ABT adds spice to the VW Polo, both inside and outside

The newly launched Volkswagen Polo is a great little car, introducing not just German car ownership, but the latest technology into this price range in the form of turbocharged downsizing and DSG. For just RM55 road tax per year, you get a sub-10 second 0-100 km/h time and a top speed of 190 km/h, which is quite amazing.

We’ve driven the Malaysian spec Polo 1.2 TSI already (click here for the review), and found that while the hardware is top notch (great drivetrain and safety, good quality cabin materials), it doesn’t look very premium, whether from the outside or from the driver’s seat. Volkswagen Group Malaysia has already done well to price the car below RM110K, and we understand that some sacrifices were needed to achieve that. It’s not a problem that can’t be fixed though.

Famous VW Group tuner ABT has aesthetic and engine upgrades for the Polo 1.2 TSI. The ABT Power kit raises power from 105 bhp to 140 bhp, now available from 4,500 rpm, 500 revs lower than stock. Torque is up from 175 Nm to a stout 220 Nm. While top speed remains, the Polo’s 0-100 km/h time has dropped from 9.7 seconds to just 8.8 seconds! That’s just 0.1 sec slower than a six-cylinder BMW 323i, if you need a benchmark.

There are also plenty of exterior parts to spice up the Polo. ABT has bodykits, wheels, as well as suspension and exhaust upgrades for the supermini. ABT, which is now under Federal Auto, opened a showroom in Glenmarie back in September. At that time, they only had parts for the Mk5/Mk6 Golf, Scirocco and Tiguan, but now with the Polo on sale, it should be just a matter of time before the parts come in.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nizam1402 on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:31 pm

in UK this car is so cheap, parents buy for their sons for college/campus car.

• gangully on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:50 pm

can we have comments which are more original then this… “in [insert other country] this car is so cheap…[insert scenario]”?

• Commenter on Nov 03, 2010 at 5:19 am

it’s the same in MY. rm105k meant nothing for them. they afford golf gti, civic, and jazz for the kids, why not this polo.

most parents purchase these kind of cars for their kids that like to stay at home, while if their kids like to lepak or shopping mostly they give proton or perodua because these kids need more pocket money.

• You easily make these assumptions but never take into account the lifestyle over there. Besides lets say the Polo 1.2 TSI costs roughly 15,000 pounds thats already around RM75,000, which is still alot of money. Not everyone lives off a mamak and only thinks about their car. Although the car might still be cheap as compared to Malaysia it is definitely not what ‘average’ people buy for their children. Besides in Western cultures the children are far more independent once they reach 18.

• razzack04 on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:53 am

Why compare with UK ? Why not Algeria, Zimbabwe, North Korea, Indonesia, Ecuador ? Ya laaa… this car is cheap there but there are also other things that cost more, a lot more than here or other places. Unleaded petrol in UK, 119p/litre. 57.19p/litre is for duty. Suka sangat compare.

• JohnDeep on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:03 pm

If I were to give him RM5K per month for him to live in UK, I do not know whether can he can afford to own a scooter. RM5K salary per month here in Malaysia definitely can own this Polo.

• PakAbu on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:08 am

Your parents bought you second hand kancil only is it?

• FACEBOOK_USER on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Then go to the UK dude.live there.I am juz a poor M’sian who has to deal with reality n know for a fact that things won’t change.not in this life time.be grumpy etc

• rosdi on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Will it break the 5 years warranty? How much will it cost??!

• tuned and modified by ABT will have ABT warranty, might not be 5 yrs though.

• klaka seram on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:38 pm

wow! 0 – 100km/h in just 8.8sec , this is “hot” little car

• libralcl on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:24 pm

It won’t be cheap under ABT modifications. The original Polo 1.2 TSI feels under spec if you really approach the car in personal. But the safety & drivetrain is good tho.

• gaban on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:42 pm

great car better than savy….

• kecy82afr on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:48 pm

I’ve yet to test drive this pocketrocket, but have tried Fiesta. Quite impressed with the handling. Looking forward for some Mountune kit for Fiesta to be offered here. Sorry for being a little off topic. And yes, it wont be cheap with ABT modifications on this Polo.

• ahbeng on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:53 pm

wow!
    i wish i could have one as daily car….superrrrrrrrrr hot !!

• ” While top speed remains”

The european version has a topspeed of 210km/h?

Does the car have a electronically limited topspeed in Malaysia for some reason? Possibly because of cheaper roadtax or insurance? Not so important, just curious…

• Notakosong.com on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:10 pm

wow, would love to know how much this will cost!

• Clio172 on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Power increment is possible by chipping. BUT you may have to use RON97 exclusively instead of RON95.

• im sure with the abt polo price we could just add a little more for golf tsi XD

• FuelEfficient on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:30 pm

If modifications done to engine to increase hp and torque power VW 5 year warranty will be void. Not sure how much additional need to put up. If this add up to the 110K of the car, the modified car will be expensive…

• zidane on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:44 pm

looks like a great little car. something that won’t disappoint the crowd

this year is a great year as many cars are being introduced.

• paparazi on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:54 pm

2010 Renault Megane Trophy 1:24 scale diecast car for sale, anyone?

• m4xspeed on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:43 pm

this what i called “little devil otr” :)

• Anti Proton on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:12 pm

wow….nice…the classic abt rims

• droll on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:20 pm

amazing!!!

• local car supporter on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:28 pm

polo or civic hybrid, which one to choose?

• mr.eims @ Perfume on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:01 am

erm… i vote 4 civic hybrid.. i guess.
      price, fc,space is better. about power..i,m not sure..

but u cannot simply compare like that. they r from sifferent segment.
      polo is indeed cuter, smaller (perfect for towncar), continental, & most important, its fun to drive :)

• prolever on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:47 am

better polo. cheap roadtax, good safety and you got speed. So good bye hybrid..

• mr.wiseGuy on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:57 pm

i wish i born rich…demm

• guanerrr on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:43 pm

the price of the car is high because of the proton.

• ultraman on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:17 pm

is because of the government policies u dumb dumb…
      look at all nation around the world..they have different type of policies for cars…
      price of car is cheap in other countries doesnt mean theres no other cost to it to own a car..
      be grateful of what u have..
      u want gov to implement COE like singapore?
      then u know..what it ment to own a car..

• JohnDeep on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Then prius is now 139K, seems like expensive to own too, does it something to do with proton?

• rosdi on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Singapore dont have Proton.., that is why their cars are so cheap…

• toyoottt on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Who said singapore car cheaper than us?? do a study first b4 posting,, their price twice than us derr…

• FACEBOOK_USER on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:51 pm

I sense that u r not a man with such deep understanding of things.google la about cost of living in singapore.apa ke.elok kau compare je dgn Burundi,Zimbabwe!!!!

• Cowabunga! on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:49 pm

with all the gizmo, gadgets, induction system…and the price..I might as well get a standard nicer 2000 cc engine car instead…
    it’s just VW… over hyped and over priced.

• droll on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:51 am

but a) road tax is higher, b) fuel consumption will likely be higher too.

• lkf0512 on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Katak bawah tempurung…

• FACEBOOK_USER on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:18 pm

sorry mate.VW is the CAR.they own lots of companies.good ones too if I might add.

• rossi46 on Nov 03, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Yup, they own lots of co…such as Audi, Porsche, SEAT, suzuki….etc..etc..

• reddevil on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:53 pm

bro,

u tell me what company offer 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage for a car nowdays?u can go ask every german guy who works with VW if they are pissed with the tax in malaysia for buyin a car.of course they are,same as most of us.if u take away all the taxes,then u should know how much the car is really worth.then i bet u’ll say polo TSI n Golf TSI is worth every penny.even the service interval is every 10,000km if im not mistaken.correct me if im wrong.put it this way laa,u save money on the roadtax,fuel consumption that comes with great engine power n torque(can easily beat 1.8 to 2.0cc),great handling and a long warranty period.unless u cant tahan 2 change those ABT kit laa……sendiri mau tanggung laa.anyone wanna buy a car till habis bayar hutang n still enjoy driving it.then this is the car.if ur the type who changes car every 3 years,better stick to our habitual culture of buyin honda n toyota(high trade in price so call….)

• Downs on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:27 am

Paul, any news about the Polo Gti? Will it really make its way here? I assume the polo+full abt would cost nearly the same as a polo gti.

• Trying to make a polo to be taken seriously…but its still a polo. Overpriced b segment model.

• Wisdom on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:15 am

VW Golf = Expensive
    VW Polo = Affordable
    VW Lawn Bowl = should be cheap….

• Ash Menon on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:31 pm

I can’t believe 2 people thumbed this down. You guys didn’t get the joke, did you.

• Abuden on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:42 am

Middle Gay exhaust like Neo :P

• lchan on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:48 am

least the kit looks much better then the ridiculous one for golf! But ABT prices are on the high side tho!

• prolever on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:52 am

i dont know why but i prefer abarth tuner.. They always make the came more aggressive rather than just like handsome or wse..

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:52 am

nica car … worth to have one …

• vincent on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:57 am

For VW Polo with ABT cosmetic, definitely a great to consider!

• budleee on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:33 am

now it looks like the car they featured in the commercials…

• nighttrain on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Polo Gti is 1.4 litre supercharged turbo. More powerful. Should be more expensive than this model.

• rosdi on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Polo GTi will be 128K, once it is launched buy that one and tune it with ABT.. sure vrrromm!.. I have seen the torque curve.. impressive.

• stevencbk on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:36 pm

GTi sounds “Power” …and the look is more sexy with 3dr MY model.

VGM priced @ RM128, 888k for the Polo GTi, which I doubt 20k is sufficient for full ABT modification.

• nolan on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:16 pm

this car suitable for people age between 25-35……but i doubt if they can afford it……

• nighttrain on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:47 pm

that’s right, wrong target market at the wrong price..

• niuhje on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:12 pm

start saving ppl!! it’s within reach!

• Overpriced?no money don’t buy :)

• Pirate on Nov 07, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Simple exp. We pay much more for our cars than other countries and yet we get scaled down version thanks for the proton tax regime. Wake up people, we don’t have to suffer in silence.

• hoochie on Nov 08, 2010 at 3:57 pm

rosdi/stevencbk, how reliable is yr info wrt. polo gti launching & est. selling px ? Just paid booking fee for polo tsi, which feels like a sucker punch shud yr “insider-info” be true.. zzzz…

• rosdi on Dec 18, 2010 at 8:11 pm

I just read it from a few forums.., I am currently waiting for March and see if the Polo GTi will indeed be launched at that price here.