First images of 2011 Kia Picanto – Geneva debut!

Next generation Picanto (front side)

Kia have released the first photos of the next generation Kia Picanto – now larger and longer both in terms of length and wheelbase, though official figures have not been revealed. This is the first bodystyle of the new Picanto to be unveiled – a 5-door bodystyle, with a 3-door bodystyle in the works to be revealed later. It’s quite a cute design with a more upmarket feel than the one it replaced.

Next generation Picanto (rear side)

Four powertrains will be available with the new car in 1.0 litre to 1.2 litre displacements, consisting of petrol, LPG bi-fuel and flex fuel variants. The Picanto will make its world debut at the Geneva International Motor Show in March this year.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:51 pm

the front is good…but the back…..like a china car le….hmm but otherwise…still a credible design which is more upmarket….prefer this more than the i10

• comrade on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:11 pm

this one a looker… nice car to have and to drive…

• ReactiX on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:56 pm

face looks like proton emas some sort… quite cute. but the rear is fugly

• this new picanto look great!!!
    Back tail light alike the rondo, but little one..
    i think the whole kia range of car already have its family style grille!

• ong chin aun on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Nowaday, car more or less looks alike computer design ma. It look like jass and also polo rear. Y down grade the capacity ? If 1.3 and 1.5 cc with manual transmission ,personnally feel better.

• ong chin aun on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:17 pm

correction : looks n Honda Jazz

• ayuarjuna on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:54 pm

if 1.0 is capable enough to ‘pull’ the car why use 1.3??? nowdays engines are becoming more fuel efficient & can generate almost (if not better) the same amount of power/torque as per higher capacity ‘old’ engines so it doesn’t necessary mean a downgrade… also now fuel price is high & will become more expensive in the future so “small” & “lower fuel comsumption” engines is the right way to go… btw, it’s a city/compact car so don’t expect it will come with a nice V8 turbocharged engine, it is not what the this type of car built for…

• laluan sehala on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:28 pm

if it comes with hyundai’s 1.25L engine then it will be a sweet drive.

• VWfan on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:06 pm

its not downgrade laa kawan, the original kia picanto is between 1.0 to 1.2 cc, os its just right. just leave 1.3 to 1.5 cc to other model like i10, 120 and so on….

• kpopfan on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Koreans are definitely on the rise! well done,Kia! you did it again!

• kpopfan on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Koreans are defintely on the rise! Kia,well done!

• KIA FANS on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:10 pm

satu lagi model kebanggaan KIA…HAIL KIA

• shawal on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Years ahead of the car it replaces….

• ayuarjuna on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:40 pm

cute car with nice colour… love it :)

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:33 pm

People. Please buy this instead of Myvi!

• Harry on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:19 pm

Nice design …But both front and back bumpers are over done, especial the back reverse light seems like those lorry/truck back light…

Front bumper IS TOTALLY OVER DONE! too out-front…
    keep it compact and trim, make it useful when it comes for parking especially for a small car you can squeeze you know… and it seem kinda MAZDA-issh.

Otherwise 7.5/10 ~ for design

• racotua on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:52 pm

looks are subjective but like what transformer below said, it looks a whole lot like the toyota iq in front and also to a certain extent the peugeot 107. anyway, to me it looks pretty good and gives the car an aggressive, purposeful low front look.

• transformer on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:19 pm

reminds me of Toyota IQ… especially that pair of headlamps.
    rear from its sibling, the i30.

this one looks more masculine than that feminine i10…

• ThePolygon on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:19 am

Wah,…. sunroof leh!

• Can Naza maintain around RM40k?

• i sure buy one for my mistress…