RON97 petrol price increased to RM2.15 per liter

Fuel-Wallet GaugeRON97 has been hiked to RM2.15 per litre – a small increase of 5 sen, effective today. It was last raised from RM2.05 to RM2.10 back in July 2010, when all three types of regulated fuel were hiked by 5 sen, but this time around only RON97 is affected. RON95 remains at RM1.85 per litre for now, and diesel still goes for RM1.75 per litre. I’m expecting V-Power Racing to go up by an amount as well, but I do not have any idea how much at the moment – anyone know? Please share in the comments!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Yam Weng Cheong on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:41 am

Surprised with the new price thought it was computer problem so asked the station guy and told me yup now 97 RM2.15 and V-Power Racing – RM2.53 latest price

• artworkz on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:59 pm

according to news, RON 97 price ll revise every month. so every month ll increase 5 cent.

• isn’t v-power racing priced the same as ron97 now ?

• untitled on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:02 am

v-power RACING is different from v-power ron97..im sure about that, yellow for 95, green for 97, red for v-power racing

• Tiadaid on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:02 am

I think that’s V-Power 97. V-Power racing’s different.

• Does anyone knows V-Power racing is ROM ??

• _xXx_ on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:14 am

whatever vee powder…it’s all the same.

• V-Power 97 and V-Power racing is totally different. The kind of power V-Power Racing gives is so much more compared to the former. That is why it is so much more expensive! Well you cant have the best of both world afterall =P

I went to the petrol station earlier and I also thought that there was an error to the price. LOL

• E Bear on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:34 pm

The Green One, V Power 97. Shell only got this for RON 97.

The other one is Red, V Power Racing, which is supposed to be more advanced.

• S.Roma on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:15 pm

isn’t v-power racing priced the same as ron97 now ?

—————————————————————————————————————————

FYI

Previously the price is same with Ron 95, they have some kind of promo, ive seen the banner, but at only some petrol station only, not all…

• No wonder..just refuel and I tot the pump display rosak..haizz

• lucky i ony use 95,, and not even v-power,, will void my pug warranty,, haha.. http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=89716&mode=threaded&pid=1437117

• shawal on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:26 am

dayum…, QUICK! better buy bicycles and the AA battery powered fans before their prices soar!

• ayamxxx on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:12 am

luckily only ron 97. many people out there including me only using ron 95. even it is difficult to see a Ron 97 at rural area in our country

• apexg2 on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:46 am

so, wuts the latest price?i think who use ron 97 can consider the price coz most of them can afford without problem…

• Could anybody tell V-Power racing is ROM ??

• izack04 on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:07 am

Didnt notice when refueling this morning…..Aiyokkkkk

• mozaks on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:08 am

V-power currently is RM2.10… the same price as ron-97… I only use v-power for my car…

• menara on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:27 am

Taking off subsidy to built the new tower? hmmm

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:29 am

Just when i was about getting used to RON97 petrol prices they raised it again. My poor car has to use RON95 now

• Now the oil prices is $82.95 per barrel…if next month drop to around $70-75 per barrel…will goverment reduce the Ron97 price?

• they are really pushing the sales of hybrids, aren’t they? Increase of fuel price right after slashing the hybrids’ prices.

• tricycle on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:49 am

it won’t be before long that they will raise the Ron 95 price again. so hold your laugh, and be prepare for the Ron95 increment. the idris jala pemandu is now smarter, they do little by little so that the appetite to demonstrate become lesser.

even paultan ask us not to congest the petrolstation because the last increment is only about RM3 for a 60 liter tank. 5 cent per liter is i’m not mistaken. so without paultan noticing it is in fact a discouragement for us to protest for the increment.

• Paul Tan on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:36 pm

You can’t be serious, clogging up the petrol station is a protest? Protest other more useful ways, like your vote.

• A clear sign of RON95 price to change very soon. With this government, any-shit can happen.

• yippi33 on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:20 pm

with that negative thinking mind of yours, any shit can happen to you man…

based on what the G has stated, subsidized RON95 will be fixed at the current rate (what ordinary joe afford) while higher RON fuel will be regulated (what those rich dato’s and business tycoon afford )…in the end, the lower to middle income people will benefit since the subsidy is being channeled to the right consumer group..

• Only sucker beleived that RON97 price hike will only impact “Dato” level. Sub-standard RON 95 will certainly hit your maintainence bills in long run…Wake Up! and dont get sucked in!!!

• gilabangang on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:32 pm

correct correct! if the other Joker take over Putrjaya.. some people might not be able to shit for days.. adoiai

• Izhar on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:56 am

must plan my journey after this….and be a slow and steady driver..hahaha

• ayamterbang on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:09 am

why no notice to the public before the hike ?

• Happy Man on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:10 am

Thank you goverment.. we will meet in PRU 13

• gilabangang on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:28 pm

every PRU oso we ‘meet’ the same gov what. btw, i’m not going to put the other Joker in Putrajaya.

• BOYRACER on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:17 am

DAMN!!!!Not again..Now its RON97.Next will be RON95, just dont know when.

• hantupensil on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:21 am

tq datin seri rosmah for the fuel increasing…
    tq very much…

• shiver on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:24 am

Why is it that US dollar is at its weak point now, one barrel of crude oil is around USD82 but RON97 still increases? where is the logic?
    I will bet that RON95 will go up soon as well cause the majority of the people uses RON95… they dont want to do this so soon, maybe after the galas/ batu sapi by-election and deepavali/hari raya haji.
    Maybe PNB needs money for the mega tower as well…

• basic economics 101 – as the US dollar declines, now they need even more money to buy a barrel of oil as their purchasing power decreases.

the only direction for the US dollar is – down, as the Fed Reserve has no option but to print more money to inflate their way out of the massive 14 trillion US debt.

some say deflation is on the way, some say inflation. either way, we’re Fk’ed.

• Wilson on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:41 am

Vpower racing has been phased out ad rebrand as Vpower 97 and priced same as Ron 97.
    Vpower are actually Ron 97 BUT mixed with Ron 98 components.

• Gan Kok Chi on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:45 pm

V-Power 97 is RON 97 which is priced at RM2.15.

V-Power Racing’s RON has never been revealed but is said to be above RON97. Some markets even report that it might be RON 99. V-Power Racing is priced at RM2.53

Both V-Power Racing and V-Power 97 contains the Friction Modification Technology (FMT) additive, but V-Power Racing uses a propreitary base fuel which is more sophisticated hence the difference in pricing. V-Power 97 uses a generic base fuel which could be shared with other brands.

V-Power Racing is only available at 36 Shell petrol stations nationwide. The list can be found at the link below:

http://www.static.shell.com/static/mys/downloads/shell_for_motorists/fuels/stations_with_vpower_racing_15062010.pdf

• Okay now the fuel price is following market price. When is car price going to follow market price?

• BOYRACER on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:11 am

Gd question there.Not in our lifetime i guess..Too many at stakes for our G..

• when there’s big changes at u know where lah….. :-)

• jimpasey on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:32 pm

after the new election ?

• iamisiamwhatiam on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:40 pm

IIRC, only RON97 and above price is floated. RON95 and diesel still subsidized by the government (and a bit by RON97 floated pricing).
      By that logic, over 2.0 liter cars should follow market price and subsidize below 2.0 car?
      /jk

• ayamterbang on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:05 pm

you ubah lah cara hidup…

• subhero on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:53 am

biar orang2 kaya bagi duit kat gov lebih sikit. so then balance. lets sederhana people bayar sikit je.

so then, engine2 evo, power, turbo, CGi, VVTi, CVT, takpe bayar mahal.

yg campro, dvvt, EFi, caburator? remain with the 95.

love BN, LOve UMNO.

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:19 pm

haiya, u tak faham, CGi, TSI itu semua enjin lagi jimat minyak. apasal nak kita bayar banyak bila kurang guna bahanapi dan mencemar udara.

• Danny on Nov 07, 2010 at 10:08 am

Unless you are UMNO, you are smart! :) Else you are just an idiot that willingly let those fat sucker sucks your money….

• zyzone on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:07 am

what the crap!! senyap-senyap da naek harga!!

• Honda Hybrid is RM103k and Prius is around RM139k… still want those Golf TSi or normal FD civics ? ;)

• linear_system on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:37 am

i thinkgolf Tsi is using lower petrol then civic hybrid..but honda civic using lower petrol when compared to its segment..

• rapidshifter on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:17 pm

prius better?? check out this video
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKTOyiKLARk

• autojohndoe on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:18 am

hey… slowly they reduce the fuel subsidy because our country will be bankrupt and yet… they use RM 5bil for a Giant Rock in the city…

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:16 pm

agree with you! :) after they build that thing then we have sit in more traffic jam getting into kl, burn more petrol for nothing! wtf!

• chris on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:34 am

election coming government no money…haizzz poor Malaysian

• M.fear on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:36 am

V-power Racing = RM 2.53

• carsut on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:44 am

civic hybrid here i come!!

• acerman on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:20 am

Want to increase go ahead lah. I seldom use Ron 97. Use with my big cars only and for weekends, and long journeys. Got my small Perodua cars, cheap on the fuel, cheap on the monthly payment, easy to park.

• freeze on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Perodua blows. Literally. Seen so many Peroduas catching fire after a minor crash.

• E Bear on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Can share with us details on your big cars.

I use 97 for my old and small car. Old tech carburettor car also.

Sigh, terpaksa. Nowadays, mix with 95.

• my 1997 wira carburetor can use 95 with no hassle.. never isi 97 since the price hike lol

• artworkz on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:56 pm

better dun wan mix the petrol. 97 + 95 = 96? sorri, is not calculate like this.

• goproton on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:13 pm

thought malaysia produce oil…..oh well nvm this is apa pun boleh land…..you tak bagi i boleh then pls balik china india….

• zafedz on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Aiyaaa…naik lagi kaaa???

• i tot ron97 price is depend on the oil market price, but when oil price down, why didn’t the price of ron97 get down too? anybody care to answer?

• Protong Owner on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:47 am

the pick a strategy that oil price drop and they raise price, so when oil price raise (which certainly will), 97 will raise more!

• iamisiamwhatiam on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Its funny that the news source picking the story up is the foreign news source. I heard the rumours since 730pm Monday but there’s no mention on local news.

• Francis on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:07 pm

I thought Shell has taken out their V-Power Racing? Nowadays i dont really notice V-Power Racing…anyone can share which station offers that? Ron97 always gives me more mileage(KM) roughly 70KMs(+-) more in reading compare to Ron95.. Ron97 supporter here!!

• hay…wht to do ..telan it for now till coming G.E. lor…thn we pandai pandai do wht we r suppose to do lor…..

• greasemonkey on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:00 pm

gotta buy a fuel efficient car in anticipation of future price hike.haiya ,fed-up ardy!

• autojohndoe on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:50 pm

I think it is good to increase the premium fuel price… because mostly, it is premium people with premium cars consume it…

• Not really, the Saga (2003–2008) requires RON97. Hardly a premium model, and lots of poor family bought that car because it was under 40K. You can check the manual book, and if you pump RON95, you’ll know what engine knocking is.

Premium cars? hardly, premium fuel for really old technology. thanks you proton.

• autojohndoe on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:22 am

honestly, i dont realize that…

because i am driving persona and the engine is same with saga except the cc. I dont find any difficulties in using RON95. No knocking.

I said no knocking based on my first hand experience… i dont know others if they faced it.

• I said Saga (2003 – 2008), not the new Saga 2009 with the campro engine (minimum RON95). The 2003 edition still uses the old Mitsubishi engine which requires RON97

• FACEBOOK_USER on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:18 am

wah…an Illunimati here i see…

• scgtimk1 on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:52 pm

err…..

you can always retard the ignition timing of the 4g13 and 4g15 engine carb engines.

The BTDC of 10 degrees from Proton is over advanced I think.

Put your ignition timing to 6 degrees BTDC (as per Japan spec) and your Iswara will run on RON95 without any knocking.

• wochomi on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:07 pm

if we retard the ignition, will we be running below optimum?
          “Can use” and “Optimized the blady combustion” isn’t the same. Our govt thread on this fine line between us. Will the curve be the same if we test cars on the dyno for both RON97 and RON95?

• nolan on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:57 pm

I’m 5 cents poorer……………….** sigh **

• no wonder i got less liter when i refuel just now.. why does G did not announced this earlier??

• Shaycoat on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:35 pm

People today typically have two cars in their garage. One is the big one for weekend treat and smaller one for everyday use. But to have two cars in the garage, more money will be burnt for car installment

• skatax on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:17 pm

aiyo, which country do you live in?

correction: one car and one motorcycle in the garage these days. the bike is for weekdays sailing in the traffic, and the car is for family night shopping and weekend outings.

its rempit life out there.

• karpal_sinking on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:39 pm

nobody cares about ron97 anyway

• No feeling…cos no money to drive imported car

• kingkong on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Malaysia boleh!

• carrier on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:53 pm

price hike without announcement?…where’s the menteri? DATUK ISMAIL SABRI YAAKOB?

• The G will continue to increse the petrol price, but this should be compensated by lower road tax.
    Most of the world don’t have so call road tax, just send in the car for inspection and stick the pass cert on the windscreen paying only the inspection fee..

• mata katak on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:27 pm

hahahaha….lucky thing I upgraded from my Honda civic to Honda kapchai…..

Pity malaysia….paying here and there…..

Malaysia govt desparate for money now. The “big fish” all hungry….Next time, bangla riding bicycle oso need to pay for their cycling licence…..and take undang test for a fee….

• sepak najib on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:24 pm

now “rakyat di dahulukan” so rakyat tanggung le gov takda duit…..

• Edward on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:07 am

yup.. agreed. Anything also “rakyat didahulukan”

Floating price means the price fluctuates accordingly against the benchmark. The benchmark price drop, the price also drop same goes to benchmark up, price up. I really doubt the english understanding of those gomen think tank…

• couldn’t agree with you more..

they understanding of the word floating is just sad,very sad..

• BeemerFreak on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Where is my Euro 4 Diesel?????? Always promise but never deliver

• gilabangang on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:08 pm

better fuel = higher price, don’t think majority malaysians could afford it. just read all comments here, you’ll understand.

• they are the G, they can do whatever they want, whenever they feel like hiking the fuel price..

• KCivic on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:45 pm

you guys got to start thinking out of of the box. first of all, i heard the hybrids are now very cheap one at rm109k and the othe at rm130k. this is one initiative to support global call gor green earth. what happens when u drive one of these energizer car? u save on fuel? right? the whole world will give roger ebert two thumbs up to our country. when u drive hybrids, if a large majority of people drive these cars, meaning to petrol stations will be less packed. how do u make these cars cheaper? import duites? right! lower import duties. so do the decision makers ensure equilibrium in income to u know who? raise ron 95 price first. subsequently all will follow. meaning to say, go ahead and drive hybrids, u will save on fuel. but your friends who cannot afford battery cars, will probably have to hitch a ride cos a litre up by 5 cents over a week, month, year and multiply this by the major percentage of drivers who dont have battery cars…..

• creator mind on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Ah… the new G will b friendly to the rakyat, give world petrol price but also give real world car price, abolish all lopsided highway toll agreements, paved all roads and resurfaced those nasty pot holes… ample lights from solar , wind and wave stored to be used in highways, remote areas etc… another point, the new G will implement toll free if u enter to pay for a jammed highway! what is the point of paying toll when u spend more than half hour to pay toll, another fifty minutes moving 500 feet after paying toll?

• Cowabunga! on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:27 am

5 billion into toll…and not a single cent to use that to do better transport….

as if long term, the toll is more important or building better transport infrastructure?…
    instead of re-investing the money to PROPERLY get a good transportation system up…they dung it to toll companies…

wow….problem solved?.

• Rabbit2010 on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:34 am

hybrids is still so expensive.. they removed the import tax but there is still another 99% tax .. is still so expensive :( and now adays the new proton will be out with min 80k, is almost same priced with a city :(

• Mr.Bily on Nov 08, 2010 at 2:44 pm

don’t forget you still need to replace the expensive battery, hybrid is just to safe the world not to save your $$.

• Protong Owner on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:43 am

how good is the strategy, wait till the price drop to low point under $80, then raise the price, so the oil sure raise in the future, and no more excuses to not raise. Bravo! Bravo! I wonder who come out this strategy. If the price is at $100 and they raise, when it drops, they have no excuse to not drop.

Anyone check what is our price when it was around $70 few years back?

• so anyone still believe the ron 97 price is floating? i believe i will never see the price go back to 2.10 or lower..floating is only a way to comfort people…

the best news is, it’s not anounce properly..i only know this when i browse paultan blog..so thanks paul tan.

our new leader like to keep this price hike silence, no need drama..

• schumi on Nov 03, 2010 at 5:08 pm

LOL! funny you and others who think like you.. u thot current price is market price ke?
      let the price totally without subsidy lah if you really want to see price increase and decrease every month.. make it like.. around 5ringgit per liter. then, allow petrol station set the price themselves. so we can see price war every day.

• so please enlighten me why do they call 97 sell at floating price? gov should just said to the public the 97 pricing is using the same mechanism pricing like 95 ( in other words, rising and rising and rising and rising…)

as i said before, gov said the price is float so people who not so smart (like me you referring to hehehe) feel a little bit comfortable by the word ‘float’..

• korek on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:01 pm

– harga petrol mahal
    – harga kereta mahal gila melampau
    – harga food semakin hari semakin mahal
    – teh tarik mahal
    – roti canai pon sama, keep increasing!!
    – harga tayar mahal juga
    – harga gula mahal
    – harga rumah mahal

apa yang tak mahal?

• sepak najib on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:14 pm

you vote for BN so you must follow them la….very mesra rakyat maa????

• shooter on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:23 am

yang dok complain ni suma typical subsidi addict. hampa ignat sumber minyak M’sia ni infinite ka? hampa ingat kita punya production sama banyak dgn Saudi ka? kalau kdua2 jawapn ialah ‘YA’, complain la to the high heavens,memang patut pun… tetapi in reality jawapanya adalah a resounding, unequivocal beyond any doubt – ‘NO’. so choose, nak joli sakan skrg and waste peluang buat $, or start altering our lifestyle like those from the first world countries which you all sanjung sgt. u wan M’sia to be a !st world country then start acting like !st world citizens like in Europe yang takde choise kena bayar unsubsidised price!!! pegi study skit gaya hidup dia org mcm mna. jgn ckp bnyk aje___ BUAT!!!

• chill bro..gi buat kopi secawan ker..

so if we do like what the europe do, will all of us (except you i can assure) live to see another day here in malaysia?

even thought the country over that continent have to pay a gruesome price, the salary they get can still cover the expenses, i can’t really say a person with a decent earning there will have to starve by eating only once a day or so.

if we go with unsubsidized petrol here, let say rm10 per liter, how much money we have to put in our car (or motorcycle for us poor people) and how much our salary left by the end of month (if we lucky, if not by the middle of the month)? just pour in 5 liter already costing you 50 ringgit, enough only to full tank a motorcycle bro..

think..unless you out there who earn 50k a month may skip the thinking..

• shooter on Nov 06, 2010 at 3:54 pm

it all boils down to how much dough u/me/we have in our pockets, the value of our currency and cost of living, well at least that how i see it. RM3k wont mean sh*t if an iphone4 that Jon Doe’s been wanting, costs 80% of his monthly income. but it’d be a different scene if the device is is just RM500. its not how much we need to earn, its about the value in the earnings.

• aaron on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Use credit card with cash back advantage.. can save some $$ on fuel. I use Citibank Cash Back Platinum which gives 5% cash back. Which means Ron 97 costs RM 2.043 for me ;)

• sadakochin on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Actually high fuel prices is a norm, and I don’t see any issues with it. What we need to start to realize is that all the world over, except certain arab countries with their ridiculously low petrol prices, cars should be more affordable. Imagine cars only costing 20-40K, sans tax, but with expensive fuel. That would actually ensure everyone can own a car, but not drive it unnecessarily unless required due to the high cost of fuel. Imagining actually being able to own a bona fide sports car (not a sports compact) that you can drive on occasion. Less jam too, since people who drive out actually has a reason to drive out, not clog the roads chugging along at sub 40kmh..