UMW Toyota to rectify Crowns in Malaysia following recall

toyota logoFollowing the global recall announced by Toyota Motor Corporation regarding issues related to brakes and fuel pumps, UMW Toyota today said in a statement that it will be undertaking a special service campaign for eight units of the Toyota Crown that it sold locally.

The company will contact all its Crown customers to replace the brake master cylinder seal in the said vehicles, which are 12th generation S180 models produced in Japan between November 2004 to January 2006.

No other Toyota and Lexus models are affected by this campaign – UMW states that the first Lexus vehicles sold by Lexus Malaysia were produced in the end of year 2006.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 8….

• Kevin Lee on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:29 pm

didnt know there were crowns in malaysia, really

• autojohndoe on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:57 pm

haha…

only eight? the rest is in perfect condition?

• Paul Tan on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:00 pm

A few were brought in at the request of Japanese companies in Malaysia for the Japanese bosses company cars.

• theanswer on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm

one of the company is perodua. former p2 bos syed hafiz use to drive one.

• Chris on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:48 pm

I would have guess a Japanese boss would want the Century instead?

• tembikai on Oct 24, 2010 at 11:50 am

century is already here… not to reveal the owner. ask yourself who would want a car like that?

• mystvearn on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:14 am

The only Toyota Crown’s I see are old S110 as taxi’s in Kelantan :P

• Lance on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:05 pm

i saw one b4 at Jalan Chan Sow Lin

• If l’m not mistaken most of the Crowns belong to Toyota Shah Alam and Panasonic. We maybe should get the Japanese E-class too- a boring reliable car.

• venven81 on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:20 pm

When is this recall episodes gonna end? Toyota used to be renowned for its so-called good reliability but hey c’mon this is getting very annoying. Who to be blamed? Toyota or its vendors??? Sigh

• Peter on Oct 24, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Until TOYOTA once again ensure their cars are road worthy and safe once again

Most cars today with good servicing and maintence record are very reliable and not necessarily a TOYOTA . Even Toyota with bad servicing record can be very unreliable.

Now the issue is Safety and not reliability issue here!!

When everyone keep bashing P1.
      Now we asked you Proton or vendors to be blamed ?

So my answer to you if the vendors comes under or supply part to TOYOTA, It is TOYOTA to be blamed and faced the music.

The rest is internal problems between TOYOTA and their vendors.

• nabill on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:24 pm

if im not mistaken , the crown uses a 4.0 v8 right? i saw one last time with a red number plate…looks huge…anyway nice of umw to do this,very responsible…

• micahel on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:10 pm

yup…it is a nice car….

• klguy on Oct 23, 2010 at 3:36 pm

they do this only bcoz 8 units is avail here. if it was a vios or corolla…..they will say malaysian models are not affected :P

• David on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:50 pm

guys, for your information, all Crowns brought in by UMW were the Crown Royal and Majesta versions. No Crown Athletes, which is the sports version, were imported by them, instead imported by parallel importers instead.

In my own opinion, although i’m not a fan of Toyota, but the Crown Athlete was one of the few Toyotas which is actually a blast to drive. No BMW, though, but it’s still enjoyable. Anyone agrees with it?

• alldisc on Oct 23, 2010 at 8:11 am

yes, a huge difference between the Crowns of new age and the Crowns made into taxis in the 80s.

• David on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:43 pm

no doubt about it actually. The best Crown was the 2004-2008 version, codenamed GRS182. I last saw one at the Naza Automall along the Federal Highway in black. Very nice, and kind of a bargain as well, as someone bought this 2006 model for just a whisker under 280k.

• amievil on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:01 pm

recall….they forgot to put a teh tarik holder.

yes!! its the standard issue that u guys like to bash at local cars.

NOW GIVE ME A GODDAMM TEH TARIK HOLDER!!!

• micahel on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:08 pm

sony boss also drive the toyota crown…i drove it when they changed the tyre in my tyre shop

• JacKal on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Aren’t they going to take responsibility for the reconditioned units on the road, especially since it is a safety issue. Mercedes Benz Malaysia accepted reconditioned grey imports when they had the recall on the SBC pump which was a safety issue as well.

• rossi46 on Oct 23, 2010 at 2:39 pm

UMW toyota….only concern for their profit margin….u buy re-cond or parallel imports, thats yr problem

• tembikai on Oct 24, 2010 at 11:57 am

all that i know toyota, just like other makes will honour these grey imports (to do rectification on recalls). the problem with grey imports, they have to check themselves with their seller. Exclusive distributor wouldnt have any clue of the car’s registration and brith certificate.

• Kevin Lee on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:18 am

let me know if anyone has spotted the crown for sale, it would be a rare classic in the future, hahaha

• UMW only willing to fix 8 cars in malaysia…thats pathetic!!

• alldisc on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:59 pm

UMW only sold 8 Crowns in Malaysia during the mentioned period. Its their right not to entertain any parallel import cars. but, i dont think there is any demand for Crown since 20 years ago.

• what if toyota wish got recall,got alot of recon sold here,are they going to recall these car

• tht’s why, if it’s sold by UMW… then of course la UMW will fix it for free. if not sendiri tanggung lah..

• Makuliu! on Oct 23, 2010 at 8:14 am

How abt year 04-06 recond’s toyota frm Japan? Affected?

• Azrol on Oct 23, 2010 at 10:05 am

finally …………….. recall!

• kiasu on Oct 23, 2010 at 2:52 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/honda-recalls-528000-vehicles-mainly-in-us/

• Ford_GT on Oct 24, 2010 at 12:28 am

Arnold’s total recall next sequel…Toyota Recall.

• venven81 on Oct 24, 2010 at 7:51 am

hahaha. bro that’s one pretty old movie that you could still recall eh? but won’t be featuring Arnold coz of his sagging muscle!