VIDEO: Megane RS 250 at Sepang with driver comments!

The arrival of the Megane Renault Sport 250 Cup to our shores is a godsend for car enthusiasts. No longer based on the five-door body with two doors lopped off, the new Megane RS looks spectacular and perfects the great formula of the previous gen R26 – turbocharged punch, Cup chassis, mechanical LSD and real world usability. And priced at RM229,800, it’s relative good value for what’s on offer.

Before the launch, we showed you a teaser video of the Megane taking on Sepang and setting a lap time of 2:43.02 in the hands of race driver Denis Lian. Now, Renault has released the full video of the RS on track, complete with the Singaporean ace driver’s comments. Apparently, they finished one and a half fuel tanks of petrol in that track session with no issues, proving Renault’s claims that the RS is a good track weapon.

VIDEO: Megane RS 250 at Sepang with driver comments!

“This car really took me by surprise. The amount of mid corner grip it had and the adjustability of the chassis, ‘cos usually front engine cars are quite understeery and you can’t really adjust the chassis. This car, you come into the slow corners, you can trail brake in and the back end rotates, but it doesn’t snap out.

“It rotates, it tightens the line and you can power through very very easily even on the exit – there’s so much grip,” the ex-A1GP driver said.

“And it’s not just the speed, it was fun to drive, that’s the main thing. The chassis was so fun to play with, which is very unexpected in a front wheel drive car. As a track day tool, look at me, I had a ball of a time,” Denis concludes. I’ve had the honour to be ferried by Denis in an Elise before, and trust me, this guy knows what having fun in a car is really about!

Watch out for a test drive report that’s coming your way soon!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Ok. Thats fine! But……RM 230K!!??

• like vw golf gti and scirocco price la.

• Danny on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Megane 250 is competing with Scirocco R – RM230K vs RM270K, that’s a bargain consider these:

1. LSD
      2. 4 Port Brembo
      3. Sport Suspension
      4. G sensor
      5. Tyre sensor
      6. 250 bhp – easily tuned to 300+
      7. Manual Gearbox

Just that – This is not as friendly as Golf R when you want to use it daily, unless you are young and hardcore driver, who don’t mind track setting car.

• Renault the best on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:55 am

cheap. comapred to a 3 series.

• handsome*dude on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:25 pm

malaysia ada orang macan u memang boleh la~ looser

• bmw9700 on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:14 pm

could this be a scirocco beater…but still it has to struggle with the Renault name…

• ._. i think the cars looks too huge… or is the tyre too small?? even though it’s already on 18′ rim.

• BH Loy on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm

is auto available? Thks

• why local car to expensive on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:54 pm

this is sport version…janganlah tanya soalan quite tak tahu pula..nak auto,,,, beli normal car la…huhuhuhuhu

• bobdbilder on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:05 pm

I’d take the Elise thank you for 8K more. Its got a Yamaha built Toyota Engine.

• junaidi on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:24 pm

different purpose bro.
      your elise has absolutely no practicality.

• bobdbilder on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:16 am

Well they are driving it on a track. And the comparison is not for everyday bloke. Now if the vid was showing tossing around Tesco parking lot…

So if you are driving a car around a track with RM 239K to burn, what would you rather do it in?

• junaidi on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:54 am

ah, if its a dedicated track car I see your angle.

But since I dont have that money to burn (wish I did) the Megane is really tempting. I just like old fashioned manuals instead of say, VW DSG etc etc.

• Danny on Nov 22, 2010 at 11:40 pm

Toyota…? Renault + Nissan Engineering, who’s better in performance & racing?

• bobdbilder on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

Yamaha Hayabusa 1.3cc that could fit inside an Ariel ATOM and some Radicals and come with some nice sequential shifters. We are talking about track cars. Megane was showcased in 2009 on Track and Race Car. I had a read through this morning in the toilet. You know the one with the Audi TT front cover.

• pompeaeau on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Sorry,out of R26 topic.

Hayabusa is a Suzuki GSX1300R and not a Yamaha.
          Love it for balik kampung ride to Mersing…marvelous beast.
          For other Busa’s owner out there,kill ZX-14!

But an Atom with this engine,not so sure,never been in it.Only can imagine how the ride would be.It should be great!

• bobdbilder on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:11 am

Thank you for correcting me. Motorcycle engines are known to be used for track days with a kit car as they are lighter, compact and has higher compression ratios. Plus those slick sequential gears are no brainers.

• ayamxxx on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:20 pm

the driver drove remind me to Alex Yoong, not push enough at corner

• i also saw that..
      he should brake earlier and accelerate more when entering corner..
      let hamilton or alonso drive this machine,i’m sure he’ll push to the limit at every single corner

• goproton on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:25 pm

singapore racer ma…what to do….

• Steven on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:03 pm

real silly coments…brake earlier and acelarate wen entering corner???…u mus be new to the performance driving group ei??…for ur lack of knowlwdge let me help u, try this is ur road car ok..carry good speed in to say an off ramp frm any highway and brake early and acelarate mre entering coner..if u survive the acident then u will noe y he is a race driver ur here givin sily coment….

• Andrew on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:13 am

You guys are real experts.

Thanks for the good laugh!

• ntahaaa on Nov 22, 2010 at 10:52 pm

what will happen if vw scirocco vs renault megane.. in track race..??

• senzu bean on Nov 23, 2010 at 12:53 am

How about Renault Megane vs Satria Neo S2000 both car got engine came from the same manufacturer. It should be interesting IMO.

• bobdbilder on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:42 am

Satria Neo S2000 is setup for Rally with more emphasis for Torque rather than top end HP. Its competition would be Citroens and Focuses.

Whereas if Megane was in the track car competition, they’re up against BTCC or WTCC cars. Stuff like SEATs, Cruze, and Lada(!). But then again, these are tin tops over roll cages and sub frames chassis with stardadized turboes, wastegates and NGTC engines.

• Hehe, any owners out there willing to give this shootout a go? :)

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:15 am

It depends on the driver. Scirocco stock record clocked less than 2:43:00. I guess around 2:36:00. Reference from the Scirocco cup China in Sepang circuit.

• TaipARGHOwner on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:59 pm

unfair comparison, Scirocco Cup’s Scirocco were stripped down

• RON97 on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:17 am

checkout latest autocar. megane win by far margin. this is a true track car, but i can see that the driver scare a bit…come on, bro this is not proton

• bobdbilder on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:26 am

I think his racing lines were rather good. He is a professional anyway. Some 5th gear right handers had tires squealing. I’m amazed that it looks exactly like that on SimBin’s GTR Evo with the Sepang Mod.

• rally_fan on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm

2.43 is an extremely quick time for a showroom stock roadcar. dennis is a very experienced and smooth driver. i cant understand comments like.. ‘driver is scared’, or ‘should brake earlier???’. on the track, you brake as late as you can.. not earlier. armchair drivers.

• lchan on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:45 am

RS250 will have breakfast for sirocco.

• Rizal on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:27 am

nice car but only 2 doors…

• Justgothere on Nov 23, 2010 at 12:34 pm

wow just slightly faster than car holding the current records for Turbo FF in the time to attack series in Sepang..

and this car is totally stock i hope

• Protong Owner on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:54 pm

I saw a lady driver stopped by police near the Mt Kiara Science Museum area there…and i was like when is the car launched?

• golf_best on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm

nice car but i still prefer golf.

• You guys have to understand that this onboard vid is for promotional purpose, they had to choose a guy who is willing to hold back and not push the car to its bits.

Being a car’s promotional video, it had to impress general viewers that the steering input should smooth and easy … because , “good cars” are always smooth and easy.

Having said that, i can only hope someone would have another go at this just like the way they recorded the non forgiving Stig who strangled the Enzo’s neck around Top Gear’s test track. Now THAT’s a hot lap !

• Steven on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:09 pm

wel said k.!!

its for the people to c that is a car they can buy which is very focused not as much as the civic type R but in tat league of nt reli nice to drive everyday if ur not in to the hard suspension and agresive throttle respose etc….

got ppl here even coment got auto or not and even worse its got oni 2 doors…halo tiz is a sports car wat u wan it to ahve a trunk to fit a golf bag???…sad case!!!

• bobdbilder on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:02 am

I beg to differ. If you don’t drive smooth, you loose time. Those racing lines are supposed to be smooth. Its about efficiency. Top Gear and the Drifting scene teaches people that burnouts are good. Good for their ratings maybe. TV and Hollywood. Not good to make 2’43” on Sepang.