New Kia Picanto – some more photos and details

While Kia is obviously keeping mum on most of the details about its new Picanto hatchback, which will make its premiere at the Geneva Motor Show in March, a couple of new photos of the A-segment hatch – including one of the interior – as well as a few more details, have come about.

As mentioned previously, three versions of the 1.0 litre, three-cylinder Kappa engine, in gasoline, flex fuel and bi-fuel form and a single 1.2 litre four-cylinder gasoline Kappa block will be available for the car, and power outputs will range from 69 hp to 85 hp, with maximum torque between 94 and 121 Nm.

The bi-fuel 1.0 litre pot will generate 80 hp and 94 Nm of torque. The engines will be mated to a choice of five-speed manual or four-speed automatic transmissions, depending on market.

The new car, which is longer and larger than the previous model, promises not only more passenger comfort and 27% increased cargo space, but will also feature numerous ‘large car’ comfort/safety features such as LED daytime running lights, button-start with smart key, grip-type outside door handles and six or seven airbags, depending on region.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Lovely interior :)

• huiyoo on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm

will be reasonable if priced below rm50k

• alexpoh85 on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:04 am

with basic accessories only i guess if below RM50k…Malaysia u know la

• RideHandling on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:18 pm

looks like C1 and 107 from frontal side, perhaps share platform? anyway interior looks decent modern and good quality plastics. can see a smile on its steering wheel:)

• wow..how can u know the quality of plastic by looking at the picture?

• overman on Jan 24, 2011 at 10:30 pm

plastic plus milo tin also can sell for 25 years. Not a problem.

• now the Milo Tin feeling Myvi is the most selling model!

• Faisal on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:59 am

nowadays most cars are milo tin.. kecuali the luxury one lah..

• loveit on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:58 pm

nope even luxury also used material as ‘milo tin’ you talk about…to save weight

• Rockmebaby on Jan 25, 2011 at 5:20 pm

If u are talking about the “milo tin” engine bonnet of Myvi, it’s understandable bcos that’s done purposely to reduce “pedestrian” injury in the event of accident ;)
          That’ how Toyota Passo/Myvi can scored 4 stars in EuroNCAP lol

• Goproton on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:03 am

lol funny right see picture only can say it’s good plastic…==’

• wolfsburg on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:38 pm

Another piece of masterpiece from the Korean!

• acerman on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:47 pm

All smiley

• Thus, having Pero1 and Pero2 simply make us suffer than without own local car brand. Not really smart. huh?

• Tiadaid on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Short term suffer la, long term how?

• Even worst, long term. Which country in this world we can find 3-7 year old car cost more than brand new one? Current Harrier MY2003 still over RM140,000 you mean long term saving?

If you wanna buy sub 1.4l car you’ll spoil for choices or spoil because of lack of choice? 2005 Myvi 1.3 still worth around RM30k you still said long term benefit?

No wonder people of Malaysians still very smart. Even Paul Tan bought used car.

I’m urging government to tax PC to make it like CAR business model. Instead of pay RM1200 for a netbook, tax 100% to be between RM2400-3000. Why only car (need to impose highest tax)?

Your good company P2 crying foul when government want to make airbags compulsory. Dude, you better browse Indian website to know how much their car prices.

In India, new Nissan March XE 1 srs airbag merely 395,000.00 INR = 26,497.320 MYR for entry level to 525,000.00 INR = 35,220.748 MYR to highest variant. Long time ago our car prices cheaper than India, Indonesia, Thailand (pre-Proton era).

• i prefer high tax on car only,, less for on income tax ,,,so only people who want to buy foreign design car have to pay tax…. coz i dont need big car or high brand car…

• littlefire on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:35 am

Sorry dude, i think most REAL Malaysian petrol heads prefer car is cheapar as our fuel price is almost on par with world price since our G said that Ron97 is floated already.

Besides that, most of us would rather buy more expensive fuel if the G manage to provide Euro4 standart as we all know that higher better grade fuel will let us have the chance of driving better technology cars especially those EURO 4/5 Turbo diesel engines & also help save the environment! Do u know that diesel engine can out run a petrol engine easily in term of FC & performance?!?

When the fuel is expensive, i would bet that most road users will have to use public transport and this also let us petrol heads more freedom to drive on the roads.

Anyway this Kia Picanto look quite nice got a bit Toyota IQ & Mazda styling.. I would bet their safety features will be all in for this car to match Toyota IQ with a cheaper price!

• Tiadaid on Jan 25, 2011 at 1:27 pm

And there are how many petrol heads in Malaysia? Typical, tell others to sacrifice for the personal benefits of the few. You’re just like the G people you derided so much!

• kington on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:50 pm

First it was the Cygnet and now this Picanto.. to copy the 2nd Gen RAV4’s headlamp curves…

Anyway, looks very nice and way nicer than the first model.

• taboogen on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:51 pm

herm desgn cue look so fimiliar… copy paste product……

• callenish on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:58 pm

should i wait for this car. i need a compact car in near future…

• i dont think so. KIA = low second hand value + high maintenance cost + no class brand. you better becareful..

• littlefire on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:37 am

Only in Malaysia we have high maintenance cost, if u compare our spare part price with even Singapore u will jaw drop, the only thing Singapore is expensive during service is the workmanship.. If not mistaken all foreign spare part are tax also and this jake up the price..

• normal_user on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Kial brand image will rise up to the likes of Honda & Toyota in the next 5-10 years. Just wait.

Look at how Samsung became the worlds most popular TV maker. It took them decades to overcome Sony.

• David on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:58 pm

don’t BS in front of Korean car owner like me. I own an MC Accent, and i can strongly attest that maintainance costs are almost the same, or even lower compared to Japanese makes. For example, i spent only 120 bucks just for the 10k service, and that already includes semi-synthetic Shell oil.

If you’re so worried about after sales, parts, i have just one simple advice for you:- Take the public transport, that way you’ll don’t need to worry. Otherwise, zip it and stop spreading antiquated lies.

• in the past, yes.. but now, it is much easier to find spareparts with reasonable price.. have 3 korean cars in my stables n a 2ndhand crv’s, all of them hve nearly same price for spareparts (if compare with p1 n p2 of course its expnsive but dis is not local brand cars so a bit steep in price is acceptable)

• bryan jones on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:04 pm

beautiful korean.. bye2 japs!

• survivor on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:05 pm

nice interior….better if hv 5 spd auto…

• amel8488 on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:18 pm

very sporty for small car & cool interior… Proton Saga FL SE should use interior like this… Come on proton…

• farghmee on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:36 am

“ready for take-off?
      err..which button should i push?”

too many buttons here&there.

saga’s dash too simple & boring dowh.

• ttk8080 on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:30 pm

small & square ford fiesta…nice job again for Korean.

• Alfred Weinberg on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:10 am

WELL…as i know….the car designer of kia(now) is not a korean….but former audi designer

• that mean they are using the right person to do the right thing..
        this is way to run the business, right?

• Neutral on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:47 pm

wow! not dissapointing interior n exterior.btw the headlamp is now the trend,not just copycat

• anakSarawak on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Coming to our shores aaaa?

• anakSarawak on Jan 24, 2011 at 8:53 pm

oming to our shores aaa?

• How Wee Ming on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:08 pm

What’s bifuel????

• libralcl on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Wow projector lights for A-segment car. =)

• daniel on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm

If launched by our third national car company NAZA, got chance to smell the dual VVTI KAPPA engine?? or just the superseeeeeded KAPPA?

• Fandango on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:28 pm

I find the design somewhat fugly…

• squawk on Jan 24, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Very classy interior for an A segment. I like the Shreyer grille interpretation on the steering wheel.

• gogo2 on Jan 24, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Wah Korean design so good now. I wonder if Toyota and Honda will copy this design.

• someway or somehow….I kinda like the looks of this car…very muscular.

• i kinda like it…

• tranformer on Jan 24, 2011 at 10:46 pm

aiks… no two DIN stereo but at least give single DIN….

exterior wise, i10 looks better than this one…

• huh!! look like proton BLM FL

• i think the front look like myvi 2011 under the yellow cover haha

• CocoBear on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:14 am

Walau, I nearly got fainted by the specs of this car. This budget car looks awesome!!!
    Kia has packaged an unbelievable equipments in this Picanto. For instance, auto-rain sensor, auto-climate control, heated seats, traction control, hands-free control, projector headlamps and LED DRL. This car can tapau my dad’ merc. Haha.

• amazingly when it come to msia……….it will only have 4 tyres, 2 wipers

• 6 or 7 airbags?? people will get suffocated by airbags then in such small space

• BOYRACER on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:41 am

Are you sure?Since when airbags suffocate people?If you put 6-7 balloons maybe you’ll get suffocated.

• poppop on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:45 am

Better then NOTHING, give you nothing u bising,give you too much you also bising..

• ttk8080 on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:39 am

ya, 1 of the smallest car with 6 airbags…safe la!!!

doesn’t mind it made of milo tin…^^

only old school airbag will suffocate ppl…surely better than buatan malaysia!

• tycoon88 on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:37 am

the way these korean car manufacturers are moving forward…i think jap car makers can “tar pow” in a couple of years time :)

• harry on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:41 am

It looks good but ,Its kinda like Over design!…The front looks bulky! the Back looks flat.
    Interior looks very inappropriate for such a edgy exterior design.

Personally, I dont like the interior asymmetric layout. I would rather like the exterior.

Still A thousand times better then the Perodua Viva or Myvi.

• AlanSuitUp on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:06 am

front is taken from toyota iq…nice car tho,lovely interior

• This is one puny fugly s.o.b.

• manual is sweet, but traffic jam in msia is getting from bad to worse …

• milo tin car can survive , because of the gov . if they don’t impose high duty , will the peoples buy the milo tin car ?

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:50 am

big smile on the steering !

now we can see clearly the design cue that kia choose on all of their models…good

• it resembles Toyota iQ??cygnet??hurm….

• lazyf on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:27 am

Nice car…
    Hope Naza-Kia will bring it to Malaysia soon + Manual transmission of this car…

• nolan on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:31 am

one day the Korean will rule the world……somehow they had captured my mind….

• _xXx_ on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:48 am

way nicer than the viva special exclusive limited executive edition

• Dude, never compare with the VIVA, the basic not even with SRS, and power steering. Power steering also RM1000-RM3000 P2 MD?

• ore wa baka on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:49 am

the interior plastics on the door looks like ones in the saga fl

• impig on Jan 25, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Then I suggest you to have an appointment with an eye specialist.

• Nothing great about Kia Picanto looks like Toyota iQ & Aston Martin Cygnet…….like many here have mention copy & paste job. Korean car design is nice just like LG handphone…..but its quality is hopeless. Korean cars is good looking & cheap to buy,but to maintain is expensive coz spare parts needs to be imported. Second hand value is not that good also……so ppl think first la……………………………

Peace

• normal_user on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Quality is hopeless?
      Please don’t bluff people without any concrete facts.

• dimmy on Jan 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Toyota IQ? Have you seen one in person?

I guess you probably saw few pictures on the net,then how much exterior details of IQ can you remember? I think you don’t even know what IQ looks like.

here is link to toyota europe’s IQ gallery

http://www.toyota-europe.com/cars/new_cars/iq/gallery.aspx

see and can you tell us which part is exactly copied?

• Faisal on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:08 am

interior is cool.. i like the saga fl but hope proton will design a better interior :)

• Siggy on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:29 am

This car will not be a hit as Malaysians tend to emphasize more on resale value =x

• niuhje on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:48 am

price?

• Goproton on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

Toyota IQ???!!!?!!

• better this car or 2011 hyundai i10 facelift?

i10 use 1.25 kappa engine. picanto 1.2 kappa also?
    i10 have abs, picanto?
    i10 got no audio control at steering, picanto seems got one from the above pics.
    fuel consumption, between these two, who wins?

• normal_user on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:13 pm

The prev gen picanto/suria is using the same 1.1L kappa as found in i10s. Except for the 1.25 kappa.

Positive: Very quiet, smooth & refined feel, good fuel consumption 14km/L (thought not as frugal as Viva’s 16km/L)
      Negative: Bad acceleration figures, sluggish when going uphill, maintenance a bit high (need synthetic oil)

• peris on Jan 25, 2011 at 1:34 pm

hope proton heading to a right direction like KIA/Hyundai

• aliBaPa on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:33 pm

cool look o family look

• ray_jay on Jan 25, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Dear steering…

Please… Stop… Smiling… arghhh!!!

• Nice but i think VW Polo look better than this.

• BMW 3 on Jul 20, 2011 at 3:06 pm

VW polo? nice but i think BMW 3 series better than it. USE UR HEAD COMPARE THE PRICE MORON

• Funny looking front.

• takensem on May 11, 2011 at 3:56 am

when is second hand cheap2 one available in malaysia? i’d rather buy this than bloodsucking protong

• KO Lo on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:13 pm

i10 FL is coming this July, so when is new Picanto