RON97 up 10 sen to RM2.40 per litre at midnight

Fuel-Wallet GaugeWhat goes up does not come down – RON97 has been hiked again by 10 sen to RM2.40 a litre effective midnight, just about a month after the last hike on the 1st of December last year which saw the price of the higher octane fuel go up 15 sen.

Along with RON97, kerosene is also up by 10 sen to RM2.50 per litre. The good news is that the pricing for RON95 and diesel remain unchanged, even though both were increased recently a month ago, on December 3.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• after this ron95 might up also..the reason, want to close the gap between ron95 and ron97..

• Rubbish.. RON95 up the GOV is DEAD.

• If 95 don’t go up, Gov also dead.

Move up but slower pace n less amount.

We are also exporter which means even if oil price go sky high crazy, it is the demand that has gone up, not the cost of production.

Yup, oil company make a bit more only.

• not surprise at all, be prepare be very prepare there b more price hike to come,
          otherwise how the G gonna buy more votes & kataks for the snap election rite?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:56 pm

But thanks to every other thing they have done, they’re not dead yet but they have one foot in the grave

• i am 100% sure Ron95 will up after this…believe me

• kimi_ on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:49 am

WTH with this BN= barang naik
      starting 1 january: sugar naik, tepung naik, minyak naik,cronies punya pocket money naik, RAKYAT punya angin pun naik…

It is time for pakatan naik, BN turun!!!!!!!!!

• lkf0512 on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:45 am

Please don’t…

• Cucukman on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:48 am

If we are Govt., and we have no money to launch our proposed project in 2011.. what should we do? Even Pakatan or BN, they will to the same thing… get the FUND from our money…sources TAXES, PDRM/JPJ SUMMON, bla..bla..bla..
      How long Govt. need to subsidies the petrol & diesel? Then Singaporean & Thai people can grab the opportunity to buy it with cheaper price!!!

I bet..even PAKATAN cannot do anything to control and to subsidies the petrol price.. if they can subsidies..how long? 1 year then borrow money from IMF??
      Huh…just support our local automotive to produce Electric Vehicle as soon as possible..

• No problem if they reduce the car tax like Thai did. actually, we subsidized them already. if the car price is cheap, people won’t talk so much when petrol price hike. first thing, give us reasonable car price.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Of course a different government can control it. By reducing excessive spending and kickbacks. Look at the highway toll concessions. Do you think nothing can be done about it? If PLUS declares that they expect to earn RM2 billion this year, but their actual earnings only hit RM1.5 billion, the government has to pay them RM500 million just so that they meet their projections! This is what the toll concessionaire contracts are about. Do you think that makes sense? Do you think Pakatan can’t do anything about it?

Look at the unnecessary mega-projects that have been announced or going on.. the overpriced palace, the 100-storey building, the MRT project, etc. Each and every single one of these are terribly overpriced, with front companies linked to the political elite making billions merely by being middlemen. Do you think Pakatan can’t do anything about this?

Look at our defense spending. Whenever our Mindef announces their defense expenditure, Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia will get shaken at first. For example, when our aircraft acquisition budget was first announced, our ASEAN neighbors were shocked, they estimated that we’re obtaining about 30 to 40 Sukhoi SU-30 aircraft. When it turned out that for the price we’re paying, we’re only getting 18 planes, they breathed a sigh of relief. Imagine how much the kickbacks to the middlemen were.

Malaysia’s power reserve capacity is at 40% currently. Based on our estimated power consumption of 21 gigawatt-year in 2010, that would mean an excess capacity of 8 gigawatt-year. That’s the output of 8 to 10 typical PWR nuclear reactors. But, we’ll be spending RM20 billion to construct two CANDU-type nuclear plants that will add 2 gigawatt-year of power to the grid, when an Australian estimate for a 1-gigawatt-year thorium-based LFTR proposal puts the price at a little over A$500 million per reactor.

Money can be poured into all these useless things, tens and billions end up in the pockets of a privileged few every single year from kickbacks. And yet, we’re told that RM600 million subsidies for fuel is too much for the government to bear. RM20 million for scholarships is too expensive for the government. RM6 billion to nationalize the PLUS highway is beyond the government’s affordability.

• Don’t forget how much it costs to set-up PEMANDU…

Also, how much was spent to drive home the “1Malaysia” concept. Actually, if you listen to the people on the streets, the term 1Malaysia has become a joke. Every sentence which comes with the 1Malaysia word is filled with sarcasm.

• JustUpgrade on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Clap Clap

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 06, 2011 at 11:50 am

for all those compensated toll highways just let them hike the toll as agreed in the contracts no need to compensate. i dont see why money from the blood sweat and tears of people living outside the klang valley where most of the tolled highways are should be used to subsidise klang valley drivers. bn signed these lopsided agreements and they should be made to suffer for it at the ballot box.

• IMO the price that govt paid for the 18 Su-30MKMs is okay, coz it’s the most powerful version of the Su-30 family, comparable or even better than Su-30MKI. Russian+European+American equipment inside a Russian multirole fighter are not cheap.

just sayin’… :D

• artworkz on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:27 pm

well say say!!!!

• artworkz on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:29 pm

u tot electric cheap meh??? full charge 1 car need how much? then can run how far.

• squawk on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:16 am

RON 95 is reviewed monthly or on a periodic basis right? So if oil prices are up, which will affect RON 97 price, a hike in 95 price is almost guaranteed when it’s ‘review’ time.

Those who didn’t see this coming need to switch on brain and learn not to believe politicians.

• Civic_RS on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:29 pm

“i watch DSAI video about the petrol price maybe on 2008. He said if Petronas can make a profit up to 80 billion per year, then why not use half of that profit to maintain the petrol price (maybe he meant below RM2)”.

The oil/petrol price is very crucial to be maintain by G as it will shake other industry and even if it increase by 10sen surely it will affect other commodity and non-commodity product . IF G keep maintain the Petrol price (maybe once in 5 years only increase), rakyat surely will get huge benefit on it.

They must remember Petronas should belong to rakyat, as major profit of it come to our land. Without rakyat in this land, there are nowhere near G and petronas will exist.

But now Petronas or TNB is keep increasing their profit, keeping the profit year by year, and share the bonus with the staff, while rakyat suffer without help.

Above comment is only my opinion )

• Oh….. Election is coming . Petronas need money to support Barisan ?????
    Malaysia Boleh boleh boleh….

• ReactiX on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Check on current crude oil price trending before make statement

• but u better check why high ranking gov officer can use nissan fuga (rebadge) for their car…. we know already fuga is sucking petrol car…..

• vertigo on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:54 pm

LOL – u think petronas is the one making profit out of this?

• Vincent Ang on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Yes. ALL petroleum for the oil refineries of any oil company in Malaysia MUST go through the hands of Petronas first. Every time the price of crude oil rises in the world market Petronas makes a killing. It matters not what the retail price of hydrocarbons may be for price the increases used to be absorbed by the government. On the other hand the price of crude oil has never been this high over a long period of time. In this sense it may kill the government if it were to continue subsidizing hydrocarbons. However, the government must be fair by reducing the taxes on vehicles and stop screwing the rakyat with their P1 and P@ national car con.

• RedLine on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:57 am

If Government lowers the petrol price, people say “Election is coming, government is trying to give sweetener or something”. If petrol price go up, also people say “Election is coming, Petronas need money to support Barisan” or some other nonsense like that. That goes to show that to some people, nothing the Government do will ever be right to them. They will always find fault in anyway the can.

As for the real reason why petrol price is going up, don’t you think that maybe, just maybe its because the price of crude oil has been steadily rising, and the crude oil price now is close to USD100 dollars per barrel? Of course la our petrol prices also has to go up. At least the Government didn’t raise the Ron95 prices yet. Last time in 2009/2010, the crude oil price went as low as around USD50 dollars per barrel. Now the price of crude oil has almost doubled already.

• So how much did YOU pay for RON95 in 2009/2010? When price of crude oil goes up, it;s like a knee-jerk effect. Practically overnight the price of petrol goes up. If it goes down? The government controlled media will not even report it. Let it slide and hope the rakyat don’t notice and continue paying the same price.

Support your country, I agree but don’t be blinded by the people running it…..

• artworkz on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:32 pm

u juz pretend dunno n continue support our beloved G…

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:28 am

Exactly. Remember when RON95 was still at RM1.80 per litre, the Government said that they’re earning RM0.50 out of it. So, just imagine how much they’re earning from RON97 right now. Obviously all this extra earnings will be used to finance the General Elections which will happen in a few months’ time, and also for the robber barons to strike it rich one last time in case they no longer have a piece of the action after the next GE.

• you are true to your name dongkey. . the gov. subsidizing RM0.50/litre not earning RM0.50 laaa

• DonkeyKong on Jan 06, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Check back on the old news reports after the price drop from RM2.70 per litre. They were subsidizing RM0.50 per litre when oil hit US$140 per barrel. When oil prices dropped to US$50 per barrel, the govt declared that they will be earning RM0.50 per litre since the global prices have come down.

Looks like you’re the donkey who hasn’t been following current affairs all these years.

• they r stupid if they do that rite when GE around the corner..only popular gov will reduce/retain price to gain popularity in short term..serious/long term gov do the other ways around..better being bash now than later..i also do not like price hike but am being realistic bout that crude oil will going up n drop n than going up again even further..if this gov go down gud luck for the next gov to maintain or reduce the price if the current gov cannot…..

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:14 pm

No other oil-exporting countries in the world does this sort of nonsense except for Malaysia. Global crude prices go up, our total petroleum exports also increase in revenue. Why is it that when oil hits US$100 per barrel, the government only tells us that pump prices need to be jacked up because the government has no money to keep it low, and they always ignore to tell us that on the other side of the coin their petroleum revenues have also risen significantly?

• Samwise Gamgee on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:27 pm

DonkeyKong if you are not a donkey and actually know how to read, you might want to look at the link below. It debunks your statement.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20101229/ap_on_re_us/ml_iran_economy

There you go, Iran an oil-exporting country, has removed subsidies. Apparently, gasoline price has quadrupled there. Are you going to claim Yahoo is a tool of the government next?

• Haiz…. T.T”

• chenlim on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Up, Up and away!!!!

• Thanks BN… I LOVE U !

• Harrier on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:15 pm

me tooo !!

• khairul on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:03 am

i love u too BN…. hahahaha

• exJAVANESE on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:20 am

For all Malaysian! Think carefully!
        Petroleum sources will be finish on several decades from now. (This is a FACT)
        So, I’m not surprise if oils will be hike up more than this.

So, we must think a brilliant solution for this Petroleum. We can explore on Bio-diesel, Ethanol, Solar (Solar and bio-diesel are most suitable for our nation)

So, Malaysian.. Stop blaming Government or Rebel side. This is about our consciousness. This petroleum issue will be not ended if we still depend on petroleum sources it self. For government, we are so glad if G regain effort on Solar and bio-diesel as our alternative solutions.

Think innovation solutions to become future solutions.

Remember Malaysian….
        Great minds discuss on ideas;
        Average minds discuss on events;
        Small minds discuss on people.

• wochomi on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:09 am

Great minds feeds on lesser minds. Such is the nature of politics. If you give the Sahara desert to those bastards, they’ll run out of sand in 5 years time.

• johndaniels on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:56 pm

How sure are you that the world’s petroleum supply will be gone within the next few decades?

Basic marketing principle: Supply & Demand.
          If I hide my supply and tell you that there’s very limited stock, you’d pay a premium to get it.

If the world was really running out of fuel don’t you think world governments would push alternative energy sources more aggressively instead of waiting for their economies to crash overnight?

As for the hike in fuel prices, I’m ok with that because we have one of the cheapest fuel prices in the world. However, on the flip side, our vehicle import duties are also one of the highest. In countries like the UK fuel prices are very high, but the cars are very affordable. Here the people are burdened with exorbitant car/bike prices and fuel prices are also rising.

Does it surprise you then that a lot of people are angry?

• exJAVANESE on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:22 pm

That why I state above….
            Great minds discuss on ideas;
            Average minds discuss on events;
            Small minds discuss on people.

YES, one day world will really running out of fuel.We have to admit it. We must get prepared.
            In this forum, we’re not just talk on politic, this forum can be the alternatif flatform to whom has the ideas and solution for this petroleum issue (issue+ideas=Solution)

Why don’t we discuss on HOW to OVERCOME this issue? Rite now, we only discuss issue on issue, its will getting no where.. rite buddy?

Issue + issue = not solve the issue
            Issue + solution = will gives us a lot solution

Cheers…

• ohtdpg7w on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:31 pm

discuss n give ideas also no point when they don’t listen to us. so its time to act in the next GE!! they have been in power for too long already. give the chance to a new gomen to show what Malaysia is capable of, if you don’t happy with it, change the ruling gomen in the next next GE.

• zuhaimi on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:29 am

mee too..Love Barang Naik!!

• alibaba on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:51 am

way to go dude……..
      wan’t to buy bicycle oledi, can’t afford to use car or motorbike these days……
      we got to move it…..move it…..
      i got to…… move it………..

• swoosh3553 on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:23 am

I got myself and my wife a pair of inline skates… can travel free and stay healthy as well. Just need to be careful of traffic…but soon, more and more may resolve to pedal power and slide power….unless EVs suddenly became affordable in mass abundance.

• Harrier on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:04 pm

What the F**K !!!

BOLEHLAND !!!!

• Harrier on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:07 pm

WTF up up up !!!!

Everthing Up !!! Bolehland !!!!

• rexis on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:38 am

To become a high income nation, we must first become a high expense country.
      *sarcasm look*

• BN confirm kalah la kali ni..huhu

• tokmat on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:12 am

they know they’re gonna loss, so they’re preparing big money before running abroad. anyone know where is Tun Daim right now?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Doesn’t matter where he is, his money is still sitting in the same offshore accounts since the 1982 fiasco

• Abdul Kalib on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:27 am

This is not the BN problem, this is their style, every body know it, if want to blam, blam those people who vote BN….

• maman on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:23 am

sebab diorang fikir diorang menanglah tu haha

• Tan Wook Keat on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:55 am

MALAYSIA……………

• wille on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Rakyat didahulukan. Pencapaian diutamakan!!!
    Good slogan that been created in this country……..

• Joseph on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:19 pm

When can good quality imported car be sold at ‘market price’. Fuel RON97 konon at market price.

• lost78 on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Terima Kasih Datuk Seri dan Datin Seri. Inilah hasil pengorbanan dan undi rakyat selama ini. Hanya AIRMATA kami yang mampu membayar setiap harga petrol yang naik. Aku bukan orang kaya, dah enjin kete takleh pakai 95…apa yang rakyat marhaen ni boleh buat?. Terima kasih… Terima kasih… Terima kasih…

• takde ah miskin pn kalo kete takleh pakai ron 95…kete nasional semua bole pakai ron 95 apa

• Ado kete yg sangat lama memang kena pakai 97 kerana keadaan engin suda merosot.

Kete P1 ori stiker sebelum minyak naik memang rekomen kat 97.

95 itu minima utk engin yg masih ok.

Tolong faham, tak faham pun tak apa.

Saya pun pakai 95 shj kerana mahu jimat $$$. Kalo ada 93, saya pun pakai!

• Question on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:30 pm

pakai kereta yang menggunakan RON97 tidaklah semestinya orang kaya….
        ada kemungkinan kawan kita ini beli 2nd, 3rd, 4th hand kereta bukan national yang harganya lebih murah dan mutu yang lebih tinggi berbanding dengan kereta national….

• go retune the ECU for RON95 lah, only sacrifice little power. no big deal.

• mizzuddin on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:20 pm

motor aku pun semput kalau pakai RON95

• jackspeed on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:20 pm

how long we need gov to subsidized us?

• awg1031 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:28 am

for as long as there is a government..because that is what a government should do..free education, free health etc..

• eposuer on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:56 am

there is no such a free lunch in this world!

• you pay tax you smart ass.

wait, if you make less than rm2000, then, its free lunch for you. You need it, trust me.

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Then what’s the purpose of having a government? Doing business to the people I suppose…

• letstorque on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Free education is ok,free healthcare is acceptable.
        You want cheap petrol?
        Work harder and pay more tax, so that we all can keep subsidised petrol.
        You know that income tax in Malaysia is quuite low,how that can happen.

• do you see any free education and free healthcare until now?
          I dont think so..
          even external patient need to pay RM1 for seeking the treatment.
          now all parents need to pay school fee for their beloved kids even gov had make an announcement that school fee is abolished.
          What is the fair huh???
          Expensive petrol, expensive cars, all goods are expensive right now!!!

• how long do we need to pay stupid excessive excise duty for imported car?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:18 pm

As long as we’re paying taxes. They label it everything as “subsidies” to make it sound like we owe them something, but don’t forget where all that money is coming from! We’re not seeing our taxpayer contributions at work now, are we?

• Is time to change our life style.

• Syahril on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Don’t give reason that high demand in USA and UK caused the price hike!!!!…Malaysia Boleh..

• Singh on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:21 pm

We can only accept the price increase. That’s all we can do.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:20 pm

So, what are you paying taxes for? It’s also a part of life? Tax contributions just go to the government, to pay civil servants and nothing else?

• klguy on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:22 pm

mayb its bcoz someone’s wife need more money for shopping

• bluetravler on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:59 am

good one

• that someone’s wife need to learn to control her addiction. and that someone’s need to announce this price revise properly, don’t try to be a ninja or something

• that someone’s wife need to control her addiction, and that someone need to announce this properly..don’t try to be a ninja or something..your forehead and lips shinning ever brighter in the darkest of night.

• estimosis on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:11 pm

right on the spot..

• mr_3m on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:22 pm

typical Malaysian logic….

for petrol/diesel… gradually they want to reduce/remove subsidies and slowly reflect ‘market prices’ but at the same, the M’sia’s car prices are nowhere near ‘market prices’ of most part of the world….

we definitely live in a country run by insane lunatics masked as politicians….

• do u ever ask thai or indon or sing y their car not in market price oso….thai only cheap with japanese brand other than japan all car sell very high price even higher than us n since jap car r produce in their country to avoid 80% import duties

• KZM as usual, is the cyber trooper, too bad you work for free.

In some job, if they pay you, they call you prosxxx. But thats ok, you need to make a living.

If you do it for free, they say you are a Slxx, or bitxx. Cos you do it for free.

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 06, 2011 at 1:44 pm

the point is that this govt wants the people off petrol subsidies but still want us to subsidise national cars by paying high prices for cars. in the meantime they are buying foreign cars (Fuga or what not) for their official use. smacks of hypocrisy doesnt it when they tell you to ubah gaya hidup! so if you are trying to be argumentative and trying to show how smart you are, well you aint.

• Sabahan1M on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Minyak petrol naik. Tapi gaji tidak naik. How come????

• tak pro` on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Mahu beli Nissan Fuga kerajaan kena naik harga minyak lah!!

• mr_3m on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:27 pm

where’s the logic?

for fuel, they gradually reduce/remove subsidies to slowly bring it to market prices… but car prices show no sign of coming down at all….

we definitely live in a country run by insane lunatics who call themselves politicians…

• shiver on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:34 pm

very soon, RM2.70 per litre again. Malaysians, is this the kind of Government we want?
    everyday talk builiding mega towers when your rakyat is becoming mega poor.
    confirm la RON 95 will go up soon as well, ini cari duit PRU 13.
    Kick BN OUT!

• Tiadaid on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:54 am

The oil production estimate for Malaysia as of 2009 was 693,700 barrels per day. Oil consumption meanwhile is estimated 536,000 barrels per day. Pretty soon we’ll be using more than we can produce. Will whoever in control of the government still continue subsidizing the fuel prices?

In fact, Malaysian oil consumption only saw two years where consumption actually dropped: 2004 and, surprise surprise, 2008, when the price shot up to RM 2.70!

(Source: CIA World Factbook)

• awg1031 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:31 am

there is NO connection between Malaysia oil production and our oil consumption..because our oil production is for export! sapa suruh import minyak luar, memang la jadi mahal!

• give ideas not problem on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:06 pm

stop car production, increase public transport…easy maa..

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Don’t forget Malaysia’s “joint explorations” with Brunei, in which oil fields within Sabah and Sarawak territories are given to Brunei in exchange for short-term cash injection from the Brunei sultanate.

And also, Petronas’ earnings are not just from our offshore sites these days. Petronas has other oilfields in South Africa (JV with Engen), Qatar, and other parts of the Middle East, even Iraq! So, Petronas’ total oil production is not just the 700,000 barrels per day that comes out of Malaysia, and the Malaysian government’s petroleum revenue isn’t just from our local sources either.

• Evoque on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:00 am

Oh yes… Imagine my client visit me recently from Saudi, the petrol price there is cheaper than mineral water. A litre of petrol in Saudi equivalent to RM0.60.

• KAI ZARA on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:04 am

NEVER MIND…AFTER PKR GOT THE CABINET….WE WILL SE…NO MORE SUBSIDIES…I BELIEVE IT WILL TAKE IMMEDIATELY….WAH SO HAPPY WHAT…..MMM

• wtf1malaysia on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:27 am

yeah… kick them all….. i had enough….

• mynnDAWG on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:34 pm

MALAYSIA BOLEH!

• BeatTheTraffic on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Lets jack up RON 95 as well so traffic in KL will be smoother !

Malaysia should imitates Singapore to impose traffic congestion charge (ERP) to overcome the worsening traffic condition in KL. Another method is increase the price of RON 95 to a slighly higher level….probably RM 2.20.

When driving become expensive, more people will choose public transport. When public transport is lucrative, more public transport companies will be established ! Simple supply and demand theory…just my 2 cent

• We found a sucker here! Brainless comments especially on the ERP thing!

• go to singapore, why live here??

• vincent on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:33 am

Beatthe Traffic: Sorry it won’t apply to Malaysia where corruption is worse than ever!

• Smoker on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:40 am

Surely someone without the average common sense!

• paparadzi on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:40 am

If they make the price of fuel to be expensive, but the price of car to be cheaper (and not dependent on engine c.c) then it can and should be considered.

• You wish the local public transport system to be efficient? That’s a good wish but must wait long-long and it will still remain as a wish. People call this ‘wishful thinking’. Just my 2 cents too.

• BeatTheTraffic on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:51 am

The fact is with the current system, CHEAP PETROL ALSO BECOME EXPENSIVE due to traffic jam !

Just now I travelled from One Utama to Bukit Puchong took me 1 hour and 40 minutes. Withhout jam usually only 30 minutes. Extra 1 hour and 20 minutes of petrol burning ! Plus brake pad/gear box wear and tear ect ect. The most expensive one is my precious time with my children ! Only see them 1 hour a day ! What The Heck !

• Sayno on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:56 am

First improve public transportation. Like Monorail, it is very crowded especially during rush hours. Only after three monorail pass then you will be able to get on plus it’s always late. Improve the public transportation and traffic before increasing the petrol price.Our pay also never increase so why increase. Please remember the price hike not only affect us car owner but price of food will also be increase since that now they can blame on petrol.

• BlackBJQ on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:04 am

Thanks for your advise dude.. Fyi, our pubic..sorry, public transport still below ground level and whatever ERP..bla..bla..doesnt make any sense rite now. The main issue is the fuel price is going up today. That’s it. Enuff said.

macam cilake punya KERAjaan!

• jules on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:27 am

BeatTheTraffic: While that makes some sense, theres a giant lazy fat ass in the way of speeding up the improvement of public transport (has been for a long long time) Its name is Proton. Theres so much money to be made in selling the ‘national car’ (aka Mitsubishis). Improved public transport = less sales of Proton. Now the streets of KL is jammed packed with Protons and other cars. Bolehland apa-apa pun boleh lah…

• ben yap on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:30 am

are you driving now or taking the public transport? i suggest your whole family can start with taking the public transport to show us the good example.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:30 am

Your dumb theory is crap. Maybe you don’t understand how highway and public concessionaires operate in Malaysia, and how their one-sided contracts are worded. That’s my 2 cents, and I’m certainly not the only one.

• aerials on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:31 am

public transport? yang ada pon tak cukup… they talk about upgrading public transport so many years ago but nothing much different. one thing for sure, rudeness of our taxi and buse driver are well known nowadays

• JoinTheTraffic on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:43 am

Yup, supply and demand.

Supply = BN and Non-BN
      Demand = Your Choice

It is sad that our country produces oil, but yet we cannot afford to use oil. Have to buy oil at near market price and the vehicles which use oil are taxed at cut-throat level.

Have you ever been to Singapore? Singapore is very different compared to Malaysia. In Singapore, you don’t really *NEED* to drive. The public transport there is so convenient that you don’t even want to drive. But in KL, it is a necessity. Do you think you can get a job if you don’t have a car? Maybe you have to wait 3 hours before reaching office (walk to bus stop + inaccurate bus schedules + hopefully reasonably accurate LRT + bus + walk).

Sigh, tired of explaining already. No use complaining further. We just *NEED* to take action already.

Good luck & peace.

• Nieto on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:47 am

Sediakan payung sebelum hujan, not dah hujan baru sediakan payung.

with our quality of public transport now, malaysia still not ready to use ERP method. If suddenly people will choose public transport, then LRT, KTM, public bus, etc will be very crowded. By time everyone will be late to work, unable to catch up schedule etc etc… so is the same thing, malaysia wont advance with this method.

Finaly to solve problem of crowded public transport, people will choose to drive again.

• Som46 on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:04 am

This is not Singapore! We have long stretch of highways and our population is much greater in a much more bigger country. LRT, KTM and public transports does not cover the rural areas. Not even forgetting the other parts outside Klang Valley!

Singapore has limited land and roads with a high density of population so it makes sense to impose such taxes there and almost 90% of their areas are covered with public transportation! And one more thing, with the fuel price going high, the cost for taxis and public transportation will hike up too! Together with our living cost which is a bigger concern for us!

Now, if you are so fed up with the jam, why not you take the public transportation? I bet you drive to work like the rest of us Malaysian too! It would not make sense with your nick name if you said you do take the public transportation since you make so much fuss on this! Be the change you want to be rather than giving your useless and bias 2 cents. We don’t need it for free either!

This is my free view and understanding of my country and the troubles we Malaysia citizens face!

And one more thing, our country produces oil and gas in abundance where Singapore does not! It is fair for us to question this topic!

• Mirsy on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Ahaaaa….

When the first time they announce that will built LRT in KL and somemore with 2 different system, I was laughing my ass off. Where in the world, the capital of a country use LRTsystem to bus people in out of the city. Stupid urban planners or more for benefit of some quaters. It should be ‘Mass’ not ‘Light’. No wonder they breakdown easily because you moving number of people in masses

Now they come up with Mass Rapid System but what I fail to see is the total public system intergration transport plan. It is not about MRT alone, it is about the feeder system and interchanges. How do you make your way from home to MRT/LRT system then to work. If this not thought off then

We hate it but look at Singapore, the started with east-to-west, then spawn to north-south then the circle line all link up to bus interchanges to provide “Seamless Travel/Transfer”.

Like it or not if we cannot get this, then we will ended using the car all over again. But this time with higher petrol and ownership cost, clogged up roads after spendin billion of dollars in public transport.

• noble intention but absolutely retarded considering the state of public transport. even if public transport is slated to be ramped up, any result will only be seen in 2-5years. since rails, buses whatever needs to be built bought put in circulation

the proper method is to stop wastage by a totally retarded government pursuing retarded projects.

• owh..
      what about rakyat who live in rural area and can only afford inefficient nissan datsun, opel kadet or saga from 80’s?

• BarangNaik on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:48 am

If the public transport is so superb, who want to support p1 and p2 ? simple theory is minyak naik, harga kereta naik and no public transport. So kroni kaya lor!

• I thought most of our citizen are ready for these day when our beloved
      PM launch the ETP project last year ! ( Earn Through Petrol ) -_-”

• adlanar on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:22 am

public transport here doesnt get much government attention simply because it is in conflict with the highly influential auto industry.

• i hope u are the one will opt for alternative when that happens..

• shit proton~~!! on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:55 am

before the price increase, pls build a good public transport system to support ur theory~~~n i think u never take public transport ~~!!rich n selfish dude~!!

• tricycle on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:04 am

Where did you learn that?
      Are you some kind of garbage collector?

First the public transports must be way better than it is now. Try to be like down there. At least people can get to almost anywhere using the LRTs/MRTs.

But in our case with the connected-less LRTs, it will be worst case scenario if people in the Government or Pemandu think like you.

But it doesn’t mean that government can build the LRT/MRT with sky-rocketed cost, the cost of building it must be justifiable to the rakyats.

And lastly stop being such an arrogant and stop thinking only about yourself!

• yeah..in kl ok la public transport… don’t forget about people in small town an kampong where bus only come 3 times per day….you just selfish..u think all people live in kl ka?? if petrol high, sure semua barang will increase price.. this is chain reaction..think with head la..not your lutut head.

• Cucukman on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:13 am

YES!!

RISE UP THE PETROL PRICE!!! SO THE TRAFFIC BECOME AS SMOOTHER AS 2008!!!
      IT WAS TOTALLY PROVEN!!!
      HA HA HA !!!

GOVT. NEED TO FORCE PROTON TO LAUNCH THEIR Electric Vehicle A.S.A.P as an alternative..

• kamal on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:17 am

Look at the reality world in our public transport….still not efficient, every national budget the G allocate the money to improve public transport…but what we get? look at korea or singapore…very efficient public transport, for example when the train should arrive 8.00am then they will come to you exactly 8.00am…in here if the train will arrive 8.00am they will come to you….i dont know…no punctuality….ikut suke jer sampai bile….

• JustmeRX on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:40 am

….Only if public transport is as good as Singapore. your demand and supply theory doesn’t work in BOLEHLAND. The cronies will try to make a fortune with the transport system/company and ended up, the public will get sub standard service and run down buses.

• chickyyuan on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:44 am

Well said! Yet…efficient and well integrated public transport is still a long way to go…uhmm…maybe 5/10 years? When MRT and LRT extension kicks in?

• Shaycoat on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:52 am

You must not forget that, other barang also will increase as rocket maaaa

• bad public transport on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:56 am

bad public transport, so many malaysian choose to drive themself

• Tiadaid on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:15 am

Noble idea, but not going to be even considered by many….

• eposuer on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:33 am

nice idea..the thing is..public transport also @#$%^&*() !!!!!!!

• Ahkee on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:35 am

Agree with you man. That’s the way it should be. Loving the supply and demand theory. Do not depend so much on petrol subsidy. See it positively, when stupid gov increase the price, positive thinkers will make sure they work harder to get better live. Be positive. Think again when you are complaining. And think again why you are complaining. Is it because of gov stupidity? or you are affected by this few cents increment? if both are your answer, then stop complain and work harder. Complain wont make your live better, action does.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:38 am

then u should drive/ride anything…..

go everywhere u want…but by walking….thanks…

• Ash Menon on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:40 am

I don’t see why so many people rated this guy down. His idea actually makes sense. It’s harsh, and we’d probably suffer a bit first, but it makes sense.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Try taking KTM Komuter for 1 week and come back here to tell us again if depending on public transport makes sense.

• awg1031 on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:59 am

how many years does it take to create a smooth publis transportation system huh? by then, we all will suffer..the best method is to provide a good public trans network first, than only you can control the current situation..

• Tarro on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:19 am

Mana bole. later all transport goods also naik..then public transport also naik, haiya..ini chain maa..sume harga barang naik juga

• awg1031 on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:28 am

mana bole ape? sekarang baru nk menyesal? dulu 10-20 tahun lepas masa minyak murah xnak allocate siap2 buat efficient public transport for the whole nation..pemimpin negara selalu keluar negara xkan buta mata dungu xtgk public transport sana..konon2 selalu pergi UK la, US la, Jepun…

ada minyak kt negara sendiri xnak pakai..nk jual jugak kt luar sebab boleh dpt pulangan lumayan..mg betul teori tu, tapi sepatutnya negara jadi untung la sebab kita jual minyak yg tengah mahal ni kt negara luar jugak..apesal kita pulak yg sengsara?

• swoosh3553 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:31 am

I agree with you “awg1031”!
        Bro “Ash Menon”…on why our fren “BeatTheTraffic” got rated so poorly was because of the absence of “which comes first” element that he commented. Efficient and effective public transport has to be in placed, if not in parallel to development”, before any such drastic measures are taken to curb traffic congestion. We cannot be forced to cross the river if there is no bridge to pass. Rather… you pay a substaintial sum to get the boatman to ferry you across. That does not balance the equation right? Singapore placed the MRT in place before road-transportation became a constraint. That is why their’s are UNDERGROUND. Similar approach was seen over in the UK UNderground subways! Whereas Malaysia is in the reverse, where it has the “MRT” on the outer levels of traffic. Reason was we urbanized our roads for wheeled-transportation rather than visioning ahead for public benefits in mind.

• Trinity on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:15 am

There is no LRT system in other states, thus your arguement is slightly off…why everything KL, KL, KL? I will agree with this if there are 2 sets of prices, one for KL and one for the rest of Malaysia….

• kampungboy on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:25 am

Jacking up further RON95 price to control traffic congestion is only applicable in big cities such as KL.

• And then you get a “high-income” nation with it’s people neck-deep in debt. Charging the rakyat more money is not the solution. Eliminating the waste in the administration of the country is.

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:26 pm

“BeatTheTraffic says:

Lets jack up RON 95 as well so traffic in KL will be smoother !

When driving become expensive, more people will choose public transport.”

Let me rephrase what you said:

Lets jack up RON 95 as well so [that buying petrol is not affordable to other people except me] so [that the] traffic in KL will be smoother [for me to drive my Merc]!

When driving become expensive, more people [except me] will choose public transport, [then I can drive happily ever after in my Merc]”

• doctor on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:34 pm

what an absurd way of thinking….simply pathetic..

the increase in RON 95 may (to a certain extend) reduce the number of cars in KL, but what about places other than KL. they need to use fuel as well ma…what about the price of goods? won’t it increase as well? please don’t think petroleum as only a fuel for vehicles, it’s sth more than that.

try and think before you make a comment.

• stiggy25 on Jan 06, 2011 at 1:23 am

therefore,MRT will be finished tomorrow lar?
      have you ever use the public transport RIGHT NOW?
      especially KTM?
      give it a try on rush hour on weekdays
      take a ktm train from kl sentral to serdang at 6-8 pm tomorrow.
      and you’ll know what i’m taking about

• Azman on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:02 am

Ini kah penghargaan menang semua by-election baru-baru ini? I love u lah BN, kawan di Johor Tenang, tolong bagi menang lagi BN supaya naik RON95 juga, alang-alang bah, mahu tengok siapa masih tenang lagi

• Before actual election will continue the same old fashion by announcing to reduce the fuel price to gain back people’s vote….

• osh_kosh on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:10 am

Go Proton Fuga!!

• Alpha on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:12 am

Does this means the government’s new Nissan Fuga will only sips lowly RON95??I bet the Fugas will cry when they knw their fate in Malaysia.

Or maybe our govt is rich enough for RON 97.who knows.we’re a super rich country anyway.XD

• i thought diesel is at RM1.80 per litre?

• shawal on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:14 am

Yay~! syabas to all RON 97 regulars~!

• nabill on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:17 am

thank you BN…

• Elaun Big Mama naik pulak jawabnya.

• Only 10 sen increase …… the govt is still subsidising alot money. Be grateful for it is only 10sen and not 50 sen increase if no subsidy. A BIG THANK YOU to our beloved govt.

• Reviewer on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:30 am

WTF………….i dun see they are doing anything to car’s import tax or whatever shit !!! but price of 97 still keep on naik ?? i guess 1 year down the road, out petrol will be on par with singapore petrol price (after conversion).

• boyboy on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:34 am

undilah Barisan National….dapatlah harga naik….moving towards higher paying society…paying not salary

• bobdbilder on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:57 am

Oil currently trading at USD 89.25 pb. But USD has gone down to RM 3.08ish. This equates to RM 274 pb.

Dec 2010, it was USD 82.00 pb when USD was RM 3.14. This equates to = RM 257 pb. A difference of RM 17 per barrel. Which is 6.6% increase.

So a 10 sen increase from 2.30 is 4.3% rise. If it wasn’t for the appreciation of the Ringgit, we would have paid more. Both the US and EU have realised by now that a high National Debt will haunt them for years. By us reducing the oil subsidy we reduce our national debt. So who’s prudent now eh?

• Vincent Ang on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:33 pm

You do not reduce subsidies but at the same time splurge on weapons and towers. Austerity must be shared by ALL in Malaysia not just the common folk. If not Rakyat Dikenakan Dulu has more than a ring of truth to it.

• the ron97 price is actually already deregulated by the government. it will follow the world fuel price trend, however, the price for maingrade fuel, ron95 is still regulated. I dont think the price for ron95 will be increased so soon.. Government still control ron95 price..

• ravenart on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:00 am

take less sugar exercise more………….put less fuel push ur car more……..to become a healthier nation…..MALAYSIA BOLEH…….B**h!!

• toyooottt on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:03 am

Malaysia Boleh! Boleh Naik!

• Kok Chi on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:04 am

This is nbot the fault of BM or the government. If you think it can be avoided, BN won’t do it just to get more votes in the next election?

We have been enjoying cheap petrol prices for years… We’ve gotten too used to it and now we complain. Yes, I feel the pinch too but the government can’t keep subsidizing forever.

We just need to change our driving habits. And to me… The only thing I want the government to do is to improve the public transportation system so that we don’t need to keep relying on our cars. I hope the MRT is the answer.

Just travel to other ASEAN countries and you will know how expensive fuel prices are. Singapore just recently increased their fuel prices as well just before Christmas.

One thing I will be happy about though… Lesser cars on the road. :)

• stiggy25 on Jan 06, 2011 at 1:31 am

MRT DON’T JUST BE COMPLETED TOMORROW.IT TAKES AT LEAST FIVE YEARS.
      M.O.R.O.N.

• Joseph on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:39 pm

you think MRT is like Meggi mee, tender award to corrupt crony, tomorrow can jalan?
      Kanasai!

• Rakyat didahulukan on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:04 am

I am so disappointed…. What a Rakyat Didahulukan!
    BN boleh….!!!

• amonrei on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:22 am

Don’t mind the hike to match international price but please increase the wage as well kthxbai.

• Can’t wait for the next GE!

• Beataroundthebush on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:02 am

Why the incremental rate? If the projection is RM3 per liter by end of the year, just increase it now once so that the rakyat will be pissed only once and forget about the hike in no less than 2 weeks. Then BN can sleep happily thru end of the year. Don’t you agree?

• Don’t you just love our smart government and our beloved country? I say, there goes my vote for you this time. Thank you very much!

• Yohnny on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:10 am

Thank you BN!!!increase price of RON97 for buying new fleet of Nissan Fuga and increases in their wallet…what next?increase price of RON95….DAMNIT, THOSE BLOODSUCKERS….

• sproc_46 on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:23 am

Have we all not noticed, siphoned out money as much as they can before losing the next election and I runaway to other country. Before their ass in hot persuit by anti curruption agency.

• torque on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:26 am

DAMNATION…I dare who in this forum says that we are MERDEKA?!! From the Siamese, Portugis, Dutch, English and Japanese that had enslave our fore father life…we still being enslave…now even worst…by our own corrupted countrymen!!!

I love my country, my religion and my life. I don’t seek refuge at other country. This is my birth place, this is my land. If YOU dare to raise the petrol price, DARE YOU to revoke or bring down taxes on car and others!!! Cars are liability and it’s enough that we had to be slave to the bank for 7-9 years, now we have to pay tolls, high price on petrol, high education fees for our children and more this and that?!!

Those who wish to say I better work hard to have a better living…news flash dude…I’m just a car salesman, I work hard, I delivered and invoice 7 cars last month and my comm…around RM14K!!! Damn right I work hard, pay taxes but most of my hard earn money by rights are towards my wife, my kids future also their education, my parents who raise me and by GOD…for those anak2 yatim piatu…find YOUR OWN money elsewhere you LAZY SCHMUCK!!!!!

Jangan pandai politik, cakap sana sini….buat kerja HALAL sikit!!! Improve our public transport = our buses are moving coffin, health benefits = in newspaper I read back months ago kekurangan doktor…apa hal, infrastructure = don’t even get me started on our moon surface road….sigh…so frustrated to come back from work and hope to read what I love in paultan.org about cars but to find out this?

Words of advise to the G…only GOD and FAITH last forever but no way in HELL you and your system will last forever!!! Allahu Akbar!!

• kingsofleon on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:27 am

masalahnye public transport kt sini tak ok..

• chopper on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:29 am

After hovering at the US$90-92 level the past 2 weeks,
    Oil today dropped 3% or US$2.80 to US$88.74 at this point of writing.
    Is the goverment gonna reduce the prices of Ron97 tomorrow?
    Looks like another poor call by Idris Jala and his con-sultants !

• hantupensil on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:45 am

if oil drop.. they can make profit from duit rakyat and build 100storey building hahah…

• Carl Wong on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:52 am

Again…?

• Bengang on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:13 am

Jadilah rakyat yang bersyukur. Jangan cuma tau nak memaki hamun dan menyalahkan kerajaan. Asyik asyik nk ugut tukar kerajaan, nk jatuhkan BN, kick BN out, apa ingat pakatan rakyat tu bagus sangat ke? Ingat dia akan bela nasib rakyat ke? macam ni ke perangai rakyat Malaysia? Penuh dengan maki hamun. Malu ar…
    RON 97 tu diapungkan mengikut harga pasaran dan RON95 disubsidikan supaya korang boleh nilai sendiri berapa harga sebenar minyak tu. Malas nk ckp bnyk2, klu dh jenis kepala batu ck ape pun xnk dgr jgk. Lu pikirlah sendiri!

• sport_rim on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:45 am

typical BN supporters.. just blindly follow what their MENTERI said..
      u think your MENTERI is going to pay your petrol expenses hah?

• Ordinary Joe on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Ni lah salah satu mentality org BN UMNO. “Dah diam, toksah soal banyak, bersyukur je dgn ape yang ade!” Tidak lagi!! Kita tak perlu terima yang ala-kadar, ala-kadar je. Kita nak yang terbaik!! Masa tuk berubah dan cari yang terbaik. Tapi macam nak cari yg terbaik kalau tak kasi chan kat org lain? Kalau asyik nak guna formula yang sama je? Yang terbukti selama 50 tahun ni tak ler effective mane pun! Yang kotor penuh dgn salah guna kuasa, pembaziran dan yg berkepentingan tertentu! Toksah takut untuk berubah wei. Kalau tak ngam, berubah lagi! Dgn cara tu ler kita dapatkan yg terbaik setiap kali!

• agree with you!!
        time to make change in GE13!!

Dont ever fear with change!!

• vw supporter on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Use your brain to think and not your butt please before you say anything.
      Our country produce petroleum, yet the price is damn high, why?
      Our car tax is damn high and they still increase the petrol price, why?
      Although Our RON 95 is subsidize by government (which I don’t believe, because we pay tax and the money is from us), but still, it is high as mentioned earlier, we are producing petroleum, why?
      People still buy cars even if the price of the car is high, why?
      The main question is our government is poor, why (since we produce petroleum)?
      Since our government is poor, they still hire a lot of people in the office of the prime minister and don’t seem to be effective, why?
      Since our government is poor and they still planning to buy 150 units of Fuga, why?
      Buy submarine, why?
      Buy helicopter, why?
      I have a lots of why, can you please answer all these questions?

• rickyll on Jan 05, 2011 at 5:51 am

The way it goes, Ron95 won’t be far behind. We must really brace ourselves for more increases. If the G is sincere, please don’t waste the subsidies saved on useless mega projects. The Rakyat are not stupid and naive anymore.

• polok on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:48 am

the reason for the hiking ..bcoz the gomen is supported by stupid 1malaysian..thats you!!

• lancer nation on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:20 am

What is the point of raising Ron97 prices when 98% of the car population is on Ron95? Raising Ron97 further means more Ron95 being used! A pre-existing problem that wasn’t solved. Subsidies for petrol/diesel will remain ever high.

The gap is now wide enough for using STP/any other brands of additives (octane boosters, petrol treatment, etc) with Ron95 and it would be still cheaper than buying Ron97.

• ViosUser on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:12 pm

In fact government statistics says 10% of car is using ROM 97, not 2 %

• xavier lert on Jan 06, 2011 at 1:07 pm

how u get it as 98%??? i’m using ron97….so if i ask another 99 person…so i shud find only another one using 97??…..get ur fact right man….”BE A MAN”

• Everyday ncrease price but silently we are still subsidising Singaporean and Thais..
    I saw a lot of Singaporean stil using our petrol…not fair man even RON 95 and whataver…
    That day even a Ferrari came Malaysia pump…..1 Ferrari can subsidise dunno how many cars d….faster find a mechanism to prevent this la stupid
    They come buy our sunsdise cooking oil, rice, sugar whataver whtaver, pump petrl n go back…..1 trip save a lot…
    I know coz my all my friends are doing this

• And you sit on the side do nothing? of course lah, they’re your friends right? let them use malaysian petrol for all you care.. to you government is all wrong wrong wrong..

• Many Singapore cars also pumping …….9 5. no joke. life is like that.

Nowadays, everywhere traffic jam….waste petrol for nothing.

We need a better system.

• sometime they’re malaysian working in Singapore, driving Spore plate number car, but still Malaysian with Malaysia Pasport & IC… please do not misunderstood this. Just show the IC and still can pump 95… If u staying in JB, than u know…its normal.

• I think it should be the other way round.. should have very efficient public transport first….then only raise the fuel price high.

But is gov going to put great development on to public transport that will connect the whole country? Have you ever think of the countryside people? They need transport too.. No public transport for them… at the same time..the fuel price is so high… Mana boleh?

• Busted on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:26 am

Yes, impose higher price of petrol or ERP isn’t bad idea for the gomen goons.. more rich+more fat+more corrupted.
    but before that please make sure the public transport is really safe & convenient for public!!

Yes more public transport companies will establish with ending up back to one! Gomen goons..

• 1Malaysia, Rakyat Didahulukan?!
    When they promise won’t increase, already keep increasing……
    When US fuel price up, increase…..
    When US fuel price down, increase too….
    Thanks to all BN supporter….. Rakyat Didahulukan ya!

• darkskais on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:43 am

Baguslah if like this…

Why not jack up RON97 to RM3.70 RON95 to RM3.50(to compesate price different) then you will know that in the coming GE, you will down BE END…
    Wanna deduct RM10 from MP and others pun bising crazy like hell.

• azrai on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:54 am

1 Malaysia, Rakyat Kena Dahulu, Pencapaian Diutamakan

• alexpoh85 on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:20 pm

1 malaysia, rakyat kena dahulu, pencapaian pura-pura diutamakan

• Where is the promised efficient public transport?

• 1penang on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:19 am

oohh i love this.. demm!!!!

• Jimmy on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:21 am

Then what do you all suggest the government do? You only know how to complaint.

• Made in Malaysia on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:28 am

Please cast your vote right before inflation cast you ==”

• Every time the petrol price increase, G explain the petrol sudsidy money will used wisely on improving the public transport all over the nation or toher better projects.
    If not mistake, a few billion is saved during Pak Lah period, until now, what had done?
    Nothing, we get nothing!!!
    Where is the money going to? Inside some1’s pocket? or ..

• dream on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:36 am

High income economy maa…

• anonymous on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:37 am

why they still want to increase RON97 price because the current global fuel price decrease by $2 since last to become $89 per barrel….Indonesia fuel price still cheaper than Malaysia eventhough they not subsidies their fuel…Poor Malaysia….

• metalhead on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:43 am

‘Don’t ask what you can do for your country..but ask what the country can do for you’ -MEGADETH (Take No Prisoners-Rust In Peace)

• Izhar on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:41 am

hahaha…METALLICA – NOTHING ELSE MATTERS..

• metalhead on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:27 am

‘Waves of fear they pull me under’-METALLICA (The Frayed Ends Of Sanity-And Justice For All)

‘Pada siapa ku mengadu..kalau semuanya membisu..macam bercakap dengan batu..akhirnya aku yang lesu.. Ketawa mereka berderai-derai..sedang hidupku hampir terlerai..tak pernah mereka fikirkan..aku yang hidup tertekan’..Mengapa kita harus jadi begini..mengemis di negeri sendiri..orang asing diberi mimpi-mimpi..kita jadi anak tiri’-FTG (Anak Tiri-Aku Tak Peduli)

• metalhead on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:39 am

‘Lagi kaya bertambah kaya..yang papa terus berkedana’-AMUK
        (Asam Garam-Dikir Timur)

• deGonggok on Jan 06, 2011 at 9:01 am

This one was from late President Kennedy that goes to the lyric.

• Maserati on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:43 am

The fact this post only has 11 comments shows that nobody cares about petrol peice increase anymore

• izack04 on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:47 am

If u afford to buy premium car…cannot afford premium fuel ?????
    Wasting money on buying premium car only……fuel use regular
    sish….want to look luxury use luxury fuel ok…..

• lanwm on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:48 am

Thanks Najib (&Rosmah)

• The People on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:49 am

Ron97 is not subsidised anymore that is why the price is fluctuate….. itu kalau kasi parti mana pun sama….. kalau nak control fuel price sepanjang zaman can we leave in a country where education and healthcare is not free?????…….. remember every year kereta makin banyak…. for those people…. you just selfish thinking only for yourself. govt has to think for everybody and it is not easy….. cakap senanglaaa….. nak manage family pun ade yang tak lepas….. ni nak cerita pasal manage country…

• torque on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:05 am

Hello brader…manage a country is NOT an easy job ok!!! Tapi kalau kiter tadbir negara dengan AMANAH, JUJUR dan IKHLAS…negara akan aman, hati pun aman tau?! Jangan la nak bahasa orang2 kata sini “nak manage family pun ade yang tak lepas”, ok bro…if the government SIMPLY raise everything they see fit, at the end of days…they also RESPONSIBLE to the high cost living that pushes some family that faces tough times to do like what…a father ended up selling drugs or be a robber? A wife or a single mom being a GRO to feed their family? A son become a snatch and grab thief? A daugther becoming a politician mitress to pay through her college fees?

Bro, go and read the LIFE OF THE 4 KHALIFAH and how they manage not a country but many country under them last time. Nak naik income tax ke, nak naik minyak sampai RM4.00 pun boleh kalau hospital is free(oh…and of course PROFESSIONAL la) mcm other country, low tax (I didn’t say NO TAX) on cars, public transport close to the quality of the UK WHICH is efficient…put it simple la…if you the government want to take the subsidies then…give us the people something back la. Learn to give and take!

And towards u bro…manage a family is as HARD as manage a country!! Reflect on that…

• Shaycoat on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:50 am

After this, akan ada kenyataan akhbar from minister yang menyatakan bahawa our country is still the LOWEST petrol among other countries.

• Edward on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:50 am

Government already annouched earlier said that ron97 will be according the global crude oil price then Why we blame it since crude oil price always rose up unless someone control the price for its…..better…..take public transport more better?no need to waste petrol…..

• lchan on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:53 am

wah…the petrol stations are making lotsa money!!!

• lchan on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:54 am

if barisan losses because of fuel hike..then the public’s mentality is extremely narrow. Somewhat close to stupid too!!!!

• Tan Wook Keat on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:56 am

MALAYSIA APA BOLEH????

• boleh increase fuel price and still can be at the helm for more than 50 years..bolehlah tu

• JoeGTi on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:56 am

Thanks PM!!!
    Wait n c PRU13, NO MERCY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• littlefire on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:05 am

I scare later they will impost GST on Petrol, so we have to pay additional 6% tax everytime we pump minyak… Damn.. So another expensive year ahead.. But why my salary is the same!!! Need to upgrade laa..

• You gotta give it to the current administration and their consultants. They took the long way but they are achieving their goal, that is to hike the RON97 to RM2.70 like the last administration did. The long way is to first replace RON92 with 95 making RON97 the premium fuel and then so called float the price, and in less than 2 years they achieve their goal with minimal backlash from voters (gullible).

• wtf1malaysia on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:11 am

this is truly 1malaysia, rakyat didahulukan=gas hike, gula, minyak masak…. bla bla bla….
    I will not forget all these till next election…..

• Gov. please..
    1. raised the ron 95 until rm 3.00 / ltr.. ron 97 rm4.50 /liter
    2. raised the car tax structure about 25% more
    3. raised the road tax for ALL transportation
    4. let the PLUS raised their toll rate as they want to
    5. limit the car loan repayment to 3 years ONLY.
    6. ask bank negara to increase the car loan to 9.99% per annum.
    7. since smoking is BAD to us, why not BAN the cigerette from being sell here in Malaysia – make it like drugs penalty (as we know..cigerette tax income is more than 1 billion..this all goes to the Gov.)
    8. imposed GST to all vehicle related spareparts & service center (at least 25%)

i hope my suggestion will be received well by gov and apply it quickly since the Pilihanraya is just around the coner.

Please do so since it will ease out out major city traffic congestion (since most of the user will use kapchai as an alternative) and will also increase the fatality rate among road user (Private hospital will very happy with this)

Any inquiries, please do email me, i will gald to throw out more USEFULL suggestion towards better malaysia..

Thank you.

• alf147 on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:28 am

ron 95 will definitely follow 97…soon…can the G help us a bit?at least for the first quarter of the year to maintain the ron 95 price…at least we have time to breathe….datys y i dun celebrate new year..koz it means we celbrate all the burden shifted to us…G, if u help rakyat, rakyat will help u too…in the General Election..dun be too optimistic.

• 112bz on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:30 am

semua naik!!
    hanya hujan saja yang turun!!

• exJAVANESE on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:30 am

If u guys think carefully… oils will be finished only on several decades from now.
    So, I’m not surprise if oils price will be hike up more than this.

We, must not depend only on petroleum source, We must explore the other possibilities sources such as Bio-diesel, Ethanol, Solar. (solar and bio-diesel will be good for our country).

And, stop blaming on Gomen or Rebel side for this matter, this effort must coming from us.

Now, its time for us to think for future innovation to become future solution.
    Malaysia Boleh!

• awg1031 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:26 am

no..black gold will never be exhausted..at a spot? yes..but other spot will emerged..

trust me, alternative energy will never replace petroleum as the main energy source..

• littlefire on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:57 am

Becoz Petronas is the lifeline for the current G, if no more.. Means the G will have no more extra income…

• exJAVANESE on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:41 am

Yup, u rite alternative energy will never replace petroleum as the main energy source.. FROM NOW… but how about our next generations? are they still depend on petroleum source? Think wisely….petroleum are not create in just 5yreas, its takes thousand of million years to generate to become a black gold…and one day, it will be done…will be finish.

We as human being, must think a step further to over come this issue. I’m not blaming u buddy, just try to open mind all together to figure up the other solution.

Look at German (Bio-diesel, Bio-ethanol) and look at Japan(Solar,EV, Hybrid).Our nation have palm oil, and it has a good potential to produce a Bio-diesel (that way nowadays is kind hard to buy it at Supermaket..hahahhaha).

Positive thinking will be generate a great idea at the end of the day. Thrust me buddy!

• exJAVANESE on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Yup, u rite.. alternative energy will never replace petroleum as the main energy source.. FROM NOW… but how about our next generations? are they still depend on petroleum source? Think wisely….petroleum are not create in just 5years, its takes thousand of million years to generate to become a black gold…and one day, it will be done…will be finish.

We as human being must think a step further to over come this issue. I’m not blaming u buddy, just try to open mind all together to figure up the other solution.

Look at German (Bio-diesel, Bio-ethanol) and look at Japan (Solar,EV, Hybrid).Our nation have palm oil and it has a good potential to produce as a Bio-diesel (that way nowadays is kind hard to buy it at Supermaket..hahahhaha).

Positive thinking will be generating a great idea at the end of the day. Not only politic thinking that we have always think. Thrust me buddy!

• give ideas not problem on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:14 pm

stop car production / import…use & increase public transport system…

• This is BOLEHLAND and the hike is really too ridiculous, I’m in the middle of planning to leave this country. I can imagine after few years it will crazy inflation here, following all other goods will increased price again…

• adrian yap on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:35 am

remember there are toong fong bus,foh hup bus ,sri jaya bus and many more that cover most of the KL route.it should be very well established by now .but what happened????????

• Yahooo!!! Org2 Petronas pasni dapat bonus 12 bulan gaji!!!!! Org keje kilang ngan gomen makan bonus rm500 ngan duit ihsan je! Bagus!!!!!

• poyolahkau on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Adi,

Do you know the PETRONAS staff had only 2 months’ bonus for last financial year?

Even if PETRONAS is making money, it has to surrender a BIG chunk to Najib, like RM30 billion, for his political war chest for the upcoming election. For your info, all the bonuses in GLCs and Public Service are paid solely using PETRONAS cold hard cash. Even loss-making GLCs (I would not name them) are getting double, triple bonus than PETRONAS staff.

As a result, PETRONAS staff are leaving the company in droves to other companies due to such unfair treatment. If you want to see actual brain drain, please come to PETRONAS.

• aizat2209 on Jan 06, 2011 at 4:46 am

i work for a GLC and i can assure u that even tho my company is making money we have not been given bonus for how many year as far as i can remember..
        tq.

• Lance on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:44 am

New year gift from BN (barang naik).. Be prepare for RON 95 & cooking oil hike….

• Faisal on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:44 am

in some way, i agree with beatthetraffic..
    hmm.. who can guarantee that petrol price will go down? pkr?

• awg1031 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:14 am

it’s a domino effect..that’s the main problem..if the petrol hike but everything remains, who cares la bro, but……………

• Tiadaid on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:16 am

Then why blame the Government only? Blame the greedy traders la. This is RON 97 PETROL increase why everything have to be increased? Why your teh tarik, your bread etc needs to be increased when most goods are transported by DIESEL-engined trucks? Malaysians are GREEDY THAT’S WHY EVERYTHING’S F**KED UP!

• 1 Barang.Naik on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:46 am

coming soon all the veg,meat and fish will sure go up too..now day buy groceries 100 ringgit is going not last long like before..thanks m’sia goverment..

• shahul on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:14 am

Well, I just back from trip to india and really amazing how the middle class and the rich people lives there. Even the low income people are getting highly paid jobs such as construction workers, labour etc. Same goes to the price increase of necessacity items such as fish, veg, etc.

How we can reduce these prices? Produce more of these goods locally and further more we are really depending on importing such food items from other countries which we pay more premium.

One thing i have noticed is the fuel price is almost Rs 48/liter. Almost RM 3.38/liter. But still if you look into the car prices there is far more cheaper than here. you can get a suzuki swift for almost RM 43000 only on the road price. Everyone can buy and use as require.

I predict there will be another round of increase in BLR which will burdens us more.

• slekuzen on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:30 am

You absolutely do not now what you are talking about.
        India is a country where more than 60% of people live in abject poverty and less than $2 a day.
        The state of Uttar Pardesh is undergoing a severe food shortage and kids are severely undernourished.

India also happens to have one of the highest GINI coefficients in Asia (wealth gap) with a small minority of extremely wealthy people running the economy like it’s their own backyard.

Yes, India has made tremendous progress, but to say that it’s an example of success and that “low income people are gettung highly paid jobs” (Let me laugh, like the forced child labour at the Sports Village you mean?) is absolutely preposterous and naive of you.

India is developing, yes, but at the expense of immense social disparities and an increasingly dislocated… But don’t you go writing around non-sense.

Everyone who’s visited India will tell you the first element that jumps to their eyes (and myself) is the immense and uncontrolled poverty, hygiene and organization. The country’s in for a tough ride. For sure.

• _xXx_ on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:49 am

8 more years b4 Malangsia turns bankrupt. Sign is getting obvious….

• Ford_GT on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:52 am

Does wikileaks mention anything on Malaysia economic situation room ?

• deGonggok on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:05 am

Paul,

I like this site very much.
    But now I am having problem with most of the people who commented here.
    You guys live in the real world. Most of the time you will be screwed.

Best is do what you can under your control.
    You know that the whole world have leader that was chosen by people and we people make mistake in decision 70% of the time.

• shahul on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:17 am

Well, I just back from trip to india and really amazing how the middle class and the rich people lives there. Even the low income people are getting highly paid jobs such as construction workers, labour etc. Same goes to the price increase of necessacity items such as fish, veg, etc.

How we can reduce these prices? Produce more of these goods locally and further more we are really depending on importing such food items from other countries which we pay more premium.

One thing i have noticed is the fuel price is almost Rs 48/liter. Almost RM 3.38/liter. But still if you look into the car prices there is far more cheaper than here. you can get a suzuki swift for almost RM 43000 only on the road price. Everyone can buy and use as require.

I predict there will be another round of increase in BLR which will burdens us more.

Furthermore, we dont have enough options to select the governement. 2×5 , 5×2 both are the same.

• Why 10 cents inrease you bisng? If not satisfied with govt, go for pembangkang. Govt won’t affected because of you.

• awg1031 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:37 am

ignorant.. you read news or not? see the chain effect la kawan…

• exJAVANESE on Jan 06, 2011 at 1:08 am

Buddy…10cent prices hike will be impact on us like rm100 laa dude…. coz it will affected on other prices too such as sugar, cooking oil, chicken ect… maybe u are the rich-man, but for us its kind of burden…..

• vincent on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:15 am

Gvmt drive gas guzzling Fuga, Rakyat lived in Frugal way… wahahhah
    Gvmt tells u that they should let the petrol price float according to International price, that’s fine. But then, what about the taxes that we already pre-paid when it comes to buying a car? Isn’t that amount big enough to cover the petrol subsidy?

• putra_rider on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:19 am

rakyat didahulukan,
    KENAIKAN diutamakan..

CHANGE YOUR LIFESTYLE, GO WORK BY PUBLIC TRANSPORT
    BUT ME RELAX IN NEW FUGA..

• jack jackal on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Better change new gov from now… melayu mudah lupa (for all high ranking gov officer)

• carsut on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:31 am

Pls update Malaysia public transport. I’m frm Pahang state, if I wait for the bus, I cant even go to office on time.. Our public transport are so poor!!

• RON97 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:31 am

It is bad enough petrol price up. Now my kopi ais is RM1.60 a cup, up from RM1.40. My roti now RM4.00, up from RM3.70. My curry mee now RM5.00, up from RM4.50. My nasi campur now RM5.00, up from usual RM3.50.

Barisan Nasional, rakyat how to survive? Rakyat tak ade benefir like petrol, toll, telephone dan lain lain allowances. Menteri ada jenis jenis elaun elaun.

• Ford_GT on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:50 am

Barang naik tak ape, middle class and low class gaji pun tak pernah naik langsung kecuali year end bonus if they have met the target. I tak endorsed public transport system, it’s very very dangerous indeed.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:53 pm

ask your wife to cook for u, then tapau to your office

• Francis on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:52 am

The more fuel price increase…i need to have calculate my monthly budget..Sell my current car and seriously think about the new Honda Insight…

• Izhar on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:55 am

teringat masa minyak naik RM2.70 dulu…
    orang bawak kete bukak tingkap.
    kereta2 bersin tiba2 sihat lak (turbo).
    orang ikut hway sebab overall cost lg murah dari guna jalan biasa.
    jln sunyi, mat rempit kurang racing haram
    pergi kerja naik motosikal jer…save minyak & xder tol..
    naik public transport sebab cost sama je dgn naik kereta…(kereta kene mintain lg)

nak wat macamana kan….susah sekarang lg payah dari susah orang dulu..sebab kita dah biasa senang…

• just do it on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:11 am

i think better government make poll vote, then they know what rakyat need?? maybe rakyat mau petrol as cheap as peanut like 50 sen per liter….and car no tax at all…. but i agreed if government lower the car and superbike price same as thais or indon…anf fuel price follow changed daily..according to market price….and introduce RON92 for old school car which more cheaper….mana tau maybe new BMW wanna use oso.. hahaha

• just do it on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:16 am

chain effect happen too much in Malaysia coz all the towkeys take advantage…not like other country which businessman more responsible… gomen salary increase then tomorrow sure all ‘barang’ naik harga….minyak turun all the barang not turun too….this typical malaysian businessman….

• camel toe on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:20 am

what we can do just pressure goverment to lower car and superbike tax…like other country do…like thailand although their fuel expensive but car, bike more cheaper.. so no need loan until 10 years..highway oso no tol or less toll….if got toll sure cheap…highway condition oso better than malaysia highway…

• mfoj8478 on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:28 am

The govt is either very confident or very desperate. It’s not just about the petrol, it’s about all the little things that goes up with it… there are alternatives presented by other parties like reducing subsidies to all the IPPs ( Independant Power Plant ) or whatnot… Don’t put the burden to the rakyat alone. We pay your salaries to make our lives better, not the other way around.

• Borhan on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:57 am

OMG..thats why suddenly everyday I see all Merc and Beemer start filling with Ron 95. Either the engine or the fuel have to choose. Even e60 and eclass.

Not sure bout latest f10. but I could see the 97 pump will reduce. lmao.

I need the MRT, and I need it now…

• Su ber on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Some cars can retard timing but no idea to what limit.

• BMW and MERC can use RON 95 one, they are not only luxury, they are also quite eco, it’s common people perception that big car use expensive fuel.

• wazza on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:14 pm

oh my raised again :( haiyo… die lar.. everything increased :/

or gov will reduce it to RM2.10 when its near GE. so everyone will love BN back :X lets see if that is gov tactics =)

• _xXx_ on Jan 05, 2011 at 5:57 pm

right b4 the next GE, bet we shall see some price reduction to make u guys grateful of the gula2 given

• azrai on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:50 pm

How many litres in 1 gallon? There are 3.78541178 liters in one US gallon. 1 gallon = USD3=RM9.30. 1 litre in US = RM2.46. In Malaysia Ron97 1 litre=RM2.40. Haiyaa…Kena tipu all Malaysians lorr..

1 Malaysia, Rakyat Kena Dahulu

• armchair critique on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Don’t mislead people…
      The price USD 3 per gallon is for REGULAR grade – this is RON 87.

Price for PREMIUM grade (RON 92) in US is around USD3.3 to USD 3.5. This translates to RM2.7 to RM2.87 per liter. Do note that this is RON 92, not RON 97 as in Malaysia.

• Su ber on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Memang 1Malaysia kena.

Except mereka yg ada kad E Nelayan!

• mata2 on Jan 05, 2011 at 4:13 pm

..this price in USA is for regular petrol or equivalent to RON91~92 for EU, so ours is actually cheaper than USA as at current.

• deGonggok on Jan 05, 2011 at 5:22 pm

In US they us gasoline Ron 85 Ron 87 Ron 89.

USD 3.00 for Ron 85

• Tiadaid on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:22 pm

RON97 memang dah plan tak disubsidikan kan? Sebab tu orang luar boleh isi RON97 aje. Plus Amerika punya premium fuel pun RON95. So…

• losantara on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:02 pm

compare dollar to dollar

US graduate make USD 5000 a month, pay USD 0.82 per litre for petrol

M’sia graduate make RM 5000 a month, pay RM 2.40 per litre for petrol

You nampak ke Tiadaid ! How many time I have to remind you JANGAN COMMENT ANYTHING YANG ADA KAITAN DENGAN FINANCIAL, because you just……..
        tak boleh pakai la

• azrai on Jan 06, 2011 at 7:55 am

Correction. Malaysian graduate roughly make RM1800-RM3000 in the first year of working. So the ratio of fuel price to salary is lower than those in the US + they also can buy cars at substantial lower price compared to urs. In Singapore the fuel price is SD2.00++ with SD6000 salary. Make sense isn’t it.

• Niameh on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Where’s the logic, semua benda naik, tapi bank interest, roadtax, insurance, toll dan harga kereta tak turun ?
    Niameh….!!!!

• Whatever it is, Malaisia is an oil producing country & the Middle East countries too. But their price is still one of the lowest in the region!!! What the hell, BN? Screw u all cronies… Damn it!

• Fence Sitter on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Malaysians need to get used to not depend too much on subsidies.

A 10 sen hike means for a full tank of say 40 litres, would cost you an extra RM4.00. If a full tank can last you a week that means you are now spending an extra 60sen a day on fuel. Dont tell me you cant absorb that extra 60 sen?

To say its a burden to me is justified. Save on other things like reduce your smoking or stop eating junk food.

Peace!

• hatibudak on Jan 06, 2011 at 4:01 pm

u are not consider chain effect. fuel price hike, another things all hike. what a narrow silly thinking

• BN says: Change your lifestyle

BN says: Use public transportation

BN says: Malaysia is almost bankrupt

Rakyat says: What is MACC doing?

• imran on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:35 pm

see.. link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_and_diesel_usage_and_pricing

for oil prices around the world

• udasalleh on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:42 pm

bicker bicker complain complain… brace yourself guys… if u’re not part of the solution u’re part of the problem.

sorry to those living in KL… no matter what the plan is to make public transportation better… there will be a point that it will not even be sustainable since the urban city population keeps on growing. If u think KL is bad… go to any other big city in the whole wide world and its the same ol story. Jakarta, Bangkok, Beijing… u think S’pore has it better? even their MRT n public busses are stretched in capacity during the rush hour where u still need to be an hour early to get a bus to work. Unlike if u live in smaller cities like JB where i can just ride my capchai n be in the office in 10 minutes. Everything is so relative.

• Jerry on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:08 pm

complain aje.. how many of us using ron 97? i bet mostly use 95…tu pun nak kecoh

• Kecoh on Jan 06, 2011 at 8:27 am

If both same price or 5 sen apart, i think most of us will not be using 95…..

• xavier lert on Jan 06, 2011 at 12:53 pm

i use 97…..do you?

• wazza on Jan 06, 2011 at 2:15 pm

im using ron97 too. i still remember when i filled up ron95 in my viva for the first time, engine knocking like hell, no power, and noisy. because of that, im filling it back with ron97 for my honda as well my viva. :-/

• no problem on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:33 pm

i have no problem with RON97 price because im using RON95. if you can afford to use RON97 then it shows u can afford to buy good car. Seriously we are still lucky to have subsidy, just appreciate what you have. before blaming govt, think how much have you contribute to the government?? if we dont protect PROTON, imagine how much employement will vanish? and dont think solely about PROTON, think about the vendor…so total employment created more than 30k employees i think. Think deeply…you never know until you be a decision maker.

• burn rubber on Jan 05, 2011 at 3:39 pm

i agree with some of the comment….with the current situation, what we need is improve public transport in urban area n industrial site….let plus increase tol…less tax on import car according to cc..govt must stop mega useless project with no benefit for rakyat…govt n the R&D deparment should venture to alternative source of power such as solar, biodiesel, ethanol…why biodiesel didn’t introduce in this country which plant n produce oil palm….

• WE Malaysian are paying highest petrol among other oil exporter country beside with full of other natural resources which they didn’t.

Is oil exporter country like Arab/Brunei got other rich natural resources like us?
    Is oil exporter country like Arab/Brunei selling car higher price tag then us?

Where are all the money that received from tax/petrol/plantation etc? this is no the matter the resident who lived in Malaysia regardless of Malay/Chinese/Indian but the people who ruling the government now. They miss-using the fund, make everyone among them richer and richer. See way they spend government money, travel spend up to million/trip? Using all luxury car included all government servant?Own few listed company within few year service of minister position?their property?their children driving farrari and etc….unfinished claim…

Time to wake up. Stop all these by change government. Especially Malays friend here, those minister never give you single cent they earn but keep raising up racism topic to cover up their ass.

• i think if the govt cut down unnecessary expenses when travelling to overseas. like being treated as vvip.. can be ignore. so expenses down our nation income will rise. besides. govt pls stop subsidies incompetent semi-privatised company. they shud subsidies the rakyat not their own pocket.

• 200% car taxes are actually more than enuf to cover most of our country expenses.. u c. so many ppl driving merc audi bmw ferrari n lambo. but y still wanna increase oil price? if oil price increase. at least reduce the car tax pls. dont keep saying that u guys wanna protect proton.. bla bla. incompetent at all..

• 1Malaya on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:13 pm

We need more research on how to use alternative fuel. One day, hopefully cars all can run on water or maybe on susu lembu. Then see what the government will do to increase its revenue, besides GST.

• Atuque on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Kat Brunei sekrg, kereta plat M’sia kena isi RON97 shj… Tapi harga lagi murah dr kat M’sia, baru B$0.85 utk 1 liter. Bagus jgk..

• transformer on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Malaysia rich of resources but also rich of brainless cronies…
    Singapore zero resources but rich of brains that (TRULLY) served their people!

Singapore already forsee fuel price will hike, so they go for MRT (“millions years ago…” JC said)

Everwhere is leaking(BOCOR) in bolehland…. sigh…

• inderaloka on Jan 10, 2011 at 1:26 am

Include the Parlimen bumbung, also bocor sana bocor sini.

• UP UP UP…..sampai masa pilihan raya..tengok u punya vote naik atau turun..

• ttk8080 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:53 pm

1 Malaysia!~One Malaysia~~~in Mandarin ~play Malaysia!

• i not worry 10sen hike one…the more it hikes, the more i take bribe laaa…easy solution maaaa…

• Go green on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:28 pm

It’s time to “Go green” seriously. Come on ev n hybrid, we really need you.

• donhate on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:30 pm

MELAYSIA BOOOOO..LEH!!

• no wonder la, kasi 1day cuti for winning that motobike cup.

• KL folks on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Please do this in KL

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/1/5/nation/20110105183848&sec=nation

• tokkiyeng on Jan 06, 2011 at 3:51 am

ron95 goes up, people still vote for the corrupted gomen…u condemn this, u condemn that, but still vote for them dulu kini selamanya…so enuf for all the complaining

• aizat2209 on Jan 06, 2011 at 4:53 am

i dont know what to do with all this hikes coming in the new year…
    maybe try voting for the other side.. see if any changes can be made for the next term…

• So Per on Jan 06, 2011 at 8:42 am

92 or 95 or 97…..i believe the base production price is very close.

If the decision maker had settled on 97, we will all be using this now.

But it was a decision to kill of the 92 n make us all believe 95 is good for all so that some parties can make more money.

Anyway, we are also a car producing country which means it makes little sense to have excellent public transportation.

I have worked in Singapore n the public transport can be tiring during peak hours but the frequency of trips makes it quite reliable. Anyway, most of their bus drivers are Malaysians.

The more wear n tear, benefits spare parts industry (ori n non-ori), service centres,toll operators n hopefully, more older cars will “die” naturally using 95.

No need paksa to change.

The poor condition of the roads helps damage our tyres n wallet.

Life is full of pros n cons.

• cardreamer on Jan 06, 2011 at 9:31 am

Price of petrol may not be the main barometer for a good or a bad government. But it may due to bad ruling people.

As some had said, our petroluem will only last in few decades to come. There are many ways in facing that, and one of it is saving money while you can till the day comes. So that is a good noble idea it is. Some government give pricey items as means of controlling the use of it. Example being is reducing personal cars on roads and encouraging people to use Public Transport. But the Q arise is how efficient the implementation is. Or is it going to be drained out somewhere?

Don’t blame people for being skeptical anytime the G is doing something, especially on sensitive issues like price hike in consumer products. The people has been brought up to think as such! For 50 years the BN rule this country and half of the people are neglegted their ‘reasonable’ rights to express their feelings and thoughts. So they will eventually behave as such- rebellious, skeptical, pesimistic etc.

Anything that is happening in this country has something to do with BN for they had ruled all these years and dictate the way media works, the business works etc. And thru the years people have seen so much bad things happening due to mismanage, corrupt practices etc. As such that half of people will became more –ve minded towards the G, that is BN! So who is really the culprit here? The egoistic and ignorant father or the abused child?

To change the way people think and behave towards the G is to learn changing the ruling people. Then people will start to think more maturely and the ruling people will learn to respect the people.

As I had said earlier, changing ruling people that is the BN will not necessarily mean the price will go down. But at least, the system will self correct and achieve its equilibrium better. Just think for 50 years the peole have given those ruling people in BN to have their network in anything from supplying ridicilously priced small items to government agencies up to the judiciary! They were so well linked towards their advantage! So many things if we want to list them here…just look at how they’re using the Utusan Malaysia to potray Anwar as a bad moral person every other day! For years! Pathetic! And do you expect half of the people (even some BN people thinks the same but too afraid to say anything!) don’t get sick of it? And they don’t develop a hathred feelings towards the G? The BN is being ignorant to the people for their political survival!

If the G is so sensitive about reducing the subsidy, saving money, saving the environment etc, they should be smart enough to introduce hybrid cars to all G officers and agencies.

To conclude things up, please support Proton, our national product, while not to forget to change the G, for the betterment of Proton and the all the people!

Change now!

• mizzuddin on Jan 06, 2011 at 10:17 am

well said lovely

• Unlikely to cause a change in govt.

That is why we have 95.

The opposition too disunited at the moment to really cause any real damage. We have to remember, some parts of the opposition came from splinter groups from BN itself.

Proton making healthy profits already. Their sales numbers look good enuf to kick P2 down from top spot.

Whichever party is in-charge, pls push for better public transportation n traffic flow.

Pls try to fill-up as many potholes n craters along major roads.

• Sadden MYS on Jan 06, 2011 at 12:53 pm

The GE12 results, both national and state level, suppose to serve as a slap on the face of BN reminding them many things can’t go on uncontrolled and abused as they used to be. The people can endure and accept imperfection, but not having a G system that the majority have to suffer and sacrifice for the benefit of selected few, especially those over ambitious yet unnecessary projects.

I am not sure if PR will serve us better if they win on next GE. But a greater representation with stronger voice in the parliament to form a check and balance system is indeed necessary. Like Pirelli’s slogan: Power is nothing without control.

The proposal of EV or hybrid car for top G officers is not practical at this point. Simply most cars of such are meant for self driven.

Back to the oil prices hike. I don’t mind paying according to market price if our automobiles are taxed like countries which practice floating oil prices.

And about Proton, I would love to see it developed as a major force in SEA or among developing countries. Price the products cheaper and sell more volume. They are strong demand of cheap and reliable products without fancy designs and accessories in many developing countries. It’s really no point to have “export version” loaded with accessories, priced lower than local version, and struggle to compete in countries with sophisticated machines such as UK. Worse, become a laughing stock or an abused object on TV shows.

You are right, changes are needed indeed. But can the G figure out what and actually get them executed timely, effectively and eventually benefiting the people still remained a big question mark!

• I agree you on all except protong sampah. They still need to close down for the betterment of Malaysian car industry. 25 years of lousy engineering is as toxic as 50 years of barang naik ruling.

• inderaloka on Jan 10, 2011 at 1:22 am

I just love your comment.

• handsome*dude on Jan 06, 2011 at 12:26 pm

get a big CC car now~ since oil price keep rising~~

• xavier lert on Jan 06, 2011 at 12:51 pm

dont care…

• RedLine on Jan 06, 2011 at 2:58 pm

I don’t understand why people is complaining and crying as if they are going to DIE tomorrow. What a melo-drama bunch of citizens we are.

The Government already announced that Ron97 will be floated according to market price. Do people know what float mean? It means it will follow market price. Global price up, our Ron97 price up. Global price down, price down. Now the global oil prices has been steadily increasing for the pass year, so of course la our prices also increases.

In case any of you have been been reading or watching the news, then watch this:

Price of RON97 petrol will change every first of the month
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39GHJTurz4g

And nobody is forcing you to use Ron97, use la Ron95. Apa la….always complain.

And to Paul Tan, you should be more neutral in your reporting instead of trying to create a false “sensation”. I would thought you would know better than that.

• wochomi on Jan 06, 2011 at 4:10 pm

And which of you dumbclown thinks the gov is concern bout the environment? What do they care. There always RON95 to pump mah… when ppl start complaining bout RON95, they’ll propose RON92…. sama sahaja …. lebih berkuasa, jimat…. you know when you’re listening to a hardsell salesman who only cares bout profit.

• aiyaa..need not to worry laa.. after people of m’sia give another mandate to BN, they can increase everything maa…then you go another round of bitching over the whole things.. sometimes, i think we malaysian are sadistic…love being tortured repeatedly.. arios.

• My Wish for 2011…… BN go to hell……

• I was neither surprised nor amazed by this piece of news. As I have told many friends, I expect the fuel price to go up. The government beat my prediction by giving an early Christmas present, upping the RON95 price last month. I was expecting that by early 2011, RON95 to be RM2.00/L.

I just filled up my XC70 Cross Country with Shell V-Power which has RON98. The retail price wihich goes up and down during the week, was $1.46/L. Here, the petrol retailers have discount scheme tied with major supermarket if you spend $30 or more with the supermarket. Usually it is 4cents discount but lately it is 8cents. IF you purchase additional $2 or more at the petrol station’s shop, you get additional 2 cents off on top making a total of 10 cents discount. I didnt buy any stuff from the petrol shop as I still have enough candies to last me. So my V-Power is $1.38/L which is way cheaper than what Malaysia is charging for RON95, let alone V-Power. Please do not use the foreign exchange as you earn here, you spend here. That is just a smokescreen excuse.

I have great spending power here compared to when I was in Malaysia even though my salary was higher back there. Here,I can afford a Volvo XC70 Cross Country! Brand new is $61,500 RRP! For RM62k, you cannot even get a Hyundai I30 let alone a Volvo!

• Stupid Gov on Jan 07, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Stupid government raise sugar price, then launch massive add on radio to ask people to cut down on sugar consumption.

• Looks like everyone agrees to shutdown Barang Naik government? Good good, let’s do that please! Don’t forget, the newly formed government can stop subsidizing that 25 years ‘tin milo’ car company too! Tak sabar tunggu election!

• TimeToChange on Jan 08, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Well. yeap..I already start my first step. in 2010 whole year never eat at KFc/Mcd and Pizza. this year will cut more and more……and whatever is this. I more consider value for money when purchase goods and service.

• Rakyat on Jan 08, 2011 at 5:04 pm

I won’t blame G for the recent fuel price hike as i never fill my Lancer with RON97 fuel for almost a year … But what i wanna blame is , if they ad removed so many subsidies away from the Rakyat , they should really concentrating in providing better public transports for local workers, and upgrade the educational facilities to avoid more outgoing cash flow and potential people … AFAIK , the G always neglect those truely talented people and give priorities to the bumiputra which in a sense, unfair treatment … Life isn’t fair for all of us, but G treat us the rakyat unfair , we suffer , they fucking relaxing in their newly built houses and palaces … Please G , don try to please rakyat by temporary reduce consumer products prices when approach GE , now we know how fucked up you are … You can neglect us , but you can’t hide the truth …

• my new year resolution : register myself for upcoming election….

• check this out…

http://www.detikdaily.net/v5/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=31246#449462