Nissan GT-R sets new 0-100 kph benchmark – 3.046 secs

nissan gtr

A MY2011 Nissan GT-R has set a new acceleration benchmark for the vehicle, with a standard production DBA-R35 taking just 3.046 seconds to get to 100 kph from a standing start on the main straight at the Sendai Highland raceway in Japan.

The event, held last month, was witnessed by a group of Japanese journalists and recorded by a V-Box measuring device, and Nissan engineers said the time would have been even faster had the road temperature been higher than the 13 degrees Celsius on the test day in Japan. Nissan chief vehicle engineer Kazutoshi Mizuno, the R35’s Godfather, told journalists that with warmer track temperatures “the GT-R will reach the world of two seconds!”

Now, a search for the fastest production cars on the planet might have you thinking the same GT-R clocked that run in 2.9 secs, but that time is actually the 0-60 mph measurement, which is just a range shorter than the 0-100 kph (effectively, 0-62 mph) one being bandied about by Nissan.

Whatever the case may be, both times place the current R35 as the 13th fastest production car, and though the new sprint time was achieved with the car in R-Mode, journalists at the Highland Raceway test were still able to achieve 3.1 seconds for the 0-100 kph dash in the car’s less aggressive A-Mode. Which still puts it right alongside the Koenigsegg CCXR and Ferrari 430 Scuderia, number 14 and 15 on the list …

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wow? Thats quicker than a Lambo!

• A BMW M5 can even smoke the lambo what more to say this car?

• Lambo owner on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:25 am

You hope.

• Virosh on Dec 11, 2010 at 3:39 pm

0-100 lambo wins but top speed, BMW wins. (if its a Gallardo)

• RON97 on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:30 am

don’t talk nonsense. lambo is supercar like ferrari, porsche, etc… even if you have mighty m5, you can’t tail them. top speed well beyond 300
          This GTR is awesome. I was smoked by this creature at NS Hway, even at 240, it still spin (and the driver poking his nose). unfortunately, no authorized dealer here

• mant3 on Dec 13, 2010 at 5:32 pm

japanese ah-moi rocks :-)

• shawal on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:13 pm

I wonder how many organs you have sell to afford one….

• Bravo to the DBA-R35 GT-R engineers! Superb accomplishment!

• mohdjiman on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:25 pm

what a monster…

• arcana on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:36 pm

fast and furious godzilla…….well done nissan

• Happy Man on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:44 pm

so..why buy ferrari??? ;p

• mario on May 09, 2011 at 4:32 pm

I dont care what any one will say about this japanese make the best cars…stuff the ferraris..i can not wait to get a gtr))just to chop the ferraris on the street lol italian cars are rubbish lol..bring it..iam a gtr fanatic…lol

• The Loner on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:08 pm

That is the power of twin-turbo.

• rexis on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:13 am

And also the ability to deliver the energy on road surface by punching the road with 4 wheels together.

• Franco Baresi on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:21 pm

This car is no push over

• carlos ghosn leadership . gt-r is japan’s answer to the world that u dont’ need many things to win .

• SeriuosSAM on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:30 pm

hope hopefully sumo power GT team that was driven by Peter Dumbreck and Michael Krumm this year; will be much stronger in GT1 race next year.

sumo power GT team finished in 6th place in this year GT1 season.

• Anti BN/P1/MMM on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:40 pm

OMG, cant imagine my hand feel with steering and body respond to such heavy G force and punchy pick up. Monster of the century. I will own one when my next birthday come!!

• lalalala~~~~ on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:45 pm

faster then bugati veyron..

• yankeepapa on Dec 10, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Now if the GTR was 200kg lighter mmm…it will blitz everything on the road

• transformer on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:12 pm

WoW….. from a V6 3.8L TwinTurbo and tight chassis + electronics

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:19 pm

this is sick

• If you watch the You Tube video, there is practically no wheel spin from the car.

When a car wheel spins it losses a lot of time.

That is the power of the dynamic 4 wheel drive train.

• endre on Dec 10, 2010 at 10:59 pm

that’s crazy

• brianjgtc on Dec 10, 2010 at 11:36 pm

This is the japanese version of Bug Veyron…god 3.0 sec…this is fast!!! Go nissan…create a GTR LM version….with 600bhp….carbon fiber, strip interior…and full aluminium door and spoiler….

• lobang chelaka on Dec 11, 2010 at 12:09 am

this is just insane!!!

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Dec 11, 2010 at 12:12 am

Love GT-R badly……

• mmealin on Dec 11, 2010 at 1:03 am

1st Japanese car can run that fast with that 3.8L V6…congrats 2 nissan…

• dondon on Dec 11, 2010 at 1:36 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3ZR5lf00SU

got this at youtube about this MY11

• HirumaKecil on Dec 11, 2010 at 5:50 am

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• sanji on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:49 am

awesome performance with affordable price tag (compared to other supercars)
    what more that you could wish for?
    absolutely staggering!

• Miha M on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:57 am

Bloody brilliant! And it’s quite handsome too.

• thebugbud on Dec 11, 2010 at 8:28 am

nissan also proved the damn fast car can be affordable, enjoyable and still looks good.

• Amazing i tell you

• jolly_idiot on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:35 am

Japanese Lambo.

• malaysian on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:44 am

i wonder how Porsche would react to this….

• they can’t.

• Zd Ber on Dec 11, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Maybe 2011, we will see the established marques fight back.

• sproc_46 on Dec 11, 2010 at 3:36 pm

porsche will response …

aiya, nissan use slick tyres, robot driver or jet fuel to get this result … bla bla bla … :p

• lawrencetlc on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:25 pm

I wish one day porsche test driver and nissan test driver drives their car in a race in a track for declaration of their cars!!!

• cikgurusdhi on Dec 11, 2010 at 12:21 pm

and still no nissan in F1. lame!

• for wat? F1 have no thing with road cars

• cikgurusdhi on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:47 am

what’s the producing super fast cars? test them or race them lol

• You seen anyone driving an F1 on the road? And cars are made for travelling not for pure racing, get the facts before you talk.

• Thomas Heng on Dec 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm

did you see lambo or porsche?

• Angelina_jolin on Dec 11, 2010 at 4:39 pm

renault = nissan in F1..

• crazerlapd on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:13 pm

You better ask why Buggati Veyron, Lamborghini, Koenigsegg, or Pagani not in F1…

• super marvelous!

• it is just a datsun..

• Choon on Dec 11, 2010 at 3:13 pm

What a car man! Imagine driving this around….. ahhh pleasure..

• DaveDiablos on Dec 11, 2010 at 3:21 pm

I’m quite sceptical about this. Did he use the launch control to achieve that? I mean with the launch control, he can definitely go 0-100 km/h in around 3.0 sec…Without the launch control, i think can’t even go to that claim gua…

• Fast or not, nissan is just a nissan, it wont be that prestigious as compared to Honda Integra or Legendary NSX. No one recognizes Nissan GTR before untill this Godzilla arrived. The fastest and toughest Japanese sportcars would always be from Honda e.g Civic Type R. It is ridiculous suddenly we see forummers chanting the word GTRs as if Nissan is a famous Japanese sport brand. Look at ugly LAtio, Sylphy, Teana, which none of them can beat the marvellous rows of civic, city and accord. Go and check websites everywhere, the very famous supercar in the world is still Honda Civic Type R and FD2. This sudden exaggerated exposure of GTR is utterly non-sense.

• lawrencetlc on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:27 pm

you’re just so wrong mate…

• VIGOSS on Dec 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

fd2r no produce anymore . any honda already sop the Type R model for profuction

• if im not mistaken, nissan is considered in japan as national car.

• small car on Dec 11, 2010 at 10:50 pm

oh yeah? let’s go for a spin and find out who is the legend!

• BlackBJQ on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:15 pm

guys..just ignore this s60 fella..same like on previous articles, this super-fanatic-honda-like-nobody-in-the-world just know nothing bout cars..

s60, live up..with your volvo

• hondas can suck it. what happened to your NSX which didn’t get any mention?

honda is prestigious? tell that to the global world (Americans, Europeans, even the Chinese!) and they will laugh at you, stupid malaysian. stop embarrassing our nation.

• ThinkB4UTalk on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:16 am

S60,

You’re either ignorant or just plain dumb…
      No offence but you seem like you’re a teenager who only listen to his peers without doing any real research before talking….
      Honda might sell more than Nissan…
      But have you ever considered the point of this in the first place…
      Did anyone say that if you go fastest, you’ll sell big?
      and you’ve got the cheek to quote ” Fast or not, nissan is just a nissan, it wont be that prestigious as compared to Honda Integra or Legendary NSX. No one recognizes Nissan GTR before untill this Godzilla arrived. The fastest and toughest Japanese sportcars would always be from Honda e.g Civic Type R. It is ridiculous suddenly we see forummers chanting the word GTRs as if Nissan is a famous Japanese sport brand.”
      You talk without thinking…
      Probably similar in the way you handle your life

• Yourmama on Dec 11, 2010 at 6:52 pm

I bet with a vtec sticker on it can run 2sec flat !

• Its your job to prove that i m wrong. i saw dozens of Type R OTR and none GTR. i saw tens of Integra and none GTR. i saw hundreds of City and only tens of LAtio. We all must know if not many Malaysian buy it, the product is either flawed or not up to date. Nobody knows GTR better then Type R and why ppl want to shout about it. You can ask your own baby sitter and see…

• armandd on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:04 am

Despite all the hype about type-R FD2, in reality it’s a sports sedan, i.e 5-seater passenger car. Nissan GTR is a dedicated sports coupe but in reality it belongs in the supercar category. Honda city is a good car, but not a great one. FYI, its a budget compact car..

• Goproton on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:43 am

I thought Volvo s60 is better than this GTR thingy?

• Lappy on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:57 am

Your comment have too much bias in it. I admit Honda is a good car, but don’t get offended when other brand’s car is doing better. As automobile enthusiast we should study and understand but not blindly follow a brand…

• Just because it sells more doesnt mean it is better than others…
      I see a lot more Myvi compared to City…Does dat mean City is inferior to Myvi…?

You should check the Nurbugring lap time for production car category…GT-R rules there…
      your Type R..? nowhere to be seen….

• LOL…. dude u’re hilarios… i’m not good in cars but hell everyone knows GTR is always top of Japanese cars man….and this R35 is simply a monster…. and for well known brand its always been Toyota dude…. only in M’sia u’ll see more Honda…. try crossing border to Thailand onwards u’ll only see Toyota cars dude…. GTR and Type-R ?? comon man compare the price before u see how many are they on the road dude…. in ur sense it means that a Gallardo or F430 is uncomparable to Civic Type-R too then…. cause i rarely see them on the road….. XD

• Ntg special,3.046 secs get crash!

• GilaBaban on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:02 pm

i thought the GTR is in the different management & team of their own (Nissan Motorsport of supercar division). The GTR team is separated from the commercial Nissan vehicles. And the Nissan Fairlady is in that commercial line as well. That’s why the Fairlady are so many in the market. Who can afford GTR like they afford Type-R. I’m not bias here but I badly admired Civic FD2 Type-R once.

• Honda Civic on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:45 pm

3.046 secs. So? Reach home 10 minutes faster and then? Nothing to celebrate if this little punky nissan can’t beat the almighty veyron.

GTR: Look! My 0-100 is only 3.046 secs! Hows that?

BMW M3: Yea but you still look like a whimp.

Merc C 63 AMG: Your top speed is only the same as my grandma’s top speed.

Audi RS4: At least I look better than you when I arrive at my office.

Pagani: Still nobody will use your picture as a poster.

Gumpert: Still your lap time doesnt beat mine in top gear.

Ferrari: You have no passion.

Lamborghini: You are not as cool as me.

Bugatti: I am still the almighty.

Kancil? I am still cheaper!!

• oozii on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:37 am

lol. bad supercars(not kancil),they all make GT-R cries.. kancil already RIP..haha

• cikgurusdhi on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:47 am

Toyolta easily beaten. huhu!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8vAxzLApPs

• Car lover on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:38 am

What is the right price to buy now?

• ‘has set a new acceleration benchmark for the vehicle’

Vehicle? You meant ‘car’, right?

The BMW S1000RR superbike does the 0-100km/h in 2.9s and the 0-200km/h in 7.0s (GT-R: 12.2s)… ;)

• anonymous on Dec 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm

mantobb

• Evo Monster on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Good when a car under RM500k can beat 1 mill car..Hahaha..still looking improvement from car below 100k to beat all this monster..Hehehe