cruise Control+Air Bag+Horn on the steering.

U should have a look at a Neo or Gen2 at nearest showroom and compare between H-Line, M-Line & Base-Line. Then you do a comment here..

• Wira Tua on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:29 pm

ferrari 458 also got recalled..so why all the fuss?

• Rebadge Hater on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Where got national car? all is rebadge foreign car. Shame on malaysia auto industry. Full stop.

• rally_fan on Oct 23, 2010 at 5:48 pm

savvy, exora, neo, persona gen2, waja and new saga are not rebadged.

• nolan on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Toyota built so many model only few model recall…..that make sense because some model are made from other country outside japan….but Proton has built 5-6 model so far and just a couple of recall….thats make them a champion in the world’s automobile industrty…..hahahhaa

• viosbodo on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:57 pm

luckily my vois J got no recall problem. if got susah maaa…..i got 9 years to pay installment.

• seriously my mom car face with fuel pump problems…….toyota camry 2008……suddenly the egine not function….because of fuel pump problem…..but lucky coz still under warranty..

• mirror mirror on Oct 23, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Toyota realises that self-denial does not bring them anywhere.

• Watson jenami on Sep 04, 2015 at 5:39 pm

toyota estima braking own it’s own

• Stewart on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:26 am

All the lexus gs300 have that problem with the master cylinder,regardless of the year.I own three different year lexus gs300 and all of them have given me that problem.so i am trying to see if they have a recall on the 1999 and 2000lexus gs300

• And where? Not like the loneliness of a disabled brain…