Detroit 2011: Kia KV7 Concept is a nice hangout place

Sometimes, it’s easy to dismiss concept cars as flights of fancy that will never make production, at least not like how they look at motor shows. But cars like the Kia Soul and Nissan Juke prove otherwise after surviving the journey from show stand to showroom mostly intact. So while parts of this Kia KV7 Concept look rather impossible (gullwing doors on a van), it’s quite a cool machine to hangout in and shouldn’t be ruled out altogether.

The KV7 was designed by Kia’s California studio to transport a large number of people and their belongings, while also serving as a “connected social hub”. As such, the KV7’s interior has four swivelling seats, including the driver’s, and a rear-corner mini lounge with seating for three. There’s also a drinks table and plenty of natural light. The reclaimed teak wood flooring and bright colours make it a nice place chill out.

The concept is WiFi enabled, providing both the front and rear displays with Internet capabilities and the ability for multiple passengers to connect their smart phones to the vehicle. Now all we need is a coffee machine!

Looks wise, the KV7, in sharp contrast to the dramatically raked windshields and wedge-shaped noses common in the MPV segment, embraces the box. “From the outset, we felt the category was in need of an honest reassessment due to the fact that everyone seems so desperate to attach the word ‘sporty’ to their MPV even though MPVs, at their very core, are simply a box,” said Tom Kearns, Chief Designer at Kia Motors America. “Rather than reject the box we chose to celebrate it, just like we did with the Soul”.

This is how a modern day VW Kombi should be like. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1865]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mejoh on Jan 11, 2011 at 6:14 pm

nice!

• CamPor on Jan 11, 2011 at 6:51 pm

cool!

• ttooyoott on Jan 11, 2011 at 7:33 pm

WoW!!! awsome!

• bogaboga on Jan 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm

nice concept, great idea, well designed. but, only for 4 ppl ler can get socialise inside it haha. like it ^^

• where was this car during KLIMS la?.. tak jadi datang la tu..

• toyuta on Jan 11, 2011 at 7:43 pm

i suspect proton is stealing kia design…the EMAS is a fail copycat design from this kia KV7…..

im not surprise since they copycat the forte and change the name to TUAH….
    proton is cheaper than TATA……pls close down or just rebadge the korean or chinese car…

• Excuse me Mr Toyuta Basher.. Proton is’nt like u at all.. U r the one who only know copycat.. Changing Toyota name to Toyuta and make it be your username.. oh please..
      Btw… Proton Emas is designed by Italdesign Giugiaro..
      And the design of Emas is done long time ago..

• Jimmy on Jan 11, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Antisocial personality.

• wow~ my first impression: My dream come true..
    I have been imagining such car long time ago that can allow me have nice meeting with friend or doing my work in my car quietly.. without the disruption from the outside world..
    and here is’t: the Kia KV7 concept.

• Jimmy on Jan 11, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Excellent this KV7. Wish it can be priced at RM200K(recond Alphard price).
    I like it.

• I would love to own that . :)

• tempoyak on Jan 12, 2011 at 8:14 am

it’s like having a kopitiam on the road. love it!

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 12, 2011 at 8:24 am

“From the outset, we felt the category was in need of an honest reassessment due to the fact that everyone seems so desperate to attach the word ‘sporty’ to their MPV even though MPVs, at their very core, are simply a box,”

He got that right. Never quite got the “sporty” MPV thing. Don’t get me wrong, MPVs can drive sporty, but looks however, it is rather pointless. An MPV is about space and ferrying people comfortably. besides, to me, MPV just means Multi-purpose VAN….

• nyan46 on Jan 12, 2011 at 10:53 am

go hyundai go..

• squawk on Jan 12, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Very nicely integrated Schreyer nose.

• Fred "theflo" Oliver on Jan 18, 2011 at 10:05 am

This vehicle is gonna KILL FORD Flex and the LINCOLN MKT. They can’t hold a candle to this design. I hope KIA has something creative in mind with the doors
    so that you don’t have that smooth looking side profile messed up with the gaping
    track of the sliding doors.

Gosh I am glad I am leaving FORD to be a KIA MAN!!!!!