Kia Forte Koup tucked in a KLIMS corner – coming in 2011

Tucked in a corner in the dim “Naza hall” at KLIMS was this red Forte Koup. We know that Naza Kia is working hard to bring in this coupe version of the Forte, and those who love the looks and can live with a Forte with two less doors can look forward to it coming to Malaysia next year.

The car on show is a right hand drive unit most probably borrowed from Singapore, since it wears “Cerato” badging. While Cycle & Carriage Kia sells the a 1.6 Koup and even a manual in Singapore, we should be getting the range topping 2.0 Auto if it comes here. The 2.0L Theta II with 156 PS/194 Nm is the same engine found in the 2.0 SX sedan, paired to a 6-speed auto, which should find its way to the sedan soon.

The Koup wears a more aggressive face compared to the sedan and has a neat rear end, which has twin tailpipes and the now compulsory “diffuser” bumper. Inside, the Koup gets a big red piece of plastic on the dash for a racier feel. We also noticed that the gear lever is unique. This high spec model has a sunroof, cushy leather seats, metal pedals and illuminated speaker rings.

The Forte 2.0 SX sells for RM93,800. How much of a premium will you pay for the coupe styling? Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1782]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the Kia Forte Koup focus on its sporty design, with many praising its looks and mentioning the potential for a turbocharged version with high torque. Enthusiasts express a strong preference for manual transmissions, emphasizing it's a must-have for a sporty car, though auto versions are available. The pricing is speculated around RM110,000 to RM130,000, with some comments suggesting it should be more affordable to boost sales. The interior's red accents receive mixed reactions—some find them bold but others consider them awkward. Several comments mention the upcoming updates, including a 6-speed automatic transmission for the sedan and Koup, and anticipation for the facelifted Forte. Overall, the comments show excitement and interest, with a desire for manual options and competitive pricing.

• Budak Jengka on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:40 am

Nice!! inspira better.. but still cannot afford this or inspira..

I can get..

• kimi_ on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Please dont change the KIA logo to ugly NAZA badge…Thanks!!!!!

• below sea level on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:51 pm

does this front bumper fit with sedan forte? it look so tough…

• the steering wheel uglier than p1!!! better without badge n circle

• cynical on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:30 pm

You can always change it back, duh..

• personally i find the naza badge nicer than KIA badge,
        but the “K” badge is nicer…
        the K.I.A. had previous bad image….

• Please…lah change the KIA logo to NAZA logo so that we all can buy this CBU Koup at cheaper price. I don’t mind pay extra rm100 to put the KIA logo back…at least I can save thousands to own this ride…hehehe.

• hinder on Dec 06, 2010 at 6:55 pm

susah lol, 80-95k price range car getting competitive, honda cr-z or this in 2011?
      both also coupe…

• If Forte comes with 6 speed auto for around 95K, i will definitely consider owning one.

• Any Kia Sportage exhibits in KLIMS ?

• Danny on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:41 am

Emm…waiting for the price of this!
    Like the bolder and sharper rear!
    Just wish it would be come with 5 speed tranny.. :-)

• wolfsburg on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:47 am

It is going to be a 6-speed….

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:48 am

The Forte sedan will be updated with a 6-speed auto soon, and the Koup should have that as well

• wolfsburg on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:49 am

Is there any news about the updating of the gearbox?

• Daren on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:45 pm

is it confirmed Forte sedan will upgraded with 6 speed auto from the current 4 speed auto?

• PEOLOAD on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:50 pm

i don’t think you’d want 5 speed trannies LOL

• Budak Jengka on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:42 am

NAZA don wan bring KIA OPTIMA??

SURE many rich bugger will buy.. :)

• wolfsburg on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:48 am

The Optima looks so gorgeous in the show!!! Too bad we don’t get to touch the car…

• David on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:46 am

I just noticed this is the version powered by the new 1.6 GDI engine and the 6-speed auto ‘box, as the gear shifter design is the conventional rather than the gated version. And if we look closely at one of the interior pictures, there’s a pair of paddle shifters.

If we talk about pricing, my guess for a fully imported 2.0 should cost about 110k, and the new 1.6 GDi should not exceed the RM 120k mark. That should give quite a decent amount of sales, which it deserves.

• wolfsburg on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:52 am

The “unique” gear lever is to diferentiate between 6 and 4 speedo… The gate-type is 4 speeds while this one is 6 speeds…

• sagatron on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:57 am

i’ve seen this koup past 2 years from korean drama..hahaha..

• i saw this koup past 2 yrs in flesh..derr

• tooyoottt on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:46 am

I saw this everyday! Singapore have alot this model since 2 years ago,, kia and hyundai very popular there..

• Nice looker. Hope it does more with the new updates (gearboxes etc.) rather than just a looker…

• DonkeyKong on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:42 am

Well, the article did say that it comes with a 6-speed auto, doesn’t it?

• Yes, AFTER the updates, as they do not have it now… KOUP in SG is quite ‘disappointing’ as commented by owners there…

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:04 am

I have been noticing this car since beginning 2010.Been test drive in s’pore somewhere march 2010, not bad, but tend to have minor ICE problem after my friend bought 2 months. The exterior really good and almost a mini CAMARO, rear seat space still reasonable. But, ppl who love it pls bear in mind just for the second car, coz it wont fit nicely as two door koup for a famil of four member. Otherwise, nothing much to comment

• captain_gaban on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:08 am

nice..but the red-on-black dashboard seems a lil bit awkward to me…

• DonkeyKong on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:43 am

That splash of red on the dash is definitely a deal-breaker. Why can’t they let the Koup be elegant instead of turning it into a rice mobile?

• mitlanevo on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:14 am

well, it may be a niche market for 2-dr like this, but i think there shall be potential buyers…

i think we can sort out something, like Putra replacement, maybe a 2-dr Lancer coupe like what Theophilus illustrated last time?

just imagine, Lancer coupe with 1600cc turbocharged, SWEET~

anyway, this Forte Koup looks great!

• Mamee on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:21 am

Will be around RM130k according to the Kia ppl in the show. But not so confirm yet :D

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:17 am

RM130k is a risk price, not selling price yet. Sales price will not determine at this time especially at this car show. Just wait KIA to annouce later, dont simply announce price yet.

• kentot on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:28 am

yes…this was the one i saw drove out from Naza HQ Kg Baru building last week…

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:29 am

I test drove the LHD 2.4 Koup recently.

Quite a decent car when driven normally…its quite and well behaved. But when the pace gets up, there is just something not gelling properly. Steering feels numb and the throttle feels funny. Sadly didn’t get to spend enough time to get used to it…. in that sense, the stiffer Civic SI Coupe (which we don’t get here) is a more entertaining drive if not slightly underpowered.

Perhaps we have different “tuning” to our localized version.

but again, compared to the Sephia/Spectra that this is replacing, this is waaaaaay better.

• untouchable on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:32 am

petrol naik harga…. tukarv hybrid la….. 2.0 kuat makan minyak lol….

• lazyf on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:33 am

This Kia Forte Koup & Optima are AWESOME!!!

• stiggy25 on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:54 am

nice looking car.looks like a german.

• whatever on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:59 pm

It looks like a german? Hahahahahaha!!! You’re funny dude! I wonder how the koreans would feel deep inside….

• Razor on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:58 pm

lol whatever ur a dumbass..it looks like a german yes..
        becoz its designed by one..
        Google for Kia’s Chief designer..
        It is Ex-Audi’s Lead Designer..
        everything about the Forte is done in Germany..Planing..Clay model.. Concept to Final Production…Everything was design in germany

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:52 am

The Koreans would feel proud. It’s like a high school kid being compared with Stephen Hawking or Isaac Newton. The Koreans will pat each other on the back and say “We have arrived”.

• Charger on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:57 am

There’s already 1 parked at a workshop in Ara Damansara for the past few weeks.

• nikolo98 on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:07 pm

I noticed it too… last I saw it, the front wheels were off….. SG plates though…..

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Price should not exceed RM102,000 (WM), since, although there is a sunroof, there are 2 doors missing.

• nikolo98 on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Say Danny, Did you see the facelifted Forte? I’ve been digging around for information but nothing on it…. I take it with this, we ought to expect the facelifted Forte to be introduced around the same time as the Koup if not earlier?

Frankly the only reason why I’m holding back still is for the 2.0 to come with the 6-spd tranny…. the bluetooth connectivity featured in this Koup would be an added bonus!!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:30 pm

There’s no confirmed timeline of course.

We were promised the Sorento and Soul much earlier as well – the former has only just been launched and the Soul isn’t here yet.

• nikolo98 on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:42 pm

That’s a little disappointing. I hope Naza won’t keep us waiting for too long. I’ve been looking for my perfect car and it looks like Kia has gotten it right. Only thing left is for Naza to bring it in ASAP.

• whatever on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Sure u gonna buy one?

• nikolo98 on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Strange that you should ask a question like that when the indication is clear. Think about it…. :)

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:23 am

Nikolo sure sounds like a serious buyer. How about you?

• i m also waiting for 2.0 6 speed auto, rumous say will at 1Q 2011.
          I hope the info 90% accuracy!!!

• Anti P1/MMM on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:20 am

To be frank, there are some unit store at KLANG port oled, yet to getting approval. not sure how much spec will supply, but at least 1.6 and 2.0 are confirmed at this moment. Second quarter will be their target, because they going to launch before new Avante coming. Plenty of choice in 2011.Guy

• nikolo98 on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:42 am

Spoke to the chaps at Kia’s booth yesteday. Not sure on the release of the facelifted Forte…. Avante is rumored to be due in Sep 2011…. that’s Q3/Q4. So if Kia were to compete with Hyundai, it would be a logical decision to release prior to that? Besides… I think Q3 is a little late to be launching a new model in Malaysia.

@Anti P1/MMM: If that is the case, then joe’s rumours are probably true then?

• awg1031 on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:10 pm

seen one at bangi road 3months ago..awesome coupe!!

• malaysian prefer 4-dr…

• Syedz on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:17 pm

no words on KIA SOUL again from NAZA?

• the juke on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:26 pm

i hate red interior

• fasha on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:58 pm

http://paultan.org/photo/albums/kia-forte-koup-at-klims/dsc_0746b.jpg

96.7 MHz – Sinar FM, muzik retro terbaik!

• turbo on Dec 06, 2010 at 1:08 pm

2 door for Kia?? Not going to sell well in M’sia….WE prefer 4 door sedan….not coupe!!

• nabill on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:18 pm

looks nice and sporty….i thought in the US thy have a 2.0 turbo if im not mistaken….

below 100k is reasonable price to pay….the 1.6 if it was offered i believe it will sell in proper numbers….that red color interior is an eyesore….!

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:56 pm

That would be Hyundai and its engine in the Genesis Coupe and Sonata.

In the US, they only have the 2.0 and 2.4.

• shawal on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:23 pm

According to logic , it has 2 lesser doors, ergo, suppose to be cheaper, but thats never the case in the automotive world….

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Actually, long time ago, coupes are still cheaper than 4 door sedans.

Even now, in certain countries where we don’t have restrictive taxes and such, coupes are usually still cheaper than 4 doors..given same options and equipment levels.

Some manufacturers like Hyundai still have thier cheapest models (ie Accent) much less than the 4 door sedan version.

They are more expensive here due to the niche market positioning…and being mostly CBU don’t help either.

• Razor on Dec 07, 2010 at 5:02 pm

and according to logic..lower profile tires use less Rubber and material and therefore should cost less!!
      but nooooo

• Ash Menon on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Woohoo! Finally prayers answered. Danny, you should get more shots of those sexy frameless doors!

Hopefully the new 6-speed will bring some much needed power to the Koup.

The interior dashboard is…umm, a bit kitsch, but I guess I can live with that. Pakai shades the whole time while driving, can tahan la.

Crossing fingers, here’s hoping it doesn’t get too expensive.

• Abuden on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Only if priced under 100K, and with ori Kia brand (not some ciplak AP King badge)

• sasuke on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:30 pm

its says that the price of this kia koup gonna be below 130k

• beatnik on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:35 pm

‘Tis car supposed to be sporty if comes in a manual transmission.. but if they sell with Automatic box only, then is it for pondan :P

• Manual fans on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Yeah~totally agree wif u!!!!!
      with tis handsome and sporty looks must match wif a 6speed manual 2.0!!
      Others if only come wif auto trans~its so so boring!!!!!

• conbubble on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:01 pm

its BND$28k in Brunei..and its been here for two years already.. 1.6 and 2.0 variant.. but we dont get the black and red interior hehe..

• tHe^CuLpRit on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:43 pm

hmmmm…. I’d wager a guess and say a price of about RM124k, if fully imported. Which i expect it to be.

RM124k for a gorgeous coupe, ain’t too bad!

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Let pray that it will sell well at this price of RM124k. I think most people will go for the beautiful Lancer sport hatchback 2.4L.
      Latio Sport with 4 doors is equally sporty in look(with other benefits). Add RM 5K for the sunroof.
      So I guess maximum price that consumers are willing to pay is RM102k.

• mystvearn on Dec 06, 2010 at 4:54 pm

hmm… I say RM99 999 for this version, but I guess it would be more.

Door panels look like hard plastic. The Hyundai Elantra has replaced this car as the best looking Korean car IMHO

• when gen coupe come malaysia?

• Mancini on Dec 06, 2010 at 6:03 pm

nice styling. but still looking forward for something EV . nissan leave maybe

• Maserati on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Nice design,but look at that interior.Looks old and dated even when new.

Read in reviews the performance does not match the looks.Thats just too bad.

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Typical of Korean cheap ‘sporty’ cars (not sport car), maybe with the exception of Genesis Coupe.

• Sheng on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:15 pm

the kia’s salesman said it’s gonna priced around rm120-130k

• Vince on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:34 am

There’s one of these hung up in a workshop in Ara Damansara, for quite some time already, the pity owner forgot to tighten the radiator cap after checking, and ended up a burned gasket. The worst part is, THE PISTON MELTED!!!!!!!!!!! yes, I’m serious. Saw it with my bare eyes. this shouldn’t happen, it’s just over heating….. this is serious quality issue

• Chuck Jordan on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:13 am

How is it a quality issue when it was the owner who didn’t tighten the radiator cap, and then ran the car till the piston melted?

• adehhh on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:48 am

when will the new optima launch here?…want oneeeeeeeeeee

• as i was told this is not going to be cheap, and also not for mass production. so regardless 4 doors or not, they dont care, as it is targeted as exclusive and for branding, their targeted sales probably less then 10 cars per month.

• whocares on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:10 pm

too much redness interior..anybody knows the performance figure?

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:56 pm

lala ah beng car

• Kumar san on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:06 am

This ride must be sold with 2.0 6 Speed manual/1.6 5 Speed manual and of course the 2.0 6 speed pondan autobox..the looks itself begs for a stick shift,if it’s not offered,then it’s sacrilege..had inquired with the Kia folks sometime back to purchase the Cerato sedan 2.0 6 speed manual from Australia but they could not get it for me..i’m a diehard manual trans fan,own 4 cars,all of which are manual ones..i really don’t mind getting this one,have always liked the design,but provided it’s offered with a manual..are you listening Kia?

• anonymous on Jan 09, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Whenever I think of a sports car I think of a 2 doors car with a manual transmission only.

• Any Kia Sportage in KLIMS?

• David on Jan 15, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Guys, good news!! I just got a text message from a Naza Kia SA based in the HQ, confirming the arrival of the Forte Koup soon. It’s a 2.0 version with the 6-speeder, and it’s gonna be priced circa 115k!!

Another thing that they’re gonna launch this year would be the updated Forte with the uprated 6-speeder. Not much changes from the old one, except for the different gear shifter design, the paddle shifters and the inclusion of a reverse camera!

• koupwanone on Jan 16, 2011 at 12:59 am

if only they include the turbocharger with twinscroll…..290lb/ft….phew…..