Federal Auto launches flagship ABT showroom in Malaysia

Federal Auto Holdings Bhd. has officially opened an ABT showroom at Glenmarie, Shah Alam. The showroom which is Asia’s largest for the famous German tuner is 12,000 square feet in size and costs over a RM1 million to set up. The ABT dealership is specifically run by Federal Auto Sports Tuning Sdn. Bhd. or FAST which is a subsidiary of Federal Auto. The launch of the new showroom, blessed by ABT Managing Director, Hans-Jurgen Abt himself (son to founder, Johann Abt), comes after the appointment of FAST as ABT’s exclusive local dealer in March 2010. This means that Cartrade-ABT no longer represent the tuner here in Malaysia.

The dealership is responsible for selling official ABT products that range from aesthetic kits such as polyurethane body kits and wheels to engine performance upgrades as well as sports suspension springs. It also covers exhaust and brake upgrades. Apart from catering for the usual suspects, which are Volkswagens, the dealership also offers parts for Audis.

Federal Auto launches flagship ABT showroom in MalaysiaThe scope of Volkswagen models that are covered by FAST include the Golf Mk6 (both 1.4 TSI and GTi models), the Scirocco (both 1.4 TSI and 2.0 TSI models) as well as the Tiguan. Golf Mk5 owners should be happy to know that FAST offers upgrades for the previous generation hatchback too.

As for the four-ring cars, owners of the TT, the A4 (both sedan and avant models), the A3 (5-door, Sportback and S3 models), the Q5 and lastly the R8 speed demon will find kits at the showroom. FAST confirmed that all ABT parts can be made available for the above models, with some already in stock.

The company also confirmed that the parts come with ABT’s 1-year warranty (against defects) and mentioned that esthetic upgrades will not harm your vehicle’s manufacturer warranty. However, engine upgrades such as ABT’s high-performance ECU kits can void the warranty. Nevertheless FAST said that it is in talks with the manufacturers in regards to the issue.

In terms of price, we don’t have the full price list just yet but upgrade kits for both the Golf and Scirocco models can be anywhere between RM6,363 for an engine chip tuning to RM43,610 for a complete set which includes a full body kit, sport springs, wheels and tires. An example of an ABT upgrade is the chip tuning for the Golf GTi Mk6, which bumps power from 210hp to 260hp and 280Nm of torque to 360Nm.

FAST plans to open another showroom in Petaling Jaya later this year, followed by at least two more in Penang and Johor Bahru by end of next year. Since we are on the topic, ABT is pronounced as ‘abt’ and not ‘A.B.T’ which is a common misconception. Continue reading to view more images of the launch event.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1541]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• rosdi on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:32 pm

I dont get it. As if the Stock standard Golf GTI torque and and HP is not enough??!

• I agree…. it’s more than enough… ppl who buy Golf GTI are discreet…. ABT will just make it loud with the shouty bodykits and all…. however, there’s no such thing as too much power…. it’s just usable or not haha

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 28, 2010 at 4:21 pm

agree with you that there’s no such thing as too much power. some people also say stock veyron with 1001hp also not enough that’s why come out with 1200hp supersport.

• jasjos on Sep 28, 2010 at 5:49 pm

A lot of people will be surprised by how much mods can be done on the GTI. Besides ABT, there are MTM, Revo, APR, Ottinger, Votex, Osir, Rieger and lots more. Some does bodykit, some does tuning, and some both like ABT. For me personally, MTM is more promising since they work closely with VW and Audi. Check out www.mtm-online.de on what they can do with your cars.

• 3008_bought on Sep 28, 2010 at 7:16 pm

ppl even mod F430 scud la. talk about power, never enough, like women

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 29, 2010 at 1:46 am

MTM milks out 10 more HP than ABT and it’s RM5000, cheaper than ABT’s

• sacofa on Sep 29, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Try BSR…. you can load the program by yourself without any chip soldering or bypass…. around 4k i think and it can be done in 10 mins. Reloading to ori, simple plug in the gadgets and reload ori!
          you can tune the car without VW finding out!!!

http://en.bsr.se/

LOL!!!!

• JasJos on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:32 pm

They are all chipped without soldering, just software upload.

• Geoffrey on Oct 10, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Hi m interested 2 do up my Audi A 4 any idea where in KL/PJ i can get in touch with MTM ?

• Tiadaid on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Humans are never content with what they have. It’s normal human behaviour.

• The Stig on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:33 pm

nice rim!

• gracke on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm

This is the ‘Transformer’ for Golf TSI !!! Wow! great!

• The Audi A5 Sportback, what a beauty!

• Corona Beard on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Does Federal Auto have anything to do with 8TV’s Driven? http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=abt-glenmarie-showroom-launch&image=abt-glenmarie-launch-16.jpg

• Is time to have my SCIROCCO flying !!!!!!! yee haaa

• not so much on the kit but those wheel is very PRETTY!! the last i saw was 12k.. phew…

• bluelite on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:48 pm

The Scirocco front bumper looks like Satria Neo CPS…. :D BTW Kudos to VW!!!

• potatomasala on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:57 pm

aaabbbttttt……aaahhhhbuuuuuteeeeee……..AaaaAaBbbbbbbTTttttteeehhh……LoL

another misconception by a malaysian…..i first thought it was A.B.T……

same goes to how some pronounce Peugeot and Carrefour…….hahahahah

thanks for the info,wont make me look like a fool when i talk about “ahbehteh” to a mat salleh next time…lol…

• Anti Proton on Sep 28, 2010 at 4:05 pm

i spot an a5 sportback….will it be coming here?

• Abraham Tawi on Sep 28, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Spotted that too.

Not too sure though since it’s on Singaporean plates. However, we can only hope that Audi will bring it, not only for the rich to buy but for ours eyes to see it in metal :)

• nighttrain on Sep 28, 2010 at 4:12 pm

who is that guy wif justin Bieber hairdo? haha

• justin Bieber's hair on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:42 pm

dude… he’s the owner of autovox in s’pore…haha to you too

• bye bye cartrade…

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 28, 2010 at 5:53 pm

the 4 exhaust stacked up on each other is to ah beng ish to me. If i were to own a GTi the only modifications i would do is to chip it and add led tail lamps

• is the federal auto is the same as volvo federal auto?
    the first thing i thought when i saw the title,it was about volvo..

• shawal on Sep 28, 2010 at 8:13 pm

WOW!!! , how much for the fully souped-up A5 Sportback? , thats a chic magnetron!

• Ah Fook on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Fook! I tot the Gomen say will not issues any APs to import Tuner cars since 2005?
    Remember what happened to WALD and Impul ?

• MechPebbles on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Even though I find the hike in torque tempting, there’s no way I’m gonna risk my 5-year warranty. Four and a half years more to go.

• sacofa on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Federal Auto! Cartrade was offering RM4,500 for chip upgrade and if you buy the car get a chip there are offering 3 grand! now there are pricing it at RM6,363! Gosh, what a pain!
    Cartrade installation does not void the warranty, hopefully they will end the talk with good news!

• hmm.. that white scirocco kit could be inspirational to make one and fit it into satria neo.. hehe

• cili giling on Sep 29, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Cartrade always at the losing end
    be it BMW and now VW. !!
    Apa hal sekarang Elyas @ AP king ?

• wow…bling bling cars! the bodykit is overkill

• Roy Hodgson on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:29 am

damn.. i should’ve have put this in my B8. smoked by 335 last week..gosh that beemer was so fast, still spin at 230

• Even with a Stage 1 chip, your B8 will only have about 260bhp…no where near a 335i, u need a chipped S5 to stand a chance

• roy_Hodgson on Oct 04, 2010 at 9:35 am

Nahhh…just traded-in my B8, waiting for 535. got free service some more and golf umbrella ..ha ha ha ha

• Azmeer on Nov 23, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Anyone knows whether if they have stock for the new Polo ?